We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility - Would Recommend”
Review of Mabely Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mabely Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kampi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

All Inclusive holiday.

This hotel is located in the mountains, about half an hour to 40 minutes from the airport. The hotel has two main pools, which guests have access to. There is a snack bar located at the bottom pool that also provides drinks. The restaurant. "Lydia," was the main place we ate.

Staff: Very helpful and attentive.
Rooms: Cannot speak for other rooms but could not complain about our room. We had a chest of drawers each side of the bed, double wadrobe, TV, couch en suite and balcony (with sea view.) The room also had a safe and air conditioning, which were free to all inclusive guests.
Food: Excellent: Buffet style that varied every day.
Location: Remote, quiet area. The hotel offers all inclusive guests a free service to and from the airport and to beaches/ other attractions on request.
Wi Fi: Free Wi Fi hotspot, speed not the same as high speed broadband but more than adeqate for emailing
Buildings and Gardens: Very nice and well kept.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the bottom pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_Silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at The Mabely Grand, the staff were very kind and courteous, they were attentive and efficient. Our room was located on the same floor as reception but tucked away and very quiet and beautiful, comfy bed and spacious. A special mention to the kind young lady on duty when we arrived, I did not get her name she was blonde and her name began with "G" she helped make our stay extra special, also a mention for Visilis and Ilias the restaurant manager and waiter they were very attentive and super efficient, if you wanted a certain table or location you could go for a drink at the bar and Visilis would come find us and guide us to our table of choice (he never wrote anything down, and he forgot nothing !). We were all inclusive, the food was wonderful, this is the first time I have enjoyed an all inclusive arrangement, I was actually looking forward to the experience every evening, the breakfast was very nice as was lunch - but the deserts were to die for!! I mentioned to Visilis that it was my husband’s birthday the day we arrived and he had a beautiful cake made and presented to him by the pastry chef it was the nicest cake ever - plus everyone on the terrace sang happy birthday to him. It seemed quite full although it was not busy, you never had to worry about sunbeds although you got repeat offenders putting their towels on at dawn we could actually watch them from our room and they looked very sad, it wasn't necessary. Mainly for couples not much for children to do although the pools were lovely it was very peaceful and tranquil definitely more for adults.

Not a beach holiday, you are overlooking the sea and a beautiful dramatic landscape, magnificent in fact but you have to travel at least 20 mins by car or shuttle bus to beach, we hired a car for 3 days and travelled around the island seeing as much as possible as we were visiting Zante not just the hotel and that worked out perfect, the hotel prepared a lunch for us each day. There are excursions available but it is first come first served and you have to be pretty organised to get on them.

Staff were friendly and spoke good english, the only problem the whole week was the bar service, there is only one man serving all evening and we were all at his mercy!! During the day it is very quiet at the hotel bar, and the only pool bar is quite a distance from the main building and adult pool, so if you wanted a drink you had to get dressed and sometimes wait for someone to attend the bar it wasn't the end of the world and it did seem to pick up towards the end of our stay.

All the staff in the restaurant were friendly nothing was too much trouble the chef's were constantly monitoring what was needed, the food was hot, fresh and beautifully presented. The dining area was immaculate fresh starched tablecloths with silver settings, it was comfortable and relaxing no pressure this must be the hotels motto, the staff never bothered you but if you needed anything you only had to look at them and they were straight there.

Maybe we were early season, only one evening's entertainment "Greek Dancing" and it was very good, this group of people got everyone up, even the grumps, soon everyone was involved !! WI FI was poor the lobby was the best area but it kept going off and it was very slow.

The room was very nice with a wonderful view and a good size balcony, it was clean and comfortable the bed was really nice a little firm but still comfy. There was a decent sized fridge which I used for water mainly. It had a large bathroom with hairdryer and telephone (what more do you need) and a good range of toiletries.

Tip - get a car, it is a beautiful island and the roads are very good and well signposted, the little coves on the north east of the island are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2011Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We visited the Mabely on a last minute deal and were absolutely delighted when we arrived at the Hotel. The surrounding area is beautiful, very picturesque although in quite an isolated location so not ideal if you are the type who likes to check out local bars and restaurants, as there aren't really any close by.

We originally booked a family room with a sea view but were thrilled when we were told we had been upgraded. Our room was actually a suite with it's own swimming pool, terrace and sun loungers. There were complimentary bath robes in the room, a mini bar and quality toiletries which were replenished daily. The room was also cleaned, beds changed and towels replenished daily.

In terms of the public areas, these were equally lovely, quality furnishings with an opulent feel. There are two public pools although only one of these is suitable for children and unfortunatley at this pool the sun loungers are the type where you can only lie on your back which might annoy some people. The second pool has fabulous comfy large sun beds which would be ideal for families, sadly this pool was a no go zone for children as i found out to my peril when we once stopped there to admire the view. I was greeted with looks that would kill by more than one person!!!

The Restaurant area was lovely, food was varied and fresh with lots of fruits, salads, pasta etc and desserts guaranteed to help you pile the pounds on!!! The Staff were equally good and made you feel very welcome, they also made a huge fuss of the children.

In terms of entertainment, this was very low key and if you require a daily programme of activities then the Mabely probably isn't for you as it's just not that kind of hotel. I wonder however if this will change as the season moves on as the Hotel was fairly quiet wehen we visited.

The all inclusive lite is a good option and you are able to order bottles of wine with your meals which is a good idea as the bar in the evening gets quite busy and as delighful and quirky as George the Bartender is, he rushes for no man, which can make for lengthy queues for a drink.

To summarise i would say that if you are planning to visit then car hire is good idea in order to explore the local area as the shuttle bus fills up quickly. If you want to completely relax and recharge then you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fez40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Mabely Grand is a really beautiful hotel set in stunning grounds in the area of Kampi.
I visited with my boyfriend in June 2011 and we were not disappointed!
The food was fantastic, so fresh and lots of choice! Amazing meat dishes, great salads, fish, pasta, fresh cakes and pastries - lovely.

The pool area was great, no screaming children running around every 2 minutes like normal holidays.
There were plenty of sun loungers and it's not the sort of place where people get up at 6am to place their towels down! So there was no fighting for space.

Our room was spacious and very clean, there are energy saving lightbulbs in the bathroom so dont be shocked if its incredibly dark initially - it does get brighter!

A couple of minor complaints..
We did feel that we were treated slightly differently because of our ages (24 and 26), the older guests seemed to command more attention and at times we felt quite ignored and pushed to the side. Im not sure if this is something anyone else experienced but we found it frustrating initially.

Also the hotel bar was only ever staffed by one person (George) who was not very friendly towards us and a few times we found ourselves waiting patiently for at least ten minutes for a drink as he just ignored us. He just didnt seem to want to serve us and after a while we gave up and got drinks from the restaurant.
We tried hard to make an effort and learn some greek phrases and found it annoying that we had paid for all inclusive and yet felt we couldnt even get drinks when we wanted!
We had a feeling this was also an age thing but maybe it's just how he is!

Overall the holiday was great, the rest of the staff were LOVELY and we just wish there had been more people on the bar so we could have used it more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kk22072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have recently returned from the Mabely Grand, had a vey enjoyable time.

All the staff were very helpful.

We stopped all inclusive and would recommend this ,only minor comment is they did not always label what the food was but if you were to ask they would inform you.

If you are travelling with young children i would recomment hiring a car although the hotel dose offer a mini bus to three different beach locations. We took our one year old with us we went out on the mini bus and then got a taxi back to the hotel which worked out well.

The rooms were spacious and kept clean.

Nice view from the hotel.

Would not hesitate about booking a return holiday

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank purplemonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Room Tip: ask the staff - they are so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeandChris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dotti123090268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampi
12.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,281 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
647 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
13.2 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,553 reviews
13 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabely Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabely Grand Hotel

Address: Kampi Village, Kampi 290 91, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kampi
Price Range: £55 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mabely Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine staying in the best five star Hotel in Zakynthos! Everything you desire, ultra luxury, idyllic landscapes & romantic sunsets, will be there to attract your imagination. The Mabely Grand Hotel is situated on one of the most picturesqe and tranquile areas of Zakynthos (Zante). On the edge of clear waters, full of green trees and a wide seafront of the Ionian sea, is an ideal place to rest, enjoy the unique colors of sunsets and be ready to make daily escapes in the nearby areas of the beautiful island of Zakynthos. The 5-star Mabely Grand Hotel built in April 2008, extents in an area of 60.000 square meters, a cape of extremely natural beauty, viewing the Cross of Kampi and the magic blue of the Ionian sea. Mabely Grand Hotel is located in the area of Kampi, 29 km from the Airport and 30 km from the town of Zakynthos. It is also only 15 km from the famous 'Shipwreck' beach, also known as 'Navagio' and 'Smugglers Cove'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mabely Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabely Grand Hotel Kampi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing