We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We love the Mayan Riviera and this is about our 5th time to this area.
Booked through Book it. com. It was a special....when we arrived I understand why it was a special. They asked if we wanted to upgrade our room. Our room was in building 6. On the walk to the room the smell of trash was over whelming. Got into the room, they had incense burning to help with the odor. Once in the room it was certainly not as clean as I thought it should be.
Went back after a walk around and asked what was avail with a swim out and bottom floor. Only one avail, it was part of their preferred club. Mind you double the price of what we already paid with bookit special, but once we switched it was well worth the extra.
This room was immaculate, ocean view and walkout to your own swim pool and just beyond that the sand and ocean. Absolutely beautiful in every way.
Perfect sized resort.
Never have to wait in restaurants.
Food was amazing. Loved outside restaurant for lunch, by the pool.
Always something going on. If you like a party atmosphere the main pool had the swim up bar and events going on all day.
If you like it quiet you can stay near your room and enjoy the private pools.
Spa was nice, not over the top but perfect for a massage.
Premium drinks everywhere...even saw Grey Goose. That was a first in mx.
Overall a great place...excellent service! Loved it!
So just be aware of room, worth the extra. We were in building 3 and would go back if we stayed in this area. I would stay away from building 5 and 6 for sure, unless you like the trash smell!

Room Tip: do not stay in building 5 or 6 Ocean front swim up room are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank litone42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,568 - 6,574 of 11,377 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay and we loved everything! The staff was super and helped in anyway they possibly could. The food and drinks were great. And the entertainment throughout the day and night was fantastic. We had room service twice and each time was excellent. The only downside (and this is nothing) was that our safe kept breaking. We had to call them 6 times total and each time they came quickly and were super friendly. Again, not a big deal at all. I would Secrets Silversands to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Overview:
My wife and I stay from 23 jan - 3 feb 14. We stayed in the preferred club Honeymoon Suite (3421). The is a fantastic young couples/adults hotel in the Secrets chain and it offers a lot but the thing that stood out for us was the service, food and accommodation. I hope the breakdown helps provide a good view in making your holiday decision.

Service:
this is one of the key attribute of the hotel with every employee being welcoming and accommodating. Special mention to all the Barracuda bar and beach staff who could not do enough and made us cocktails off menu. The service extends through out and this really makes the whole experience amazing therefore it is unfair to single any one in particular as it is a team effort with this place (from the gardeners, maintenance, kitchen, spa..)

Food:
as a European traveller, we are fussy eaters and particular about the quality of the food on offer. This hotel did not disappoint. All the restaurants were amazing however our favourites are the Bordeaux and Portofino. These truly captured the essence of the cuisine and they even made us special dishes to try including an amazing trio of foi gras. The Mexican (el patio) serves a mean desert in the form of a chocolate cake. All secrets hotels have the same names for their restaurants and bars which helps to feel at ease when traveling however quality is what differentiates as we stayed in the secrets in St James Jamaica and this place is far superior on all fronts. The only area of improvement would be the overall choice of menu especially in Oceana/sea grill. This was the same everyday during our stay which got a little boring towards the end.

Room:
Wow! We did pay a pricey sum to stay in the Preferred Club Honeymoon suite but it was worth it for the space, 3 shower/jaccusi, double aspect full oceanfront views and other amenities. For European travellers, top tip, you can upgrade upon arrival for a fraction of the price you may pay in the UK/EU however this is a gamble if the hotel is fully occupied.

Beach:
Although this is a man made beach, it is maintained meticulously everyday due to the seaweed build up. The beach is not as good as this hotel's sister moroma beach hotel but it is a lovely none the least. The staff really do look after it compared to the other hotels along the coastline so hats off to the team.

Entertainment/activities:
The entertainment team are fantastic and they get people up and doing stuff all day. The activities are the same most days but it helps if you are bored. The nightly entertainment is good with a show of sorts most nights and live bands which can then extend into the wee hours with the hotel night club. But please note, this hotel is far from anywhere else or a cab ride away at minimum. They only exploring you can do on foot is the coastline walk which is beautiful. There is a spa at the resort which is beautiful however fairly pricey for international standards.

All Inclusive:
This is worth it if you eat and drink a lot which we unfortunately do not however due to the high standard and quality of the food on offer, this is worth it. Thing to note, premium drinks are available with the Preferred club but some of the international brands are only available in the preferred club lounge (I.e. Remy Martin). Although there is WIFI available throughout, the reception is questionable with us having to reconnect multiple times daily or within an hour. Best connectivity is in the lobby and lounge areas. So a touchy subject but TIPs are a North American thing which the majority of travels to the hotel are; does this affect the service....not that we experienced which is how it should be especially how much European travels would need to spend to get here! We did tip where we though it was deserved (20 or 50 peso seemed to be the norm).

Overall:
We loved our stay here and would recommend this to anyone looking for a sun filled getaway in luxury. As this hotel is fairly new, the challenge for the management team at the hotel will be to maintain the service and up keep of the hotel to ensure returning guests. From impressions it does seem the team already have this mind set as the hotel has won 4 diamond awards (a US award from an AA equivalent establishment) for the last 3 years. Suggestions to further improve:

a) mixup menu's for the restaurants during the day.

b) Preferred Club honeymoon suite guest should be guaranteed a beach bed as a perk. We pay a lot what is the downside to give this.

c) offer a free or subsides shuttle service to Playa or cancun which runs every couple of hours. Appreciate this maybe against the business model but it would help clients to get out and see things outside of paying extortionate cab fairs ($90 return to playa).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank ShazRicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We loved our stay at Secret Silversands. Totally worth it. All staff are amazing. The bell boy was prompt and reliable with our luggage. The receptionist was polite and very helpful. The cleaning crew did a wonderful job. The room was always done beautifully. The bed had every day a different decoration. The bartenders are awesome! Happy to serve you with all your taste and desire. Everyone there is nice and polite ready to help with any accommodation. I would like to give a special thanks to Chef Jose. He really stood out to serve us with joy. He catered to all our kosher needs going out of his way to follow all rules and regulations pertaining to our kosher meals. He personally visited our table to make sure everything is satisfactory. The resort is really well kept. The pool and beach are always super clean and beautiful. There is always fun activities at the main pool. Would totally visit again and recommend my friends there. Joel Weiss

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joelweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had a tremendous stay. rooms were roomy, clean and beautiful. Balconies were secluded and had a napping couch. But the food was the best part. Every meal was exceptional, no matter which restaurant you chose. Service was also exceptional, from the bellmen to the bartenders to the pool wait staff. We wanted to walk and the beaches allowed us to walk all we wanted. Water was great for swimming in both the ocean and the pools. First class on the cocktails as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was our first visit to this resort after staying at a different Cancun resort last year. What a difference! This place is great. It is exceptionally clean. The rooms are well appointed. Service is excellent. We went here because there were a lot of people who thought the food was excellent. I am not going to say it was excellent but compared to other Mexico resorts we have been at, it is very good. The only negative comment I would make is about the beach. As others have said, it is very weedy. This resort does an excellent job cleaning it up every day but if you are someone who loves to be in the ocean all day, this is not the place for you. The beach is very well kept and you can walk it. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior ocean view and had a partial view of the water. Very nice room. They tried t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/eConcierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Keith R,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service and facilities. We are also delighted to know that you have enjoyed so much our Resort, that you will highly recommend it.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is our favourite resort, for the food, drinks, location, amenities and especially the staff. This was our 4th time and we brought 53 of our closest friends and family to enjoy it with us. Everyone had an amazing time. People could not believe the quality of the food, drink, entertainment and service. The wedding specialists were fantastic and when our confirmed date was calling for rain they moved us to the next day with no hassle or extra charge. The entire wedding exceeded our expectations with the beautiful ocean front gazebo, flowers, decorations, photography, videography and attention to detail at every turn. We can't wait to visit again. We consider many of the staff there our friends and we want to say a special thanks to; Sinhue Abdiel, Galeana Moreno, Victor Maravilla, Juan Jose Arreola, Gabriel Tlatempa, Arturo Carrera, Leticia Garcia, Veronica Lopez, Russell Cavich, Alejandra Soto, Delmy Canche, Abigail Cocom, Felipe Bautista, Esther Pech, Edith Frederick Chavez, Ana Lilia Gonzulez.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColetteBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.5 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
13,285 reviews
13 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
10,292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £210 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing