We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in April & I can honestly say that our time there from start to finish was amazing! The hotel & staff are outstanding & would recommend anyone going to Mexico to stay in Dreams Riviera!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,457
    1,388
    499
    207
    153
See reviews for
2,799
1,712
40
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson MB
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

we stayed at dreams april 21-28 for our honeymoon. I booked this place after months of research for a quiet tranquil romantic place away from the club scene and to just relax. Instead, i felt like i was downtown hotel zone of cancun next to coco bongo. let me explain my opinion.

arrival - we arrived and i was sick with the flu. I needed the washroom and asked the conceirge who said down and to the left. Well i ended up at the world cafe who would not let me in as I didnt have my shoes on. I ended up eventualy finding the restroom but it wasnt a good start. then we were registered as preferred club members so we had to walk halfway through the resort to check in. the guy gave us our keys and pointed on the map where our room was. I noticed afterwards that most other couples were escorted to their rooms.

Rooms - just as lovely as the pictures. we had an ocean view (room 2504). Complaints are that: 1) the maids are inconsisent. Some rooms got slippers others did not. Some rooms got house coats fresh and folded each day we did not. The shower and bathroom is glass so its not very private and the sliding doors for the patio were not sound proof. HENCE my complaint. They had 15 weddings the week we were there and almost each night there was a party on the pool side which some nights went until 1230am. I had earplugs and i could still hear the base pumping through the mattress and the sound was loud.

Staff - The are very polite but again inconsistent. Also when i complained about the wedding parties going until 1230am keeping everyone up (we heard others complain so it wasnt just us) they explained its business and granted us a freee 25 min. massage each.

SPA- we went three times during hte week. The hydrotherapy is like a hot tub circuit and the massages are good but quick at either 25min, 50 min. or 80 min. I had a full body scrub treatment that was nice and a pedicure whch was nice (reflexology). Spa is overpriced a bit but as honeymooners we did get a discount off the price ($40 off massage so it was only 89$ for 50 min).

HONEYMOON - the package is good but not worth the noise issues. We enjoyed our romantic dinner on the beach but it was not a lobster dinner so we upgraded for $50 to have that added. the decorations and champagne and fruit were good perks but the $200 resort credit is actually coupons that we didnt hav ea use for ($10 off wine or $20 off romantic dinner)

FOOD - I had the flu for 4 days so I barely ate. But we did enjoy our romantic dinner (steak and lobster with a cucumber crab salad and cream of seafood soup to start) and the italian dinner was also great. We enjoyed the tapanyaki dinner at the asian and woul dhighly recommend (its the only one that requires reservation and they are taken promptly at 5pm each night).

DRINKS - pool service was sporadic and inconsistent and going to that bar wasnt that much better. we always tip and are patient but too often the drinks were too much booze for my liking or massive (like golf ball sized) ice chunks still so they would be little drink and then the wait would resume.

TRAVEL OFF RESORT - cost is much higher to take a cab anywhere from this resort. It was 200 pesos (so roughly 17usd) to travel the 4km to puerto morelos, which I found high. it was almost 40usd to travel the 33km to cancun for example. a discrepency I blame on the fact they assume people at dreams dont care about the cost of things.

Puerto Morelos - a great place to shop and barter. A short 2km walk along the sandy beach if you want.

TIPS - get a non- pool view room if you want to sleep, but be prepared for peopl eyelling in the hallways and hearing their entire conversation.

people with weddings -loved the resort from what we heard, seemed to have lots of things for kids, and also a great place to just be a beach bum. However, i will not be returning.

Room Tip: non-pool view room to minimize noise from loud weddings by the pool that go all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The resort was great, clean and most everyone was friendly. Like many of the travelers, our four year old daughter LOVED the Explorer;s Club. It was nice that they did also offer in room babysitting so my wife and I could go out while they watcherd our daughters (4 & 1), The price was a little steep $25/hour but what the heck you are in that deep. As for Venessa, she is the best!

Room Tip: Don't get the preferred booking through the otel, it is cheaper to upgrade once you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Entertainment Team at Dreams Punta Cana are All EXCELLENT!!! Very friendly staff and smiles all the time.. This is our second week here and looking forward to returning for another 2 weeks!! Thanks for a Great time. Wilson is the Best!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The French restaurant Bordeaux was fantastic. No kids, great food and excellent service. From the hostess, the extremely helpful manager Gregorio and our Garcon de table Francisco Can Itza, the dining experience was something we will remember for a long time. Very classy and professional. Pick a nice wine from the extensive wine selection and enjoy. We went back 2 times for dinner and brought 8 friends there. They loved it.

There is always a chance that some people will attend the restaurant after too many tequila shooters, but overall, very romantic ambiance. The Italian restaurant offers great food but it sounds and looks like a classy cafeteria.

We were there for a family member's wedding and packed our golf clubs as our deal offered golf included package. After paying $36 each way for transport to the course Grand Coral, $50 per person for mandatory carts, and drinks at $10 avg, our FREE golf cost us about $200 a round. Not our definition of free, however althought the holes on the course seem to repeat themselves, it was in absolutely perfect condition.

Room Tip: Top floors so nobody steps on your ceiling ( especially running kids )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

This trip started off on a great note but went south quickly! We were greeted the first day with great service and a beautiful room but quickly learned the hotel was a wedding factory with extremely loud halls!
Positives:
Beautiful beach, food pretty good, cute restaurants, nice lobby, cute kids club

Negatives:
Air conditioning in room broken (took 5 days of phone calls to try and fix and still broke!)
Service spotty by pool, loud noises in hallway every night (did not sleep more than 4 hours every night!!!)
Please let me know if you have any questions. Do avoid this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flynst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay here overall, however the pictures on the resort's website are not very true to the actual situation. It appears to be very romantic and upscale, however it is PACKED. There are kids running everywhere, splashing in the pools. You would think they would set aside just one pool for adults only. It is very hard to get a sun chair even if you get down at a decent time. In addition, they begin to clear off the sun-deck by the beach VERY early in order to get ready for the weddings that happen EVERY day, and often will shut down other areas such as the hot tub which should be available to guests.
The rooms are nice, but small and there is no dresser to store clothes in. The walls are VERY THIN and we heard EVERYTHING going on in the mornings when we were trying to sleep - very frustrating.

The spa prices are super super over-priced.

The service was great and we enjoyed the food, drinks, and pool. I DEFINITELY like that you don't have to make reservations for the restaurants as other resorts often require this so far in advance that you can't even use some of the restaurants. They deliver room service 24 hours which is great. We enjoyed having the hot tub on the patio.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves, but it was not exceptional over any other resort that we've stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allianne611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,625 reviews
9.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,679 reviews
17.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
10.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing