We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall a very good holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This will likely be quite long so the TL;DR is that we were happy to have paid the extra for Privilege, The beach is lovely but the water is full of seaweed and rocks. Food is very good in the a la cartes and snack bar but an inconsistent buffet. Service was very attentive. Room in Privilege was awesome except for the shower and its massive temperature swings. The AC is very good, even in the summer. I would not hesitate to book here again .

Beach: We were on the beach a lot as our main reason for going was to spend time in the ocean. Raphael and Teresa made that time as enjoyable as possible. We loved having a bucket of ice to keep the water cool when needed in addition to the other drink services. And by the 3rd day we had the area we like to be at prepared and ready for us before ever getting to the beach. Nothing but good things to say of the staff. The sand is lovely until you hit the water. If you want to be in the ocean a lot bring water shoes. The seaweed and the rocks start really early. We were happy that you could get air mattresses and pool noodles from the Privilege hut. You're not going to get the stunning turquoise water unless it's really sunny but the view was lovely regardless.

Service: Service overall at the resort was excellent. The rest of the paragraph is more for the resort than the reviewer so feel free to skip. While the staff, privilege in particular were always very kind and attentive to us, communication between staff teams needs work. I had made arrangements at the club desk to have birthday decorations put up at 11am. So I made sure to have my wife at the beach and we came back around noon and nothing was there. After I got back to the club I was told it wasn't possible to do that before the evening, which is fine if I hadn't been told otherwise when I made the request and arranged my morning around it. Or when we were kicked out of the pool at 8 (which again, is fine) except we were told it was open until midnight by the front desk so it was a disappointment. But the worst was the lunch at Tapas. The lunch food available in the privilege club was actually my favourite tasting meal of the entire trip. Unfortunately if it is busy, for some reason they'll make sure they get every single dish to the tables before you, even those it is a Tapas setup with tiny servings per dish, instead of giving one round and then giving a round to other tables. This led to a 1hr 20min wait for lunch one day which was incredibly frustrating. It was the only other time I was actually mad at the service for not giving me any notice I would have a wait anywhere near that long because if I had known, I would have rather just gone to the snack bar and been back on the beach.

Food: The only a la carte that wasn't amazing was Blue Moon. The Italian had a wonderful looking menu but being outdoor was a con for us and given there were placed we wanted to go back to we never got there. The Creperie was my wife's favourite, I'd go with Sensai as long as you get a show table. At lunch the snack bar's by the pool were great, better than the buffet. The only bad buffet meal was circus day where it was outside, otherwise it was usually good as well. We ended liking breakfast at the buffet better than room service breakfast.

Room: The AC is very good. You can come here in the summer and still manage to have it cool enough to sleep well. We were upgraded upon arrival to a honeymoon suite and I was extremely impressed. The room was spacious, very clean, bug free (they must spray extremely well) and thanks to the upgrade we had an awesome view. Having someone come by at night to clean and fill the outdoor jacuzzi was a great way to end the day. The mini bar wasn't just filled daily but they were quick to customize what we wanted inside it which was great. The shower went from hot to cold so many times you began to wonder if it was haunted but the bathroom was otherwise fine.

Pools: We only ever spent time at the Privilege pool and it was great. Nice and big, not too crowded, clean, good drink service. Only wish it was open longer because I thought the whole area looked amazing at night.

Bottom line is that we would go back. I feel like the value for what we paid was very good. The positives definitely outweigh any criticisms (hopefully constructive) listed here.

Room Tip: Privilege was worth it for us. We stayed in 1108 which was a honeymoon suite on the ground floor tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jeffery S,
We want to thank you for your kind comments about your experience at our resort. With reward we learn that on your visit to OCT we were able to provide you with a wonderful vacation; furthermore that you took advantage of our Privilege services and facilities. We want to express our gratitude for your compliments to our performance, for your suggestions to our operation and for taking the time to post such a complete review about our resort. We are looking forward to host your next vacations soon.
Warm regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,966
    3,292
    1,309
    459
    316
See reviews for
4,168
3,793
154
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,546)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

It was a wonderful experience. The service overall was excellent. Especially the entertainment team was mind blowing. The entertainment activities were great and Alfonso one of the entertainer had an excellent customer service and he was cheerful and a good performer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Ravi G,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your last vacations. It flatters us to learn that our services meet your expectations. Furthermore, that the friendliness and good service provided by our entertainment staff, especially Alfonso, were the highlight of your trip. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on this site. We hope to welcome you one more time to OCT in a near future.
Bests,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just returned from a fun and relaxing mini vacation with family and friends.The staff members are all very professional and nice. There is a large variety of delicious foods and restaurants to enjoy.The grounds were immaculate. I think I only saw one fly the entire time and two mosquitoes. We even stayed an extra day. Did anyone notice that there was not a door to the bathroom? If so I haven't seen it mentioned in any of the reviews. The only draw back which may be a little awkward for family members sharing a room is the lack of outer door to the bathroom.If you wanted to take a bath in the tub there would not be any privacy, not even a shower curtain. The shower has a door as well as the toilet, but plan on dressing in the shower stall if sharing a room. Casino night was not worth waiting up for. I can't even give the facility one less star because of bathroom door. I would return, hey maybe next month:):)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear m b,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations regarding your stay in our property. It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services, facilities and offer, and that we were able to provide you with a fun and relaxing stay. In regard to your comment about the rooms design, let us inform you that we are working in some improvements that will provide more privacy to this area of the rooms. Thank you for choosing our resort for your last vacations. We look forward your next visit.
Best regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip out of the country and first trip to an all inclusive resort. We were absolutely thrilled! From the moment we arrived everything was so much more than we expected! Everyone was so generous and helpful. We are headed back this fall with our two 18 year old kids. We are all counting the days already!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyvandoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear tracyvandoren,
It is gratifying to learn that you have chosen our resort for your first visit to Mexico and to an all-inclusive resort. Furthermore, that your experience at OCT was satisfactory and meet all your expectations. We are grateful for posting your review. We are looking forward your fall’s visit with your family.
Kind regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful family trip. We had all ages in our group and were very surprised at the great hospitable atmosphere of the All inclusive Resort. The staff was so attentive, nice sitting areas, sun beds and lots of activities for all. The food was good, a great variety, the theme nights fun, and so nice to see people dressed up for dinner. Armando -the manager at the Italian Rest went above and beyond to seat us together and had an awesome last night dinner there. Grisela at the pool bar was so genuinely nice and took care of us, and the best part of breakfast were the most delicious breakfast tostadas that we looked forward to every day. Elizabeth was so proud and happy that we loved them! Overall great service and ambiance.
We had the best SPA massages and relaxed away the stress!!! Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Nancy572014,
With reward we learn that your trip to our resort was enjoyable for all the members of your family and that everyone appreciated our facilities, activities and offer. We also like to thank you for letting us know the names of those members from our staff that went above and beyond in order to fulfill your expectations. We are thankful for taking the time to share your opinion at this site. We are looking forward to welcome you once again in a near future.
Warm regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Overall very good! I am late in writing this, as we went in mid February. Beautiful beach and pools! Loved our bartenders at the swim up pool! Nice entertainment. Nice, private balcony and good size room. You really hardly notice that kids are allowed here. They offer dehumidifier for the room which you definitely will need. The road wasn't nearly as bad as what we saw here. Friendly staff.

Some of the negatives: Refrigerator not very cold and not a lot in it. Only one place open for breakfast. BEWARE of the timeshare! The one hour presentation we agreed to took us 3 hours! We finally got upset and had to just cut her off as nice as she was so we didn't waste the entire day. We did get $150 in resort credit from it that we could use on excursions so we went snorkeling and to Playa Del Carmen. (The last resort we stayed at took you to Playa for free).Had to keep asking for washcloths for our room. The towel exchange for the pool isn't the greatest. You can only get a towel at one of the pools which was not the one with the pool bar. You are only allowed one per day. Nothing ever dries here due to the humidity so bring more than one swimsuit and cover up. The shower and bathroom have see through glass doors, so not very private. Internet connection is free, but the connection is horrible. No dresser drawers in the room. Restaurants were okay - nothing special. No bottled beer. You can walk to Puerto Morales along the beach, but beware that you pass a nude beach along the way!

Here are some tips - bring a beach bag to carry stuff down to the beach/pool. Bring a large insulated cup with a lid. The bartenders will fill those so if you head down to the beach you don't have to go back as often. Bring an underwater camera. Very expensive to buy them here. Bring aloe - also very expensive.

Overall I would rate it a 3 1/2 star. We stayed at a much nicer property 2 years ago, so it is hard to compare. For the price it was good!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views! Our ocean view was pretty obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherylcampbell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear cherylcampbell13,
We are thankful for choosing our resort for your last vacations. We truly appreciate your good comments in regard to the beauty of our facilities, the friendliness of our staff and our offer. On the other hand we lament hearing that there were some aspects of your stay that did not met your expectations. In regard to your comment about the mini bar temperature, we must enlighten that its use is only for the conservation of the products, not for its cooling. Please allow us to inform that our business is proprietary of a Vacation Club, which is promoted by Concierges. After the check-in process a concierge meet some of our guest to provide them with the basic information of the hotel. During this meeting, they make reference of a welcome breakfast and a tour to know our facilities during the following days after the guests’ arrival to the resort. We must remark that clients attend to this promotion only if is their will. In regard to your comment about the towels system, we lament that our procedures caused inconveniences, however we must emphasize that we are an eco-friendly resort, we can only change dirty towels for clean ones once a day. Thank you for sharing your comments on this site and for let us know that besides the inconveniences encountered, you had a nice time at our resort and found a good value in our offer. We look forward your next visit and to improve your perception about our resort.
Bests,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed at OCT for the 5th year in a row, in the first week of July. We chose the privilege option. The weather was perfect everyday. The ocean water was warm and calm. Each year we go, there are more improvements and our vacation is always a relaxing and positive one. The food and drink is always pleasing. The whole resort is kept so clean and beautiful. We have to thank Saskia Mann, Alejandro Frank, Rafael, Pablo, Manuel/Javier and the rest of the Staff at Ocean Coral and Turquesa for making our vacation such a wonderful memory again. We look forward to our next visit to this gorgeous resort. You are like our second family!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Karen E,
We want to thank you for your kind comments about your experience at our resort and for your loyalty to H10 Hotels. With reward we learn that your 5th visit to our resort was satisfactory and exceed your expectations. Furthermore, that you have seen improvements in our resort in contrast to your last visits. We also like to express our gratitude for your kind comments about the performance of our staff; be sure that your comments will be shared with them and that will reinforce their commitment to provide the best vacation experience to our guests. We truly appreciate that you took the time to post your comment on this site. We see you soon at this, your home.
Best regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,660 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,842 reviews
7.6 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
21,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
20.4 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Property: Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing