We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I spent 5 nights in the secrets silversands at the start of August. To say it was luxury is an understatement. Everything we needed was at our fingertips. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food and drink was excellent and plentiful. Drink tip: try the purple rain or sexy banana. If you need sunblock make sure you bring plenty as items in the resort shop can be overpriced.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Thomas C,

Thank your sharing your excellent comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed you holiday with us and we truly hope to be your host in the future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,243 - 5,249 of 10,813 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We booked Secrets Silversands for our honeymoon, which we took in July, 2014. For the weeks before we arrived, I lived on tripadvisor reading all the up to date comments on this resort...I worried about any negative comments and hoped that the positives weren't overselling this place. It was an expensive holiday and I have very high standards so I really didn't want to be disappointed with this place. I need not have worried in the slightest.
We arrived late at night to a speedy checkin with no hard sell around upgrades, etc. We were shown to our room and as it was so late, we ordered room service(midnight). We booked a Junior Suite Tropical View and we had decided that on arrival if we weren't happy with the room we would upgrade...we stayed where we were and enjoyed every single minute.
I cannot compliment this place enough the decor is modern but homely, the food fine dining but suitable even for picky eaters, the pools and activities were fabulous. Plenty of entertainment if you wanted to get involved and lots of quieter areas if you wanted to lie out with your book. All the pools have something different to offer and the entertainment staff work really hard to keep you busy and having fun. The bar and wait staff are amazing, your glass will never be empty and there is an A-Z of cocktails to be tried and tested throughout your stay. Security and maintenance are quietly in the background...not obvious in the least but you feel safe and the place looks amazing. There's been lots of complaints on this about the beach...if you are overly critical ok the beach is not 'paradise island' type beach but the sand is white and powdery, the beach is spotless and while yes there are rocks in the water, the water is really warm and perfect for sea kayaking or sailing. if you want to swim in it wear water shoes.
It is a 45dollar taxi journey each way to Cancun so we only did this once, but to be honest, you are coming to Secrets Silversands to relax and enjoy...so do just that.
I'm not going to name individual staff to say how wonderful they were because they all were professional individuals who work exceptionally hard at maintaining a high standard throughout. without being pushy or insincere.
Loved it at Secrets Silversands and only hope we get to go back someday:) Don't hesitate in booking this place.

Room Tip: I'd say the best rooms at this hotel are ocean front swim out...if you are not in these, it real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Newlywed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Newlywed2014,

Before thanking you for this lovely comment, I would like to say that is very important for guests like you to place comments. You travel from a long place and choosing the best option is a must.

We are definitely proud to provide you an excellent, memorable and well worth of your money and time experience. Now we can say thank you for your review and your preference.

Be sure you will be much welcome at Secrets Silversands if you decide to come back with us.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked our vacation through Apple Vacations and the trip was wonderful! The resort is beautiful and the rooms are great! You have a balcony and a jetted tub in each room. This was our visit time to a Secrets Resort and will definitely go again. The rooms are nice and clean. No musty smell at all like other resorts we have been to in the past. The staff here is amazing! They work very hard and it shows. Be sure to try the infinity pool - nearest the beach. The water there is cooler and amazing views of the ocean. Our favorite pool at the resort. They have two hot tubs - one is near the ocean and very warm but the other is off the main pool and is much cooler which is great in August!!! Your room will have sunscreen along with the shampoo which is awesome! We used ours once I realized they provide them for you! Good to know! Be sure to watch for the photography people who come in every Tuesday through Saturday. They bring something different each day and take pictures of you holding them. They had a monkey, lemur, parrots, tucan, iguana... They come between 11 and 1 PM and make their rounds around the main pool area. We really enjoyed that. Prices for the pics are high though.

Restaurants - Most are very good. our favorites were the french restaurant and the Japanese. The portions are very small at the french restaurant so we ordered double of the appetizers. The hibachi dinner at the Japanese restaurant requires reservations so make yours early in the day. We thought it was really good and very fun. The breakfast buffet and lunch buffet are nice - lots to choice from. They had a cookout near main pool one day that served grilled octopus, calamari, squid, fish.... which was really good. Be sure to stop by the CoCo Cafe for coffee and pastries. One of our favorite places to go!!! It is close to the indoor restaurants. They open at 6 AM and close at 10 PM. They change the pastries during the day and everything they had was delicious!!!

The resort always has something going on if you like to keep busy. We tried the kayaks out and loved it. Go early morning before the heat and winds pick up. We also played bingo which was fun and casino night was a blast! The shows in the evenings were just okay. Our favorite one was the steel drum group which was awesome! Getting better entertainment in the evenings would really make a huge difference at this resort. We have stayed at the Excellence Riviera Maya in the past and thought the shows there were much better.

Overall we really enjoyed this resort and would definitely return soon!!! It was so clean, the room service was excellent, the maid service was excellent and the pools were great! So many to choice from. If you are thinking about booking a trip here, I highly recommend it. I can't wait to go back. One of our favorite vacations.

Room Tip: Avoid Building 5!! This building is right next to the sewer system and stunk!!! They are also doin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank marley1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear marley1_10,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed overview of your stay through this mean. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Mexican Caribbean.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our amenities and facilities.
As you experienced, the ambience of the resort is very welcoming due our staff and concept. We always want that all of our beloved guest feel in their home away from home. We are also delighted to know that you have enjoyed the World Café’s restaurant.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again in the future so we can offer you the truly remarkable experience that you deserve. Please do not hesitate to contact us personally prior your arrival, we will be happy to assist you.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This was our honeymoon and Anniversary, first of all we were put in a twin room with 2 double beds (a size smaller than we have at home) we were then moved half the way through our holiday into a room with a queen sized bed as they weren't aware it was our honeymoon (Virgin didn't pass on the message - email them before arrival is my advice) We initially chose the resort due to the water sports based activities including windsurfing which is my husbands main hobby, there was no windsurfing, they have no kit, if we'd have know that we probably would have chosen a different hotel. The 24 hour bar is not a bar as you'd think, it is room service for beer or wine, I don't drink beer or wine and the friends we met there don't either so don't rely on that! Having said the above Johnny and India of the entertainment team are AWESOME, they really made it for us, we learnt Spanish from India and Johnny spent the week genuinely caring how our holiday went. Our advice is to join in with as many of their crazy activities as possible! The best night was when Johnny took us to Coco Bongo - you must go! It was incredible! Thank you Johnny and India, you turned a holiday of negatives into one of the best with your enthusiasm and energy! John Caminante (!!!) and Clara

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Clara B,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at Secrets Silversands.

Both your constructive and positive comments are very much welcome. This helps us to improve our service.

We have our bars open until 1:00am but if you would like to keep drinking to celebrate your vacation, you may do it, you just need to order room service. An excellent feature of our Unlimited-Luxury® concept.

It was a pleasure to celebrate this holiday with you, we hope to host many more holidays in not a distant future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

First I will start with the hotel itself. If you want to feel like royalty then this is the place. The room was exceptional, with slippers, robes, personal jaccuzi, walk in shower and personal balcony. The walk up pool was quiet and romantic.. When we wanted to socialize the main pool was waiting. If you want it, you can have it. The employees are eager to serve you with anything and everything you desire. Everyday the activities change so you are never bored. You can choose to keep to yourself or party like a rock star. I must comment on a few who made our trip the best it can be. Isreal greeted us in the lobby not only when we arrived but everyday to make sure we were well taken care of. Russell, our bartender didnt let a minute go by without making sure we had a fresh drink. Amanda our cocktail waitress found us no matter which pool we were at to ensure we always had what we needed. Free room service, free phone to the states, all restaurants on site were included in the all inclusive package and let me tell you, the menu and food was top notch, not your basic run of the mill. I have never had food of such top quality and the seafood was out of this world. The liquor was all top shelf. This resort made sure we had the best of the best and the employees made us feel like we were the most important customers. We went on two excursions that were very organized and a blast. This resort was extremely clean, and I am very particular about cleanliness. And the roomservice and maid service was at our beackon call. If i had to find a complaint, and it is very hard to do, it would be two items. The first being the beach quality. Beautiful but not swimable since the seaweed and rocks made it impossible, but the beach itself was good. The second was check in. Instead of just getting you to your room they bypass the system and try to sell on a visit to one of their other properties. I was disappointed on how the front desk was trying to sell me on something other than what i have already paid for. Other than that, I love this place, would come back ten times over, and in comparison to four other all inclusive I have stayed at, this is like no other.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Tracy R,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Secrets Silversands.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our trip to Secrets Silversands Resort was good, but not fantastic. We traveled from Sunday, August 24th to Friday, August 29th. Nothing that wasn't up to par at this place "ruined" our trip by any means, but it wasn't the right type of resort for us.
We saw reviews that stated how quiet and peaceful SSS is. This was NOT the case while we were there. The beginning of the week was relaxing, but as it got closer to the weekend, it got loud and busy. You can find quiet spots at one of the smaller pools, but you have to sacrifice an ocean view and less of a breeze for it. We stayed in Preferred Club room 3109, an ocean front swim out, almost at the southernmost end of the resort. For oceanfront, you have to pay extra for Preferred Club, even though the other club benefits aren’t really worth it. It’s the only way to get the location. The pool was right outside our patio door, which was nice. However, we encountered many large, loud groups (wedding parties, birthday groups, etc) that would migrate over from the main pool to the ocean front pool. The constant chatter, laughing, yelling, etc created a setting that was not as peaceful as we're used to.
The main pool has a great party atmosphere, if that's your thing. Volleyball and other pool games keep it hopping. The Veranda Bar and open air theatre were super loud at night. You could get away from the "rock show" concerts by going down to the beach bar which is open until 11 pm. However, you could still hear the music bumping from the club/concerts, which start at about 10:30-11 pm until about midnight or so. That includes while sitting in your ocean front room (that you paid extra for). If you're looking for that type of place, you may like it. It just wasn't the "tranquil" setting we were hoping for and which was described by some in the previous reviews for SSS.
One of the very cool things to do at night is enjoy a movie projected onto the side of one of the buildings, while lounging poolside in a comfy chaise or hammock. Staff even serves you popcorn and drinks! Didn't care what movie was being shown, since the atmosphere was so amazing!
The food was good with some really bright spots, but not great overall. We actually thought the breakfast buffet, of all things, was excellent. Tons of variety. The Mexican restaurant, El Patio was fantastic. Order the chocolate soufflé with vanilla tequila cream! The steak with blue cheese was really good at the French restaurant, Bordeaux. Portofino, the Italian restaurant was delicious, but the two restaurants by the pool, Oceana and Seaside Grill were barely above average. The Japanese restaurant, Himachi, was also just your typical "Tepanyaki" style restaurant. If you haven't been to one before, you'll enjoy the "show," but there wasn't anything new or groundbreaking that you haven't experienced before at that type of eatery.
I thought the drinks were pretty good (mostly had Gin and Tonics) but my wife felt the "fruity" drinks didn't taste very good at all (syrupy and artificial) and the margaritas were bad. "Drink of the Day" was a nice feature, but until they start using real fruit, the beverages will be lacking. One afternoon, the staff made special drinks by slicing open fresh coconuts and adding coconut liquor...OUTSTANDING!
The staff is what pushed our rating to a 4 instead of a 3. Sergio in the World Cafe for breakfast was not just the best waiter at SSS, he is the best waiter we've had anywhere....ever. Felipe, the pool waiter was especially good, as was Erik at El Patio. Ask Erik for a "Tequila Boom Boom"...it's a riot! Those are the people that stood out but everyone at SSS greeted you with an "Hola!" or a "Como estas?" and a smile. Great people, all of them! Please tip them! I know it isn't "required", but this is pretty much all of their wages!
As for the condition of the resort, they are trying stay on top of the upkeep and some previous reviews have mentioned the place being a little "worn". That's an accurate description. Don't get me wrong, the place is nice. However, there are some signs of wear and tear that management should address and correct. Examples are: leaking and corroded faucets, scuffs and wear on the furniture, mold in shower and pools areas, etc. The grounds were very nice all around, but little things keep it from being "5 star". One example is the "fence" on the south side of the property next to the pool by the premium ocean front rooms. The plywood wall even has a cheesy palm tree mural painted on it. A much nicer option would be a stone or stucco wall.
They do provide large sizes of shampoo, etc. in the rooms. And I've NEVER seen a resort in Mexico provide a bottle of sunscreen to guests before, but SSS does. Anyone who has ever paid $30 bucks for a bottle of sunscreen in Mexico knows this! Those touches were very nice, as was the turn down service, etc.
Overall, we had fun but would probably go somewhere else next time. This is not a bad resort at all, it's just not the very quiet and tranquil type of place we prefer. If you like a little bit of a "party" atmosphere, go for it. I'm sure you'll have fun!

Room Tip: If you want ocean front, you have to upgrade to a Preferred Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ckotro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear ckotro,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Secrets Silversands. We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay, specially the amenities we give in all suites and the food on most of our restaurants.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Recently I visited Secrets Silversands. The staff is wonderful and great to be around. The rooms are very nice with large bathrooms and comfortable beds. The food is good but do not expect excessively high end. I do recommend the Asian restaurant when they cook in front of you, and the Mexican restaurant. The pools and activities are both excellent, and of course the alcohol. However, this resort is designed for couples, so if you are solo, you will hear often "just you". I strongly recommend for any couple, but solo folks might want Cancun.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Gregory M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Secret Silversands.

Perhaps our resort may be better for couples, but solo travelers are very welcome. In fact we have many single repetitive solo guests both female and male that have enjoyed our resort.

We truly hope to see you on a near future with us.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,769 reviews
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
9,054 reviews
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
7,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £185 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing