We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Mabely Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mabely Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kampi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Mabely Hotel. It is definitely worth organising a hire car from the airport, as the hotel is a little isolated. It is situated on the west coast, which is definitively more beautiful than the east. The staff were friendly, however, they didn't always inform the guests of the different activities going on in the evening, and could have done with giving us more information upon arrival. The food and drinks are fantastic, although can be a bit of a wait at the bar. Definitely worth visiting and I would recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LJ822013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

After driving from the airport to the opposite side of the island going into barren land might have been a clue to how remote this hotel was.
When we checked in I forgot to change money at the airport so asked reception to change my money but was told they do not do that and I would have to go 40 minutes drive back the way we had come to the nearest exchange, After going to our room which was nice we decided to go for a swim, the pool has z shaped wicker sunbeds that have no cushions plus the shape they are means you have to sit upright only. The pool was full of dead wasps and upon telling the reception this I was told " we are in the campo" far enough but a 5 star hotel should clean the pool.
Please be aware that there is nothing around the Hotel no shops no restaurants no bars nothing at all and the closest village is a couple miles away, and that seemed to be closed!
If you want isolation then its perfect but if you do enjoy a bit of life then do not go here!!
We checked out after 2 days as could not stand it any longer and went the other side of the island to where there was some life!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ellebetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have just had a fantastic two weeks at the Mabely Grand. It is our second time here having spent a week here last year and having enjoyed it so much decided to book for a fortnight this year. The hotel is beautiful, it is in a quiet remote location so if you are looking for excitement and a party atmosphere then look at other hotels but if you are looking for a perfect relaxing holiday in a beautiful hotel then this is the place. The hotel is remote and quiet but this is part of its charm and practically every review states this.
The views from the hotel are amazing and the sunsets are spectacular, each one different. We were amazed that every balcony didn't have people on them watching them every night. The food is great with a great choice of fresh, well cooked dishes and a good variety, very difficult not to pig out at lunch and evening meals, I would recommend that you go AI as others have commented that it can be expensive otherwise. The pools are great with the top pool being chilled and super relaxing with large Kabana beds and huge bed sun loungers, the lower pool has more activity but is still so relaxing.
There are trips to the beach every day but as other people have mentioned you need to book in advance, it is worth though hiring a car to see some of the island for a couple of days, it is a pleasant drive to the beaches in Vasilkos and other parts of the island. Another couple in the hotel told us they had an amazing day as they had hired a boat to take round the coast, something we will definitely do next year. This is one of the many things that reception at the hotel can help out with organising, along with cars for hire and if you email them in advance, they will also arrange a transfer to the hotel from the airport for 12 Euros pp instead of the 150 euros the travel companies will charge.
It is also worthwhile spending at least one evening at one of the restaurants near the cross, they all have amazing views, depending on which one you go to they are between 20 mins and 30 mins walk away but its a nice walk to work up an appetite.
The final and most important point that makes this hotel so special is the staff, from the moment you arrive they make every effort to make your stay as perfect as possible. I will mention Yiota on reception, Yannis on the bar, Yannis and Vasilis in the restaurant, Katerina and Thomas on the pool bar particularly, but all the staff in the hotel make a special effort to make sure all the guests enjoy their stay as much as possible.
This is a great hotel for a wonderful relaxing time.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views,some of the garden view rooms don't real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank winn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

after spending a week in June at Mabely Grand we came home with mixed feelings.

Positive points:
+ the food was extraordinary, the best and tasty food i ever experienced in an all inclusive resort
+ the staff very polite and helpful. I forgot a camera lens in the room and they manage to send it to me per post.
+ the shuttle to Porto Vromi, Porto Limnionas or Alykes.
+ the very nice views from he restaurant and from the main building
+ peaceful location
+ the pools
+ a small children playground and the nice courtyard with peacocks, ducks, gooses and chickens.
+ the pine pleasant smell from the balcony.
+ the food, again :-)

Negative points
The most negative points are regarding the rooms and especially regarding the bathrooms. All that in very big contrast with the main building, restaurant or the nice pictures from the site
- the rooms are clean and simple. But if you expect the luxury form the pictures on the website, it's a disappointment. Overall, it's a 4 stars room.
- the bathrooms are very dated. We stayed in a room ( 603 ) with a very unpleasant smell from the bathroom. After 2 days we complained at the reception and change the room with one in the same building ( 601). The second bathroom was smell-less ( :-) ) but still very dated.
- very bad and slow wi-fi connection on the main building. Practically, without internet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the mabely for 2 weeks in June 2013, only had a promo room in the main hotel but what a hotel.
From the first moment to the last it was the best place we have ever stayed.
Food was out of this world, service was unbeatable with staff being very attentive .
Yes the hotel is very isolated and some people moaned but they must be idiots, every review you read tells you it's isolated so if you don't want peace and quite go elsewhere.
If you want peace and quite with a touch of luxury this is the place for you...
We will return next year I hope.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARETH b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Peaceful place
We stayed here in beginning of July this year with my daughter. The main building was nice and service is excellent except the room location . When we dicovered the room was located in very poor place with no view at all . Could you imagine in the morning when you expect to see nice mediterranean landscape , at least a nice garden your eyes have stuck on wall , like in cell and of course you can see just a blue-blue sky !
When we asked Yota ( hotel -manager) to upgrade our room and how much will it be cost . She offers us only a Suite with a Pool for 400 Euro p/day ! Unfortunatly it wasn't what we expected . In an other bulding next to second pool was nice rooms with stunning view but we undersrood Russian tour agency was occupated for russian turists . Maybe UK's turists happy with strange block like ours? yes we not spent too much time in the room but very regreted about room location.
Hotel's staff are very polite, friendly , rooms very clean and meal in restaurant was very impressive , mostly desserts yummy ! It really was amazing and big variety . Thanks to Chef !!! The breakfast and evening dinner on open terrase what could be nice with sunset view , very romantic and stunning !!!
An other small problem if you would like to go to the sea side you need to pre book the bus seat an advance . The bus very small but driver very good guy ! We read about this problem and prepared to this but one day all was booked . We hired the car and saw the nice beatiful cute island Zante. We could compare our luxury hotel location with crowd not beaches. We had a fun and excitement to drive on the steeps, narrow roads but we lost without satnav it was extra fun !

Totally agree with people . If you would like to recharge you battery, meet nice people and quiete place go to this hotel but think about room location ! Not fun for kids . Half board is enough otherwise will stuck in hotel and put on weight ;-))
Для русских туристов - очень рекомендую этот отель , но детям там будет скучно , хорошо это место для романтичекого путешествия , где все размеренно и неторопливо ! Не рекомендую все включено , опасно для веса :-))

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the GMH 2 years ago in a Suite with a Pool we shared with the room next to us. This time we stayed in a sea view upgraded room and to be honest, we wasn't impressed to begin with, we asked if we could pay to be upgraded but the Hotel was full so we stayed in the room we was given. Once we unpacked and went down to the lower pool area, had a welcome Cocktail and realised the reasons why we decided to come back, we didnt even think again about the lack of room and slightly dated bathroom. If you want relaxation, fabulous food and to chill for a week this is most definately your place. If you are wanting 5 star luxury as you expect in the USA or Egypt this Hotel may not quite be up to your expectations but for Greek standards I would happily say its 5 star! We will definately be back again, keep up the good work Mabley

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra book a Suite with a Sharing Pool you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampi
16.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
13 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
291 reviews
13.2 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
12.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,277 reviews
13.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabely Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabely Grand Hotel

Address: Kampi Village, Kampi 290 91, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kampi
Price Range: £49 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mabely Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine staying in the best five star Hotel in Zakynthos! Everything you desire, ultra luxury, idyllic landscapes & romantic sunsets, will be there to attract your imagination. The Mabely Grand Hotel is situated on one of the most picturesqe and tranquile areas of Zakynthos (Zante). On the edge of clear waters, full of green trees and a wide seafront of the Ionian sea, is an ideal place to rest, enjoy the unique colors of sunsets and be ready to make daily escapes in the nearby areas of the beautiful island of Zakynthos. The 5-star Mabely Grand Hotel built in April 2008, extents in an area of 60.000 square meters, a cape of extremely natural beauty, viewing the Cross of Kampi and the magic blue of the Ionian sea. Mabely Grand Hotel is located in the area of Kampi, 29 km from the Airport and 30 km from the town of Zakynthos. It is also only 15 km from the famous 'Shipwreck' beach, also known as 'Navagio' and 'Smugglers Cove'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mabely Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabely Grand Hotel Kampi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing