We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money, but not a 4 star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the resort from July 20 - July 25. Check in at the hotel was pretty easy but was told by the front desk that we had to meet someone for a "welcome package". Come to find out, they schedule a breakfast appointment only to trick you into a time share meeting. Me and my fiance did not show up, only to find a note at our door reminding us that we missed our appointment. Then the phone rings several times in the morning. They are very pushy. The rooms were very spacious with a large patio. The beds were very, very, very, hard with crappy pillows. The air conditioner kept running throughout the night which kept the room barely cool.
The resort grounds were kept very well manicured and extremely clean. The beach was horrible with tons of seaweed everywhere. The water was also very murky. This was already expected since I read Trip Advisor reviews prior to the trip. The drink service at the beach was not great as I only saw the waitress once. Not to mention the locals selling sunglasses, cigars, and Marijuana. .yes, Marijuana on the beach.
The pool was excellent along with the hard working bar tenders and waitresses. Gustavo had our drinks ready ahead of time and did not have to wait long. Needless to say, I tipped them very well.
The food at the buffet was just okay. Nothing to brag about. The Mexican restaurant and Blue Moon restaurant were the best. We ate at Blue Moon twice since there was no wait. The food and service at the Blue Moon was very high quality. The Japanese restaurant was a huge disappointment. I asked for a table thinking they were going to sit us at the Hibachi grill. We were sat at a table with a totally different menu. When I asked to be seated at the Hibachi Grill, I was told that they were full and reserved. We ordered from the menu which wasn't impressive. As we ate dinner, I noticed eight empty seats at the hibachi grill. I was very disappointed that we weren't offered to sit at the grill after I requested it. Very disappointing that you cannot make reservations.
We are definitely going to visit Cancun again, but will not stay at Ocean Turquesa. We will stay at a different resort that is adults only.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Orlando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,168 - 4,174 of 11,638 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautiful main lobby. Made you feel very welcome, most of the staff say hello. Privilege status allows access to a private beach (Raphael is awesome) and cabanas along with drinks at the beach. The definitely make you feel special and
Pros:
Very helpful staff, privilege concierge were great when I had to call to cancel my lost credit cards. Angelo was great as a butler, made you feel he really cared
Entertainment staff worked really hard to get everyone involved but didn't pester. Our four year old really loved the Disney Show (very campy, but they are doing their best)
Kids Pool great depth for our little guy, kids club located right nearby
Kids Club staff very friendly, but be forewarned, they double as entertainment staff and will take them to the activities pool in the afternoon and conduct the activities while our little guy swam in the shallow end (AHHHH!). Don't expect day care quality child care, the girls who worked there did a great job and were very committed and kind.
Restaurants were good, buffet reliable and the food wasn't terrible. Waiters were good. Had a circus night one night with clowns that made balloon animals which our four year old loved.
Seafood place was fine, we got free lobster dinners as part of Privilege but there were no claws
Asian place was great, you do have to make reservation if you are in the Privilege suites, everyone has to wait.
Fusion which they said was French had a Mexican/Italian Fusion? we didn't try it a second time.

Cons
Walk down the beach to Puerto Moreles is not easy or leisurely, its very far and you pass a nude beach. Nice restaurant there though, The Pelican Cafe?, but don't drink anything made with water (i.e. tea or lemonade)
Tile floors in rooms, obviously for ease of clean up, but also very slippery.
Water has lots of grass, not the crystal blue waters I assume they have in Cancun, they work hard to clear it though

Overall a nice place to chill out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank natemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear natemorrison,
We want to thank you for sharing your review at this site and for choosing OCT for your vacations. It is very gratifying to read that you had a relaxing time at our resort. Furthermore, that you appreciated the attention from our staff and gastronomic offer. We look forward your next visit to our property.
Kind regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Senor Rodriguez, its great when the staff calls you by your name. We went the privilege route and we do not reget it one bit. First lets start with breakfast, why wait in the omlet line in the buffet when in the privilege resturant you have the staff bringing you coffee, yogurt, a fruit cup and your breakfast to your table. My wife enjoyed the green juice in the morning. Thanks to Blanca, Alfonso, Sergio and Mateo for a great start to our mornings. Hope I got their names right. Then off to the beach where two staff members there made the upgrade more then worth while. Rafael the beach butler would set us up on a beach bed or lounge chair with NO WAITING!!! Then Teresa would bring us the drinks in an ice bucket, water and beer. All the restaurants were great, habachi, mexican, italian and our favorite the privileged. The waiter by far the best at dinner time. If I remember right it Miguel and his helper always on top of things. Oh and the food, lobster tails, other seafood and the soups all great. The desserts wow we would go to the buffets after lunch and dinner just for more desserts. We also tried the spa. Excellent massage Blanca and Anna great hands almost put us to sleep.
Now the bad, not their fault the beach has I guess seaweed that washes up but thats along all the beachs in Cancun. The wifi is not the greatest. Thats it everything thing else was great and the room too, a beach view suite. Maria the house keeper did a great job. And they turn the bed for you at night. Can't forget our butler Luis. I'm telling you this vacation was GREAT!!! This was our third vacation in the Cancun area and by far our best experience. Definitely we will return next year. They made us feel like royalty.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hola_Senor_Rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Hola_Senor_Rodriguez,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your last vacation and for sharing your opinion about your stay with us. It is rewarding to read about your experience and to learn that you were totally satisfied with the Ocean Service provided by our staff. Thank you for let us know that our performance exceeded your expectations. We look forward your next visit, and make you feel as special as on this occasion.
Warm regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for a week in August of 2012 for our honeymoon. It was a great place to have our first Mexican experience. Hector the bartender is amazing! Privilege status is definitely worth the extra money! We loved the room service, the eating eastablishments, and most of the staff. Downsides: time share sales people and shoe requirements in the restaurants (my nice shoes broke and they would not allow me in).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonDewDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear DevonDewDrop,
We want to express our gratitude for choosing our resort for the celebration of this special occasion. It was a pleasure to host your honeymoon at our facilities, and it is rewarding to learn that we were able to provide you with an excellent experience on your first visit to Mexico. In regard to your comment about the dress code at restaurants, please allow us to inform that it only applies for our Blue Moon and Rittrato d’Italia restaurants in order to preserve its formality. Thank you for your kind comments about our performance. We look forward to host your first anniversary trip.
Best regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Let me start with the most entertaining part of the resort. The Entertainment crew worked their butts off, day and night. They asked me if I wanted to be in one of the shows, I accepted. After that night, my girlfriend and I became very close with the Entertainment staff and they always were able to pick us out of the crowd, whether it was to be involved in an activity, or just to say hello, remembering our names out of all the people they meet, or an event at night. They made us feel very special. The Entertainment Staff members that we met were Julio, Denise, Kandy, Ivan, Oscar, Raul, Carolina, and Samuel. They are in the pool doing activities all day, then at night they are either conducting some sort of game or entertaining with their amazing shows that they put on. They made our experience at this resort so much more enjoyable. They definitely deserved to be recognized as a main attraction at this resort.

The pictures provided of the resort are spot on exactly what it looks like...no trickery or photoshopping. We had an amazing time. Several restaurants to eat at so you didn't have to eat the same thing every night. Two of them had a dress code (men pants and shoes, nothing too crazy). They told you that there were no reservations, however, you could stop there maybe an hour before you were about to eat and put your name in and come back (which is kinda like a reservation lol). The room was great. Unless, you need to have a bed on the beach or top shelf beverages, you really dont need Privelege, however it is still tempting to upgrade.

I have read a lot of reviews about salespeople coming up to you all trip asking about a timeshare. We were asked about upon our arrival and never heard another word about a timeshare after that.

We had an amazing time and would definitely recommend going here! We stayed for 8 days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mike W,
We are glad to read that your stay with us was satisfactory and above all, that members of our entertainment staff made your experience enjoyable. We want to restate our gratitude for choosing our resort for your last vacations and also for posting your review at this site. We look forward to host your next vacations.
Bests,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our 3rd time staying at this resort. The service level seemed to have decreased slightly this time which was disappointing. The Privileged Junior Suite in bldg 7 was very basic - lacked drawers and hangers for clothes, AC didn't really cool the room, mini-bar refrigerator didn't really make the contents cold. As with previous years, there was no consistency with the housekeeping, especially wash clothes and wine glasses... for some reason those two items are very scarce. The nightly turn-down service occurred twice in the 9 nights we were there and other needs required repeated requests/multiple calls. The posted & printed schedules of events are not always accurate when it comes to shows and entertainment. The evening shows seemed to have gone downhill (the show selection, not the performing talent) - although the Disney Show was still the hit for families with children. While most of the grounds are very well kept, the beach conditions and the attempt to clean up the seaweed were less than effective. Also found disappointment from the privilege staff with reservation making and late check out flexibility. Some bright spots though - the pools were well maintained & very warm and the food was great. Sergio the server/waiter was the best of all - whether in the Privileged lounge or at the Privileged pool, he is very hard working and dedicated to his guests.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to Privilege services - although the rooms don't seem much different the upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Private N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a wonderful 10 day holiday at Ocean Coral. All the staff were wonderful. Very clean and great amendities. We loved our server, Giavanna Manuel, for our breakfast and lunch meals. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Daniela G,
With reward we read your comments about your experience at OCT. We are happy to realize that you had a great time at our resort and that you enjoyed with the service and friendliness of Giovanna and Manuel from our F & B staff. Thank you for posting your experience. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,488 reviews
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
9,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
7,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
24.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#62 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £117 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing