We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks, wonderful empanadas”
Review of Los Gauchos

Los Gauchos
Ranked #19 of 138 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great steaks, wonderful empanadas”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just returned from big family vacation at Grand Mayan and one night came to Puerto Morelos
for dinner at Los Gauchos. Twelve of us, and we were quickly accommodated right on the
sidewalk at the front door. Most of us had steaks from the grill and they were really great,
although the filet mignon was not as flavorful as the others. (On the other hand, each order
of filet mignon came with TWO filets----there's lunch for the next day!) Service was good
and servers very friendly. We ordered a salad which we didn't need as the steak came with a
salad. Oh well. Prices reasonable. As it happened, that night was their eighth anniversary
of being open so they had a wonderful guitar player and a flamenco dancer. Great fun! Our
grandchildren were thrilled and everyone in our group truly enjoyed it. Will definitely return.
Two thumbs up from the entire group.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    74
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burns Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My wife and I ate at here. We had the pasta which was good but not great.
I would definitely go back, but would try something else. I heard their empanadas are great.
The service was excellent, very nice wine Las Morras.
There was an excellent Mexican jazz band who provided very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a great lunch”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We ate at Los Gauchos, Restaurante Argentino for lunch and were very pleased. It was terribly hot and we wanted something filling, but light. We ordered the capresse salad and a variety dish. The variety dish had olives, Serrano ham, pepperonis, cheese, sausage, and ham. They also served homemade bread and various dipping sauces. It was so fresh and just what we needed. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is clean and has several tables outside. The prices were very reasonable and the amount of food was good for the price. We recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indigo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
“Best choice in Puerto Morelos”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very friendly staff ,nice food and affordable prices!!!Los Gauchos brings you to the deep Argentinian hospitality :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vangelis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We all ate at Los Gauchos and the food was decent and plated well. Service was simply average. Flavor my steak was great, but no checking in, no how is it going, no service really. My wife and I had tried the Milanese Neapolitan fried steak at another local place with I reviewed here and its MUCH better. That place was Al Chimachara or something like that. Its a Uruguayan place. My wife also took ill afterwards, but that can be somewhat expected when you travel so no idea if the two are related.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ICHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Gauchos also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Gauchos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing