We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A PLACE !!!!!!!!”
Review of Port Light Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Light Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Bolberry B&B and Inns
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WHAT A PLACE !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from a two night break with my husband and small dog (Boris)....... Legs still aching like they are gonna drop off.....
Excellent location....just like paradise but better.
Breathtaking scenery and the most beautiful costal walks (or hill climbs as I prefer to think of them !!!). Just slightly embarassing when your overtaken by an octagenerian with a walking frame...

Food was the best selection and of amazing quality. All fresh locally sourced ingredients, beautifully prepared.

Honestly the best value for money we've experienced.

Staff couldnt do enough, went literally out of their way with everything

There's even an honesty bar, for that well deserved pint (poured not very expertly by myself) after our yomp. The only thing missing was a large St Bernard to come and give my a piggy back from the cove... But i've no doubt that too could have been supplied if requested.

We make a point of never visitung the same place twice (as there are so many places to see). At the Portlight Inn we made an exception and have already enquired about Aug this year.

A truly dog friendly experience...... Most places state that they are dog friendly and plainly are not..... Here Boris could stay on his own (if he could negotiate the driving)... Thankfully he's taking us again, very soon.

Thankyou to everyone, It was the best in all respects

Room Tip: They are all amazing rooms..... spoilt for choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey-shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    38
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
94
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just ambling along on a cliff top walk when we noticed Port Light Hotel and restaurant. Loved it. Very informal, relaxed and unpretentious. Had delicious crab salad sandwich and glass of excellent wine. Woud love to return and stay sometime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBS50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely three day break with our young dog, Polly.
Having never been on holiday with a dog, we weren't sure what to expect.
We couldn't be more pleased.
We were very pleased to find that dogs were not just tolerated, but made very welcome.
The location, food, accommodation and friendly and welcoming service from the hotel staff made our stay very enjoyable.
We will be considering returning next year to this beautiful part of the country, and the port light hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and plan to return. The team here are very friendly and we loved the informal yet professional atmosphere. The location is beautiful and the coastal path offers fantastic walks in both directions. The Port Light is one of the most dog friendly places we have stayed in the UK - a real breathe of fresh air compared to places that 'put up' with dogs as opposed to welcome them. The location has a lot of interesting history attached to it too and the staff are really happy to share their knowledge about it and recommend nearby places of interest.

Accommodation: Our room was light and airy with a good sized bathroom and a comfy bed. It was all beautifully clean and homely. There is a small lounge area adjacent to the restaurant with sofas where you can relax with a drink and look at the lovely views. Perfect after a day of walking.

Food and drink: The cooked breakfast is first class as are the evening meals. Portions are generous without being over-facing. It is clear that the chef takes pride in what he produces without needing to add complexity to a menu that provides plenty of choice with a homely feel. They have a good real ale on hand pump as well as a decent choice of wines etc. The only improvement that I'd suggest is to provide the breakfast coffee a cafetieres but that is just because I am a coffee snob and like it a bit stronger with the 'fresh bean' taste.

Value for money - Yes totally - what more can I say!
It is worth noting that all the other guests seemed to be having a lovely time - there were all cheerful and friendly - always a good sign!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for 7 nights including Christmas Day. Great food and service as usual. Even the weather could not spoil our relaxing break. Can't wait to come back next year. Best dog friendly place on the planet

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happywalkers083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

As a family, we've not been away properly in several years, and, as it's our 15th wedding anniversary and my husband's 40th birthday soon, we decided we would take a weekend away as a family. However, we have a greyhound who is nervous of strangers, and suffers from separation anxiety, so any break we took needed to include her too.

Searching for dog-friendly hotels turned up the Port Light, which, while less than an hour's drive away from home, was far enough for it to be a break from everyday life. According to the Port Light's website, it has been voted the most dog friendly hotel in the UK, and that would be hard to argue against!

From the moment we arrived, we were all made to feel incredibly welcome, and our dog made more than a few friends immediately. While the outside of the hotel isn't much to look at (it was built in 1909 and has been used as a signalling station or similar in the wars), the inside is cosy, warm and has some wonderfully charming elements, such as the exposed stone behind the woodburner, which was more than welcome throughout the weekend!

Our room (Room 1) is the only family room in the small hotel, and our 12 year old son loved the fact that the single bed is tucked away in an alcove of its own, giving him some privacy. The beds were comfortable, and, while the furniture was painted plain white, it added to the clean, modern feel of the room itself. The large bathroom had a massive Velux window in the ceiling, giving views down to the coast if you were tall enough, and was clean and spacious.

The location is a pain to find, but it's well worth driving into the back of beyond for. On a good day, the walks are spectacular, and, even though we visited the Port Light during the weekend of the worst predicted storm since 1987, we still managed to get out and about a bit. The dog loved wandering along the cliffs, but found that she was terrified of sheep!

Enough of the building and surroundings, what makes this place something special is the people. Sean, the owner is amazingly friendly, Liz, who looked after us upon arrival and in the evenings, is one in a million, and the chef, David... wow! Can we clone you and take one of you home? That leads nicely onto the food. The menu is simple and hearty, but the quality of the food far outclasses expectations. We ate dinner at the hotel once, and between us, we had the whitebait, crab ramekin and carrot and coriander soup, followed by lamb shank, sirloin steak, and vegetarian chilli, and it was all delicious. The chilli in particular, even for a non-veggie like myself, was outstanding.

As for the beer? I think my hubby wants shares in Dartmoor Ale now. A smooth, creamy pint that he couldn't get enough of. A decent wine list, too, so we were both sorted!

Breakfasts, though, were nothing short of incredible. A huge variety, all beautifully cooked (even the poached eggs were done to perfection), and the perfect start to each day.

Will wee be back? Absolutely! Try to keep us away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anise76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Once again we have had a wonderful time at the Port Light where Sean and Hazel & all the rest of there fantastic staff looked after us in there usual friendly way. We stayed in room 8 which is a really quiet room with lovely views. David & Paul cooked as well as ever & as always we have to diet now till May when we return to Port Light to be spoilt once again (Can't Wait)

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 are downstairs so help people who can't do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolberry
1.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
753 reviews
3.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
2.4 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Light Hotel

Property: Port Light Hotel
Address: Bolberry Down | near Marlborough, Bolberry, Salcombe TQ7 3DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Bolberry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bolberry
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Port Light Hotel Devon/Bolberry, Salcombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing