We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Azul Beach Resort has much better service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Azul Beach Resort has much better service”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This was our first stay at Sensatori. We have had seven visits to Azul Beach Resort prior to our stay at Sensatori and actually stayed there for two days before going over to Sensatori.
Sensatori is too big if you like the boutique hotel experience. It is a long distance to walk to a bar or the front of the hotel. We just felt like there was just too much activity.
This is the place if you have active children, however, as the pool is the great gathering place
Not really for a couple that wants to rest and really be pampered. We never saw staff members bringing drinks to the premium area. My husband was at the beach in the premium section for over 2 hours one day and was actually ignored by the beach butler who waited on everyone around him. One day, Enrique, offered exceptional service and apologized for the treatment the day before. Spa treatments were OK but the front desk staff did not excel in helping my daughter and I select a treatment. We ended up with no treatments but my husband had a 80 min massage that he enjoyed. He was made to pre-pay as he got the massage at the beach palapas. He didn't like this as he was not sure if the tip was going to be earned. We usually only tip the best of the best and we did not find any one specific staff member we chose to tip. We tip generously to multiple staff members at Azul Beach Resort as they are all so deserving.
The beach is nasty and we didn't have any idea this was the case. We had visited the Sensatori while it was under construction but did not go down to the beach area. It is not useable or swimmable under any circumstances but the Marina Maroma is not far away and it has the pristine beach that everyone is looking for. All of the activities you could want are at Marina Maroma. Highly advise a trip to Marina Maroma!!
The food at the Italian restaurant, Siena, was exceptional. Loved the osso bucco and risotto. Highly recommend this restaurant. Service was exceptional here and at all the restaurants for dinner. The breakfast is good at all locations and the lunch is only marginal at Spoons. The Mahi Mahi was so "fishy" tasting I could not eat it one day for lunch. It is utter chaos in the morning at Spoons. Be prepared.
The food is geared towards the UK crowd so you will see some different items.
We are Exotic Travel Club members and this allows us a different perspective as we have the use of a concierge prior to our arriving and are receiving an upgraded level of service. Building 1 is the premium section and it has the best views.
I had pre-arranged for a birthday cake for my daughter and it all went as planned.
Huge Reyes is the nicest person to work with and we have known him for several years. He is with the Exotic Travelers and just goes above and beyond.
We also really enjoy Gina with the Exotic Travelers. We have upgraded our membership twice this year and it is worth every penny. Please listen to the sales pitch. You will find it interesting. We wished we had joined sooner.
We are beach people all the way and can't stand to be by the pool. If you are the same way, you will be very disappointed. The beach beds and chairs are nice but the beach is just so unattractive that it really takes away from the whole experience. If you don't care to be on the beach and like a lot of activity, noise and kids then Sensatori is for you. The food is overall excellent and except for a few glitches the service is acceptable.
This resort is "whole saled" to the Brits so be prepared for an almost 100% British invasion. There are few Americans and will be even more Brits all the time, so we are told. Azul Beach Resort which is only 10 minutes on foot on a beautiful beach is really the ultimate in exceptional service.
We actually met a couple who left Sensatori to stay at Azul Beach Resort as Sensatori is too big. It is, however, not as large as some of the other mega all-inclusives.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zeta1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,375
    1,830
    691
    254
    189
See reviews for
3,187
3,566
46
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We arrived back today 18th August after 2 weeks at the Azul Sensatori via Thomsons. Having read previous reviews I was slightly concerned, but on the whole I would say that the pros out weighed the cons.
Pros: Transfer time from Cancun is about 30 mins. The hotel and its facilities are very clean. We (myself ,husband and daughters aged 12 and 15) stayed in the premium block which entitles you to certain perks such as better sun loungers which the pool attendent will reserve and put out towels for you, the pool is also less crowded than the family section and quieter than the 'adult only section'. The pool waiter is always on hand to get you drinks if you can't drag yourself to the well stocked swim up bar.We were also entitled to free internet access on one device, however my Blackberry would not 'play ball' so the hotel offered us free use of one of their lap tops. The staff are friendly and good at their jobs (with the exception of one waiter in spoons who kept his head down till the last day when he was obviously after a tip) .I am aware that the beach has been criticised by others but I must say that I think the hotel do their best with the limited resources that mother nature has given them at this location.
Cons:The food can become very limiting especially for a 2 week stay, and on our last night the 2 most popular of the 5 restaurants were closed due to a beach party which was then rained off! The resident show cast were completely 'up themselves' and seemed to treat the audience with distain. The best acts we saw were a Lionel Ritchie tribute and a Mexican magician. We did speak to other travellers who said that the Sensatoris in Europe were much better. I would also say that considering the hotel is realatively new the gym equipment looks very dated. Our children made lots of friends but mainly through their own endeavours and not through the teen club.
My husband has asked that I give a special mention to the 'egg man' in spoon who provided him with fried aggs every morning.
I hope this isn't too negative a review, as to me, service and cleanliness are the 2 most important aspects in a hotel and the Azul Sensatori has them in spades.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countrylady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Pros
- Lots of pools to make up for the beach, including a separate kids area with a wading pool, splash pad and waterslide
- Great kids activity center and babysitting service
- You can borrow kids toys and things like a crib, infant bouncer, bottle warmer and sterilizer
- Close to Cancun airport- only 20 mins away
- Room service is at all times of the day and usually takes only 30 mins to get the food from time of order
- Staff are very friendly

Cons
- The beach isn't very big and the entrance into the ocean is rocky and full of seaweed (We were told by another couple that if you walk down the beach- off the resort property- the beach and ocean are a bit better)
- Food isn't very good. Better to try the buffet and up the chances of finding something edible. However we have been to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico before and I would say the food is average or a bit below.
- There are many restaurants but the times that they are all open can be confusing. The hotel should have one place that is open the entire day where you can get snacks from if in between the standard meal times.
- We stayed in a family jacuzzi oceanview suite which is advertised as have a bedroom separated by a sliding door from the living room. We got this room so our toddler could go to bed early and we could watch TV. However the sliding door is open at the top which really defeats the purpose.
- The entertainment shows at night are mostly in an open-air lounge that faces the balconies of the family rooms so it's very loud in the room until about 11pm. When they hold the shows on the beach you can't hear a thing.
- Check-in is at 3pm and check-out is 12pm. So depending on when your flights are, you can end up without a room for a long period of time. Our flight home was at 9pm at night and the bus picked us up at 6pm. We had to ask a half-dozen times for a late check-out so our daughter could nap in the room and we finally got it (till 5pm) after paying $50.
- The hotel has a rule where you cannot save chairs by putting towels on them and then leaving. However this rule isn't enforced by the hotel. Occasionally you might see people removing other people's towels from their chairs claiming that it's not fair. Particularly if you have a desirable chair under an umbrella. The hotel should either put more chairs out so everyone can get one, or enforce their own rule.
- Internet is very incredibly slow in the room in the evening. Works the best in the morning (when the load is low) and in the lobby.
- The hotel rents cars if you want to take a day trip however if you have a young child, bring your own car seat. Theirs are not safe. We wanted to go to Akumel beach for the snorkeling (we went before on another trip and we saw lots of sea turtles, stingrays, all kinds of fish, barracuda and even a manta ray) but couldn't go because we didn't want to put our child in their car seat. Of course the hotel doesn't offer a tour there- only to a nearby hotel where there's a coral reef (you'd be lucky to see even one sea turtle) but you have to stay for an hour and a half to go on some informational tour (timeshare?)
- The hotel seems like it's a wedding factory. Some areas may be closed in the afternoon and evenings due to the wedding ceremony/ reception.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieOTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L/DERRY ON TOUR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

What a holiday? I would like to take this oppertunity to thank the staff at the Azul Sensatori for a great holiday. The people who realy stuck out and went that extra mile to make our stay even better were Mary, Paublo Estaban in the Tapaz Resturant. Jorge and the staff of the Mexican. Ramundo at the swim up bar. Nancy and Anacril who serve round the pool area. Issac. and laser the bell boys. Lettitia our cleaner and last and by no means least Susanne and her friend and we Meguil the waiter. The 2 thing I could say bad about the holiday was the price of the items in the shop to say day light robbery is an under statement. I twisted my back and went to get a tube of like a deep heat ointment it cost me about £15 which would cost me about £3 back home a pair of flip flops cost me about £31 similar pair back home about £5 max. The other thing is the fact you are in the wilds of nowhere as I do a lot of walking and thereis only so many times you can walk round a compound.Apart from that we had a brilliant holiday food was superb, service was second to none. Very clean and tidy.Very relaxing

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horseL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

loved it! Bad points beach, and location.
loved the cocktails!!!!
Enjoy it, its beautiful

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover10Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Our visit to the Sensatori included people of all ages--from 1 to 63. Believe me, there was something for everyone. From the time we walked into the beautiful front lobby, we felt the friendliness and caring attitude of all the staff. This attitude never changed the whole week that we were there--not once. We had rooms that had a canal along with a private outdoor jacuzzi off of our patio. The grandchildren loved it. The beach was right there---never a problem to find a lounge chair or bed. There are many restaurants so there never was a wait (weekends are busier). We loved the room service , and especially the ceviche for lunch at the Zavaz. A plus-it's a short drive from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DakotaGalveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, AZS Representative at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

I enjoyed reading about your positive experience with our hotel as we take pride in our upscale service we offer guests during their stay with us.

Thank you for your wonderful remarks as we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Just returned after a week at Azul Sensatori and we are already trying to find an excuse to go back. The resort is everything it was advertised to be. The beach is not the best I have ever been to. What makes this place incredible is it's the people. I have been to many very nice places. There are beautiful hotels all around the world and frankly I have been to better beaches than the one at Sensatori. All that said, it was one of the best trips/weeks I have ever spent anywhere ever. The people that work at the resort took care of us in every way imaginable. They arena solutely the best. One of the best vacations my wife and I have ever taken. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.7 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,954 reviews
5.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,373 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico

Property: Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the renowned Gourmet Inclusive(R) concept by Karisma, the Azul Sensatori Mexico Hotel brings together spacious facilities with unlimited activities and services. Azul Sensatori Mexico is designed to allow couples, groups, wedding parties, families and friends from all generations to re-connect under the sun. The 435 spacious and luxurious suites are tastefully designed in contemporary Caribbean style with dark wood accents and canopy beds. These suites are located in four story buildings with an elevator in each building. Views are either pool, garden, ocean or ocean front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing