We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Secrets Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is the 3rd Secrets resort that we stayed at. Once again, we were treated like royalty! All of the staff is extremely friendly and cater to the guests. We were there from December 28th - January 2nd so had the pleasure of celebrating New Year in paradise!

The entertainment is always so much fun at Secrets. They keep the guests entertained all day and night. They are full of energy. They always engage the guests in activities such as games, dance lessons, aerobics, etc.

While at the pool, we were constantly served drinks or anything else that we needed. There was always someone walking around picking up cups and providing whatever the guests requested. There was never a time that I had to look for someone for a drink.

The service at the restaurants was excellent. One of the waiters really stood out and I would like to add SPECIAL KUDOS TO ROBERTO! He was our waiter several times between the World Cafe for breakfast and the Oceana/Seaside Grill for lunch. He went out of his way to make sure we were provided with top notch service! He was very professional and friendly and made us feel at "home"! Very welcoming everytime he waited on us.

We had a swim out room, but we didn't sit outside at the pool from our room. Unfortunately, we were in a room with two palm trees outside so it was too shady and I wanted to sit out in the sun. This room is great if you like sitting in the shade.

Overall, this resort is a 5 star in my book! In the process of planning another vacation to try another Secrets resort.

Room Tip: Room 4111 is a swim out room shaded by Palm Trees. It is on the side with the large pool, by the Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,264 - 6,270 of 10,926 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We just returned from a wonderful Christmas trip at this resort. Can not say enough good things about this facility.

We heard many complaints on trip adviser about the beach and the ocean. While you can't change what's in the water, the staff was out there every day raking the beach, using a bobcat to move the sand to keep the shoreline and making it a wonderful place to sit and soak up the sun. A quick walk down the beach to the hotels next door will tell you how much work the Silversands puts into their beach. There is a small area of ocean you can go into without rocks, but if you are an ocean person, this is not the resort for you.

The room was beautiful, a junior suite. A full mini bar replenished every day. So were the bathroom amenities. Robe and slippers were included. I got the robe dirty and put it in with the dirty towels. When we got back to the room, they hadn't replaced the robe. It seemed like the time we put the receiver down from calling housekeeping for another robe, they were knocking on our door. We did have a problem with one of the lamps, but we only had to wait about 10 minutes for them to come replace it. We must have been at the end of the list for daily housekeeping, because there were several days the room was not made up by lunchtime, and one day not by 4:00. Not a big deal. We had a partial ocean view room and it was a great view. The beds were great, some of the best sleep I've had in a while. We were in building 4 and were amazed we couldn't hear anything going on on the hotel from our balcony.

The breakfast was standard fare, but excellent. Omelets were great. Poolside grill had great chicken sandwiches. We did have an issue with two dinners taking an extremely long time. The restaurants are very dark and it makes it hard to read the menus The dinner in the Asian resturant was amazing entertainment. The Italian and French restaurants were excellent.

The entertainment staff is out of this world. There were nightly shows and the Circ de Solei was absolutely incredible. I have never seen this level of performance at a hotel or on a cruise ship. The poolside staff is the most engaging I have ever seen. I did Zumba one day and after that, Jackie, Estafanie and Rueben would come looking for me at Zumba time. There was always something going on, from Zumba, water aerobics, beach and water volleyball, mind games....Santa came on his sleigh on Christmas Day, the Mariachi band played poolside, a seafood grill on one day....every day there was something. These people work incredibly hard, always have a smile and made many memories for us. Can not say enough a good things about them. Oh, and by the way, the poolside bar staff.. always there offering water and drinks.

The hotel sundry shops had the usual stuff at fairly expensive prices. There was one small store with some out of the ordinary things. Paula runs the store and I will always remember this store as they had some handmade leather sandles that I bought, and consider I wear a women's size 4, that is fantastic.

The only downside was for Christmas Day and New Years Eve they were offering a "special" holiday dinner if you bought a bottle of wine for over $100. Not interested and there were still several resturants open and the bars were always open.

The only excursion we did was a taxi ride to Puerta Morales to do some shopping. For 250 pesos, each way, the taxi driver waited for us for 2 hours while we did our shopping. On our last day, we took another walk down the beach and found public "beach clubs": One offered 3 hour snorkeling trips for only $45. Too bad we didn't know abut that earlier in the trip as we wood have gone, instead of booking the much more expensive trips through the hotel.

In review, I would give this trip a 98 out of 100. And on a final note, try the mango tango or the mango daiquiri. Wonderful, refreshing....enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, second floor, don't think I would want as walk out on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What a great experience I had at this resort. For an all inclusive resort, the food was very good, and the quality of included beverages were also top notch. Not having to make reservation is also huge plus (except for the hibachi grill which has only 2 larger shared tables with specific sitting times).

The rooms are all very large, clean and modernly appointed. Separate sitting area and large balcony. Love the bathroom with open jacuzzi to bedroom which can be made private with a sliding mirrored door, open large shower with rain shower head and separate toilet with full glass door. Only suggestion would be to have music being able to play through radio/alarm clock.

The staff all make a tremendous effort to remember your name and treat everyone as if they are special. The entertainment staff was especially welcoming, traveling myself with a couple, I had a lot of time on my own, so this was especially important for me. With the help of Reuben (my favorite), Moreno, Estefanie, Luiz, Miguel and Jackie I had a full schedule of activities from 9:30 am until the day ended.

Will be returning to this resort for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mihyun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Best all-inclusive we've ever been to. Property is very nice with several pools in addition to a main pool. Rooms are very spacious. Beach isn't bad and staff frequently clean seaweed and groom the sand. Even though the resort was full there was no need to rush for beach beds or restaurant reservations. There are about 7 different restaurants of different cuisines. Food was okay except for Mexican restaurant which was by far the best.

Staff were the best we've ever encountered at similar resorts. They frequently anticipated our needs, were always proactive in providing service. Property was extremely clean; staff were often seeing picking up as soon as items dropped. Great security; non-guests tried walking onto property from beach and were immediately approached. No wristbands distinguish guests so that's very impressive security. Management has obviously put a lot of emphasis on service and it shows.

Ate at the Mexican restaurant one night and chef came out offering to prepare an off-menu typical meal for us few nights later. What a fantastic meal and unexpected treat!

Entertainment was quite good; a couple of terrific bands.

Biggest complaint would be the beach chair frames that were uncomfortable, which many others also noticed. Either change them or add cushions.

We'd go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Beautiful ocean view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltheglobe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/eConcierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Traveltheglobe1,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could create a memorable experience for you. I'll make sure to share it with el Patio Chef and the rest our team. It is truly wonderful that you experienced our WOW factor.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Sincerely,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is perfect - the grounds are beautiful. The food is to the highest standard of any all inclusive we have experienced.
Such a nice atmosphere returning to our beautful room every evening and running the jaccuzi bath.
We will return to SSS at our next opportunity to travel to Mexico. I know people say you should always try new places but I would be so disappointed if I choice somewhere else and it didnt live up to SSS. My favourite holiday memories.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/eConcierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Niamh_Bur,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed many of the touches that make our resort unique; the atmosphere, our rooms and our staff.

We hope to see you back at Secrets Silversands soon.

Sincerely,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We overall loved the resort but had quite a few problems with the service right from the beginning. The honeymoon amenities weren't set up upon arrival and still weren't completely done until about our 3rd day which was disappointing. housekeeping never came till late afternoon so when we were back from a day out our room wasn't clean or they were in our room cleaning which was a bit annoying. Turn down service kept coming when we asked them not to and disturbed us 3 times in one hour!!! There were a few other things that we found were a bit unpleasing considering that this resort prides themselves on their service. As the resort itself was amazing, the service could of been stepped up a few notches.

The food there is amazing!! my husband has been to mexico 8 times and said secrets was the best food hes ever had at a resort. the pools are very nice and the rooms are very nice as well. its a beach front resort but then again service on the beach was poor as well.

Although we loved our entertainment guy "Nico" he was very fun and made sure our stay was enjoyable.. thanks buddy!!!

all in all the resort was really great but it didn't wow us enough to choose it again. Next time we choose a resort in Mexico we will choose another chain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saucysagitarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spent Christmas week at Silversands, expected first class and was not disapointed. This well kept resort is very well laid out, from the numerous pools to the fantastic white sand beach, everything is minutes away.
The restaurants provided exceptional service and 5 star menus.
Accomodations are very spacious and luxurious.
Beverages offered were above average from most other inclusives. Beverage servers at beach and pool areas were exceptional, prompt and frequent service.

From check in greeted by Omar we new we were in good hands.
Juan the manager of Bourdeaux, thank you for your exceptional service, you are a professional.
Roger at Himitsu you were wonderful.
Angel , bell boy was outstanding, helping us when our flight was 9 hours delayed.

We had preferred club but would not recommend as we saw little value.

Dissapointing was the upsale of over priced wine to ensure you had a dinner reservation when one was never really needed.

Please tip these friendly hard working employees.

We see why people return to this resort - we will return as well and recommed 100%.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deserttacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.5 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
12,671 reviews
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
9,161 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
7,504 reviews
10.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £219 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing