We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Layan Villas Bang Tao”
Review of Layan Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Layan Villas
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our experience in Layan Villas was awful as… we were forced to go to another place:
We made a reservation by booking.com, we also sent an e-mail directly to Layan Villas, and Mr.Pumipat Khoo-Aroon (known as PK) replied confirming our reservation and ensuring us that everything was OK.
When we arrived with a couple of friends who planned to stay there for 2 weeks, we had the unpleasant surprise that they were totally booked. Even for us, in spite of having a reservation a week later, Layan-Villas was full. We felt deceived and were clearly harmed by this situation.
Even if Layan Villas found us another place to stay, we understood that it’s a current situation: The problem here is not overbooking: it’s pure robbery! Reservations seem to be always possible, and Layan Villas proceeds by inflating the prices, pulling-out cheaper reservations.
We read in other opinions that PK was a nice person. Unfortunately, we don’t have the same opinion. He LIED to us since the beginning.
PK is a shameless LIAR and Layan Villas is a FRAUD.
I can guarantee by my experience in Thailand (4th time), prices and conditions offered by Layan Villas are way far from the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Vekasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have to start off by Saying we got a very special deal through ba for this which was about 60 GNP over night. At this orice with a private pool the villa we stayed in was acceptable although dear below the standard at similar orice we have had in thailand . At the published price of between 8 and 10k baht a night it is a total disgrace

The good points. Lots of power points. A pool long enough to swim in. A mobile phone provided which we didn't need but a nice touch. Total privacy within the villa. Internet works well. After that I run out of positives

The villa wa not clean. Cobwebs on the tv. Thick dust in the kitchen and bedroom. Mouldy seat covers. Mould and deep scratches on walls. A kitchen that is unequipped. Three spoons for a ills sleeping six. No pans to cook. No oven trays for cooking. Mismatched glassware and not enough. No wine glasses. No tea towels. Settees thoroughly stained. Cooker ceramic (who the heck had one if those in thailand) and very very scratched with ingrained dirt

Two cots ordered and confirmed . One supplied and a bed provided as a alternative - not much good for a six month old (and they werebawarenthere were twins if that age)

Outside two sunbeds for a villa sleeping six. No other outdoor seating. An upper terrace with no furniture, a mildewed plastic roof and a floor covered in bird poo. The pool is nice but very difficult to get out of so am not sure how an elderly kerns or child would manage

And the most strange bedroom layout. Both require going outside with no cover for the frequent rains. And although the villa is totally private from outside there is no privacy inside. One sunbeds is pushed up against the glass doors of the master and likewise for the other sunbed and bedroom. Therefore for privacy bedroom curtains have to be closed at all times

When these villas were built (and I won't even bother to mention the restaurant or immediate environs) they were probably de rigeur. No more. They are tired, need painting, repairing and proper cleaning. One can't do much about the area but they can about the villas

Room Tip: Don't stay. That's the best chance if getting a decent room ie somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carolineess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was our first time to visit Phuket. My boy friend & me have stayed in 2 different pool villas and both of us like Layan Villas more! We loved it because of friendly staff, friendly cats & dogs, high privacy (our villa was surrounded by bamboos so no one can see us from outside!) We loved those friendly cats visiting us everyday. The villas has 5 cats and 2 dogs and some pigs from neighbour :) Although Layan Villas is in Bang Tao district, which is close to airport but far away from shopping area, here is more cozy & nicer than staying in Patong district.

The Villas staff repaired some broken facilities very fast. Villas Manager, PK, helping us to buy a pretty cheese cake for my bf's birthday. The birthday dinner was room service and the food were good and not expensive, comparatively the cost of calling private taxi for round trip + dinning outside. If you want to dine outside, a budget with delicious food restaurant called "Black Cat" in Bang Tao was really worth to go. A set dinner for 2 was only 600-700 Baht which made us very full.

Even the pool was not very big but we didn't care. Not so many geckos than I expected. Weather in Phuket was much better than in Bangkok, less humid here.

Transportation in Phuket is not convenience. Call private taxi (no meter taxi here) is much better than ride motor bike or drive by yourself. The cost more or less the same but at least private taxi is more comfortable and easier. We rather spend more on private taxi but not taking risk by riding motor bikes.

If you need private taxi, we have a very good pretty lady driver called " Wanida by +66 (0)8 9471 1745 ". From airport to Layan Villas was around 500 Baht one way. From Villas to Patong was around 700 Baht one way. If u rent a car it cost u more than 1000 Baht a day excluding tax, insurance, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa no.2 which is the room demonstrated in the professional photos. Exactly the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImeY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 Teenage children/adults) and we stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. Main Bedroom/ensuite is huge with very comfy bed. Other 2 rooms (both with ensuite) are a good size but beds were very hard. Each villa is completely private with a high bamboo fence and has its own private pool which is just magnificent. The showers are and inside/outside affair - really great experience. The main ensuite has a great looking spa bath which I didn't try but it sure looked good. The main area and the main bedroom has massive sliding glass floor to ceiling doors which slide open to give the feeling the pool is part of the living areas. Sheer Luxury!

Pk and his staff are very kind and friendly - they looked after us and cooked us a beautiful breakfast every morning. Breakfast is fantastic, but the same every day - PK, I suggest a bit more choice for breakfast would be a good idea. Layan Beach is one of the unspoiled beaches on this part of Phuket and it is an easy walk (or even easier bike ride on the supplied bikes), There is also a regular (free) shuttle to the beach and the local Tesco shop.

We were provided with a local phone so we could just call up PK if we needed something. Very useful when at the beach and looking for a lift home.

Next door to Layan Villas is an excellent restaurant where you can eat at or order room service.

Airconditioned Taxi to Patong is 800 baht - very reasonable.

Internet is always important when travelling with teenagers and the free internet was excellent - very fast.

Would definitely stay at Layan Villas again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Talbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was an amazing 3 days of our Thai holiday. PK, the manager, and Mae his assistant, were so helpful and friendly. The restaurant next door served us some of the best food we have had in Thailand, I would give the restaurant 5 stars, either delivered to your villa, or dine in at the restaurant in a beautiful setting just a few steps away for the villa.
Great value for money, great that its out of the hustle & bustle of Patong, and great beach nearby (we walked in 30 minutes, but PK can arrange transport easily).
Only 1 negative for us was the noisy frogs living under the pool, but some may like this sound of nature.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcconville4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Spacious, Modern, Great Pool, fitted our family of 7 beautifully. Very kind and friendly staff looked after us and cooked us a beautiful breakfast every morning..thank you ladies! Very close to lovely Layan Beach, and right next to a great restaurant where you can eat at or order room service. We hired a van so travelling was easy for us, but about 20-30 mins from Phuket Town and Patong, which suited us to a tee.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Albyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

There are 6-8 villas in total which can accommodate 1-3 bedrooms depending on the number of guests/your needs, all of which are housed around a good sized pool. We had a little bit of trouble finding it initially as our taxi driver from the airport (should be no more than 800-1000baht) was looking for a hotel - on the Layan Beach Road after you pass The Pavilions it's the next left turn and then 50 metres down on your right. We were really fortunate to book this at the last minute so it was heavily discounted (hence my 'excellent' rating for value) - the accommodation and what's provided is fairly basic but there wasn't much more I could have wanted for a 4-day stay. It's a 30-40 min taxi ride to Central Festival mall or Patong Beach (700-800baht), but we really liked that it was secluded and Layan beach is lovely (go there before it's just another development).
I booked after reading so many good review about the staff, and they are well deserved as the staff especially the manager 'PK' really go out of their way to help - I had to call him on our first night at 3am to ask if a party in another villa could turn the volume down (music I can deal with, a girl shrieking in the pool - not so much!) - nothing appears to be much trouble and if there's something you specifically want, they will try to help you if they can. We stayed as a family of 4 (2 adults + 2 children) plus my mum, who had trouble climbing into the back of the ute so she hopped into the front with the driver instead. There's a published schedule for the shuttle but they were very flexible (depending on other guests etc) and when we told them what we wanted they were also happy to divert to an easier drop-off location.
For breakfast they have a menu that you select from the night before and 2-3 ladies come and prepare it for you in your villa at an agreed time. Each day there was fresh fruit as well as a cooked meal, plus toast and coffee/tea/juice - it's not a buffet, but that suited us. One thing we really liked was that we were given a pre-paid mobile with phone numbers for PK and Mae (his assistant) to use while we were there, great idea! And the staff are really discreet - they came in every day to clean often when we were lounging around the pool, but we never felt like they were intruding. WiFi is free and was fairly good.
Only one word of caution - if you have very small children, there are steep steps to the villa roof top which has really no protection to stop anyone falling (too hot during the day, but okay for a beer in the evening).There are also steps throughout the villas so not somewhere I would recommend for anyone requiring disabled access.
We would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend for anyone who just wants to relax!

Room Tip: I didn't see any other villas but I believe they're all fairly similar. Baan Suan Layan res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LennyA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
0.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
725 reviews
9.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,060 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pai Tan Villas
Pai Tan Villas
#3 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#10 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layan Villas

Address: 45/1-5 Moo 6 Cherngtalay | Layan Road, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range: £56 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Layan Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Layan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layan Villas Bang Tao Beach, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing