We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Welcome Home”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The first words you hear when arriving here are 'welcome home' and they truly mean it. This was our second visit to Secrets Silversands and again, we were treated like a part of the Secrets family. The resort is amazing and is very convenient to the Cancun airport. The rooms are large, comfortable and kept immaculate by the maids with morning and nightly service. The grounds are unbelievably manicured, pools kept very clean and the resort is compact and easy to navigate. The restaurants are all very good and I couldn't recommend one over another. We tried them all. Everybody needs to find their own niche at Silversands...pool or beach, larger active pool or one of the smaller quiet pools, spa or not, outdoor casual or indoor resort casual dining, variety of entertainment options, visiting with new friends or spending time together, or, the nice thing about this resort is that you can do it all. Not only is Silversands one of the most beautiful resorts in Cancun, the thing that puts it way over the top is the staff. They all greet you with a smile and a friendly word, they work extremely hard and will do anything to make your stay a pleasure. There were a few employees that we would like to give a note special thanks. Oscar at the front desk reception, Felipe-pool bar service, Andrea-World Cafe hostess, Hipalito & Pedro-World Cafe waiters, Vanessa & Chris-Cocoa Cafe servers, Facundo-Himitsu manager and Jose-Himitsu waiter. In closing, we would say that it is money well spent to experience Secrets Silversands. If you do, you will be back...its that good.

Room Tip: We stayed in building #2 on second floor. Very quiet and convenient to restaurants and mail pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudF6F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,333
    2,050
    555
    182
    100
See reviews for
693
7,399
159
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,085)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I recently went on my honeymoon with my fiancee to Secrets Silversands after doing quite a bit of research.

My rating of 2 stars would be 1 star if it wasn't for the beautiful property and room accommodations. First i will go over the good things.

The room at the preferred club rate was spacious, spotless and the view of the ocean was amazing. It was cleaned promptly every day and the AC was ice cold when we needed to return to cool down from time to time.

The service was timely and attentive, everyone greeted us with a smile on their face.

The grounds were beautiful and the pools were spotless and very relaxing. We never had an issue with lounge chairs any time or place that we were looking. This includes the small beach shade huts.

The nightly entertainment was really fun, the cirque-esque performers especially were awesome.

The Bad:

Food, I booked this place because of all the chatter about incredible food. I figured a beach resort was going to have a wonderful beach, good pools, and any all inclusive will have bottomless drinks. So I looked for places with high ratings on food service and good restaurant reviews. Our first impression with the restaurants at the resort were from the Oceana poolside restaurant, it was mediocre at best. Them we went to Himitsu for dinner which was good, not great, it was average. The next day we went to Portofino for dinner, and the food was inedible, i ordered veal osso bucco which showed up raw at the bone and like a car tire where it was cooked, my wife's pasta was trying to be Italian with some kind of mexican spices and ended up being terrible mexitalian that was unidentifiable.

That was the end of trying the restaurants for us, having been trained in frrench cuisine at culinary school I was afraid to enter the doors at Bordeaux, and my wife was sick the rest of the week as a result of the pasta the night before.

On a side note the hamburgers were good, just get two and don't bother with the stale fries. The breakfast buffet was good (try the tamales!) and the lunch buffet was ok.

Being on our honeymoon we were given a free romantic dinner on the beach, when we booked our dinner we were handed the menu. It looked wholly unappetizing to me and my wife did not like a thing on the menu. Needless to say we ended up canceling. Our romantic breakfast in bed showed up, the eggs benedict was unidentifiable I have never seen anything like it before, we left it and went to the buffet.

This is my first experience with an all inclusive resort, and I hope it is not normal. I leave the rating as poor because the experiences in the restaurants caused issues the whole week.

The pools and beach were relaxing and the rooms were excellent, In my opinion the reviews on the restaurants can be a bit misleading.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbehr709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear jbehr709,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels and product.

It is a great pleasure you liked our contemporary concept. Choosing a Resort is not easy, but with the luxury homemade ambience, we make things easier for you.

On the other side of your review, we truly regret to read your experience with our food. It is not common to read that our food is not good and it is the most terrible part of a gateway. Our reputation shows the opposite of that.
But we understand your discomfort and we have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future.

With this said, we look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence our resort and service. I assure you the best dinner of your life.

Greetings,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We went here on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time of relaxation and indulgence. The resort was incredible and very well maintained. Even when it rained during our trip, we enjoyed music and entertainment inside the resort. The rooms were luxurious. I believe we had a Junior Suite Partial Ocean View King and it was amazing. They had employees for everything from security to mopping up the sidewalks outside to keep them as dry as possible during the rain. The employees are very nice and work very hard. All of the employees I met were bilingual. They were eager to serve us however they could. They took time to do the little things, such as folding my napkin when I left the table. All of the food was delicious. My favorite restaurants were Seaside Grill (lunch) and El Patio (dinner). The room service was amazing too. We never went on an excursion because there was plenty to do and enjoy on the resort. The location was also convenient, as it was only a 15 minute drive from the airport. I highly recommend Secrets Silversands.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Myself and my wife spent our honeymoon at the Secrets Silversands and had a fantastic time overall. It was our first time to Mexico and we spent quite a bit of time researching prior, so hopefully this will be useful to some...

- on arrival very attentive staff (and throughout the trip); they pamper you
- our room was upgraded on arrival and on entering the room were presented with a wonderful honeymoon sash and champagne (throughout the week we had impromptu petals on bed, etc. very nice touch)
- rooms were excellent, comfortable and great shower/bath facilities
- activities are laid on throughout the day and evening and are well worth getting involved with (kudos to Luis and the events team)
- food is fantastic everywhere (oddly we weren't so keen on Mexican restaurant, but loved the Mexican fried food at lunchtime; likely our unsophisticated palette). Our favs were Bourdoux, Ratatouille and Himitsu (all waiting/hospitality staff were great, especially Hugo and Selene at the World Cafe that made our breakfast & lunchtimes personable and special)
- the hotel grounds & amenities were perfect for us, and although set in what feels like far from town, you instantly feel at home

All guests were lovely and being amongst plenty of other honeymooners (what felt like half of the hotel!) it was in-all an extremely friendly and fun environment.

The only drawbacks (and there are only a few) were;

- the lighting in the rooms...perhaps just us, but in the evenings the lighting wasn't sufficient
- air conditioning in the rooms, may have just been our unit but we couldn't adjust from 12-14 degrees
- furnishings in the room were ever so slightly tired in places, but this was dwarfed by everything else fantastic

For those looking for excursions, we went to Chichen Itza, Tulum and Xel-Ha

Recommend the half day Tulum/Xel-Ha trip!

Overall, thoroughly recommend and would give 4.5/5

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We recently got back from a 9 night holiday here and it was epic. The service we received from arrival up until departure was exceptional. We booked a partial ocean view room and it didn't disappoint. Spacious, clean and a large kingsize bed. Room service was like clockwork and they did a daily turndown in the evenings. The bathroom included a jacuzzi and walk in shower which was great.
There was a ride range of restaurants available to dine in the evenings, including an Italian, Mexican, French and Mediterranean restaurant. The japanese habachi was a personal favourite as the chef entertained while cooking in front of us.

The beach was good, cleaned regularly, but sadly was a bit rocky within the sea. Kayaking and wind sailing is also available for free.

Aquaworld had a dive Centre here and Carlos was friendly and helped me to plan my diving trip to cozumel. Sadly there wasn't enough diving choices available which is my criticism.

The entertainment team were brilliant and made the atmosphere lively every day. The daily activities included beach soccer, beach volleyball, water volleyball, crazy games, yoga, zumba and Spanish lessons.
The entertainment staff would greet us everyday by name which felt welcoming, and I would like to thank johnny, luis, adrian, moreno, india & jackie for their hard work and contribution to the team.
There was a themed event each night and my favourites included the casino night on Wednesdays, the urban show, and the Mexican night on Fridays with great food and performances.

We left on the 12th of June, and they had a celebration of the start of the world cup with dancing and live music with a brazilian theme! The sports bar was also turned into a large seating area to watch the world cup.

The waiting service by the pools and on the beach were incredible. Waiters constantly made sure you had a drink and were always smiling.

Amazing holiday, would definitely go back!

Room Tip: rooms in block 5 facing the sea have great ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Alistair B,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Mexican Caribbean.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service and restaurant selection. As you saw, we are pride for working here which is one of the reasons our staff is always happy and guests like you make our job a very interesting and funnier.

We are also delighted to know that you have enjoyed the treats of all the restaurants, the chefs are constantly in training to cook better. So the next time you come, is going to be better.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.
We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddell, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our first trip to the Secrets Silversands as well as the Cancun/Maya Riviera Region. And thanks to the courteous, friendly staff at the resort, it won't be our last. From the moment we arrived (warm towel as well as a glass of Champaign waiting for us), to the time we checked out, the resort exceeded my lofty expectations with it's cleanliness, professional staff, as well as activities available to guests. Our room was spotless, and thanks to the wonderful staff, stayed that way. The food was unbelievable, regardless of which cuisine you prefer (Mexican, Mediterranean, Italian, Seafood, French) and you couldn't ask for better service from the wait staff. The drinks were superb and always served and delivered with a smile. If you run across Alex at one of the bars, ask him for an "Alex Special"; I guarantee, you won't be disappointed. There are many trips/tours available through the resort. My wife and I did one of the zip-lining excursions, and it was great (first time for either of us). Everything was arranged by the resort staff, we were picked up on time, and returned when we were told we would. We also wanted to take a trip down to Playa de Carmen and do some shopping. They took care of that also. I would highly recommend Silversands, and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned and loved our time here. Things we loved: The property is gorgeous. You never need to leave! The food is outstanding! The service is friendly and always a moment away if you need something. The movies at night. The fact that you can be as quiet or as in the thick of it as you want - plenty of room for both. We NEVER had anyone ask us to buy into a club or timeshare - perhaps bc we didnt go through a tour company Im not sure..but we didnt have that. We loved the pools and the modersn decor. Things we didnt love: The beach..small and full of seaweed. Rooms are getting a but tired. Lack of beach activities. TV..ahem..channels..lets just say we know its all adults, but wow...really? Right on the normal channels in the middle of the day..ohhhkaaaay. We just turned the channel but if you get offended by that..watch out! Overall..fantastic place! We will go back in a heartbeat. We were in Bldg 4 with an ocean view Jr suite. Great location!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Shelly C,

We appreciate the time that your overview on TripAvisor.

Or staff truly works hard to deliver the best service to you. We are proud of our concept Unlimited-Luxury® which is why we have the best food and a professional staff that is 24hours available for you.

We hope to see you in your next visit to the Caribbean.

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,192 reviews
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,372 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing