We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My daughters birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We have been to this holiday inn many times in the past and have always had a fantastic time. My daughter loves the way we can just walk down the hall to the pool and loves all the choice at breakfast. The staff are all very friendly especially the breakfast chef who is always happy to help. The only down side is the wait for drinks at the bar as sometimes it seams it's left unmanned.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank mattc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Would have loved to have been able to write this review after my family had used the hotel for my mother in laws 90th birthday party. But although I went to the hotel myself (I live near by) no one was available to speak to me regarding the possibility of booking this family occasion. I was asked to leave my contact phone number with the person on reception, which I did also giving a brief outline of my request. Two weeks later and I am still waiting for that elusive phone call. Obviously this kind of booking is not what the hotel are looking for. Shame as some of the family were intending to stay at the hotel as they will be travelling from afar with their families. So my rating of terrible is purely based on the lack of a two minute phone call.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Ann H,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while visiting our hotel. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Overall this holiday inn met our needs, but nothing special!
Room was quite good and quiet.
We had booked the hotel months before as we were going to a wedding and we asked for a check in an hour ahead of the normal time so that we could get to the wedding in time. We rang up a few days before to still check that we could check in early still and a helpful young man told us to ring up after 12 noon on the day of our arrival and it would be sorted out. We did that only to be told by the female receptionist that she could not get us our room early, but as soon as we mentioned that we wanted to speak to the manager she could suddenly sort it out! A totally wrong attitude, particularly as she did sort it out. Why do you always have to threaten to ask for a manager to get things done. To holiday inn management I would say empower your teams and make sure they have an attitude of how I can help,a guest rather than
There is free wifi for IHG CLUB members so If not a member join the rewards club before you arrive even if only to get the free wifi.
Breakfast was adequate and nicely served by a young Eastern European girl. As for the other staff there was no eye contact or a good morning greeting even from the restaurant management at breakfast or from cleaning staff , although one did offer me help with my case and another did say goodbye but still with no eye contact
Fitness centre was good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RolandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear RolandPJ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am happy to know that you found our rooms to be good and comfortable and you enjoyed your experience at our fitness center. I regret however if the level of service received did not completely meet your standards. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your comments will help us improve on what we can offer.

Best Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting friends in Colchester. The rooms are a good size, beds comfortable, shower was good, the staff are friendly and the breakfast was very good with a varied selection. We would definitely stay again...

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Before I start, it is hugely important to mention that I did complain at Reception and my views were listened to. The person in charge offered us a 50% discount, which I accepted. This is why my rating is "average" rather than "poor" since the staff did make the effort to compensate us.

My complaints were simple and about the basics: the bed was very uncomfortable - an ancient mattress. Also, the shower was broken and I had to wash my hair in the bath. Hence the complaint, which as I say they responded to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmmaWilliams999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear EmmaWilliams999,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with our amenities. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is now one of many in the "Holiday Inn" franchise portfolio on sale.
Nevertheless, not presently an issue for guests.
Run and manned by IHG.
Staff who are mainly local people are outstanding.

You need a car or taxi because it's close to Stanway A12 junction and 10 minutes' drive into town.
No regular bus service.

Stayed this week for 3 nights.
Two rooms arranged for family.

One of our party has a temporary leg injury and arrived independently.
Male manager at reception immediately, by himself, carried luggage to the guest room and was very helpful.
Excellent service which is worthy of a 5* review.

The restaurant has an excellent breakfast and you can request eggs cooked to order at the range from the duty chef.
It is excellent value and you can eat leisurely with a hearty appetite.
Suggest you stay with the breakfast inclusive price. Sets you up for the day!
(A Sainsbury's mega-store and cafe in the retail park on the other side of the A12 also offers breakfast.)
Holiday Inn is far better for food choice and cost!

Dinner meals varied a lot in quality. Catpac, but kitchen staff?

Never had any problems with traffic or rail noise.

Good free parking and pool/gym.

WiFi and Freeview TV? Not the best. New owners challenges?

Brilliant value in comparison with other local brands/B&Bs for town visit.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the wedding function suite if booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here for a weekend conference and I must say the staff are some of the most helpful people I have ever met. The chair I was using for the meetings aggravated my disability and I asked if it could be changed. By the time I got back to the meeting room with my coffee I had the exact style of chair I had asked for.
The food in the restaurant was very nice and the whole of my party was served our evening meal together. Breakfast was self service but there was plenty to eat and it was kept fresh.
Rooms are standard hotel style, beds comfortable and the room was very clean and in a good state of repair.
Worth considering if your looking for somewhere to stay or eat in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishthemodeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
1.7 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
4.0 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
564 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
725 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#6 of 23 in Colchester
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price Range: £57 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Colchester Eight Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing