We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday at Secrets Silversands Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab holiday at Secrets Silversands Cancun”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have had a 9 night holiday at this hotel. I would find it hard to be critical of any aspect of the hotel or the way it is run.
Greeted on day one by the general manager and a selection of his staff who all undertook to work their socks off to make our stay enjoyable - they did!!
A wide selection of restaurants, bars, cafés, coffee shop providing a really good selection and an excellent dining experience. A wine list which is charged as extras but for me the house reds which formed part of the all inclusive were more than adequate.
The grounds, pools, beach area, gardens were all in excellent condition and really well maintained. It was an experience watching the staff lining up the sunbeds with military accuracy each evening - attention to detail shone through everything.
The general manager showed very visible leadership to his team, regularly patrolling with staff and ensuring the highest of standards were maintained.
All of the staff were great - I would not fault their effort, friendliness or commitment.
Well done Secrets Silversands Cancun!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,587
    2,128
    576
    186
    109
See reviews for
747
7,655
164
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My husband works for a company that every year award the best sellers of the year with a trip.
This year the destiny was the Riviera Maya and we stayed at the Secrets Silversands.
It is a very nice resort, all inclusive, with lots of pools, so you do not have to fight to find a place to take some rest and sun.
They have a great bar with ocean view.
Staff is attentive and there are many restaurants, food was better than we expected from an all inclusive.
They have varied activities to entertain, including music bands (playing covers mostly) that were really good.
The only reason why I do not rate five stars is because I found that cleaning was not as good as I expected.
Our room was never cleaned during the three days we were there. They left a message saying that they could not open our door to clean the room (which was right, the door accidentally locked after we went out, and we had to ask for assistance to get it opened again and a man came with a broom and pushed the latch). But that was no reason to never clean the room!

Also I found some dead bugs on the corridors

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Lizz S,

It was a pleasure to be the host of such an important award, we are glad that you had a great trip with Secrets Silversands

We feel overjoyed that you like all the concept of our Resort and our excellent service. Our staff truly works very hard to fulfill our standards and they are always happy to know this type of comments.
Except for the maid service, which we deeply apologize for the inconvenience.

We look forward to have you back in your tropical home away from home.

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just returned from a second fabulous trip to Secret Silversands and if I thought it was nice before, let me update you! Please refer to my December 2012 review.

This trip I booked directly with the Resort and I must say, they all went above and beyond in handling the reservation and facilitating our trip from booking to arrival, and throughout our stay right up to departure and delivery to the airport. The service throughout our stay was absolutely the best! A special thanks on the arrangements to the Resort GM and his staff, Lourdes, Karla and Lilia! And thanks again to Israel who was always available to assist us and provided a nice ride back to the airport on our departure!

Our Arrival
The Resort had arranged private transportation for us. Our flight had run 2 hours late but that didn't keep our driver (Israel) from being there waiting with a smile and a very pleasant greeting. He even remembered me from my previous visit and we enjoyed a great conversation on the short twenty minute ride to the resort.

On arrival at the resort we were greeted by name, with a glass of sparkling wine and received as if we were "old friends" during a personal, prompt and delightful check-in. Lourdes (Lulu) who had helped to arrange the trip came out to greet us and thank us for the return visit on behalf of the Resort GM. She let us know they had arranged a nice ocean/pool view room and that should we need anything that we should not hesitate to contact her personally. She is delightful and if you get the chance to meet her on your trip please do.

And thanks again to Israel who was always available to assist us and provided a nice ride back to the airport on our departure!

The Property
As previously reported, the property is beautiful with the right mix of elegance combined with a casual ambience and is maintained to perfection.

We took time to enjoy the full service Spa which is wonderful as well including a beach-side massage, a sauna, steam room, water massage pools and all the other services that normally accompany a nice spa. The Spa services are not free but during our stay, the resort offered discount coupons that apply toward spa services as well as others. They also offer daily Spa specials that make the prices much more reasonable.

There are a number of other recreational activities on sight such as free snorkeling, Hobie Cat sailing and wind-surfing. Motorized water sports are available for an extra charge.

There's also a very nice open air theatre next to the Veranda Bar where nightly entertainment is served.

Except for the open air venues, the facility is fully air-conditioned so you can enjoy the property even on the warmest of days.

And if you are so inclined, there is a very well equipped fitness room.

The Bars (from previous review, and still applicable)
There are a variety of bars to fit every desire, all serving premium liquor and a variety of local and imported beers. You can enjoy nice conversation in the chic and pleasant atmosphere of the Lobby Bar, or step outside to the casual Veranda Bar and enjoy live music and dancing in the evenings, or just relax in the large and comfy Bed Loungers, grab your favorite beverage at the Showtime Bar while enjoying the nightly shows, grab a cold one at the pool-side bar or relax day and night at the Beach Bar situated right on the beach with a great ocean view or head back inside to Desires for the late night drinking and dancing, open till 01:00 am. While the Swim-up Bar does close around 6 PM, the remaining bars have very reasonable hours, with the Veranda Bar and Beach Bar open till 01:00 am and 11:00 pm respectively.

No need to interrupt your pool side tanning to get a drink during the day though as the staff are constantly walking around taking your drink orders and serving you personally.

Special thanks to Xavi at the Veranda Bar who was always on top of the service, remembering our drinks always with a pleasant attitude and smile!


Entertainment and Activities (from previous review and still applicable)
The entertainment team members that we did meet all seemed very nice and very professional. They offered a variety of activities in and around the pool and beach area during the day and shows in the evening, which we know from past experience are very good and very professional.


The Rooms (from previous review and still outstanding!)
The room was simply outstanding! Very large with an ample sitting area, nice sofas and dining table, and a furnished balcony with comfy, padded lounge beds and seats.

The bathroom was incredible - very large with a Jacuzzi tub for two and a walk-in shower big enough for four with bench seat and rain shower head as well as a hand held shower head.

The dressing area and vanity is very spacious as well with all the amenities necessary.
Check out the photos on their website - what you see is what you get!

The room was spotlessly clean and the house-keeping staff made sure to keep it that way daily, right down to every detail.

We found the king-size bed extremely comfortable with an abundance of pillows and the evening turn-down service was great! I never got the name of our house-keeper but she did a great job!

A safe is included in the room at no extra charge.

The Service
As a well traveled business-person and vacationer, and now with my second visit to Secrets Silversands, I can repeat without hesitation that the service is simply outstanding! Every staff-member we encountered treated us in excellent fashion, and always with a smile. You could just sense that the staff enjoyed working there and enjoyed their jobs. The service is very personal but not "in your face." It's the right mix and everyone, and I do mean everyone, goes out of their way to make sure, in every detail that your stay is nothing short of wonderful.

Tipping is not at all required nor expected, and while we do tip throughout our stay, we were never made to feel that it was expected or that the service was any less than excellent if we didn't.

The Food (from previous review and still applicable)
Having enjoyed a number of all-inclusive resorts, it's common that the food can sometimes be a little less than desired, at least some of the time, particularly at the buffets. Not the case here! We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food, always hot, always fresh and a very nice variety, and the premium restaurants were simply fantastic!

There a number of dining venues; The World Cafe which is the main buffet dining area for all breakfast and lunch, and 7 ala carte restaurants including a Steak and Seafood House, an Italian, French, Asian, Mediterranean and of course, a Mexican restaurant. The ambiance, service and the food taste and quality at each is simply outstanding!

Another nice treat is that for lunch, you have multiple choices; you can step inside to the World Cafe for the buffet if you wish, or dine at the Seaside Grill overlooking the pool as well as enjoy a burger, hot dog or nachos at the pool bar. Several great options and the food and service is great regardless of your choice!

24 hour room service is also available free of charge and the food was great and promptly served!

Our thanks especially to Renan and Juan who delightfully served us breakfast each morning and it was fabulous! Also thanks to Ruben in the Italian restaurant and Adam at the Mexican restaurant for their excellent recommendations and great service!


The Beach
In addition to my previous review they have added a very nice Gazebo extending out over the ocean. The beach again was very well maintained and the view was beautiful. The ocean was nice, clean and very clear such that you can watch the fish in some spots. For the ladies who wish to do so, you can feel comfortable shedding the top and enjoying a little bare-breasted tanning if you so desire.


Overall
Our stay was fabulous! We cannot say enough good about this resort, the quality of service, and the friendliness and hospitality of the entire staff. As I said in my previous revise, it is honestly difficult to imagine a better place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EuroTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here 6/8/14-6/14/14 and was more than pleased with this resort. We travel quite a bit but fell in love with the beauty of the resort and how helpful and pleasant the staff was. We stayed in an ocean front preferred room. The view of the ocean was excellent as we were on the 4th floor. We stopped in the preferred club everyday for a quick drink/snack but be an all inclusive you can obtain that anywhere. It was my husband's birthday so they put a banner on the door of our room, decorated up some towels with ribbon and confetti to look like a 3 layer cake. He also received a wonderful spread of extra food and a special cake for his meal on his birthday. The next evening there was another birthday desert with his name and happy birthday in our room that evening with an extra bottle of Champaign. The beach was beautiful and it's true that there is a lot of grass/ seaweed that washes ashore, but the staff was out there early in the am and throughout the day raking it up. The coral is also plentiful where going out in the water would make it slippery or dangerous. I still managed and enjoyed the beach and water daily. The numerous pools and infinity pool were also spectacular. There are different classes daily, crazy games at the pool and themed happy hour events. The shows at night were also entertaining and you could also watch 1 of two different shows outside projected on the building walls! All staff went above and beyond to what ever we asked for. On our last night we requested sea bass for dinner (as it wasn't on any of the menus) from our concierge and he talked to the chief and made it happen at the restaurant we chose to eat at that night. Don't be afraid to ask for a food/ desert if it's not on the menu as most times they have it. If it's not available at the time you are ordering be sure to check with the concierge. My husband didn't know if the service would have been different without Preferred (less money too) but guessing the room location and view were part of that. The food at the restaurants were delicious but keep in mind it's a different process. All drinks were top shelf and bottled water is more than plentiful at the hotel anywhere you are. There are many tours and adventures you can do or just stay and either relax or participate in hotel activities. My husband and I wanted to get a couples 80 minute massage and we were contacted by a young woman Gabriella who offered that if we would go to another Secrets property 20 min away to have breakfast and listen to a sales/ time share presentation in turn we would receive each a $200.00 certificate that would pay for the $400.00 massage at our spa. We were told from Gabriella That we would be picked up at 8 and be finished with all of it in 2 hours. We got picked up at 8 like promised, had breakfast type buffet and delicious like at our hotel with two representatives, toured the whole property including a room and the beach/ ocean. By now its already 10 and we head to a room with other people be informed of what they were offering. We informed them that this would not be a good fit for us and of course they bring in someone else that's a better sales person but until my husband became over heated and asked for medical attention, did they stop. I'm not disappointed with the staff there but not happy with Gabriella for promising we would only be gone for 2 hours. Also she gets a fee for sending people but didn't call to see how my husband was nor thank us for going. That was the only disappointment on the trip. Back to positives-We received a Sundial (news of that days events) including Drink of the day, temperature, every activity, class, shows, coupons, restaurant schedules and a daily list of birthdays, anniversaries and weddings. There was a couple of beach weddings that took place and plenty of photo shoots for anyone interested. This was our first adult only resort and we thoroughly enjoyed it for a change. The ages varied from young adults to older and from different countries. One last detail is that even though the forecast showed storms everyday, we only saw a sprinkle that lasted for a few minutes!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millerCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. Our check in process was very quick and smooth. We arrived at 12 pm, our room was not ready so we were invited to explore the resort eat lunch and return later when our room was ready. We selected the World Café for lunch Andrea was our hostess she learned our names and referred to us by using our name to return the next day. What an excellent customer experience!! Our room was clean and kept very neat all week. The pools and beach are very clean and refreshing. There are so many options for lunch and dinner it is nice to have so many delicious choices. We were able to take the kitchen tour mentioned by so many other travelers. It was very interesting and tasty. I recommend this destination for anyone looking for a relaxing retreat! You can also have a lot of fun with the entertainment staff and all the events and activities they coordinate through out the day Morano and India were keeping the partying going day and night. My favorite shows were the Rock Show and Mexican Show along with Mexican Buffet!! My husband and I are already considering our next return to SSS. Thank to all the staff for providing such a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: We spend a lot of our time at the pool and beach. We have stayed in several rooms and they are all e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie_the_instructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

For our honeymoon, we stayed at Secrets Silversands for 5 nights following our wedding at the resort next door, Azul Sensatori. This was our fourth visit to SS and it just keeps getting better. We were very tired after hosting 40 people for 5 days. Arrival at Secrets Silversands was like coming home to comfort and relaxation.

After 4 visits, it's hard to find something new to say about this wonderful resort. Food and service remain outstanding. We especially enjoyed Himitsu Japanese Restaurant and want to thank the manager, Facundo, for great service and food.

We love the spacious, clean rooms and minimalist design of the resort. It seems more Mediterranean than Mexican and brings a calming, sophisticated vibe. Believe me, after spending 5 days with family and hosting a destination wedding, we really, really needed the calmness! Most of our time was spent either floating in or reading/ napping beside the absolutely beautiful infinity pool.

For this visit, we upgraded to an premium ocean front room near the infinity pool. Views were spectacular! They even put a "Honeymoon" banner on our room door!!

While service from everyone was at the now expected, great Secrets level, we want to give special thanks to Francisco, Elena, Juan and Claudia. They made this visit very special. However, next time I would like to branch out and try another Secrets resort if I can convince my husband to leave what has become a second home for us.

We highly recommend Secrets Silversands for a relaxing and romantic honeymoon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3211 in the ocean front premium section. Outstanding views and close to the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JennyPert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I have visited Secrets Silversands on three occasions, with our most recent being a celebration of our 25th anniversary. As usual, we were overjoyed at how we were treated and what we experienced at the resort. Here are a few highlights:

1. Food
The food is great! For our evening meals, we ate at El Patio on two occasions, and at Oceana, Seaside, and Himitsu once each. We did not have a bad meal on the trip. For lunch we did the World Cafe once and the rest of the days we ate at the poolside grill - burgers, dogs, chicken and chicken wings. All were very good.

2. Staff
The staff was incredibly attentive to our needs. While poolside and beach side, we had constant service from Angeles, Amanda, and a host of others. They were quick to take away empty cups and bottles and refresh drinks on a regular basis.

In addition, the entertainment staff did a great job. My wife did Zumba with India and we do water aerobics with Jacky, Moreno, and - ugh - one of the other guys! LOL.

3. Pools
There are more pools that you can use! If you want to be in the thick of the action, the main pool is where to be. If you want to relax and get off by yourselves, the pools behind building 2 and near the spa are a perfect choice. We never had an issue getting a lounge chair, a beach cabana or a towel.

4. Entertainment
Overall the evening entertainment was pretty good. The only thing I wearied of were the occasional "barely dressed" dancers....who often did not add anything to the show (especially the rock show!). The movies at the pool were a nice addition (I don't remember them from my previous visit).

5. Rooms
The rooms are EXCELLENT! Big, comfortable beds, a nice sized shower, a jacuzzi tub for two, and a great balcony all make for a relaxing environment. Our "maid" service and the guy stocking the min-fridge did great. We made sure to tip both of those folks $2 / day as a way of showing our appreciation.

Overall, Secrets is our resort of choice. We love it and will return soon!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is probably the best bargain. If you absolutely must have a full ocean view, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pastorrob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
7,153 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing