We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexico!”
Review of Amar Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amar Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 18 Puerto Morelos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexico!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was the first time in a while we had stayed in a non-all-inclusive in Mexico, but it has made us realize what we were missing out on. No standing in line at the old steam table! But back to the Amar Inn. First you need to remember that this B&B is technically rated a 2 star. So, if you're looking for all the amenities of a fancy place, you need to go up the road to the AIs. But if you can see yourself at a clean, friendly place that is right next to the beach, this lovely B&B is for you. Our room, up a set of stairs, was huge, with our own little seating area outside the room. From the seating area and the room windows we had a beautiful view of the beach (which is about 30 steps away) and an ocean breeze. My only complaint about the room is that there was nowhere to unpack your bags, so they pretty much had to sit on the floor. There was a rack to hang clothes hangers on though. The breakfasts were just amazing. Fresh fruit to start and a Mexican dish as the main. Simply delicious. And as others have noted, the owner Miguel and the other folks who work there are wonderful. You get to know them because it's such a small place. Puerto Moreles is a really nice seaside town with many great restaurants to choose from. It's is the ideal place for people who want to get away from the AI craziness and just enjoy Mexico.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upstairs ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    47
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
70
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Spent two nights in the fabulous Jungle palapa penthouse room. Loved, loved, loved everything about this place - the casual, laid back atmosphere, the funky decor, and especially the location right on the beach. The two brothers who run the inn, Miguel and Luis, were incredibly friendly. The breakfasts were delicious too - with generous portions featuring traditional Mexican dishes. I was afraid that in August it would be hot in a room with no A/C but all night long there was a delicious breeze coming in from the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, and so unique I will never forget it. Could not have had a better experience. Gracias por todo, Miguel y Luis!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I think that this place is so nice and quiet, great atmosphere and a great view of the beach! I would definitely recommend this place. The service is great, and its very clean. The staff is very friendly and its in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanneece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The place is ok and the owner is very nice. We were upgraded to the highest room, which is very big. What we really liked is the proximity to the beach, though the B&B is NOT on the beach, and the depth of the beach...forgot to say that the beach is really stunning. The great thing is that beach is unspoiled (no hotel puts their beach chairs on the beach), so you need to have your own kit for the day.
Overall Puerto Morelos is worth a quick stop, but do not spend your entire Riviera Maya holiday here, otherwise you will miss out

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank globetrotteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I had seen this place on trip advisor and was drawn to it due its proximity to the beach. After looking at the photos, I knew this quirky little b&b was just the place for me.

When we arrived early, we were lucky to have our room ready and were guided up the quirkiest staircase I have ever seen. Our room (the green room) was very large and had ac, a refrigerator and a nice vanity for sitting and using the laptop (we had a great wifi connection right in our room). This is not a 5 star resort but the location, service and were everything I could have wanted. The owners, Miguel, Luis and Ana (?) are wonderful. I particulary enjoyed talking with Luis who loves discussing food in the region, one of my favorite subjects as well.

The grounds are lush, tropical and exactly what I look for in a mexican beach vacation. Yes, the hotel is older and the bedding is worn but if you want a 5 star hotel on the beach, you will pay for it. We loved getting up in the mornings, climbing down that crazy staircase and eating the most scrumptious breakfast you could imagine for free! Every day started with fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, a basket of delicious pastries, a beautiful fresh fruit plate and a main dish. Some of the main dishes we had were tamales, flautas and mollettes. Every meal was wonderful. After that we walked of the grounds and were literally right on the beach.

I would not consider staying anywhere else in Puerto Morelos.

See you next year!

Room Tip: We loved the green room on the second floor but it would not be advisable for anyone with any physic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I had a great stay at the Amar Inn. It is a charming little village like inn right off the beach in PM. I stayed in a bungalow, and was very happy with my room. Clean and Cute. The owner is very helpful and yes the breakfasts are outstanding! I hope to visit Puerto Morelos again, and when i do, i'll stay the the Amar.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriandgabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We absolutely love Puerto Morelos, largely because we love the Amar Inn. We first discovered this gem in 2009 and used it as home base for our extended travels in the Yucatan. Jo S described the Inn perfectly and I won't try to expound on that, except to reiterate how wonderful the breakfasts are! Oh, and how clean and well-maintained the whole property is.

The brothers, Luis and Miguel, who operate their mother's hotel, could not be more helpful. Their English is perfect and they are fonts of knowledge about the area. The hotel is just steps away from the best snorkeling in the Yucatan. Because it is protected by a reef about 300 yards out, it's calm swimming. There's plenty of outcroppings where fish congregate, as well as turtles and rays! It's like having your own private aquarium. (Uh oh, I've said too much ...) If you're diligent or just lucky you can find the Ojo de Agua, the underwater cenote.

We hope to continue to visit Puerto Morelos and would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The Ocean View room is worth the extra cost ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarynSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,522 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
834 reviews
1.9 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
6,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Inn B&B

Property: Amar Inn B&B
Address: Gral. Lazaro Cardenas Lt 4 | Smza 1 Mza 2 Lt 4, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amar Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Inn Bed And Breakfast
Amar Hotel Puerto Morelos
Amar Inn B&B Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing