We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quinta Experience”
Review of Quinta do Pego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta do Pego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Fabulous 3 nights in the Quinta. Fantastic views from the property over the Douro. Food and wines were first class and served in a very professional and friendly manner. We used the pool area as the weather was beautiful for 2 of the days and it is in a lovely situation. If back in this area again, will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tennisfan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Been there for 2 nights in May.

Quiet place, amazing views.

In case you decide to buy a Porto at the wine store, I strongly suggest the 10 years old Tawny.

Never tasted a better Porto. Bought just one bottle and regretted of that.

Good place to vist nearby: the small city of Lamego, 20 or 25 km from the Hotel.

Need a car to get there, of course, and speaking of that, be prepared for the driveway from the EN222 road.

Narrow, lot of sharp curves. But only about 800m and you can make it. I would just avoid to get there in the dark for the first time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank From_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Quinta do Pego. Absolutely breath-taking location, truly world class views. The service was second-to-none and wine/port served by a knowledgable staff. A truly special couple of days - and I very much hope I get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A real good experience, very nice place and very nice accomodation. Reception is very good. Food was very good but with a limited choice and also the wine and ports are very good. It is a real magical place ; the view on the Douro is exceptional. We hare really enjoyed our stay in this Quinta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thierry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My girlfriend and I found Quinta do Pego, it's staff, and tucked away location a magical place to stay. The rooms are modern, clean, and well decorated with a very comfortable bed. Two glasses and a decanter of complimentary tawny port await new comers upon check in, and we enjoyed ours on the room's patio while gazing out at Portugal's stunning and preeminent river. The bathroom was spacious with two sinks, a large tub, and a pair of robes. My only critique on the room is that the hot water takes a bit to warm up; about as long as it takes to drink a glass of wine.
The staff here is phenomenal! From start to finish Felipe and Erica handled all of our needs and wants with acute professionalism and generosity. Our dinner, which Felipe (director) orchestrated, was the best meal we had in portugal. He selected the meal for us and paired wine with the food and the four course meal with a aperitif's and a bottle of wine, was more than fairly priced.
Everything at the Quinta do Pego was better than we had imagined! I highly recommend staying here for one to three nights if you are in the Douro region.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The infrastructure in the Douro Valley has improved a lot in the past few years and today we have a wide selection of hotels and restaurants at our disposal. But Quinta do Pego is my ultimate choice when it comes to location,service,value,atmosphere and relaxation. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We enjoided our stay at Quita do Pego very much. From our room, we had the most beatyful
view to Douro River and the vineyards. The room and bathroom was superb, though the water takes a little while to get warm. Everything was very tastefully, the rooms, the pool and the garden. There is also a little church, maybe it is possible to get married!
It is allowed to walk around in the vineyard, and you have the most fantastic view of Douro Valley.
The vine and the portvine is excellent! The breakfast and dinner was fine. Felipe and the staff was very kindly and helpfull. The cleaning was fine too. We do want to come back another time!

Room Tip: Room nr. 6 with the view of Douro River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valenca Do Douro
2.4 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
5.6 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
120 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
11.2 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
241 reviews
2.6 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Pego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Pego

Address: Valenca Do Douro, Tabuaco 5120-493, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Tabuaco > Valenca Do Douro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valenca Do Douro
Price Range: £144 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Pego 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the beautiful vineyards of Quinta do Pego, Hotel Rural Quinta do Pego is a modern 4-star hotel with an outdoor pool and stunning views of Douro Valley. Quinta do Pego is located in UNESCO's World Heritage Site of Douro. It has one of the most superb vineyards in the Valley of the Douro River. Each of the 10 air-conditioned guest rooms is tastefully decorated and has free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and underfloor heating in the bathroom. Guests can enjoy spectacular views from their private balconies. Quinta do Pego has a restaurant available upon request with a 12-hour notice. The menu is fixed and includes typical Portuguese cuisine. Hotel Rural also has a bar offering refreshing drinks and snacks. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Quinta do Pego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing