We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Location - Majestic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The location is unreal, the surronding, the forest, the wild life. You just cannot explain it in words.
If you love nature, this is a must see venue. Hotel is very good but the beauty of Shaba is spotless and even if they made me sleep in a tent i wouldnt hesitate to visit this place again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive reviews. Your feedback has inspired the team here and we were very honored by your visit and being of service to you.

We appreciate every detail of your experience and look forward to hosting you once again assuring you of detail in service excellence.

Asante sana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Sarova Shaba and by the time we were checking out, we felt like adding another night!

The hospitality of the staff is one that I am yet to experience in another lodge. The salad bar was fantastic that our 6 year old could not do without the salad at meal times. Kudos!

While at the lodge, you have several options for game drives. We enjoyed a relaxed and comfortable drive using the Sarova Shaba Safari vehicle and a driver who served as our guide. We had an amazing experience viewing giraffes; zebras in the Samburu national park at close range. Our guide made every effort to get us close to elephants and lions! It was an experience to remember.

I recommend rooms 53/54 for families. The rooms have a good view of the river. Add a nature walk with the resident naturalist to experience the flora and fauna and learn about medicinal plants growing in the area.

Unwind at the pool and enjoy the fruit cocktails!

I recommend Sarova Shaba for those who enjoy nature and want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naje2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging review. We will surely share this with the team. Sarova Shaba is committed to offering the best personalized services to all our clients.

It was an honout hosting you.

Karibu tena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The lodge is set in an oasis creating a very relaxing atmosphere and it overlooks the Ewaso river with crocs basking in the sun. Quite stunning. There are many pods and stream running in the lodge with fish and turtles.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable, tastefully furnished.
The beauty of Shaba is unrivaled when compared to buffalo springs and Samburu but it lacks animals and as such game drives are offered in the other adjacent two parks.
My positive review of the lodge ends at that which is good as the only problem i have is the food. The place lacks a variety and food seems mass produced. It lacks the personal touch. I went over christmas looking forward to great meals but this was a great disappointment. Kindly improve on this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neshtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear guest,

It was nice of you to spend christmas holidays with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it goes a long way in giving us the drive to always improve.

Indeed the unique aspect of being in the region is the advantage of being able to visit the three parks on the same park ticket. Shaba, Buffalo springs and Samburu National reserves share one eco system but are uniquely different from each other. The beauty of Shaba with more than 22 natural springs, unique ornithology, Sharinki falls, The gorge and a film makers paradise but to name a few makes it special.

Your meals experience feedback is noted and every effort to attend to this has been initiated to turn this around. We do hope you will return soon to experience this.

We thank you for your support and wich you all the blessings of 2014.

Asante.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The room was very comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly. The food was good with a nice selection. Our room was at the end of the resort complex & a bit of a walk to the main bldg but we found it pleasant after being in a safari van all day. Chicken George at the Campi, Campi bar was very nice , friendly and always ready to greet us with a cool beverage and a warm smile. We were very lucky and saw all of the Samburu 5 , a lion and a very large herd (apox 200) of elephant as well as many other animals. The lodge provided us with a private dinner on the pool island as part of our honeymoon which was very romantic .Many thanks to lodge staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 154914PandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

Asante sana for making Sarova shaba your choice during your recent visit to the region. Indeed the choice of three parks on the same park ticket gives you the variety to beat any destination not to mention the Samburu special five!

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Great service and attention to guests. The food was okay but could do with more variety. Activities and concern for children was pleasant. The visit was during the xmas period and numbers were up but that hardly seemed to dent the spring in the step of fhe staff. Worth a visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your family last christmas. Your review is an encouragement to the team as we strive for service excellence.

We have noted your feedback on areas you found wanting and we have initiated steps to check on this.

Karibu tena Shaba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

spent the holiday in this hotel with my kids and my mother, hotel looks beautiful its so hot the swimming pool is inviting only problem was the shower which was very cold until was finally it was repaired all the rooms are located by the river with views of the crocodiles and the relaxing sound of the river could make you sleep hotel is the best if you stop by Isiolo you must stay at this hotel

Room Tip: make sure your rooms showers are hot before checking in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

It was nice of you to chose to stay with us. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the ommission on your shower. It is our eandevour to ensure that we get attention to detail and thus improve on your satisfaction.

Indeed your feedback is encouraging to the team and we hope to host you yet again in this near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at this lodge for two nights in mid December with a group of friends. Frankly, were a bit disappointed with the service, our rooms hot showers failed and really didn't get any help from the staff on this. The food was bland and below average especially for dinner. However the two things I can strongly vouch for; the massage service by the river tent and the game drives!

Room Tip: Any rooms with the Ewaso Ngiro river frontage are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shama s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

Asante for having chosen Sarova Shaba. Indeed your feedback is very positivly taken with every reason to correct the shortfalls.

We would like to assure you that we have instituted measures to improve on the areas you have highlighted.

We hope to host you soon.

Karibu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
23.3 mi away
No photo provided
Grande Hotel
#2 of 3 in Isiolo
1 reviews
0 mi away
Maiyan
Maiyan
#2 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
6 reviews
13.4 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
499 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
347 reviews
8.9 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range: £141 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Jovago.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing