We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food,great rooms...however” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food,great rooms...however”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sarova Shaba is great. However I would recommend anyone who is big on service to go during the off peak season.

Having visited the beautiful Sarova Shaba when it was low season I could tell that the staff were really struggling over the Madaraka day break to make all their guests comfortable. At one point our waiter forgot that she was directing us to a table when another group asked for directions. We also had instances where some food and dessert got finished before serving.

That said the food variety and quality is amazing and the members of staff are very hospitable.

The road to Shaba is an all weather road therefore one can comfortably drive the place. Its likely that ill visit again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a great view of the crocodile infested waters
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muthoni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We take this opportunity to thank you for taking time off to visit us during the Madaraka weekend celebrations. We appreciate your feedback and note your concerns where we fell short of our service delivery hence my team has since addressed the same.
We are delighted to note your room experience and the opportunity to see the crocodiles at our view point was indeed memorable.
Accept our apologies and trust we shall have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    97
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
110
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a problem with our booking when we got to the lodge, but one kind and ever smiling gentleman, Mr. Moses, took care of us in a matter of minutes. He would walk around greeting guests and enquiring on their wellbeing. His professionalism in customer care with a smile is what would have me visit Sarova Shaba again. Remember, ask for Mr Moses (he's the only one).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper deck, they have a better view in my opinion. Although all rooms offer a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having visited us and taking time to give us feedback.
My apologies for your booking reservations though I note our very own Moses was at hand to meet you and resolve the issue promptly.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Shaba and Hope to host you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards
Ronnie Kithinji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
616 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

After driving through small towns in northern Kenya with nothing that appeared habitable, then driving a number of miles down a so-so dirt road in what appeared to be a nearly lifeless desert, we arrived at an oasis called the Sarova Shaba Lodge and it is almost unbelievable what is there, compared to anything else around it. The area is gated and surrounded by an electrified fence. Vervet monkeys were walking the grounds. A small Nile monitor lizard ran be our door when we checked in and Nile crocodiles and baboons were along the river that runs next to the resort, just on the other side of the fence.

The room was very nice, with a nice fan. A little air conditioning would be nice, because of the heat, but it is understandable that it is not available given all of the conditions that exist. The food was good, especially Steven at the salad bar and his great creations.

The wildlife in nearby Buffalo Springs National Reserve was incredible. Loved the grevy's zebras, beisa oryx and reticulated giraffes, animals almost unique to this area. Amazing that this wildlife can live in this deserty area and even more amazing that this lodge exists, given the conditions.

I hope to come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sir,
My team and I take are glad to note that your entire stay was hospitable and refreshing.
Despite the location being semi arid, we appreciate there is a lot to offer in game and the ever inquisitive monkeys.
Am happy to note that Stanley did exceed your expectations. We take great pride in our staff and shall recognize him for being our star.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

visited this place in Christmas 2012. as soon as we walked the receptionist and the concierge welcome you warmly. i loved the cottage like rooms right by the river and so calm. i had the rooms on the upper floor which was better as the view is undisturbed. food buffet had a lot of variety..

i loved the massage areas aswell right by the river so calm and relaxing. because we went during the festive period on 24th they had a sundowner with an open bar and few snakcs and for the guests to mingle, after that was a bush dinner . very important and thoughtful for the lodge to have this little touch of christmas and it is very important. they had functions all days.

this lodge may not have direct access to the national park but just across the road you get access to Buffalo springs/samburu.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misstee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hospitality, ambience, food service.
Am glad that my entire team made your stay memorable and we shall have the opportunity to host you again during this festive season 2014.
Thank you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed at the Sarova Shaba Game Lodge for 2 nights while on a trip to the area in May 2014. Unfortunately, tourism in down in Kenya for a variety of reasons so the lodge was not full. However, we had friendly staff and great service at the Sarova. I have stayed here a few times before and it is always a good choice if you are in the area. While I was not here for safari this time as in the past, it really is a great place to see game - especially in the nearby Samburu and Buffalo Springs conservancies. The pool is refreshing after a hot day. Little streams run through the property and into the adjacent river so there is the constant and soothing sound of running water. Keep your windows closed because of the monkeys! I will visit again!

Room Tip: You can choose either an upper or lower level room in unique thatched buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
My team and I take this opportunity to thank you for taking time again to visit your preferred Lodge Shaba.
We feel honored that we do make a difference in ensuring our guests are delighted more so yourself where your experience was exceptional. We note your valuable good feedback on
Food, service, room ambience and general atmosphere- Asante sana.
Look forward to hosting you soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I had a great time here.
Friendly and helpful staff, efficient service, clean facilities and surroundings ... great experience overall.
We especially enjoyed the Bush Dinner, coupled with game drives to the nearby reserves (once you pay the conservation fees at Shaba, you have access to Samburu & Buffalo Springs).
Travelling here by road accords you the privilege of enjoying breathtaking scenery along the way!
We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on first floor are definitely a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mutahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for taking time to give us feedback. We are glad we put a smile on you both.
Am happy to note you do realize the infrastructure to Shaba is perfect and the scenery is amazing.
The road to the lodge is so easily accessible hence an opportunity to come see what we offer.
I hope we shall have the opportunity of hosting you and friends in the near future.
Asante sana!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

During 18 days in Keyna I stayed at 5 x Sarova hotels. All are unique in their style but have consistent staff commitment and efficiency. Had a wonderful stay at this hotel: Rooms are superb.....a great introduction to safari living with style! All members of staff exuded genuine professionalism and excellent customer interaction and service. Thank-you to everyone!

Room Tip: Rooms are superb lodges - I was glad to be on the first floor [better for those who are a bit squeam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jainii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback.
We are delighted to note that your holiday was more than memorable and enjoyable.
It is good to note our staff exceeded your expectations, the rooms and general ambience which you found unique.
We appreciate your feedback and will definitely share with my team.
I look forward to hosting you once again to Sarova Shaba.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
42.7 mi away
Alba Hotel Meru
Alba Hotel Meru
#1 of 5 in Meru Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
16.1 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu
Sentrim Samburu
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
12.7 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Address: Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing