We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING RESORT with OUTSTANDING SERVICE!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bogalusa, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING RESORT with OUTSTANDING SERVICE!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is our 3rd Secrets and I have to say it surpassed the other two!!! After reading some of the reviews I was a little skeptical, but then I realized you can't make everyone happy.

Beach - it was exactly as described on the Secrets website. The location of the resort is the results of the seaweed. It is mother natural!!!! The workers (tirelessly - for hours) rake the seaweed and keep the beach well manicured. If you take a walk down the beach, you realize that the secrets take pride in their beach. The other resorts had PILES of seaweed on their beach. The beach is very beach but this is also noted on the site. Therefore, if you do your research you should know what you are getting as far as the beach.

Rooms - Our room was breathtaking. We had a preferred club ocean front room - room was spotless!!! The bed was very comfortable. Again, some reviews stated that the rooms had a musty smell - well again you are in the tropics where the humidity is at 100%. Our room was above our expectations.

Pools/ Hot Tub - The pools were large, relaxing, and fun!! The swim up bar was a blast. I fun place to meet people and try new cocktails- mini beer shot ( which is not really a beer!), superman, sh--on the grass...just a few you need to try. The hot tub was a great way to end the day! The drink service by the pool was wonderful. Monica made sure you drink was never empty. Didn't make it to dinner a few times because of Monica's outstanding pool service.

Restaurants/Shows - The food at ALL venues are amazing. We never ate a bad meal. Portofino was Our favorite and Himitsu ran a close second. The world cafe for breakfast was a great start to each day. They have an omelette bar was amazing. The barefoot grill was great place to stay in your swimsuit and eat by the pool. Seaside grill was another place for a lite lunch with your coverup over your suit. We need room service almost every night after the shows and entertainment. The shows were good and the bands at the outdoor bar was great.

Last but not Least.....The SERVICE!!!! OMG

OMAR (Our bell boy) He checked on us each day to make sure we had everything we needed. The day before we were leaving he arranged for our luggage to be picked up. He called us by name after meeting us upon arrival.

ISAIAS (preferred club bartender) He was funny and eager to please. He met us with a smile each morning. He made sure our drinks were fixed to perfection. He gave by husband a tequila tasting which was fantastic. I can't say enough about ISAIAS....he made our visits to preferred club a delight.

Amata (preferred club) We rented a jeep on our own and Amata mapped out our whole trip without asking. She went above and beyond! She was always willing to help in any way.

We spent 7 nights at Silversands and would leave again tomorrow. A few of our days and nights were rainy and the resort did everything they could to make our rainy days fun.

Room Tip: We had a ocean front room in building three top floor. It was quiet and the views were breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Love2Travel570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,245
    2,021
    544
    178
    100
See reviews for
676
7,304
159
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,036)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent service form the all the staff of the hotel, especially to the team of the World Café Restaurant, the host Andrea make you feel at home.
The food of the all the exclusive restaurant is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

what can I say. I have stayed at numerous hotels and even sandals resorts and I have to say they matched sandals for the choice of al a carte restaurants which were all very good. The added bonus of the double jaccuzi in the room was great, we upgraded to an oceanfront room, was deffinately worth it. Also had our own pool which was shared by a few rooms and was very quiet. We did not go to the main pool where all the actiities were, we preferred the peace and quiet. The beach was lovely with beach cabanas and hammocks, plenty of sun beds as well. The only one small thing I would say is the sea is very rocky, not great for swimming. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Would deffinately stay at a Secrets resort again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UkHolidayhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I visited Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun for our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel & staff are amazing. Very accomodating. In particular, Omar (bell boy), Lino (outside bartender) and Moreno (comedy). Unfortunately, it rained a good portion of the time we were there, but there's plenty to do (shop, eat, beach, pools); not to mention many excusions available off site. I would highly recommend visiting Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor so the view was perfect. We had air conditioning in our room which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spent a week at this hotel at beginning of May. Weather was very windy for first few days and almost gave up on the beach but the next few days the wind went away so didn't feel like we were being buffeted by wind all the time when on the beach. The beach could be one of the best features of this hotel except for the fact that so much of the water is covered with sea grass and the bottom can have too my rocks. Highly recommend something on your feet for going into the water. As for the number of palapas ... seems adequate with no need to hunt too much for a cuple of lounges. There are those beds lined up in the back which also were a nice feature and unlike some places, they didn't require reservations. We got to use the beds a couple of times without having to get up really early a stick something on them. There was a lot less of that stuff than one usually sees.

Drink coverage when you are on the beach is more than adequate. The girls come by frequently enough to ask if you need something. On windy days there were a few guys kite skiing or whatever it is called, and they seemed to really be experts. So you got to watch the show.

Our view of hotels is usually most focused on the food and here, I must say we felt this place was at the top of the list of AM Resorts hotels. The restaurants had a high quality standard which we find unusual although I'm not trying to put down the Dreams or NOW hotels we have stayed at. This place was just unusually good. Yes we had two meals during the week where one of the dishes were not up to standard but the big picture was that even lunch was a better meal than we would have expected. There is a huge breakfast buffet with all the variety you could ask for including somebody making smoothies. At night the this restaurant turns into the Mediterranean restaurant. Our favorites for dinner were the French, Italian and Japanese restaurants, all three superb examples of what good chefs can do and good service.

Being in the age bracket of people who are retired we did not use the active main pool but did use the smaller pools that were provided for the buildings. We were in building 1, pretty far from the beach but it wasn't too bothersome. The pool for our building was shared with building 2 and was shaped like a horseshoe. The water was warm and the pool was mor often empty of people than not. A great place to relaxe. And the water was as clean as you've ever seen.

The room was well done, modern but not stark. Better than we expected. Had one malfunction problem with the electronic door lock that took a couple of visits to the desk to get fixed. That is an awkward trip because of the layout of the buildings. You take the elevator down to the first floor than walk to the main building where you have to walk to the middle of the building and then either walk up a long circular staircase or use an elevator to go up to the desks. Too bad it wasn't resolved by one trip where they reset the card (these are chip smart cards) so a repair guy was sent up and he fixed the reader on the door. Heard that dome other people had problems with the locks also but theirs was a battary problem.

Shows were oriented toward a young crowd and in a couple of cases were just too much like a rock concert with db levels that were way too high. I prefer to protect my hearing.

They do a rotation on the restaurants near the beach. So you won't get the same menu every day ef you eat lunch there. Dinner is also rotated so you are at the grill one day and at the Oceania the next. Again, they do a fine job at these restaurants.

Internet worked will in the room and on the beach and were no cost even without going to preferred class. We have stayed at the Secrets Riviera and would give the nod to this one overall. The beach was better at the Riviera though, although it was also a more crowded experience.. We have had quite a bit of experience with the AM Resorts hotels and we have come to expect a friendly service that is shockingly superior to what one expects in the States. This hotel was no exception to the general rule. They pick good people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank multicruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had the pleasure and opportunity to visit this resort May 29-June 1. There aren't enough words to explain the beauty of this resort. (slice of paradise) Only 20 minutes from Cancun airport,
best day travel has excellent shuttle service - I realize all Secret resort are GREAT offering everything one could ask for - this one tops the cake !!! Employees who are professional, friendly and go above and beyond to help you - and are proud to be working there, representing the resorts. The food -- yum yum yum !! the room, spacious, clean & wonderful. The Spa
oh my -- Cesar did an excellent Swedish massage I would recommend him in a heart beat. Miguel signed me up and I it was so worth it. Then there's Eladio the concierge for food service is so helpful, so professional, so sweet. The world café has Renan & Juan who spoiled us - love it...In the preferred check in lounge, Josh went above and beyond very sincere I had ipad problems - asked a question and he was there to help me get it up and running. Bell service you will find Juan and Hector - great employees. Helpful... Need I say MORE ?? love this place and looking forward to going back there Dec 2014

Room Tip: All rooms are 100% --- clean, safe, designed very well. The resort has an awesome layout with many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had the pleasure and opportunity to visit this Secret resort May 29-June 1, 2014. I look forward to returning Dec 2014. Breath taking, totally awesome, excellent food, service, beaches - only 20 minute drive from Cancun airport. I realize one can not go wrong with any Secrets properties and if you have a chance -- this resort is a total delightful place for vacation. Several pools, several food selections - oh I could go on and on....slice of paradise... for sure.

Room Tip: Any room will provide, quiet, comfort and pleasure - the whole property is laid out so well, no room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,093 reviews
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,249 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing