We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and handy location for Colchester Zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel and handy location for Colchester Zoo”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Super little Holiday Inn and fantastic helpful staff sums up this hotel! Convenient location for nearby Colchester Zoo. Spotlessly clean throughout. Brilliant addition is the swimming pool,children's play area and playroom all geared up for families with little ones. The staff at this hotel were fantastic- so helpful and polite.
Brilliant breakfast alsoand room service was very good also.
Thank you to all the staff at Holiday Inn Colchester.
Well done Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: We were located on the top floor in a family room at the back of the hotel which proved to be very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulourocks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you found all of our staff to be friendly and helpful and that the hotel was ‘spotlessly clean’. We are as you commented a very family friendly hotel and alongside our great facilities we are all happy to go that extra mile to ensure every guest has a stay to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    268
    120
    58
    40
See reviews for
211
205
30
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd time in this hotel, and once again could not find fault with anything there. This time, stayed for 3 nights, with family, to attend family wedding. Had 2 family rooms, which were convienently next door to each other. Rooms were spotlessly clean, plenty of towels, and the all important tea and coffee. Beds (even the sofa bed) were very comfortable.

Had breakfast on 2 mornings of our stay, buffet style, which was great, and it was good that kids eat free, as our little grandson is a fussy eater, so we didn't have to worry about paying over the odds for a few mouthfuls of cereal and a glass of milk for him

Ideally situated just off A12, with easy access to Colchester town.

Many thanks to all the staff we came into contact with, who were all polite, courteous and helpful.

We will be staying again very soon

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is great to see that you can back to stay with us again. We are always aiming to achieve the highest standards of cleanliness to ensure our guests enjoy a comfortable well kept room. I will pass your great comments back to all concerned and we hope you will return soon for your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as in area for a wedding. The staff in all areas are just incredible. Nothing was too much trouble. We had an executive room as we wanted an in room safe. The room wasn't overly large but very comfortable. Two 3ft single beds which we could have had made into a double bed. Shower over bath excellent with good quality toiletries. Bath robes and slippers provided. Choc bar in room as well.
Our only criticisms were the cost of the room WiFi and although the website advertises a free newspaper it was charged. Also it would be good to have a few more rooms without an interconnecting door, this though did not prove a problem as our "neighbour" was very quiet or not there. Buffet breakfast also excellent with the option to have extra items cooked on top of cooked food available. There was road noise but this was almost eliminated with the windows shut although it does seem to have a railway not far away with trains going through till quite late on Friday. All in all an excellent place to stay. Just wished we had had time to try out the leisure facilities and only reason for lower scoring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the railway if you do not want to hear this. Also request a room with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kd1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you found our team to be ‘incredible’ and that you enjoyed your stay. I have sent you an email requesting some information so that we can update your profile in our system to ensure we allocate you a room without an interconnection door upon your return, we hope you will be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Lovely hotel!
Had a really nice bar area and restaurant, there was a wedding taking place as we arrived in a big separate room, staff were extremely friendly. Beautiful surroundings, there was however a train that ran right past our Room 202 as we were right at the end, which was quite loud but I cannot recall hearing when the window was shut.
Lovely spacious room with TV and wardrobe also a Kettle & Tea/Coffee/Milk (No fridge though)
Lovely bathroom!
Has spa facilities which was no extra cost used all of them! (Pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna)

Would definitely come back again.

Taxi to town centre was roughly £15 each way

Room Tip: Rooms at the end by 202 you could hear train pass so opt for more central rooms for more silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you took advantage of all of our facilities and that you enjoyed everything so much. I have passed on your comments to the team who work tirelessly to ensure that all of our customers have a great time. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

3 rooms for one night ... what a contrast to a non-chain hotel we stayed at earlier ... There were lovely touches ducks for the kids bath, a play room with just the right toys, a pool and jacuzzi for the adults and a maitreD who tried hard (but not too hard) plus Lea in the bar. We stayed on for our lunch, after checkout, so impressed were we. Indeed possibly (no definitely) the best hotel experience we have ever had

Room Tip: I cannot see scope for input here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are always looking for new ways to enhance our guests experience to ensure that we surpass expectations and give you every reason to return. I am extremely pleased to read that you had a fantastic time. We hope we will be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield ,West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Friendly staff, very clean, comfortable room and lovely breakfast. We saw rabbits playing on the grass outside our room and something we had never seen before ... A Woodpecker .....wow!
Loved exploring Colchester too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay, clean comfortable and friendly staff is exactly what we are aiming for. We look forward to seeing you again soon, if you squeeze in a trip to the zoo they may be able to top the woodpecker!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Lovely hotel-clean and tidy with helpful staff. Lovely grounds, plenty of parking. Didnt use the bar or restaurant but it did look nice. Had breakfast in my room and it was lovely. Would defintaely recommend to others and will stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Am glad that you found the hotel had everything you needed and that you will be returning soon. I hope that you have the chance to join us in our restaurant upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
1.7 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Colchester
Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Colchester Eight Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing