We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Coeliacs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good for Coeliacs”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We needed somewhere close to Harwich before sailing off an the D-Day landings cruise on Fred Olsen's Braemar.
This was the perfect location really easy to find off the dual carriageway, pleasant surroundings, plenty of car parking.

On check - in in a very crowded reception with a wedding in full swing, staff were attentive, patient because we couldn't hear anything and efficient.

Room was very quite, well appointed and a thoughtful touch was a Mars Bar replacement for the biscuits which, as a coeliac, I can't eat.

Even better was the dedicated gluten-free menu with some real gluten-free surprises including Chicken and Mushroom pie, chips, peas and gravy! I was also advised that many of the main menu dishes could be adapted for my special diet. Restaurant staff were very knowledgeable about what I could and couldn't eat

Not once during my stay did I have to use my own bread so well done Colchester - next time I am in the area I will definitely book to stay here and so should any other coeliac looking for accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fossieWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    260
    114
    55
    40
See reviews for
207
196
30
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The reception Staff were very welcoming a efficient We had ordered an accessible room which was near reception so not much walking. The room however was a little disappointing as the bathroom was very small and there was a bath not a sit down shower, so it was no good to me, the room was also small, fortunately my husband and I are disabled but not needing a wheelchair. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice .The restaurant has steps.

Room Tip: If you are wheelchair bound check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn before (as it is near relatives) and were impressed so we decided to stay again on our recent re-visit. Pleased to say the standard is maintained with quiet, comfortable bedrooms, attractive bar/restaurant and a truly wonderful breakfast. Staff helpful and efficient. It took a while to track down my pre-payment for our booking made through Hotels.com but they found it eventually and were most apologetic. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmbaHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived today as a family of four, the room consists of a double bed and pull out sofa. We were greeted nicely on arrival however they failed to outline the hotels facilities. There was only two towels. There is dust on the air con outlets and bathroom vent. 1 biscuit on the mini bar. There is no fridge but I am assuming that this is the norm as we are international travellers and are yet to find a hotel that has them. We have four nights in total and so far reasonably okay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Myself2211,

Thank you for writing a candid review about our property. We appreciate the kind words of praise intended for our staff. We are very sorry we fell below your expectations regarding the room amenities and overall cleanliness. We have taken note of your concerns and will certainly work on this to make sure similar situations can be avoided.

We would love the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me, my partner and our son (under 2) stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn, Eight Ash Green, Colchester in May 2014 as we were attending a wedding near by.

On arrival our first impressions were very good - plenty of parking, a play area for the children, on site restaurant and bar. We checked into the hotel very quickly and were given a room, with a travel cot on the second floor.

The room was a little dated, but none the less had most things we would need - bath/shower, tv, air-conditioning, tea/coffee, trouser press, iron, ironing board, hairdryer etc. An addition of a mini fridge would have been useful too so that we could store fresh milk for out little one - an idea if you refurb?
We ate in the restaurant that evening - fairly reasonable, and breakfast the next morning too. My partner noted there were no options for vegetarian sausages, although perhaps if he'd asked they could have been cooked to order?

All in all we were having a really good stay, until we wanted to take a quick shower before checking out. I tried first, and despite lots of pushing and puling at the switch to change the water flow from the bath taps to shower nothing happened. My partner then had a go and we were defeated. We therefore left the hotel feeling hot and bothered and when mentioned to the hotel staff, rather than a simple apology, we were told that they can be quite stiff.

Had we known about this problem earlier we would have requested a change of room, however it really has left a downer on our experience and thoughts about the Holiday Inn chain. Earlier this week we stayed at a premier inn in another location in the country and found their standards to be much higher, with cheaper rates.

Room Tip: check the shower works before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMoonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear MissMoonUK,

Thank you for posting a detailed review about your recent stay. We are happy to read that check in was smooth and that you liked our spacious parking and play area as well. However, it seems that some issues with the waterflow in the bathroom was a let down for your overall experience. We understand how this has left you frustrated and we can assure you this experience is not representative of the service we expect to provide. We appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best means of ensuring similar incidents are avoided in the future. We would love for another opportunity in serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a very nice overnight stay at the Holiday Inn, Colchester and usually I have nothing to complain about as the staff always go out of their way for guests but service in the restaurant wasn't up to its usual service. We waited a long time for our meal and at breakfast I had to ask 4 times for some hot milk. There was a lot of people staying at the hotel and the waiters/waitresses all seemed new so maybe that was the reason. We still enjoyed it and will always go back.

Room Tip: We have stayed In different Executive rooms but some are better than others. Although we had tea fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for a Friday night after going out to a do at Colchester Football Club. It was only a 10 min cab drive to the club and is situated just off the A12.
The hotel is really nice. With a lovely reception area, outdoor area with tables to take your drinks or food out to. There is a small children's play area and lots of rabbits in the green areas around the hotel!
There is a free swimming pool and brek can be purchased extra but I wasn't very well the night before so unfortunately didn't get to try them out. But others in our party had the buffet brek and said it was very good.
The room was spacious with aircon or windows that opened-a bonus as some hotels don't have that option. The bed was comfortable but the "hard" and "soft " pillows were still too flat for me. The bathroom was spacious with free shower gel etc.
One of my party works for Holiday Inn and they said it was the nicest they had visited. I must agree!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSBLH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
624 reviews
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Colchester
Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Colchester Eight Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing