We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for conferences, Not for Sightseeing Seeing”
Review of Baltic Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baltic Star Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strelna
Berlin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good for conferences, Not for Sightseeing Seeing”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Hotel loacated far outside the City Center - at least One Hour Drive. Okay for conferences.The rooms as well as the breakfast are okay, but not on a five Star (westeuropean) Level. Most of the staff speaks english

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinVagabund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    27
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
20
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vienna
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Hotel has the charm of the October Revolution in 1917... (and the TV in the room was produced only marginally later). It Looks Grand from the outside - but the furniture is shabby, the bathroom old. You're middle of a park, but far away from everything else.
Breakfast is served in a large ballroom, in buffet-style - but you have only 1 sort of green and one black tea to select. So much abpout 5 star. Definitely not !
People on the reception are not really polite or helpful - basically nothing is ever possible. They don't change money, and you cannot pay with Eur, and the cash machines don't work either...
Really, it felt like a time travel back some 100 years, and not in a nice way...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The place is beautiful. The guests of the hotel are allowed to visit nearby Konstantinov's park, which is closed to regular visitors. It means that You can go all alone huge and amazing park. It is fantastic to sit and to read in the garden full of flowers and statues. It is very interesting and unknown feeling!
The hotel itself is ... OK. The most annoying detail is the Wi-Fi price in the room, which is crazy! The pool is not really the pool, but just a big bath for maximum 2 persons.
The breakfast is good.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fourth floor have very-very small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is located on the Baltic Sea coast, very close to Peterhof and rather far from the downtown. Fresh air, good views and quietness… Two big parking lots are very good advantage if you travel by car.
The hotel is equipped by a small swimming pool with hydro-massage, gym and two saunas (in men’s and women’s changing rooms). These facilities are free of charge for the hotel guests.

Our room was clean and appropriately furnished. Although there were two dressing gowns, there were no slippers – you should ask reception and slippers will be delivered for free. Minibar is locked unless you have paid a deposit. So you may not use it as a mere fridge without prepaying the deposit.

WI-FI is available in the rooms, but unreasonably expensive. We did not order a breakfast because we were advised not to do so – it was much more expensive than in any café nearby.

If you do not want to experience notorious “Russian service”, do not use your credit card, because the hotel staff does not quite understand how to deal with it. For example, I was charged for times for one night, though I stayed in the hotel for just two nights. One night payment was cancelled almost immediately, but I still take pains to get any information of them regarding the rest of the money. The hotel staff is absolutely oblivious to any phone calls and emails. Even if you speak Russian it would be quite a challenge to get any explanation from the hotel “managers”. All you can expect is never ending “please call later” or “the manager will call you back”.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilyafilippov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel during my trip for the opening ceremony of Peterhof fountains in May 2012.
The hotel is in a short drive to the Peterhof parks and museums and could be a good choice for tourists who want to stay couple days in the hotel and visit Peterhof.

There are no any other advantages. And that is why:
The Baltic Star Hotel is the property of the Administration of the President of Russia. The service is a bit from the Soviet era. There is not enough information about the hotel services in the room and every time you need to find or get something you need to call to a receptionist (front-desk).
Breakfast was poor, lack of choice. Even service staff did not mention what I can order eggs or omelet. My friends told me about this ability. And if you like to have an omelet it is better to request it - do not wait.
During my visit the swimming pool was closed for regular cleaning, but there were no information about this on their website.
So if you like to have a pleasant time in this hotel it is better to call them in advance and ask if they have any going on construction.

Rooms are large and equipped with the solid furniture, except TV which was a TV from the last century... I found only one available socket. And it can be used only if you unplug a lamp.
There was no wi-fi or wired internet.

Room Tip: Call to the hotel if you like to book a room which faces to the Gulf of Finland in the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Baltic Star Hotel is the property of the Administration of the President of Russia. Though it was built in 2000's it feels a bit from Soviet era.
There is a gym and a swimming pool in the basement, and there is a lot of space to run around the hotel, the air is very fresh. The rooms are not bad - with solid furniture, nice view from the window and quite clean.
The food is awful and quite expensive (breakfast is included - they don't even have green tea), I would recommend to have your lunch or dinner in Saint-Petersburg.
Actually Baltic Star is situated not in S.Petersburg but in Strelna, which is the suburb about 30-40 min. car drive from the city-center. It's not a five-star hotel but the prices for staying are not very high, so if you wish to see Konstantinovsky Palace or have some conference there, it's not a bad place. Thus it's a nice hotel for tourists or businessmen at quite a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We've had a nice weekend in September 2010 in the Baltic Star hotel. When booking we warned that we are coming with a 3 years old son, and a girl in Reservation department suggested that we should choose a Deluxe room (first we wanted a Standard room,but she said that we would feel more comfortable in a room of bigger size - Deluxe room). When we arrived, we were pleased to find an extra-bed for our son in the room.
Next morning while I was walking in a Konstantin palace park with my son, my husband with some friends of his went to the wine-tasting excursion in the Palace cellars. He said it was rather interesting and even bought a bottle of wine there as a souvenir.
So if you want to spend some days in a beautiful quiet place with fresh sea air but not too far from the city - this hotel may be your right choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libra_81_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strelna
New Peterhof Hotel
#1 of 8 in Peterhof
365 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#39 of 345 in St. Petersburg
1,313 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 345 in St. Petersburg
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Peterhof
#2 of 8 in Peterhof
182 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 345 in St. Petersburg
964 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 345 in St. Petersburg
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltic Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Star Hotel

Property: Baltic Star Hotel
Address: Beryozovaya Alley, 3, Strelna, St. Petersburg 198515, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrodvortsovy District > Strelna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strelna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baltic Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star hotel located on the Gulf of Finland coastline is a part of a multifunctional complex The National Congress Palace which is a state residence, a museum and a modern congress venue. The luxury Villas that are part of the Baltic Star Hotel are the place where all foreign leaders stay while in St. Petersburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baltic Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing