We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“25th Wedding Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“25th Wedding Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I visited Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun for our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel & staff are amazing. Very accomodating. In particular, Omar (bell boy), Lino (outside bartender) and Moreno (comedy). Unfortunately, it rained a good portion of the time we were there, but there's plenty to do (shop, eat, beach, pools); not to mention many excusions available off site. I would highly recommend visiting Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor so the view was perfect. We had air conditioning in our room which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,238
    2,014
    543
    177
    100
See reviews for
673
7,296
158
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,032)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spent a week at this hotel at beginning of May. Weather was very windy for first few days and almost gave up on the beach but the next few days the wind went away so didn't feel like we were being buffeted by wind all the time when on the beach. The beach could be one of the best features of this hotel except for the fact that so much of the water is covered with sea grass and the bottom can have too my rocks. Highly recommend something on your feet for going into the water. As for the number of palapas ... seems adequate with no need to hunt too much for a cuple of lounges. There are those beds lined up in the back which also were a nice feature and unlike some places, they didn't require reservations. We got to use the beds a couple of times without having to get up really early a stick something on them. There was a lot less of that stuff than one usually sees.

Drink coverage when you are on the beach is more than adequate. The girls come by frequently enough to ask if you need something. On windy days there were a few guys kite skiing or whatever it is called, and they seemed to really be experts. So you got to watch the show.

Our view of hotels is usually most focused on the food and here, I must say we felt this place was at the top of the list of AM Resorts hotels. The restaurants had a high quality standard which we find unusual although I'm not trying to put down the Dreams or NOW hotels we have stayed at. This place was just unusually good. Yes we had two meals during the week where one of the dishes were not up to standard but the big picture was that even lunch was a better meal than we would have expected. There is a huge breakfast buffet with all the variety you could ask for including somebody making smoothies. At night the this restaurant turns into the Mediterranean restaurant. Our favorites for dinner were the French, Italian and Japanese restaurants, all three superb examples of what good chefs can do and good service.

Being in the age bracket of people who are retired we did not use the active main pool but did use the smaller pools that were provided for the buildings. We were in building 1, pretty far from the beach but it wasn't too bothersome. The pool for our building was shared with building 2 and was shaped like a horseshoe. The water was warm and the pool was mor often empty of people than not. A great place to relaxe. And the water was as clean as you've ever seen.

The room was well done, modern but not stark. Better than we expected. Had one malfunction problem with the electronic door lock that took a couple of visits to the desk to get fixed. That is an awkward trip because of the layout of the buildings. You take the elevator down to the first floor than walk to the main building where you have to walk to the middle of the building and then either walk up a long circular staircase or use an elevator to go up to the desks. Too bad it wasn't resolved by one trip where they reset the card (these are chip smart cards) so a repair guy was sent up and he fixed the reader on the door. Heard that dome other people had problems with the locks also but theirs was a battary problem.

Shows were oriented toward a young crowd and in a couple of cases were just too much like a rock concert with db levels that were way too high. I prefer to protect my hearing.

They do a rotation on the restaurants near the beach. So you won't get the same menu every day ef you eat lunch there. Dinner is also rotated so you are at the grill one day and at the Oceania the next. Again, they do a fine job at these restaurants.

Internet worked will in the room and on the beach and were no cost even without going to preferred class. We have stayed at the Secrets Riviera and would give the nod to this one overall. The beach was better at the Riviera though, although it was also a more crowded experience.. We have had quite a bit of experience with the AM Resorts hotels and we have come to expect a friendly service that is shockingly superior to what one expects in the States. This hotel was no exception to the general rule. They pick good people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank multicruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had the pleasure and opportunity to visit this resort May 29-June 1. There aren't enough words to explain the beauty of this resort. (slice of paradise) Only 20 minutes from Cancun airport,
best day travel has excellent shuttle service - I realize all Secret resort are GREAT offering everything one could ask for - this one tops the cake !!! Employees who are professional, friendly and go above and beyond to help you - and are proud to be working there, representing the resorts. The food -- yum yum yum !! the room, spacious, clean & wonderful. The Spa
oh my -- Cesar did an excellent Swedish massage I would recommend him in a heart beat. Miguel signed me up and I it was so worth it. Then there's Eladio the concierge for food service is so helpful, so professional, so sweet. The world café has Renan & Juan who spoiled us - love it...In the preferred check in lounge, Josh went above and beyond very sincere I had ipad problems - asked a question and he was there to help me get it up and running. Bell service you will find Juan and Hector - great employees. Helpful... Need I say MORE ?? love this place and looking forward to going back there Dec 2014

Room Tip: All rooms are 100% --- clean, safe, designed very well. The resort has an awesome layout with many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had the pleasure and opportunity to visit this Secret resort May 29-June 1, 2014. I look forward to returning Dec 2014. Breath taking, totally awesome, excellent food, service, beaches - only 20 minute drive from Cancun airport. I realize one can not go wrong with any Secrets properties and if you have a chance -- this resort is a total delightful place for vacation. Several pools, several food selections - oh I could go on and on....slice of paradise... for sure.

Room Tip: Any room will provide, quiet, comfort and pleasure - the whole property is laid out so well, no room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The staff there was the friendliest! Everyone made you feel like royalty and made you sure you were happy!! The facilites were wonderful! a GREAT place to get away! We will definitely be revisiting this resort!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethP0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We've just returned home from a 2 week stay at Secrets Silversands. I don't usually do feedback on hotels but me and my new husband thought this hotel deserves it.

Id read hundreds of the reviews on the hotel before we picked it. We looked at a number of secrets as we wanted something luxurious for our honeymoon and that's definitely what we got.

We were greeted with cool towels and champagne (not limited to one glass, they offered more...) and check in was nice and easy. I'd read rooms for honeymoons have the roses and champagne etc upon arrival but sadly we didn't but the next day we had
champagne on ice and a cute banner on the door saying honeymoon so all was well.

The rooms are beautiful and modern, very clean and decorated lovely (I wouldn't say clinical like some descriptions...) they are really spacious and the jacuzzi bath was amazing. We did find the lighting was dim and could do with being a bit brighter but there are enough lights to turn on in the room so that remedied that. Maids came every day, sometimes a little early, but they happily came back if we were having a lay in and they also turn down your room every night if you want it. On our last Saturday we had a rose filled jacuzzi and our room decorated with roses. Very romantic. I would say, ask for a king size bed - we got the two doubles and being our honeymoon a king bed would've been nicer.

The food - beautiful. We didn't visit the French or Mediterranean as it wasn't to my other halfs fancy but all the others were gorgeous. We struggled being on a 2 week holiday as there are around 3/4 mains on the menu and if your not willing to try new things you can get stuck - but room service menu was really varied and we did have it quite a few times and your hardly waiting, they are very efficient with everything at the hotel. The staff were fantastic - especially Selene and Andrea, they remembered us every day in the a World Cafe and showed us straight to tables, it definitely made us feel at home and welcomed.

The grounds and hotel buildings are all well kept and they are always mowing or cleaning somewhere. We had quite a bit of rain on our last few days and the roof leaked in the main lobby but they were soon on the roof fixing it.

All the staff are lovely - the entertainment team work really hard and once you participate your remembered and always encouraged to participate. A special shout out to Miguel, Estefani and Jackie from the entertainment team - they were so much fun and gave us a few laughs and all the evening shows are brought in and none of the European rubbish you might endure being from Europe - they were very professional (I loved the sensuality show and my other half really liked the tribute and urban shows). However, the one down side; the shows are on a 1 week rotating basis so being here 2 weeks, we either had to sit around on an evening or watch them again... So maybe a 2 week rotation would be better but nearly all the guests are from US or Canada, so it caters for their short trips.

We enjoyed every moment of it and have no negatives at all to complain about (just suggestions above). Check out was easy, and we were very sad to leave. We would definitely return. :-)


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Lauren2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just returned from a 7 night stay at Secrets Silversands. I had read many reviews prior to our vacation. To be honest, I was expecting an average experience. We were pleasantly surprised! We previously stayed at Secrets Maroma 3 times, Secrets Capri, and Secrets Royal Beach in Punta Cana. Secrets Maroma was our favorite but Silversands is on par with the exception of the beach. We are beach lovers, but all the pools at Silversands made up for that. Our favorite place to relax for the day was by the infinity pool. From there, we could still see, smell and hear the ocean and did not feel as if we were missing anything. If we wanted more interaction or people watching, we could go to the main pool. It worked out great!
We loved the food here! We enjoyed the variety and taste of everything we tried. Food is a subjective thing, but we thought it was great.
Service was great as well. Our room was cleaned early and we received turn down later in the evenings, which suited our schedule perfectly. The servers in all restaurants were always checking to make sure everything was to our liking. The front desk personnel were welcoming and friendly. Everyone wanted to make sure we enjoyed our vacation and they certainly made that happen.
I cannot comment on the shows because we did not attend them. We tended to turn in early after a full day.
There was a wide range in ages of fellow guests, which added to the experience. It is true that there is more of a social vibe, but we enjoyed it. One of our favorite things was hearing music throughout the day and evening. There was always something to see and hear. On the other hand, there were places on the beach or at the other pools where you could find a quiet spot. It was the best of both worlds combined in one place.
We met some great people and will return again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arubagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
19.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,829 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,070 reviews
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
8,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Destinology, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing