We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camping on the beach”
Review of Acamaya Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acamaya Reef
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“camping on the beach”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I found this hotel by googling "camping in riviera maya" and im really happy i stayed here. I brought my tent just in case i couldnt find any rooms, and i had an awesome time camping on their literally beach front property. It so funny to have the dreams resort next door, but it still felt private. i heard music one night (out of the 5) i stayed here coming from next door, but it was not a bother.
In the mornings i could roll out of my tent onto a lounge chair and watch the ocean.
When i was here there was only a few other tents and the last two nights i had the place to my self. Nice bathrooms and showers, (hot water!) which was nice at night when it was a bit chillier. very clean in both.
i met some wonderful people here, and the owners are very accomadating and pleasant to chat with,especially Daisy. they speak both english and spanish, and french
it was pretty windy when i was there, so sometimes i worried my tent would blow away, but there were some protected areas. really felt like i had my own private beach front property
the cabanas are colorful and rustic, i didnt stay in any but i would another time. this place had character in contrast to the resorts and private condos next door. such a funny juxtapostion, but im glad the owners have kept it this way.
you are about 2.5km away from the center of the town of puerto morelos, but it really isnt a bad walk down the beach, and once in the center of this sleepy fishing village, its easy to hop a collectivo (5 pesos) to the main highway and catch another collectivo (30 pesos) to playa del carmen to spend the day..or i would grab breakfast in playa and hop another colletivo to tulum (35 -40 pesos) to spend the afternoon. there are collectivos running from playa del carmen to cancun (pto morelos is just before cancun) 24 hrs.
if you dont feel like walking the beach back to acamaya a taxi is 90pesos
they also rent bikes at acamaya for cheaper than in town, which i thought id do but in the end didnt need to. walking was fine and occasionally the taxi ride home.
this was a great place to stay, super close to the airport (20min in a bus that goes direct from airport to pto morelos highway entrance) and just chill out. Definitely alot alot quieter than playa del carmen, with maybe not as much to do at night but i was ok with that. The beaches were nice, not as beautiful as tulum, but to be right on the beach is awesome.
very enjoyable chill time, i will be back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank kelda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Propietario at Acamaya Reef, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hey! Thanks a lot for the review! Hope to have you back soon and thank you for spreading the word about us! :) Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    39
    15
    7
    19
See reviews for
14
49
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Acamaya Reef. This little hotel was located right on the beach. They had optional rooms with or without A/C. We got one with A/C and a shower and enjoyed the stay, as we explored and laid by the beach most of the day only using this place for a bed. The owners are great and they speak English, Spanish and french. Many french nationals come to this hotel and it was nice to speak with them. Your are located 2.5 km from puerto Morelos. There is a snack bar which you can buy food and drinks at a fair price. You are right besides the Dreams hotel which provides some background noise on special nights. It is not far fr the airport and shouldn't cost you more then 40$ US dollars one way.
The price was right and always keep in mind you get what you pay for. : )

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you're looking for a quiet more authentic Rustic Caribbean feel to your holiday, away from the spring break mania of Cancun and the bustle of Playa del Carmen you can't go too far wrong choosing Acaymaya Reef. Nestled between Champagne 5 star luxury hotels on the Riviera Maya but on a beer budget, you can enjoy the beautiful beaches without the all inclusive restrictiveness and generic feel. Beachfront means beachfront!!!! The staff particularly Noel are very friendly, speak many languages and will go out of their way to help you. I'd recommend hiring a car so you can visit local attractions and get around easily as the local taxi's can be pricey. Definitely for those with an adventurous spirit for a wonderfully discreet getaway!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AileenCaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

On my birthday I only wanted to be away and enjoyed that day with a special person, Acamaya Reef its an amazing place, quiet, great service, just lovely, one of my favorite places in the riviera maya, in the 2 years that I lived there... The place its just beautiful!!! great for camping with family and friends, the most beautiful beach on puerto morelos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoppercita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Staying at Acamaya was amazing! It was lovely being so close to the water but away from all of the noise. The room was perfect and Noel and his family were so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatumPBarile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This property is located beside a Dreams All Inclusive Resort, and (I believe) a condo, but quiet most of the time. Because the beach is cleaned regularly, it is probably the nicest bit of beach for its price around. It was a joy to walk from your room and laze on the beach loungers. The beds are only cleaned and made up every second day, but the room was a nice size with 2 double beds. It had a large closet area, a fridge, shower and toilet area behind the door between the beds. We also had a table and 2 chairs in the room, and a TV. Toilet paper usually ran out, and we were always asking for more. Drinking water was not provided, (when I asked upon checked in, I was given a snarky answer about not knowing how it was at home, but that we couldn't drink the water there...NOT what I had asked at all...after 30 years in Mexico, I was well aware of that...I simply asked if drinking water was provided! And I had only asked as it was the most expensive place we had booked into and other, much cheaper accommodation DID provide drinking water.) Perhaps it had been a bad day for our hostess as she usually was much friendlier as the days that followed showed, and we got along ok with Daisy and

It is a 2.5 km walk down the beach to town (further by road). A cab ride back is roughly $9.00 US (fixed price), but the 5 gallon water jug was only pennies more than the 1 litre bottle sold at our check-in/restaurant where you could get (expensive) coffee and basic meals. Grab a few groceries,water, and beer while you are in town. It isn't terribly far to walk, but ackward carrying stuff back. Walking to town gives you something to do if you want, and there are a number of restaurants to choose from there, not to mention shopping. My friend LOVED shopping.

There are only a few rental units, with the parking lot used primarilly for RV Campers as a rule. None there while we were there, so nice and quiet as we shared our bit of sand and shade with our fellow travellers. We had shade from a few leaf covered umbrellas, as well as a few trees. The water was clear and beautiful. Would have loved to stay longer. We had a great time and met some lovely people. I would really love to return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the gravel parking lot. There was another room above. The others were closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shiloh-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Owner at Acamaya Reef, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review! This helps us improve our service, we hope we can have you back in the future and fulfill all your needs! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had the opportunity to stay here in Feb. 2012 for just one night, and I would definitely return. The hotel was small but the feel was great! it was very "Mexico", from the thatched roofs and bright colors, to the yummy late-night taquitos. Our hosts were gracious and helpful. The rooms were small but extremely clean. The air-conditioning worked perfectly. It was literally right on the beach and even had a little kyaks you could take out on the water.

We stayed there only one night because the condo we rented wasn't going to be ready until the next day. We flew in a day earlier to get a little better price on our flight. I wasn't sure what to expect for such a cheap room, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The specific drawbacks were: it was small for four people (it would be better for two), the beds were a little hard, the hot water was not too hot for too long( it was hot in Mexico though so I didn't mind), and in our room we did not have a refrigerator or a microwave, my son's room did have both though. I think this property is best suited for people traveling without children wanting to have a quiet, simple get-away. Also, those who don't mind feeling like they are in Mexico as opposed to going to an American type resort in Mexico.

I

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Autumn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
389 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
12,026 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
7,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acamaya Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acamaya Reef

Property: Acamaya Reef
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Acamaya Reef 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Welcome to “Acamaya Reef Cabañas & Beach Club” in Puerto Morelos, a unique Hotel on the beach with cabanas in the Caribbean Sea with its own style, simple, charming and comfortable and above all let’s not forget that we are an Eco-hotel, trying to improve in recycling and other activities to help the world to be a better place.We are located in the middle of the Puerto Morelos National Marine Park with the Second Largest Reef in the World right in front of our little cabanas, making it an even more special place to stay. You can go on a Snorkeling Tour right from the hotel and enjoy the fantastic coral formations where you will see hundreds of multi-colored fishes.We are not a five star resort; we are only a Puerto Morelos Eco-hotel on the Beach! with cabanas But we have all of the needed services like Massages right on the beach, Restaurant and Bar Service, Kayaks and Bike rentals, free parking lot, free wireless Internet and we also have the Concierge service for anything else you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Acamaya Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acamaya Reef Hotel Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing