We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We visited at a time when the hotel was only partly full which meant everything was really easy to access. I am not so sure this would have been the case if the complex was full as it is huge. That said based on our experience the food was pleasant and plentiful with lots of variety and we had no issues booking the themed restaurants rather than the main buffet. The lack of branded drinks, or limited availability of them for a premium payment was a disappointment but not a major issue given the overall price of the holiday.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Davidh1977,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at our resort. It is good to learn that it was satisfactory. We want to restate our gratitude for choosing our resort for your vacations. We look forward your next stay with us.
Warm regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,914
    3,264
    1,299
    452
    314
See reviews for
4,110
3,769
154
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,522)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived yesterday for the first time to an all inclusive and this morning, after sleep, feel the same..... We are in the Twilight Zone. Here's what I wish a review would have described: 1. If you want 90+temp, go in July. 2. Our family of 9 have 3 rooms, everyone of them smell of mildew, very badly! 3. The sofa in the rooms are damp with moisture and badly stained, not even gonna sit on those. 4. All inclusive to the restaurants that are open. Tried some last night found the Italian closed for who knows how long, the next option was sold out as soon as it opened at 6pm. The Mexican, were we ate had bad food & Christmas music playing. 5.If you want coffee from the coffee shop in the morning, it doesn't open until 9am 6. Yes, it's the ocean and it has seaweed but why wouldn't the tractor and tiller collect the seaweed instead of pick up and put back down? 7. Nope, I've been sitting at the pool yesterday and beach now and no one comes to offer any drink. IS This Place In FINANCIAL TROUBLE?! NOT WHAT WE SPENT a fair amount of cash for!!! And this is day 2 of 8!! EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED, feel sick about this choice, and stuck!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for ten days (7/13- 7/23) and it was simply amazing. We've been to other resorts in Riviera Maya before but this one is a keeper. We even purchased a timeshare on the property, and we NEVER thought we'd be "timeshare people". My family fell in love with everything about Ocean Coral and Turquesa.
Our room was fantastic and had everything a family of five required. We upgraded to an ocean view and it was breathtaking. My morning sunrises were pure magic. Housekeeping did a wonderful job every day and our minibar was always stocked.
The pool was always clean and spacious enough to accommodate all the guests. The games and activities provided fun breaks in the day. (Oscar was awesome! He totally got people involved and became a fast friend to our family. My youngest (6 years old) really misses Oscar! We had a GREAT waitress by the pool, Alba... she took care of anything we needed and was very attentive.
The restaurants were delicious! With a family of five, each with different taste buds, the main buffet was our usual dining spot. Martin was the KING of service for our family! We LOVED the theme nights... especially the circus! What a hit with the kids!
The entertainment was outstanding. My husband and son were big fans of the Rock Band night! My husband was even allowed to play the drums for one of the songs! The circus show was FANTASTIC... the whole family loved it. But I have to say my favorite was the Disney show, because my two girls were able to participate IN the show!!! What a memory for this mom and dad! My youngest was Belle in Beauty and the Beast... and my other daughter was a jellyfish in The Little Mermaid. It was amazing and we want to thank ALL the staff that were involved with the production. My girls were treated with so much love...from the rehearsal to the show. Thank you!! THANK YOU!
This is a beautiful property... but what MAKES it are the wonderful people that work at the Ocean Coral and Turquesa. Anything can LOOK pretty... but what sets it apart are the people. We loved everything about our trip. Can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view and ask for the highest floor available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Kathie W,
We want to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about our resort. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities, offer and friendliness of our staff, and also that you had an awesome time at OCT. We hope that when returning to Riviera Maya, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in our property.
Bests,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were beautiful and clean the restaurants were amazing and delicious. There was always something fun to do. It was a great time. I thoroughly enjoyed the shows at night. The beach was nice there were alot of shaded spots with chairs which was great but there was alot of sea weed all over the place and in the water which kinda sucked since it hid stingrays.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Katrina B,
With reward we read your comments regarding your stay at OCT. It is good to learn that, even when our beach condition was not of your total liking, you were satisfied with your experience at our resort and we were able to provide you with a great time. We want to extend our gratitude for your review. We will be more than glad to host your next vacations.
Bests regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

it was a great family vacation, the staff there are amazing specially at the privilege area very professional . Everything is clean, I have a 1 year old daughter and everyday they will bring a liter of milk for her. couldn't ask for a better service. I will definitely will go back with my family again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Jorge N,
We are thankful for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you and your family had a great time while staying with us, and also that you truly appreciated the service provided by our staff and special attention given to your daughter’s needs. Thank you for choosing OCT for your family vacations. We are looking forward to host you soon.
Kind regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I traveled to Mexico to attend my Cousins wedding, and it turns out she picked one of the best hotels out there! All the staff were amazing, especially two of the staff members that worked in the teen club - Julio and Andres, they always came and joined in with us and kept a smile on our faces, they were the best! The choice of food was amazing and even the kids found something to eat every day, the drinks were also amazing, thank god they were unlimited without them we would have spent a fortune. Have to say the Air-con was a god send because of the heat! The rooms were great, lots of space to put stuff and maids cleaned them well everyday. Last but not least the pools, activities and shows at night, without the whole entertainment team the holiday wouldn't have been as good, from playing pool volleyball, aqua-gym and crazy games, and all their dancing - it sure gave us some new game ideas :). Thanks for a great holiday full of memories, will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Keana T,
We want to thank you choosing our resort as your vacation destination. It is good to learn that the good service and friendliness of our entertainment staff was the highlight of your trip. Be sure that we will share your comments with Julio, Ivan and the rest of our entertainment team. We will be glad to host your next vacations at our property.
Warm regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Six of us traveled to this resort and stayed 7/5/14-7/11/14. We were in awe as we entered the lobby as it was beautiful. We were upgraded to Ocean View rooms.. This was nice but our view consisted mostly of palm trees, which were still beautiful but no ocean view. Our room was great.. Tiled floors and nicely decorated.

We immediately went down to the ocean to unwind from our long days travel. The ocean isn't blue as portrayed in the picture, looks more like a lake than anything. We decided to eat our first night at the outside "Mexican party" buffet. The food was significantly sub-par. We left hungry and ordered room service to our room. Room service is included and not too shabby. We experienced that the drinks were pretty terrible on this first day, and we basically went to drink, eat and relax.

The next day we spent at the pool. The swim-up bar pool is pretty dirty, since I didn't see many people getting out to use the restroom, I assume people were just urinating in the pool, and it showed.

The drinks still were pretty terrible not one tasted the same! We asked what kind of beer was being poured from the tap and were told corona! This certainly was not corona, but hey we all managed to get a buzz!

We definitely all recommend bringing an insulated tumbler for the bartenders to make your drink in, the alternative is crappy plastic cups that at times may smell like cigarettes or the previous drink that was prepared in it.

Now we had a group of 6, so we often times took turns with 2 of us going to the bar to get drinks for everyone. This became a problem as we were old "2 drinks per person" on our 3rd day. This is an all-inclusive resort and clearly two of us were not going to chug six beers immediately. Still we explained they were for our friends but still were not allowed. The lobby bar was the best bar to get drinks at, attentive and very nice bartenders.

As for the food at the other restaurants. It was kind of weird there is only one lunch place to go to, a buffet at the Villa Marina. You could go to the Creperie but we heard it takes 2-3 hours for lunch. This buffet was ok, it was just for lunch so no one had super high expectations. Maybe we were misconstrued about what kind of food would be served, but nothing was really Mexican. Its almost like they were striving to make everything as American as possible. Breakfast was ok, a buffet of course and the way to go is definitely an omelet. The Mexican Dinner restaurant was appalling, so disgusting we were very disappointed. Two of the best dinners we had were at Hibachi and the Villa Marina (where you can order off the menu). But at the Villa Marina everything you would want to eat on vacation, lobster, steak etc was an extra charge of $40+, which we could pay less than this at home for the same! We really had a tough time finding something to eat that was decent, and room service was usually the best, they have sandwiches, burgers and pizzas.

My only complaint about our room (and our friends rooms were not this way) smelled TERRIBLE of must and mold. We asked for dehumidifiers and were not brought one, but it smelled pretty much the whole time. Our papers we had that were important were damp and so was our bed most of the time.
I was saddened to see that there were towel cards, you were presented with one per person at check-in to redeem a towel from the pool. If you lost your towel or towel card it is $50 to get a new one. I thought this was silly, so we just left the cards in the safe and air dried.

It was very nice that there were bottled waters provided in the mini fridge, along with 2 beers and sodas per day in the room. I was pleased with the staff, but also perplexed by the amount of tips they demanded! We spend at least $200 on tips, when it was supposed to be all inclusive. We didn't mind tipping certain people, like the lady (Alba) walking around the pool all day long in long pants, t-shirt and a hat who kept bringing us drinks, but it seemed like at every corner there was someone else we had to tip.Taking into consideration the terrible things, and the good about the food and drinks we we would say the resort overall was just average.

WIFI tip- It said that WIFI was not included in the rooms, but our room sporadically got wifi once in a while. So check it!


Summary:
Bring your own insulated tumbler, and towel
Bring lots of sunscreen (including biodegradable!)
The drinks suck, and never taste the same as the one previous to it.
The food isn't great, and leaves you so excited to eat once you get home

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,518 reviews
7.6 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,198 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,635 reviews
20.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,913 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Property: Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing