We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Quinta do Pego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta do Pego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is an amazing place tucked in the Douro. The pictures don't do it justice! We had an amazing time relaxing by the pool and enjoying the wonderful dinners on site. If you go, eat at the Quinta!!! The food and service is wonderful. A few things you should know, the drive is some what stressful if you are not used to the roads in Portugal. Also the entrance to the Quinta can be scary the first time you drive up to the hotel. The only draw back was that there was a small child at the Quinta during our stay. Unfortunately the hotel is really not meant for small children and this child was quite disruptive. All in all, we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sparky0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We happened to drive past the sign to Quinta do Pégo and decided to give it a try; a case of real serendipity! We got the last available room, which was very luxurious and close to the door to the marvellous swimmingpool. As we were tired after a day´s driving we stayed for dinner, a delicious meal on the terrace overlooking the Douro. We enjoyed drinking the excellent wines, talking to the other guests. After we had left the following day I discovered I had forgotten my bikini. Just a phonecall and an email later and it was arranged that it was sent to my home-address by mail, where I have just received it without having to pay any postage. Such wonderful service! Next time we are back in this region we will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A great place to rest and enjoy nature. Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff. With the best cuisine and wine that Douro has to offer. The pool and the view are breathtaking. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martix36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Fabulous 3 nights in the Quinta. Fantastic views from the property over the Douro. Food and wines were first class and served in a very professional and friendly manner. We used the pool area as the weather was beautiful for 2 of the days and it is in a lovely situation. If back in this area again, will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tennisfan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Been there for 2 nights in May.

Quiet place, amazing views.

In case you decide to buy a Porto at the wine store, I strongly suggest the 10 years old Tawny.

Never tasted a better Porto. Bought just one bottle and regretted of that.

Good place to vist nearby: the small city of Lamego, 20 or 25 km from the Hotel.

Need a car to get there, of course, and speaking of that, be prepared for the driveway from the EN222 road.

Narrow, lot of sharp curves. But only about 800m and you can make it. I would just avoid to get there in the dark for the first time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank From_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Quinta do Pego. Absolutely breath-taking location, truly world class views. The service was second-to-none and wine/port served by a knowledgable staff. A truly special couple of days - and I very much hope I get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A real good experience, very nice place and very nice accomodation. Reception is very good. Food was very good but with a limited choice and also the wine and ports are very good. It is a real magical place ; the view on the Douro is exceptional. We hare really enjoyed our stay in this Quinta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thierry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valenca Do Douro
2.4 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
5.6 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
120 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
252 reviews
23.1 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
450 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Pego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Pego

Address: Valenca Do Douro, Tabuaco 5120-493, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Tabuaco > Valenca Do Douro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valenca Do Douro
Price Range: £144 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Pego 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the beautiful vineyards of Quinta do Pego, Hotel Rural Quinta do Pego is a modern 4-star hotel with an outdoor pool and stunning views of Douro Valley. Quinta do Pego is located in UNESCO's World Heritage Site of Douro. It has one of the most superb vineyards in the Valley of the Douro River. Each of the 10 air-conditioned guest rooms is tastefully decorated and has free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and underfloor heating in the bathroom. Guests can enjoy spectacular views from their private balconies. Quinta do Pego has a restaurant available upon request with a 12-hour notice. The menu is fixed and includes typical Portuguese cuisine. Hotel Rural also has a bar offering refreshing drinks and snacks. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Quinta do Pego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing