We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing find near Cancun”
Review of Jolie Jungle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jolie Jungle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

OMG, the road between Tulum and Cancun is a showcase of BIG money, commercialism and lack of soul. But turn 26 km west, on the Road of Cenotes, and you arrive to this property located on a spacious swath of untouched jungle. Birds galore, quiet nights. Very personable, caring hosts, Neda and Dino. They fix french dinners, a bit on pricey side, but a welcomed respite from tacos. They also have an ample supply of good wines. Basically, all ingredients for a perfect night on their classy restaurant patio in the jungle. Beds were SOFT, high quality mattresses. We reached Jolie Jungle at the end of the Yucatan road trip, and my back was maimed by rock-hard mexican mattresses. What a relief! We also liked their line of natural hair products with Mayan honey. Easy drive to Puerto Morelos, a nice seaside town. Would never ever stay in Cancun after discovering Jolie Jungle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stay at Jolie if you're looking for a relaxing getaway. It's 30 minutes from the beach but Puerto Morelos is getting so busy, the beach is hardly relaxing anymore. The pool is beautiful and the family the owns the place are incredibly gracious hosts. Food is fairly inexpensive though it's not displayed on any menu if you're worried about the cost. If you're grossed out by wildlife, skip it or stay in your room after dark.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiligia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights, and I can't agree more on the previous recommendations. This place is the result of the owners sharing and realizing their dream. You can feel that througout the genuine hospitality and the friendliness of Dino, Neda and their kids.
Thanks for sharing your dream with us!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolieJungle, Propietario at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Thank you very much for your high recommendation , and sorry for taking so long to answer. We hope you come back, Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My birding amiga and I stayed at the Jolie Jungle one night each at the beginning and end of a weeklong birding/wildlife tour of the Yucatan. It is located on the Ruta de los Cenotes and less than a 1 hour drive from Cancun airport (not counting birding stops), so a very convienent place to bookend the trip. The bungalows, pool, and 'Casa Club House' are exquisite and seem to organically meld with the jungle setting. The grounds are minimally landscaped yet enhance the natural abundance of birds and other wildlife. Dino and his daughter Anais as well as all the family/staff are effusively, yet genuinely, friendly and helpful. The accomadation rates were a bit of a splurge for our budget, but well worth it for the setting and friendly atmosphere. The food and drink were good but also a bit pricey for our budget, but they did not seem to mind at all that we sort of 'byob'-ed on our second visit.
Overall a wonderful balance of natural setting, comfort, and hospitality! We will make a point to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Czktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolieJungle, Propietario at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Thank you very much for your high recommendation ,for bird watchers, and sorry for taking so long to answer. We hope you come back, Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

After a hotel in Tulum botched our reservation, we found ourselves without a room, late in the afternoon. We had read about Jolie Jungle and decided to call to see if they might have a room -- fortunately, they did. So, two hours later, we were welcomed by Dino, Anais, and Pamela, presented with a beautiful bungalow, and then a wonderful dinner and bottle of wine. We couldn't have felt more welcome or like we could have landed in a better place than Jolie Jungle. We slept really well in our quiet, private bungalow, with a great king-sized bed, and were awakened in the morning by the sounds of jungle birds. We walked around the grounds, which were peaceful and full of bird life. The swimming pool and deck are inviting, with a fountain/waterfall at one end and an "honor bar" at the other. There are bicycles, a ping pong table and other games for guests to use for free. We'd love to come back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We arrived to the hustle and bustle of Cancun - weary from our travels - and navigated our way by car to Jolie Jungle. Despite being just 45 minutes from the airport, it feels as if you're in the middle of nowhere ... truly enchanting.

The family-run bungalows and restaurant, in the middle of the jungle, is a great escape from the standard beach scene in Cancun. Dino and his wife, along with their family, couldn't be more friendly. They are all eager to create the perfect experience, which is exactly what they did!

Each bungalow is very private, clean and the beds are extremely comfortable - so peaceful, as if you're the only ones around for miles.

There is a lovely pool and lots of games and bikes ... read a book in the hammock at the clubhouse or enjoy a glass of wine and a lovely meal made to specification by the owners.

You can't go wrong staying at Jolie Jungle - enjoy!

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are very private - you really can't go wrong with any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lila24T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Jolie's Jungle the first 2 nights of a 7 night honeymoon to Cancun. Ana and her brother took care of us from day #1 from picking us up at the airport to cooking us the most amazing dinner at night. The grounds are gorgeous and very peaceful as everyone has mentioned. The bungalow we stayed in was much more spacious that I had anticipated and very private. We had a bottle of wine, chocolates, and a ton of decorations in our bungalow for our honeymoon...they really made it special. We had such a great time and would recommend this beautiful hideaway for anyone looking for relaxation, nature, and genuine good people to take care of you!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#18 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#20 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#21 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gota de Sal
Hotel Gota de Sal
#11 of 34 in Puerto Morelos
65 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
993 reviews
2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
13,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Jungle

Address: Ruta de Los Cenotes Pto Morelos-L Vicario Km 26. 5, Puerto Morelos 77560, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolie Jungle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jolie Jungle ecological hotel, was built at the very beginning to preserve nature, trees, birds, spider monkeys and other wild life, it is ideal for bird watchers, family and couples who like to enjoy nature, small groups for privacy an have not need for technology during the staying, there’s no TV no WIFI, only cel phone can be use at the reception desk. We have 7 large total confort bungalos with bathroom hot water, 1 master suit with 2 bedrooms and mini bar , no kitchen , 1 junior suite with one bedroom, mini bar , no kitchen, we have solar sistem and back up for your confort 20 hours a day, there are several activities that you can enjoy for free and Temazcal (Mayan steam bath the only one with extra cost. We recomend to stay from 1 to 3 nights, or more if you rent a car, we are located 28 km from Puerto Morelos beach, 40 min aprox. from Cancun’s international airport, 45 min aprox from Playa del Carmen, 50 min aprox from Cancun, we are just a few minutes from many Cenotes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jolie Jungle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolie Jungle Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing