We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner”

La Masseria Ristorante
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Marzaglia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional cuisine of Puglia ground
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We went to Masseria to celebrate our first wedding month! An excellent choice of food, in terms of quality of ingredients and presentation. Starters are fantastics!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

thank you for your wonderful review. wishes for your wedding and hope to see you and celebrate every month of your life together. thanks Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

It may look strange to eat souther italian food in the north of the country, but this is what you get in a wonderful way in La Masseria, just outside Modena. A must have for handmade pasta and tortiere. And make sure you still have room for the chocolate tray... A very good and compehensive wine list. Nice and simple atmosphere with the owner Stefano very friendly. A recommended experience for people who love traditional italian food instead of nouvelle cuisine!

Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

thanks for the wonderful review. I hope to see you soon embrace Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is the place where my wife and I go, with our without our kids, whenever we want to pamper ourselves.
The Wonderful traditional setting of an old restored mill, the warm and attentive service and the very good food make it for a real good and consistent experience.
They are famous for typical hand-made food from Puglia region that you can have with a very good red wine from the same area (I have tried the Primitivo Punta Aquila 2010 and I found it very good as well as reasonably priced).
I suggest the "bruschetta" with the "burrata" as appetizers, the "tortiere di verdure" as a main (sort of pies but made out of just vegetables) and the to-die-for basket of ciocolate sweets
Having said that, the offer of pasta and of meat is also extensive and of high quality.
If you want to have a great meal in an elegant setting, knowing that you will spend accordingly but proportionally, this is your place.
During summer there is the option of an al-fresco dinner and if you want to go with kids i suggest early lunches rather than dinners

1  Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

thanks for the wonderful review. I am very pleased to be your favorite restaurant I hope to see you soon. thank you very much Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This restaurant is my must visit place whenever I visit Modena for business trip. During my last trip, I tried Burrata mozzarella cheese which was heavenly pleasing taste and the grilled lamb which was extraordinary great!! They have homemade pasta and desert which are also excellent and great selection of wines which will perfectly matching with dishes if you follow owner's recommendation. two thumps up!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gary0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Gary thanks the wonderful review and thank you for the compliments. I hope to see you every time you come to Italy. thanks and see you soon Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Found this restaurant by accident. Not sorry at all. The service was great, atmosphere is rustic and elegant. The food was outrageously delicious! It was a nice afternoon treat for all of us travelers. Burrata, a whole different subject. OMG! Served it as soon as you order your food. (But had a question on that part.) There were 4 of us. One male and 3 female. They only served one plate,for the male. Is this a traditional? Inquiry minds want to know.
Bruschetta, grilled veg, orecchiette, ravioli or tortelli were excellent!
Total experience was unforgettable! Thanks!

I found a recipe on how to make homemade burrata. That's how much I loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

dear customer thanks for the review and for the compliments. have served only a bruschetta ladies because they have only ordered an appetizer and then the pasta. The appetizer includes a more burrata bruschetta that is not GMO and all the vegetables that I have served. thanks and hope to see you soon. health Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Masseria Ristorante also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to La Masseria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing