We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like family”
Review of Amar Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amar Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 18 Puerto Morelos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Felt like family”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I just got home from 4 nights at Amar Inn and I miss it already. This is a family run place with Mom and her sons constantly working to make their guests feel at home. The other reviewers have had a lot to say, which is why I wanted to stay there to begin with, but I will add my 2 cents to the mix. First, the landscaping is impeccable. There is literally someone raking and pruning and making it beautiful all day long. The beach is right there and it is a wonderful one with a masseuse tent and she also sets up umbrellas and chairs for you free of charge (although it would be criminal not to tip). Breakfast was homemade and healthy vegetarian fare (the ratatouille-type dish was wonderful). Last, but not least, my fiend and I had to leave at 4 am today and Luis arranged a taxi for us. Now, I have been in Mexico many times and he could tell I was a little nervous about it being on time, but he was reassuring and we trusted. Not only was the taxi there ten minutes early, guess who got up and called the driver when we were on our way? Luis. WOW. That is just amazing. Now, my review would not be up to my standards if I didn't mention that there was no AC in the cottage we were in, but this time of year the fans make up for that. Would I pay a little more for a room with AC in the summer? Yes, I would. Also the sheets on my bed were pretty old and had no elastic on them so they would not stay attached to the bed for anything. Housekeeping was amazing and we got fresh towels every day (bring your own wash cloths) but they were pretty rough. Got a good exfoliating out of them though! :) I will hope I can get a room there any time I visit Puerto Morelos (which was also wonderful) and I hope it will be often.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank micaelasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    47
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
70
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crestone
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you are lucky, and I'm not being a jerk here, you will experience this B&B. They are heavily booked, especially during peak season, because they are wonderful. I mean, the owners are wonderful; the staff is wonderful and the beach (you could crawl there, it is so close to this place) is wonderful.

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing stairs, book your room on the first floor (lower level). There is a wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in the summer (this review is admittedly coming very late). We stayed in the ocean cabin, which was huge and had a great breeze and a nice view. It's nice having a separate bathroom and the eco-toilet is no problem at all.
A few considerations, though - we left the door open overnight to get the breeze, then when there was a giant overnight thunderstorm, lots of rain came in through the open door and the room flooded. I dont blame this on the inn at all, just a heads-up that it may be worth it to consider one of the a/c rooms during the summer. The ceiling also had a small, short leak during the thunderstorm. There were a few mosquitoes buzzing around, but again, this is the tropics during the summer, and if you stick the fans close to your face (as we did) then they don't bother you.
Breakfasts are very good, although possibly overrated by the other reviewers - this is not a contradiction; they're really tasty and a definite strength, but I don't know that they are super mind-blowing. Also be sure to put on bug spray when you go down to eat breakfast, at least in the summer there are a lot of mosquitoes buzzing around.
But more importantly, the location is amazing and the staff is really helpful and friendly, the owner picked us up at the airport and resolved a misunderstanding about the room rate very quickly. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
391 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Amar Inn is family run by brothers Luis and Miguel with rooms and cabanas set in a small but beautifully kept garden, where you may catch a glimpse of an iguana. We climbed a rickety looking wooden spiral staircase to the green room, a large and airy room with a sea view from one window. We found the bed comfortable and the hot water plentiful. There was AC and a fan but we didn't need either, the breeze from the sea was sufficient, and we had clean towels daily, fashioned into swans and fans.
We've had wonderful breakfasts here including a different local dish each day. The first morning we saw people with what looked like stuffed pancakes in chocolate sauce, so were surprised to find they were tacos filled with chicken or cheese with the famous Mexican mole sauce containing bitter chocolate - delicious and completely savoury. Other days we had a crispy tortilla topped with bean paste, ham and spicy fried potatoes, squash and corn in tomato sauce with black beans and tortilla crisps with green chile. We had a great stay, and would return, but this is not for those who are expecting luxury.

Room Tip: The green room was particularly nice, with good breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 wks, had the jungle room palapa. Very nice room, wonderful view! Don't be scared off by the eco toilet -- its perfectly fine, no odours. Nice sitting area in front and a small deck facing the sea. Miguel, Luis, and all staff are great. Breakfasts were good, interesting, Mexican. Bed and linens were tired... Excellent daily cleaning and the small grounds are very well maintained. Very pleasant experience, excellent location -- likely one of the best.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tempehmanCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just got back from 2 nights at the Amar Inn. This small hotel in Puerto Morelos is really a find because being just 20 minutes from the Cancun airport, prices on this beach tend to be sky high. Granted this is not a luxury resort but a personable family run place just steps from the beach with all you need to relax and enjoy. We rented the "penthouse" for $90 a night and it is spacious with a palapa roof and even a small view of the ocean from the kingsized bed. Breakfast is included in the price but be warned getting to the penthouse involves climbing a very steep winding staircase not for those with movement issues. If you don't mind a little rustic and location on the beach at an affordable price is important, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Penthouse- worth the price for an ocean view and sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smadrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

There are not many places like this to stay in Puerto Morelos that are close to the beach and with funky accommodation and a well maintained garden. It is only a short walk to the centre of town. And there are rooms for all budgets.

The best room for us was the ocean view room - just gorgeous with a traditional palapa roof (& I did sample a few rooms!). The little casas in the garden are good too and even have kitchen facilities.

The breakfasts are just great and the staff are lovely. Top marks for Amar Inn and the lovely area around Puerto Morelos.

Room Tip: Ocean view was our favourite room - the little houses in the garden are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fractalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,524 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
834 reviews
1.9 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
6,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Inn B&B

Property: Amar Inn B&B
Address: Gral. Lazaro Cardenas Lt 4 | Smza 1 Mza 2 Lt 4, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amar Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Inn Bed And Breakfast
Amar Hotel Puerto Morelos
Amar Inn B&B Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing