We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Chateau de Tanay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Didier de Formans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Tanay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

At this B&B everything is perfect. The location is quiet, the rooms are modern and the reception by the tenants is very friendly and warm. Breakfast is served in the castle and is of high quality with freshly squeezed juices, delicious croissants and 'pains au chocolat', fresh farm eggs,cheeses, home-made jam and many other delicacies.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Tanay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We arrived at the same time as three other couples, and were met at the car park by the lovely Mi-Hi. Nothing would upset this perfect hostess as she managed all of us so well. Shown to our rooms, we re-grouped for the tour . . . .and what a fine chateau it is .The dining room come breakfast room is delightful and there is a games / reading room on the first floor.The walk around the grounds before breakfast was lovely and there are many interesting features of this chateau to be found, from the sun dial to statues and wall plaques. I'm sure when the bulbs and blossom break it will be even more beautiful. Breakfast was well above average and the rooms very comfortable.Very highly recommended for the quiet getaway weekend in this wonderful part of France.

I can imagine a stop over night on the long drive to the south, but beware . . .you may want to stay longer

Room Tip: The rooms are en-bloc to the side of the entrance square. All are to a high standard with excellent...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at this chateau and were very impressed the moment we arrived. The chateau and grounds will make you feel like you've stepped into an incredible dream-- imagine fresh lavender and fruit trees everywhere! The rooms were incredibly clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The couple who run the hotel were very welcoming, helpful and made an excellent healthy breakfast! When you walk around the grounds or take a dip in the pool, you'll feel like you're part of the place and that you want to stay forever. If you are in the area, I would highly recommend this hotel for value, comfort and beauty!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irises55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent three nights at this gorgeous castle and surrounding grounds and loved every moment. The accommodations are very modern and comfortable given their very historic setting. The couple who runs this Chateau are completely welcoming, very helpful with suggestions of restaurants and nearby attractions, and provide a delicious breakfast each morning. They even use the fruit from their own fruit trees to make wonderful homemade jams. I personally loved just walking the grounds in the early morning to take in the peaceful setting. After full days exploring the Beaujolais towns, it was perfection to come back and take a late afternoon swim in the refreshing pool.
I have no complaints--our stay at the Chateau de Tanay was incredible and I give this property my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMcK2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Wauw we arived with our 2 children of 5 years. IT was their dream to come true à Castle! The rooms were beautifull and large and just New! THE large garden with Nice fruit trees was a nice swimingpool
We stayed 1 day so after a lovely breackfast we left.... But THE boys really want to go back and so do we!!!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Debora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the chateau for 5 days and really enjoyed our stay. Both Benoit and Mihi were very gracious hosts. Our room was very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. We loved the roomy Italian shower. Mihi and Benoit were very helpful with day trip suggestions. Breakfast was a delight with the homemade yogurt, jam, and the fresh fruit from the garden. The area has so much to offer so if you are looking for a place to stay for a few days or more this is the place. We would recommend the chateau (actually already have) and we would love to stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BillC808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent one night here in May.
We stayed here as I did not want to drive into Lyon and then out for our flight the next day.
This is a clean and well organised B&B with great breakfasts. It is a safe option if you are staying in the area. Many of the guests were repeat visitors showing a consistent standard.
The location is quiet and the house is set amongst lovely gardens with district views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddsheywo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Didier de Formans
2.7 mi away
Les Pierres Dorees
Les Pierres Dorees
#1 of 1 in Amberieux
202 reviews
8.4 mi away
Chateau de Bagnols
Chateau de Bagnols
#1 of 1 in Bagnols
530 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaisance
Best Western Hotel Plaisance
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Villefranche en Beaujolais Ici & La
Hotel Mercure Villefranche en Be...
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
365 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#16 of 196 in Lyon
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Tanay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Tanay

Address: Chemin de Tanay, 01600 Saint Didier de Formans, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Saint Didier de Formans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Didier de Formans
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to an 11th-century chateau, these former stables offer 5-hectares of manicured gardens. You can relax by the outdoor swimming pool or visit Ars sur Formans, 8 km away .The rooms at Château de Tanay are spacious and offer views of the courtyard. Some have original wooden beams and all have free Wi-Fi access.Breakfast is provided every morning in the bed and breakfast’s dining room. On sunny mornings, you can also eat on the terrace and admire the garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing