We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price”
Review of Acamaya Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acamaya Reef
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is not for someone who cares about luxury. The bungalows are nice and clean as are the bathrooms. The beach area is lovely and gives you the feeling that you are alone on the beach. Little can you tell that when you step out and walk left or right you are right next to very large resorts. We stayed for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Choose the room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank 4bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Acamaya is sandwiched between two super-pricy, all-inclusive mega-resorts. The worn but comfortable old cabanas hark back to an earlier time on The Costa Maya. Good a/c and basic creature comforts. Staff was friendly and available to answer questions and attend to our needs.
And the beach - the stunning beach and beautiful Caribbean - is right outside your cabana's door.
You'll want a taxi or your own car to get into town. Or just stroll the 2 miles each way on those pristine white sands.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if available. You have more breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank igropub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Propietario at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thanks a lot for your Review! Our customer comments are the best way to improve our place! Hope to have you back soon so we can serve you better! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

These litlle rustic cabanas were laid in a really beautiful beach. We stayed in a big bungalow, whichc had all we needed; nice beds, fridge, own bathroom (warm water didn't last long but was okay). The room was clean and comfortable. We rented bikes from them and it was nice 3km ride to town where is all the restaurants and shops. It's a shame that there are those two huuuuuge resorts in both sides of the place but still, we had a relaxed stay and the price is descent too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katti_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Owner at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Hello :)

Thanks a lot for your review! That helps us with other travelers! Regards and hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a very funky place, right on the beach, and WAY off the beaten path. There is a communal kitchen but there is an extra charge for using it. The rooms are dark with cement floors. Beds are comfortable and fans provide adequate ventilation. Shared bathrooms. If you want to get away from it all and have your own transportation, I would recommend staying here. If you have a teenager looking for action and are relying on public transportation stay in town. The walk along the beach to town is about 35 minutes, and the taxi is expensive. Shop for food or eat a really big meal before you arrive! They do have a little tienda and a snack shack. They make really good sandwiches!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TahoeKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Owner at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thanks a lot for the review! This help us improve our service, and our Food :) Hope to have you back! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This place is a funky little haven among the giant expensive resorts along this stretch of coast. We stayed on two occasions in each of the upper cabanas, firstly in the air-conditioned #7 and then in the slightly cheaper #5. Both were good value and comfortable with hot water in the en suites, but we preferred the latter for its better views from the small balcony and the fan was perfectly adequate for the temperatures we experienced. Daisy is very helpful and friendly and the location is great - a very pleasant 45 minute stroll down the beach into town where there are some good restaurants and cafes. We found it a great place to chill for two or three nights after flying from UK to Cancun, and again as a last stop before flying home.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are good, the lower ones may feel a little pokey and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Propietario at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thanks a lot for the review! It's good to know you had a good time! Hope to have you around soon and help us spreading the word about us! :) Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent two nights at Acamaya to attend a wedding at one of the more expensive resorts. It is exactly what I've described in the title: a safe place to sleep. For the price, we were very pleased. We did not go on vacation to sit around in our hotel. It shares the same large stretch of sandy beach as the expensive resorts surrounding it, but never felt crowded to us. Our only caution is DO NOT RESERVE TRANSPORTATION THROUGH THE LINK ON ACAMAYA'S WEBSITE!! It takes you to a company called Cancun Airport Shuttle Co., which does not exist!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Propietario at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thanks a bunch for your review! Our Customer clients are always great to improve our place! And we changed the company for transportation now! Hope to have you back soon! Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Our first night in the Yucatan and we were looking forward to staying on the beach, for 80 dollars US we thought it would be pretty nice. The cabanas were VERY basic, dark and gloomy. We had reserved the larger one, but the two young people at the reception seemd confused and couldn't find our reservation, and then couldn't show us the larger cabana. we looked, but it didn't appear to exist. We left, I complained to booking.com and got a refund. Basically this place could be described as a campsite (nice beach) with an overall,feeling of being neglected and abandoned.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcamayaReef, Owner at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you very much for the review, this will help us improve our service, we are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and hopefully we will be able to fulfill them in the future. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 29 in Puerto Morelos
438 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#20 of 29 in Puerto Morelos
90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#19 of 29 in Puerto Morelos
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#15 of 29 in Puerto Morelos
11,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 29 in Puerto Morelos
13,008 reviews
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 29 in Puerto Morelos
9,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acamaya Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acamaya Reef

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £33 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Acamaya Reef 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Welcome to “Acamaya Reef Cabañas & Beach Club” in Puerto Morelos, a unique Hotel on the beach with cabanas in the Caribbean Sea with its own style, simple, charming and comfortable and above all let’s not forget that we are an Eco-hotel, trying to improve in recycling and other activities to help the world to be a better place.We are located in the middle of the Puerto Morelos National Marine Park with the Second Largest Reef in the World right in front of our little cabanas, making it an even more special place to stay. You can go on a Snorkeling Tour right from the hotel and enjoy the fantastic coral formations where you will see hundreds of multi-colored fishes.We are not a five star resort; we are only a Puerto Morelos Eco-hotel on the Beach! with cabanas But we have all of the needed services like Massages right on the beach, Restaurant and Bar Service, Kayaks and Bike rentals, free parking lot, free wireless Internet and we also have the Concierge service for anything else you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Acamaya Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acamaya Reef Hotel Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing