We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfectly nice little hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. We got a discounted rate, but it was still quite expensive for a weekend stay.

Huge car park and very convenient for the A12.

Saying that, We managed to get an early check in (midday) without any trouble. We were on the second floor, which was fine, but there was no lift.

The staff were super friendly throughout our whole stay and made us feel very welcome. We were there during the world cup and they could probably have done with one or two extra people on the bar, what with all the wedding guests as well.

The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The black out curtains were great.

Breakfast was brilliant - particularly for the hangover we were carrying the next morning. I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnynats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    273
    123
    62
    40
See reviews for
214
208
30
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times when visiting family, and have always found the staff very friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfortable and the food very good. Having youngsters with you in a hotel can be a bit daunting, but the staff made them feel welcome and helped with any enquiries we had. The facilities are great too, including the pool. Will definitely use this Holiday Inn when return that way again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for a business trip for two nights. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, the bar area has a lovely atmosphere and the food is really quite nice. I used the gym when I was there and if you're a gym buff like me, youd be disappointed with the equipment as there isnt all that much but enough to do your legs and arms I suppose, still in saying that, its better than not having any gym equipment to be able to use at all and the best part of all is that it is complimentary. If you are in the area id put this hotel at the top of your priority for all your business needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank passport_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for three nights and the location was just perfect for us to visit family. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room which was spacious looked out over the gardens. The bed was so comfortable to sleep in!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
242 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Chain hotels can be a bit iffy but not so this place.
We were staying here with a group of friends on the way to a family wedding. Our standard room was clean, comfortable, quiet. There is a nice pool with fitness equipment to use if you feel energetic.
We all ate in the restaurant & found the choice good. As a couple our fish cakes & steak meals were fine & decent value. Service was a little slow but then we weren't in a hurry.
Breakfast had a good choice & we were all able to linger over it and chat.
The rooms were booked through Expedia at excellent value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel overnight for a business trip. Found the staff to be polite and helpful, the room spacious and clean, although the remote for the TV was missing. We arrived late in the evening, so decided to eat in the hotel instead of finding local restaurant. The menu does not have much variety other than usual steak/curry/fish and chips you find in hotel restaurant. My colleagues and I got a range of dishes, chicken, fish and chips and the curry, unfortunately all the dishes were somewhat bland and tasted similar to what you might get out of a supermarket ready made packet. The side salad was clearly not freshly made either. Also the food and drinks did not represent good value for money in my humble opinion.

Room Tip: The standard double was a generous size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Behnam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Behnam S,

Thank you for writing a candid review on your recent stay. Your feedback regarding the staff and the cleanliness of the room is highly appreciated. On the other hand, it is regrettable that you found the restaurant menu limiting on the night that you stayed. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced.

I will certainly discuss your comments with our managers and will take action to rectify this. I do hope that we can welcome you back and restore your faith in our beautiful hotel.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. The staff were friendly & very helpful. Our room was spacious & our beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed using the pool, steam room & sauna as part of our stay.

Breakfast was lovely, but a little chaotic. I think they would benefit from another member of staff as one person was seating people serving tea/coffee and assisting with waitressing.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
1.7 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
532 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Colchester
Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Colchester Eight Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing