We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Himmaphan
Nearby Hotels
Andaman Seaside Resort(Bang Tao Beach)
US$54
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
US$1,130
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
US$266
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunwing Bangtao Beach(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chivatara Resort Bangtao Beach, Phuket(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pai Tan Villas(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort(Bang Tao Beach)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$74
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Ocean Palms(Bang Tao Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
22
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla stafffew minutes walkprayermosquenoisemarketfamiliesmassagebeachbangtao
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Himmaphan villa for 9 nights in July and the stay was just great.
We arrived couple of hours later than the other people in our group, so we went on a separate taxi from the airport and the driver was lost on the way to the villa.. so just make sure you have a host’s phone number or a Thai speaking villa’s staff number with you so you can ask a driver to call and check for the directions. I loved the girls who work at the villa, their warmth and smiles are what we are missing now so much. The cook Astuti is amazing, she became a part of our family from the first day! Our children loved to spend time with her and the villa offered quite a big range of toys for kids to play with. This was my best stay abroad ever!

Room Tip: I think the biggest rooms were upstairs, but we stayed in room 3 which was the regular sized room as all the others on the first floor. All rooms have different design, so see each of them before settling in
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nat335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Short review:
I stayed for a week as a guest for a friend's wedding (held at the Himmaphan) & had a great time. The staff, especially Tuti, were fantastic and the place is genuinely peaceful & luxurious. It actually felt a bit like being on a 5 star version of 'Big Brother' at times, as it is very self contained. A rare 5 star rating for me!

Long Review:

Staff
Not very large, but certainly in charge is a very smiley Indonesian lady called Astuti, who is a gem and a great cook - I had to check my friend's suitcase when we left to make sure he hadn't kidnapped her, and I think he might have made a marriage proposal! With the food, just ask her for what you want and give her some money, she takes care of everything. Ask in good time and it will be a lot cheaper as she will be able to use the local markets rather than the local Tesco! There are 2 other ladies who clean and cook, plus a night time security guard. They are all pleasant and completely trustworthy. You will find that the staff will be exceptionally helpful with anything you ask of them, but you do need to ask. Note to Brits - this is not always in the British character, especially mine. We wait to be offered everything. This is not the nature of Thailand, so get over it, your stay will be greatly enhanced!

Bedrooms
The bedrooms are decent sized, and have good aircon a minibar, and a decent electronic safe. They also have toiletries, towels, robes and slippers like a decent resort hotel. There are 4 rooms attached to the main building, 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs, plus some separate "mini villas" around the pool. The two upstairs rooms open onto a roofed balcony with a pool table and have lovely bathrooms with Turkish baths. This is a bit of an oddity, as they are the natural domain of the lads, being straight upstairs from the media room and by the pool table, but the girls will bag them for the bathrooms! The 2 adjoining "mini villas" which face the pool became the lad pad on our stay, but would probably be the best rooms for any couples with young children, as they are very well isolated from noise.

Many of the rooms are in pairs with lockable adjoining doors. Each of the "mini villa" type rooms are accessed through sliding french windows and has its own patio area with table and chairs and sun loungers. I found I always got a good nights sleep, beds large and comfortable, although it wasn't possible to split the poolside room beds into singles. There were electric bug zappers & the tablets for them available from the staff, but we did not work this out until late in the day - take your own or do ask for them up front, as the mosquitoes can bite with a vengeance. Bedrooms are cleaned daily, the staff are very discrete, and even go in and clean in the afternoon if you have a huge lie in to get over the jet lag.

Communal Areas
The building is designed in such a way that small groups can gather fairly privately in a number of places, so it would suit several families sharing who do not want to be in each other's pockets 24/7. In addition to the upstairs covered balcony area with the pool table, there is a secluded patio area the other side of the building to the pool with a BBQ and bistro type seating. There is a large media room with a modern PC, DVD / TV and decent Dolby surround sound. The kitchen / lounge / dinner area is large, airy and pleasant. Furnishings are simple and quite stylish. There is a sound system with an amp under the kitchen top that you can plug a Smartphone or MP3 player into via the 3.5mm headphone socket (lead provided & set up ready to use).

The one downside is that the poolside patio area opening from the main lounge of the villa is too small for all the guests to socialise together outside - if this was extended to each side by a couple of metres with more comfortable seating, it would be ideal. I also recommend buying the locally available outdoor incense insect repellent; we always had a couple of those on the go. There are loads of geckos in the garden, and it is common to see the smaller ones on the walls inside as well - just ignore them, they eat the insects! There are giant snails, a couple of cats, and frogs in the gardens too! The pool is excellent, it has a small shallow section which can either be used for kids or sunbathing, the rest is about 5 feet deep and big enough to do lengths or play water polo.

As a Wedding Venue
The Himmaphan was great and the staff were very accommodating and chilled out about it all. I guess the wedding is another story really, so if anybody is considering using the Himmaphan for this, I am happy to chat privately via the forums.

Local Area
The resort is small and friendly but large enough to a have a selection of bars, massage and beauty type places, a couple of the massage ones are pretty obviously doubling as brothels - but you see that everywhere in Thailand. It also has a few mini-mart type shops, a chemist, and a few places to eat; the restaurant on a corner on the way to the beach is very good. Phuket has a large Muslim population, and the local mosque is just outside the Himmaphan, so you will hear the call to prayer regularly, but it is pretty short and unobtrusive. Tuti's cooking is absolutely fantastic, so you will probably be tempted to give her money to shop/cook, and stay in, but we didn't want to be in every night so we mixed and matched.

Be VERY careful swimming from the local beach, the sand drops away deceptively fast and can pull you in strongly on an ebb tide. One of our party got into difficulty and had to be hauled out in some distress. Pay attention to where the locals are swimming/surfing and where the red flags are.

If you want to go out to Patong etc... in the evening, the villa staff will arrange it for about 600-800 baht each way for a 10 seater, which is the going rate, and the minibus they get you is a lot better than most. If you are staying a week, you should probably budget for 2-3 trips into Patong if you like livelier nights out. A TukTuk back from Patong costs about 500-600 baht, but is a lot slower & you can arrange a return trip with the minibus driver if you know when you'll be coming back. Phuket TukTuks are based on a teeny Suzuki carry van rather than a motorbike, so they will seat about 6 adults in the back, but they are down to walking pace up hills when fully loaded. The TukTuks are a cartel & rip you off big style for short journeys, and would recommend private taxi arrangements instead. There is a night security guard to let you back into the villa complex, so the place is pretty secure with a high wall and always locked door.

In the village, my favourite bar was "Yellow Bar", which is frequented by locals as well as a variety of foreigners - in one visit we met a Bolivian, a German, and the local law enforcement officer. You can have a fun night out just bumming round the local bars - there are several on the beach as well as in the village, but we were there in the off season and only a few were open, although we found one we liked and dropped in a couple of times for a few Changs and a Sam Song rum on the rocks!

Room Tip: Best bathrooms are in the 2 upstairs rooms. Nicest & quietest downstairs rooms are the 2 ajoining villas facing the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a 10 days vacation with a company of 15 person including 3 children. We spent a nice time. And it was a second time of our vacation on Himmaphan. First time was 3 years before.
We can note a few disadvantages:
1. Mosquitoes in some rooms - we had to use antimosquito device with a pills kindly given by host.
2. Noise of water pump behind of one room. But our host has agreed to change that room for one of our families.
3. We had a few visits of staff, who cut the grass, repair air conditioning etc. Such visits were not agreed to us. As a result those people came after lunch, when we prefer to rest. They can come after breakfest, when we prefer to go to the beach.
4. Himmaphan does not have a reserve generator as it needs for 5 stars hotel. Once we had an electricity problem for an hour and no light, no water...

But generally we had a good impression of our vacation. Fantastic sea, good cousine. We come again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vadim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had a family holiday - 20 people in total - 10 adults and 10 kids ranging from 1yo to 15 yo - stay at Himmaphan for 1 week. It was the best holiday - and a memory for ever. Every 4 years we try to have a holiday together - and this one was the best. Astuti, Lucky & Nui looked after us so well - cooking beautiful meals and always smiling. The accommodation was clean and so comfortable - a luxury. Highly recommend..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Surrounded by great infrastructure still when you inside you feel you are totally isolated from the outside world and you are a royalty of your own kingdom where all your wishes are fulfilled and non invasive staff attend to all your requests like you are a king.
Love the swimming pool, garden and birds singing while you sunbathing , serene atmosphere, numerous beach clubs on near by beaches, interior decor and breakfast and drinks that the girls made. Did not want to leave.

Room Tip: I Liked the one on the second floor, it has a Jakuzzi spa bath and you can play billiard on a mezzanine floor while sipping some beer
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews