We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort and Staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort and Staff!!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had an amazing time at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa resort! It is beautiful and clean and so much fun!!

We had about a 15 minute wait at the airport for our transportation (free transfers if you book on their website or by phone directly with H10), and check in was easy and very fast. The only part we didn't enjoy about checking in was the pitch to get us to go to the breakfast where they talk about their membership opportunity or whatever it is. She started out as helpful, giving us a map and telling us about meal times, etc. When we said we weren't interested in hearing the pitch (for $100 in resort credit), she was very persistent. She finally said she would put us down for breakfast and I said that's fine but we won't be there. Nobody bothered us about it after that however, so just be firm.

Our rooms were beautiful! We are a family of six, so we requested two adjoining rooms, and that's what we got. For some reason there were cribs in our rooms (our kids are age 9 and up), but when I called to have them removed someone was there in just a couple of minutes. We were on the first floor right in front of the theater, and near the kids pool and the activities pool. It was a great location. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the air conditioning was great. We did ask for dehumidifiers because our swimsuits were not drying at all. One thing that was dangerous, but probably unavoidable, is that when you come in wet from swimming, or from the shower, the tile floors get extremely slippery and they don't really ever dry. We would try to wipe them up with towels, but with only one pool towel allowed and no extra towels in the rooms, we didn't really have towels to spare to keep the floors dry. Housekeeping did a great job, although it was sometimes pretty late in the day before they came. A few times they did leave some things in the room such as rags and [dirty?] sheets. Not sure how they missed them, but it happened three times. Other than that the rooms were very clean, and we appreciated the fresh drinks in the fridge each day! I do wish the refrigerators were colder though.

Regarding the towel system -- I don't like the system. We should be able to get the towels we need. Who is going to steal them? They're good but not that great. It was stressful always counting our towels and cards and making sure we had them all so we didn't get charged. We were afraid to take our eyes off the towels on the chairs while we were in the pool, in case someone picked one up by mistake. I read some reviews complaining about the quality of the towels, and while we got one or two thin ones, and a couple with stains, overall they were thick and clean and nice. I just wish we didn't need to worry about the cards.

Service -- the service at OCT is amazing! Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We especially loved the activities/performing staff (Kandy and Julio, among many others), and the waiters at the buffet (Ariel and Raul especially). Two of my girls were in the Disney stage show, and my oldest especially became close with the performers. She watched rehearsals, and was always welcome. She was even asked to come up on stage to be included in photos after some of the shows. And the show quality was very good. Yes, most of the time they were lip syncing, but some songs were sung live and they are very talented. The dancing is great too, and they have very elaborate costumes. We thoroughly enjoyed all the shows we saw.

The only service that wasn't great is the bar service at the pools. We ordered drinks once from a server walking around the pool, and it took so long to get our drinks, and then they weren't even the right ones, and we weren't confident that the kids' drinks didn't have alcohol. We just went to the bars ourselves after that, which wasn't a big deal as there are several near the pools. Our kids loved trying new (virgin) drinks, and the bartenders are great about making the kids something special. Oh, and while tipping is appreciated and we tipped most of the time, we never felt pressured to tip like some people mentioned in previous reviews, and it didn't seem to make a difference in the quality of service at all.

The beach was great too -- it was clean and the sand was soft and beautiful. It was not rocky at all, the the sea grass wasn't bad either. I don't know why people complain about it. It was also so warm! No, it wasn't clear and blue, but I think that's mostly because of the sand being churned up in the waves. We also did a snorkeling trip through the resort and the reef was awesome! Our kids had never been snorkeling before and it was one of their favorite parts of our vacation.

The food was very good everywhere. We never had to wait long for any of the restaurants, with the exception of the Mexican restaurant one night. We ended up not going because we would have been late for the show. Everywhere else we got right in, and the food and service was great.

We didn't use the kids' club with the exception of one pool game, and not many other people did either. The one day we went over there there were just two kids, and they were watching a movie and eating from a huge bag of candy. It felt more like a day care than a fun club. They do have activities that they do, but in between those there's not much going on. I felt bad for those kids that apparently are left there all day so their parents could go have fun without them. They clearly did not want to be there. And the teen club doesn't have anything going on at all -- we can play video games at home so my older kids didn't spend any time there. The kids' pool was fun though, and I like that there was a bar and snack bar right there.

The entire property was extremely clean and well-kept. We could always see gardeners and other staff taking care of whatever needed taking care of. When we needed to call maintenance for anything they were there right away. The pools were beautiful and never crowded (except the one with the bar), and we were always able to find chairs at the pool and the beach.

One suggestion I would make is that they need to advertise their activities better. There was an activities board, but it wasn't always accurate. And we found out by accident about the free bike trip to Puerto Morelos and a new "Senses" experience they had started. These weren't posted anywhere and therefore we were the only ones on the bike tour and my husband was the only one participating in the Senses experience. We wonder what other activities might have been going on that we had no idea about. We've been on a cruise before and they always delivered a paper each day with the day's activities -- this would be a great service. Or even just give one out at check-in that describes all the activities for the week. And speaking of the bike trip, we were so excited to go, got there on time, got our helmets and vests and walked to the bikes, only to find out that they only have adult bikes. I had to stay back with our younger kids while my husband and older girls got to go to the town and shop. We were very disappointed. They saw how small my 9 year old girls are when we signed up and should have known there's no way they could ride an adult men's bike.

Overall, this was an amazing, beautiful, friendly resort and we highly recommend it and would definitely return!! The positives overwhelming outweigh the very few negatives. Thank you OCT for our wonderful family vacation!! We hope to be back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MomOf4Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,857
    3,233
    1,288
    451
    312
See reviews for
4,061
3,735
153
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,499)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My fiancé and I visited the OCT from July 4th through the 10th. When we arrived on July 4th it was a very simple process at check in with a short wait and drinks in hand! We arrived at the hotel around 1:30 PM and they allowed us in our room within 20 minutes. There are many hotels that stick to the 3 o'clock rule but they did not which was nice so you do not have to leave your bag unattended for a long period of time. We also requested bldg. 11 which is close to everything and they made it happen.

The only beer on tap is Corona so you have no other choices. We hung out at the swim up bar most of the week and when they ran out of Absolute Vodka, we put a request in and they had the manager get two more bottles to put behind the bar (Very cool that they did that). The service overall was great and the food at the restaurants was very good as well for the price. They also had a dinner theme night outside each of the nights we were there so that was another option to choose if you wanted.

It was very impressive how the resort had everything outside dressed up with American flags and USA colors all over on July 4th. We even saw a handful of fireworks which was unexpected. The only downfall was the ocean turned up a ton of seaweed and garbage and they were constantly running the tractors up and down the beach to try and control it. I think it is due to the location and not a reflection on the resort. Overall it was a fun trip and a decent place. Hotel could definitely use a few upgrades, but for the price you can’t beat it.

Long pants and closed toed shoes for the men are a must at the Blue Moon Restaurant. No exceptions.

Building 11 is close to everything (Perfect location) Bars, restaurants, pools, hotel store. 3rd and 4th floor are ocean view

Room Tip: Bldg 11 is close to everything!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were there from 7/19-7/26/2014. The hotel delivered on every promise from great food and dining venues to a friendly staff. The property was clean and well maintained. They had themed nightly buffets that were always fun! Do yourself a favor and visit all of the specialty restaurants! Our rooms were excellent as well and I recommend that you request a dehumidifier it makes all the difference in the world for keeping the room cool and your clothes dry. We would return TODAY!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My friend and I just got back from three nights at the Ocean Coral and Turquesa. It was a great location, in terms of proximity to the airport. It was the start of a string of hotels, so you could easily walk on the beach for whatever distance you want. There was also apparently a small town just a mile or two down the road (Puerto Morales) but we never felt the need to leave the resort.
We signed up for the Privilege Amenities, and we felt it well worth it. We really liked the exclusive options, and the ability to make dinner reservations before other guests.
The highlight of the stay was an invitation to the Chef's Table. It was an exclusive dining opportunity, with absolutely incredible food. We were honored to be a part of it! If you are lucky enough to get an invitation, don't pass it up. Although really, the food everywhere on site was great.
I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: With the Privilege Amenities, you are guaranteed a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Debra C,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation. It is rewarding to learn that our Privilege services exceeded your expectations. Furthermore, that your experience with Chef Alan Ramirez at the Chef’s Table Dinner was the highlight of your trip. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with the users of this site. We hope to have the opportunity to host your next vacations.
Kind regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed an exciting 4 day stay at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa. The staff is extremely helpful and kind. Establishment is relaxing and close to shopping and water activities. I would like to see additions to night time menu choices. Feel free to ask for a dehumidifier for rooms. They are often very moist but extremely clean, cool and refreshing.

Room Tip: Use only hotel (front desk suggested) transportation off the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Theresa S,
We are thankful for your observations regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you really enjoyed your stay, and that you were satisfied with our services and offer. We truly appreciate your suggestions and look forward your next vacations at OCT.
Warm regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Ocean Coral & Turquesa from July 13, 2014 through July 19, 2014. It was my boyfriends first time out of the country, and we were excited to get away win no cell phones or work worries! We did pay extra for the privilege status, and I will say that we will never stay at another all inclusive without doing the privilege option.

Check-In:
We arrived on a Saturday morning, as manyyyy other people are arriving as well. However, the privilege side was less crowded. You are given at cold towel for your hands and face right as you sit down to check-in, and we were given two cold beers. We arrived at 11:30am, so our room wasn't ready yet. We went and ate lunch in the main buffet, explored the resort, and changed into our bathing suits in a restroom and went straight to the privilege beach while we were waiting on our room. When our room was ready, our butler came to get us from the beach and took us to our room. It was so nice. Our butler, Alex, was amazing. He (and Angel) decorated our room for my boyfriends birthday while we were at dinner. The room had balloons, streamers, a "Feliz Cumpleanos" sign, confetti, a piece of cake, champagne, and they had put bubbles and started the jacuzzi on the balcony. My boyfriend loved it and it was such a nice bonus to our vacation. Thank you, Alex, and everyone else that helped!

Privilege:
PAY EXTRA FOR THE PRIVILEGE. Privilege customers get so many benefits. With the privilege option, you have a fully stocked refrigerator that is refilled everyday of about 12 drinks, snacks, 6 bottles of liquor, beer, etc., a private beach with AMAZING service, a privilege-only restaurant that is Oceanside, you are able to make reservations at restaurants, you have a butler, maid service everyday, turndown service at night while you are at dinner, top shelf liquor, Budweiser, Montejo, and MANY other benefits. I will always do privilege.

Rooms:
Our room was in the privilege building, building 7. We had a great ocean view, with a pool view, as well. The best part about the room was the view! Our room throughout the week would smell very musty and moldy. We had to leave the card on our bed to get our sheets changed many times, because the sheets and pillows smelled awful. We are not very picky people, but this was probably one of the biggest negatives of the vacation. However, housekeeping was amazing and our room got cleaned and turn down service every day and night. The safe in our room was very helpful, as you can make your own code. It is very safe!

Food:
The food at this resort was good. They have MANY options. We ate at the hibachi, outside Italian (the best), the main buffet, Mexican restaurant, Villa Marina, and the Route 66. We really enjoyed the Route 66, Villa Marina, outside Italian, room service, and the hibachi. We did not try the Blue Moon (as my sandals were not dress code), the French one, or the Italian buffet (it was closed many nights during our week stay). I enjoyed the food, the wide range of restaurants, and the amazing desserts. My boyfriend had a tough time with the food, as he is a 24 year old man at works out at the gym a lot, so he eats big portions. Let's just say he was excited to get home to some sweet tea and a Longhorns steak ;)

Beach:
Yes, the beach has seaweed, and the water is a little rocky. However, we stayed on the beach all 7 days, all day. With the joys of privilege, you can stay on the beach until 45 minutes or an hour before your dinner reservations. We never had to leave the beach early to go get ready for dinner to wait at a restaurant. That's the joys of having reservations! Teresa and Rafael on the privilege beach were AMAZING. They were very friendly, always bringing us drinks, towels, and leaving us our private chairs everyday, so we sat in the same place. They were the best! Teresa runs up and down the beach to make sure everyone has what they need, a cold drink, or anything. We couldn't give her enough tips, she was amazing. Rafael did a great job of getting us our chairs, towels, and cold hand towels on the beach. We got to know him and we really appreciate everything he did for us. He even made us a dinner reservation at a restaurant for our lobster dinner. Thank you, Teresa and Rafael!

This resort is truly amazing. It's absolutely beautiful. And there are 21 buildings so it's very spacious and it doesn't feel crowded. The absolute best part about the resort is the staff. Every single person worked so hard and genuinely loved their job. We didn't come across one person that was slightly rude or mean. EVERY single staff member and worker would smile at you! say hello! and make use you had what you needed. The staff couldn't be any better.

We went on a shopping excursion one afternoon to Playa del Carmen, and it was a great experience. The town is beautiful and there is so much to see. Delta Vacations did a great job booking this for us, and booking our airport transfers. All vendors in Playa del Carmen accept American money, so don't worry about exchanging for pesos that much. It is not necessary. Take ALOT of cash for tips. We spent about $100 in tips total, but the staff deserved it. They have shopping vendors that come on Friday nights to sell souvenirs. We bought some in Playa del Carmen, and some at the resort from the vendors.

Overall, we had a great vacation. The resort is beautiful and everyone was so nice. I honestly couldn't say enough amazing things about the staff. Thank you for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Teresa C,
With reward we learn that you were satisfied with your experience at our resort, and that you chose to upgrade to our Privilege package and to be pampered with the special benefits and facilities it has to offer. Thank you for sharing your kind comments about your stay with us at this site. We are looking forward to host your next vacations.
Bests,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hello
My family and I almost did not make it...our plane was canceled on the runway in Baltimore. We drove to N.Y and landed in Cancun that night.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The staff at Daisy Daycare, Armando at the pool-bar/grill made us fill very comfortable. They accommodated all of us in any way possible. Our children performed in the nightly shows including our baby (baby Tarzan)--The Staff at Daisy daycare were just amazing. The pool, the beach, the restaurants our room -all breathtakingly beautiful. I fill very strongly because of the wonderful (staff) everywhere we went, we really enjoyed our self's. Because of the staff we can say this was our best family vacation ever.
The restaurants were simply mouth watering-breakfast, lunch and dinner-we could not wait for our favorite table. Everything delicious-just ask our 13 month old. The beach was warm and inviting, the pool lazy and comfortable--public bathroom super clean.
I would like to thank the staff one more time--because of you we will have ever lasting memories...because of you we are planning to come back. Thank You
Mike the Greek

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msvordonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear msvordonia,
We want to thank you for choosing our resort for your last vacations. We are glad to read that you did not miss the opportunity to experience our resort and to learn that your vacations were totally satisfactory. Furthermore, that you specially appreciated the friendliness and attention of our staff. Thank you for sharing your opinion about our resort on this site. We are looking forward to host your next vacations.
Best regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,362 reviews
10.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,939 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
10.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Property: Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing