We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect spot for two people right on the beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet B
Swansea, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for two people right on the beach”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Casa Toucan in Unit 4 the last week of October 2017. We had never been to Puerto Morelos but plan to return as soon as we can. The studio was perfect for 2 people. We enjoyed coffee and the sunrise on our private balcony overlooking the beach every morning. We had the opportunity to view all of the rooms and they all had very well appointed kitchens, great decor, comfy beds and amazing views. Jon, his son and the housekeeper (I hate that I do not recall her name as she was so friendly and helpful) were all very attentive and available. They took the time to share information and just chat if you wanted to. The pool was very nice and beautiful. The room/condo was centrally located to the town square and was in easy walking distance to the local store and many great restaurants and bar. The property is small and offers lots of privacy. You can't get much closer to the beach than Casa Toucan.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Janet & Scott -

Hola! Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. It was a pleasure talking with you and getting to know you a little. We hope to see you back here in the future. Until then...Hasta luego!

Gracias y saludos,

Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily E
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect beachfront getaway”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This unit at Casa Toucan is the ideal set-up for a couple, or party of 2 that doesn’t mind sharing a queen bed. As first time visitors to Puerto Morelos, we had no idea what to expect from the property, and were blown away by the accommodations, location, and hospitality of Jon and Alicia. After thoroughly exploring the length of the beach and around town during our trip, we can confidently say there is no other place we would have rather spent a relaxing five nights than Casa Toucan.

We heard about Casa Toucan from friends of friends, and booked several nights before Christmas for a sunny getaway before the holidays. The apartment was impeccably clean and tidy, stocked with kitchen essentials, and stayed nice and cool from the ocean breeze. High speed WiFi was accessible throughout the compound, and access even reached to the beach in front of the property.

Markets were just minutes away on foot - perfect for buying fresh, local options to cook for breakfast (our fav), while restaurants for all types of fare were walking distance as well. The stretch of beach in front of the property is beautiful for relaxing and swimming, and a popular snorkeling spot is less than 10 minutes walking along the beach.

Jon and Alicia were friendly and gracious, and provided stellar recommendations from food and drinks to snorkeling spots and an in-room masseuse (10/10!). On our last night they hosted a gathering that included a performance by an incredible local musician who played guitar like a dream - one of the highlights of my trip.

We felt completely at ease and at home at Casa Toucan, and couldn’t have asked for anything more. Can’t wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Emily & Maggie -

Thank you for your thoughtful, detailed, and kind review of your stay here at Casa Toucan. We appreciate that you noticed some of the details that set our home apart from other properties here in Puerto Morelos. We are very happy that you had such an enjoyable time and that you were able to share our annual Christmas dinner with us, featuring guitar wizard Héctor! We hope to see you again in the future. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia, and Jon Conner (and Sully, Lobo, Azi, Tika, & Tigre!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Billings, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wonderful location, beautiful lodging, fantastic people. Beachfront access as week as small pool. Dining right outside the door on the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Jennifer & Connie -

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our home here at Casa Toucan. We look forward to your return in December 2018. Hasta luego!

Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blu3skies
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place for Puerto Morelos ”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My husband and I had two nights here at the start of our Mexico holiday. The room is exactly as described and very well equipped. You could not get a better location! Jon the host provided a very comprehensive pack on the resort in advance which was very useful. He was available to help us and a great host. The grounds with the pool are lovely. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Victoria & Simon -

Thank you for your kind thoughts regarding your stay here at Casa Toucan. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again in the future. We hope you are enjoying the remainder of your holiday here in Mexico. Hasta luego!

Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moondance...
Bryans Road, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Casa Toucan is wonderful! The owner Jon went out of his way to make sure that I felt comfortable and welcomed before arriving and during my stay!He provided extensive information before my arrival. If I had a question or needed anything while there he was just a phone call away. Casa Toucan #4 is located right on the beach. I spent many hours relaxing on the balcony enjoying the beautiful ocean view. Most nights I was able to sleep with the window and sliding door open, listening to the wave gently kiss the shore. Paradise! The grounds was very clean and so was the condo. I will stay at Casa Toucan again.
Thank you Jon!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Amancia -

Greetings! Thank you for your kind review of Casa Toucan. We work very hard to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We were glad that you were able to get to know Puerto Morelos and to take advantage of the treasures that it has to offer. Please come see us again in the future!

Best,

Jon, Alicia, & Jon Conner (and Sully, Lobo, Tika, Azi & Tigre!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdhuber
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Fantastic beach front casita"”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Can't say enough good things about the view, accommodations and owners.
Would like to keep this place all to myself but the cats out of the bag. Going back in November and hopefully much more.
Thank you Jon, Alicia, Jon Conner

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Joe & Jeanne -

It's always a pleasure having you here at Casa Toucan. You guys are welcome in our home any time. We look forward to seeing you again in November!

Best,

Jon, Alicia, & Jon Conner (and Sully, Lobo, Tika, Azi & Tigre!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing