We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Club Paraiso Maya”
Review of Club Paraiso Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Morelos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Paraiso Maya
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
A TripAdvisor Member
tyler, texas
11
Reviewed 9 November 2004

I stayed at the Paraiso Maya about 2 years ago in the last week of July. My best friend and I loved the experience. We thought there were some good things and some not so good, but over all we loved it. I personally thought it was the best vacation I have ever been on. Everyone complains about the sea grass in the water, and on the beach. This was a problem, but the resort made up for it, I thought. They can't help that the sea grass grew there. The resort always had great entertainment every day and night. All of the staff were very friendly. We never had a problem with anyone while we were there. I'm the type of person who never goes anywhere without makeup, or my hair done, but there I couldn't keep my makeup on or my hair anywhere close to perfect because of the humidity. That was the biggest problem for me. The food was wonderful in my opinion, and ther was plenty of it. There was always pasta because of all the Italian visitors, but they always had seafood. The desserts were terrific also. We ate everything that they served, even if we weren't sure what it was. We never got sick off of anything. The only thing that I thought was strange was that it was hard to get ice, and the domestic beer was served hot not cold. All of the alcoholic beverages were included in your stay. The bartenders were great also. The club, remind you is not one of those great or grand hotels with lots of shopping stores. It is a small secluded resort. If you want to shop, you have to take a bus to cancun. The bus fares are very reasonable, and I believe they came 3 or 4 times a day. The only thing about the bus ride is that if you were in town and missed the bus, you were stuck getting a cab, because the bus always left on time. We took advantage of the extras that they had on the beach. We went snorkling at the reef, that was a small fee, but worth it. We also rode on a catamaran, and went sailing. They also had kayacking. The rooms were always taken care of throughout the day while you were out. They always made towel animals for your bed. The only thing that I had to get use to was that the water that came out of the sink and shower was sea water. So you had to get bottled water to brush your teeth with, and shaving your legs with salt water was an experience. I would recomend investing in some nair or something. The water didn't get very hot, but it wasn't that cold. The balconys were set up very nice. We had a great view of the ocean, and the beach. The palm trees were great also. The whole place was very classy, but simple. The poolbar was very nicely set up. They almost always had snacks of some sort. I'v read other reviews about the bartender not putting alcohol in the drinks, but I never had that problem. Basically, if you like going to secluded places to relax, then this is the place. The beaches are white, and soft, and the only stuff on them is sea grass. If you want to see very crystal clear beaches, you can take a bus to cancun and enjoy the beaches there. I currently am trying to plan another trip for me and my new husband to this resort. That is how much I really enjoyed my stay. Keep up the good work.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Club Paraiso Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2004

To keep review brief: cockroaches did not upgrade room as paid for had to pay cash for transfers (even though included in entire orbitz inclusive charge) no heated pool no heated jacuzzi (freezing) no 24 hour snack bar very loud till 2 am rude and condenscending staff took 10 mins. for hot water in shower to work (EVERYtime) no free non motorized water sports as described no managers except bar available at any time for 9 days "forgotten" wake up calls no alarm clocks in room very isolated more like a 2 star definitely NOT a four star and it was not at all as described in the web site

4  Thank tcmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2004

Review of Club Paraiso MayaThis review is quite lengthy and detailed so if youre looking for a quick answer jump to the end. Ive included all this detail so that you can make your own decision. Whats important to me may be entirely different than whats important to someone else. Some people put more emphasis on the food and the room where as I put more emphasis on the activities and sports available. I have tried to remain fair and objective throughout this report, including both the good and the bad. I dont work in the travel industry whatsoever and have no interest in any of the companies or parties involved. Everything on these pages is just my opinion, nothing else. GeneralI am writing this review after staying at Club Paraiso Maya during the week of April 22-29, 2000. Club Paraiso Maya, or Escape Club Paraiso Maya as its known in Mexico is located on the Carribean Sea a half hour South of Cancun, Mexico, just North of Puerto Morelos. Its Italian owned and run and is listed as a four star resort by Conquest Vacations. There are 60 rooms in six 2-story buildings. I went to this resort as part of a Conquest package. I flew out of Toronto and went last minute. I paid $1,099.00CDN per person. The book rate for this time period was $1,439.00CDN. I was told there was no markup on this, but who knows. With all the taxes, PST, GST, and departure, it came to $1,253.00CDN. I chose this resort because the brochure said that it had catamarans, sailing and windsurfing. I also liked the fact that it had a four star rating. I was misled on both of these issues though. The resort is located about 3 kilometers from the coastal main road 307. Between the road and the resort is 3 km of swamp. There were mosquitos at night even though they fogged with some kind of noisy, oily smelling smoke generator each night. The resort is located in a small cluster of 3 hotels and a couple of private residences. There is nothing else around, even if you were to walk the 3 kms to the main road. There is no bus or shuttle service to Cancun or anywhere else. You can get a taxi for about $30.00 to Cancun one way. After dark rates go up. RoomI was told that the resort is about a year old and that sounded about right. The room was spacious with A/C, television and a balcony. The television had about 15 channels with 6 of them in English. One of the channels was an HBO type movie channel and CNN, ant the Discovery Channel was there also. The bathroom didnt have a tub but it did have a bidet and shower. All of the rooms have a balcony with a partial beach view. Partial can mean anything from a full beach view to a very limited view to the side through trees. Ours was about average and we were pleased with it. Hot water was not available at all times. I never did figure out when to expect hot water so I often had to take cold showers. The power only went off once for about a couple of hours, but this was during the day so it wasnt a big inconvenience other then the blender to make pina coladas didnt work. The biggest problem with the room was the air conditioner. It only had one fan speed and was equipped with a thermostat to regulate the temperature. Unfortunately it was very loud and it would come on every 15 minutes or so all night, which meant that unless you are a very heavy sleeper you will be woken up every time the thing comes on. Even while watching TV its annoying, you have to adjust the sound every time the thing turns on and off. With the A/C on it was necessary to turn the TV up so loud that it was distorted. You could also hear everyone elses AC coming on and off around you. It wasnt quite cold enough at night to sleep without the AC. There was no ceiling fan to move the air around either. Even with the sliding glass door open it was a little too warm. And since the sliding glass door did not have a screen you would be letting mosquitoes in all night let alone bats, lizards and who knows what else. The other problem was that the shower didnt have a shower curtain. This meant that when you had a shower the water would go everywhere in the washroom. There was no exhaust fan either so the bathroom floor would remain wet all night. The BeachThe sand is of the white coral/limestone variety and is very fine and soft. There was lots of room with no crowding and lots of white plastic Grossfilex lounge chairs to go around. There were a number of coconut trees located close to the resort with a good size open area close to the water. There were only about 15 to 20 palm shelters though, so you have to get there early in the morning if you want shade from the sun. Theres also a volleyball court and a small activities shelter on the beach. The resort is located right on the beach and all of the rooms are within about a one minute walk to the beach, so if you forgot something in your room, its not a big deal. Its very convenient in that respect. The beach is sheltered by a coral reef that is located about half a kilometer off shore, so theres no huge shore break which makes the beach a little safer for small children. Now the down side. The beach may be fine but its not kept up very well. Sea grass is always floating in the surf and washing up on the beach. Very little is done to keep the beach clean. The beach is covered with cigarette butts, plastic cups, etc. They tow a hay baler behind a farm tractor along the beach once and awhile but it doesnt seem to pick up much. The sea grass seems to be too short for the baler to pick up and it doesnt even touch the butts and cups. At other resorts that Ive been to, the staff rakes and cleans up the beach every morning. In fact the resort next door does a good job at this. This resort seems to put very little effort in keeping the beach clean. If they had some garbage cans on the beach there might be less garbage. The only garbage cans they have are attached to the base of the palm shelters but since people take up all of these its kind of awkward. Its hard to explain, you would have to see it. The resorts beach area is very short, you can walk about 5 minutes in each direction before you are outside the resort area. We were warned that it was not safe to leave the resort area even in daylight. You probably wouldnt want to walk on the beach outside the resort anyway. They often use the phrase untouched when they describe the Mayan coast and its easy to see why. When the beer cups, condoms and other garbage wash up from Cancun its left there untouched. In most places off the resort the sea grass and garbage is piled at least a foot deep. If you like to jog on the beach, forget it unless you want to do quarter mile laps back and forth in front of the resort. As far as wading goes, you had better like sea grass because its everywhere in the water. Because the reef shelters the beach, the sea grass is free to cover the bottom from the reef to the shore. There is a narrow area where the waves break on the shore where there is no sea grass. If you wade out more than 40 feet or so you will be into the stuff. Its not the soft stuff either, in fact you cant comfortably walk on it with bare feet. Even in the shore break you will encounter floating sea grass. You will always come out of the water with the stuff stuck to you. Sports and ActivitiesI wont go into the activities in the Cancun/Mayan Riviera because this is common to all the hotels and there is also plenty of information on that already. I will say that we went to Xel-ha and were impressed with that. As far as water sports go, forget it. See below. Other than the non-existent hotel water sports, there is little else. Because of the isolated location there are no jet-skis to rent, nor para-sails or other stuff like that close by. The only thing close by is a snorkeling tour that takes you out to the reef for $15.00US. The resort lists snorkeling as one of the included activities but this is also of little use. There is nothing to see close to the shore but sea-grass. You could swim the half-kilometer out to the coral reef but we were told this was illegal and that you had to be accompanied by an official guide. We brought our own gear and swam out to the reef anyway but I wouldnt recommend it if you are not a strong swimmer. We were told that the Federalis (police) would come along and arrest you if they found you out there. Dont know if thats true or not. The reef is well worth the visit though. We saw a wide variety of fish including sting rays, barracuda, porcupine fish and the usual menagerie of reef fish. The coral wasnt in great condition but the fish didnt seem to mind. If you are into snorkeling then take the $15.00US boat ride. They include beer for that price and provide you with better gear than the resort gives you. You will have to wear a life jacket so that you cant submerge though. This isnt much of a problem because the reef area is pretty shallow. FoodI thought the food was fine. Im not very picky though, as long as there is lots of it and I dont have to run to the toilet every five minutes Im happy. There were always a lot of different items to choose from. The food was fresh and generally well prepared. Since the resort is Italian run the cuisine kind of leaned that way. All meals were in the same place, there was no selection of restaurants that you would find at a larger resort. All meals were buffet style but there were waiters that would get your drinks for you. The serving staff was very efficient at picking up your plates and cleaning up. For lunch and dinner there was always risotto and a couple of pasta dishes in addition to other entrees, cheese, cold cuts, fruit, rolls and salads. For dessert there was always ice cream and usually a selection of tarts and cakes. There was a wine table with drinkable house wine and a larger selection of wine you could choose from for an additional charge. Breakfast consisted of just about everything, from chocolate filled crepes to the usual bacon and eggs. There were also croissants, fruit, cereal, yogurt, quesadillas and hash browns. You could probably live off breakfast alone. Now for the down side. The food was good but the hours were limited. For example dinner didnt start until 8pm, which for most of us North Americans is a little late, especially if you have small children. The dining room was a little undersized. There were only half as many tables as there were rooms. Most of the tables had 4 chairs and some were larger so there were enough chairs but you would be sharing your table with whoever came along. This was only a problem the first couple of days before everyone knew everyone else. Its not that Im anti-social or anything but you may find yourself sharing a table with people that dont speak English and who like to chain-smoke through their meal with little you can do about it. There was no dress code in the dining room. If you wanted to show up in your bathing suit with no shirt or shoes, no one would say anything. Personally I thought this was a plus because I hate to have put on long pants to go to dinner when its 85 degrees but there were some people who abused this policy. The hot food area of the buffet was very badly designed. Its shoved into a corner with pillars sticking out between the food areas, which made it very awkward to get your food. You had to squeeze into the serving area and then back out with your food to get past the pillar and then move along and repeat the process. Look at the picture and imagine 100 people getting their food. Of course people went in both directions at the same time to make things more interesting. Some other guests complained that the food was the same every day but I didnt really notice. At other resorts I know they will have theme nights such as German, Mexican, Italian, etc. They had one Mexican theme night but the rest of the nights the theme was Italian. I had no complaints about this. While I didnt get sick, there were other people that did. Its hard to completely blame the food though because there are other factors that need to be considered. High fruit intact, high alcohol intact and over exposure to the sun can also cause these same effects. In the mid-morning and mid-afternoon there was usually some kind of snack available at the pool bar. Usually it was the left over bread and stuff from the previous meal. Once again I had no complaints about the food. It may have not been gourmet quality but there was nothing wrong with it. I would rate the food typical of a three to four star resort and probably the only thing at the resort that could be considered close to four star quality. DrinksAll beverages were included. There is a pool bar and another cafe/lobby bar. There is no bar on the beach but the pool bar is pretty close. The one problem I had though is that the bartender rarely put alcohol in the drinks unless you specifically asked him to and then only if you watched him. If I wanted a Cuba Libre without rum I would have asked for a coke! I used the phrase mas forte a lot. The drinks were served in small plastic cups so you had to make a lot of trips or order four drinks at a time. PoolsThere were two small pools, neither one of which would look out of place in a private residence. The one pool was a wading pool for kids I guess because it was only 18 deep. The other one was about 4-½ feet deep with a swim up bar. You couldnt really get any service at the bar though. ChildrenThe brochure has in big letters that children stay for free but in reality they fly and stay for about half price. There were probably about 6 couples with a couple of kids each. There were no activities for them or day care service. There are no lifeguards at the beach or any of the pools so you couldnt really leave them unattended. After the novelty of the beach and pool wear off you might be in trouble. Depending on the ages of your children, eating at 8:00pm might be a problem especially if they fill up on chocolate cake and pop, of which there was usually plenty. My Main Beefs 1. Gouging by the hotel. When you go to an all-inclusive resort you expect that youve paid enough that the hotel is not going to continue nickel and diming you. The first example of gouging is when you change your money at the hotel, it carries a 9% service charge. The exchange rate that you get at the bank is 9.3 pesos to the US dollar but the hotel only gives 8.5. And everything has to be paid for in pesos at the hotel. The rest of Mexico and most of the free world excepts US dollars gladly, but not this place. Some places offer 9.4 pesos to the dollar, because theyre probably just changing it back to US dollars anyway. Since you are isolated at the resort they know you dont have much choice but to change your money at the hotel. If you need to cash a $100 US travels cheque you will be paying about $9.00US for the privilege. And dont even think of changing Canadian money because youll be paying a premium of over 20% over fair rate. Another example of this is the room safe, every room has one bolted to the wall in the closet. Its small but adequate to hold your wallet, passport and airline tickets. The only problem is that the safe isnt included in the price of your room, you are charged 30 pesos a day for the use of it. They know that everyone will want the use of a safe and not have any choice but to pay up. I would understand leaving a deposit for the key but charging $3.23US a day for a safe thats only worth $20 is just plain gouging. And of course you have to pay that in pesos. Another example are the phone calls. If you want to call the US or Canada you are charged 55 pesos a minute by the hotel, however if you use the pay phone in the lobby it only costs 11 pesos. The operator on the pay phone speaks English and you can bill it to your credit card. The hotel of course doesnt tell you this. I would understand a surcharge but 500 percent? Once again, theyre just taking advantage of their guests. And dont lose the beach towel they give you because itll cost you $30US. At best, its a $10 towel but hey, if theres a situation to take advantage of, what the heck were only their guests. 2. Lack of support from ConquestNormally when you buy a holiday package through a tour operator, there will be a representative at the hotel. Conquest has chosen not to do this but rather to use a rep from a local travel company. This would be fine except the representative spoke very little English and her main focus was to sell excursions. She didnt have a copy of Conquests brochure and was of no use when it came to solving problems. During our orientation we were told that renting a car was a very bad idea, that the roads were terrible the drivers would cut you off and the rental car agencies would rip you off. Maybe I was just lucky but I didnt find that to be the case. I wouldnt recommend driving in downtown Cancun or hanging out on the side of the highway at three in the morning but for the most part there was no problem driving to the various attractions. I believe that the main reason for her recommendations was so she could sell her agencys overpriced tours. When there was a problem with the hotel, the extent of her problem solving was to ask the staff the same question I had asked them. They would give her the same answer and she would just say that there was nothing she could do and that that was the hotels policy. 3. Discrepancies from Conquests brochureIts hard to say whos to blame here but the bottom line is that we didnt get what we expected and it should be Conquests responsibility to ensure that what is in there brochure is what you actually get. Their brochure listed sailing, catamarans and windsurfing as being available at Club Paraiso Maya. This was a joke. There was a catamaran but no one was allowed to use it other than the staff. Every other resort I have been to, without exception the guests have been allowed to use the catamarans. I tried everything, I showed them my yachting license, I offered to leave my credit card at the front desk in case I damaged the thing, I went out for a sail with the beach staff to show them I knew what I was doing, but to no avail. The Conquest rep was of no help either. (see Beef #2)They had a couple of windsurfer boards and two sails. The sails were both 4.0 meter sails and all of the equipment was in poor shape. There was never more than one complete windsurfer available at one time. Most of the time there was nothing available because if it was windy they didnt allow windsurfing. Even on calm days the equipment was only available a couple of hours a day.There was no other sailing other than the catamaran and windsurfer, so Im not sure why sailing is listed in the Conquest brochure in addition to catamarans and windsurfing. Another problem with the water sports was that there was only one guy running it. He did a good job but when he would take people out on the catamaran, there was no one on the beach. There was other staff around, but they were more interested in sitting at the bar drinking than being on the beach. Another problem is that they have no safety boat of any kind. This may be the reason that they dont allow guests to use the catamaran and why they only have one windsurfer available at any one time. I didnt see any life buoys or reaching assists of any kind either. In the US or Canada this alone would be grounds for negligence if anything were to happen to anyone. If something happens to someone a couple hundred yards from the shore and the catamaran is out, then there is no way of assisting other than swimming out to them. 4. LanguageYou had better speak Italian or Spanish because no one speaks English and that includes your Conquest rep. In fact your rep is not actually from Conquest. Conquest subs out this job to a Mexican tour company called Lomas. Our Lomas rep spoke very poor English. All of the announcements, signs, activities and entertainment were in Italian. Most of the guests seemed to be from Italy. About 25% of the guests were from Canada and the US. ConclusionIn conclusion if youre looking for the short answer, dont go. I spoke to many of the other guests on the way home and they all had the same opinion. They were disappointed for many of the same reasons that I was. Everyone agreed that they would not return to Paraiso Maya and they wouldnt recommend it to anyone. Most people would probably rate this resort a three star resort, personally I would rate it a 2 star because of the lack of water sports and activities. No matter what youre looking for the bottom line is there are resorts out there that are better in every way for less money. Why would anyone go here? If I was unemployed and had nothing better to do, I might go here if it was significantly cheaper. My time is worth something to me though and I wouldnt go back to this place if it were free. I probably wouldnt book a Conquest vacation again either. The total lack of support from Conquest and the misrepresentation in their brochure was very frustrating. You wants to be frustrated and battling with hotel staff on your vacation anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Raa_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, Maine
16
Reviewed 9 February 2004

Returned from this resort 2/7/04. The first thing they did was put us in a horrible room - no bureau, bare bedding, leaky shower. We came in late at night and they tried to put it over on us even though we had a Superior Room. This was anything but. We complained the next morning and were moved to a much better room. The water in the shower come out brown each time you turned the shower on but after that it was fine.
Their towels need to be up graded as they had spots on them and the white ones were gray. The food was as good as buffet style can be. The beach and the grounds are well kept up. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The one draw back to this place is it location -if you want to go to the ruins etc. It is 1 1/2 hours to Tulum and over 3 hours to the bigger ruins. You need a taxi to get any where- even to the public bus.
If you want a relaxing vacation the beach is beautiful.. Oh there are no newspapers or books to buy on the property. This is a 3 star resort at best.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank enrico v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
187.1 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
85 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#9 of 10 in Bacalar
29 reviews
186.7 mi away
Cabanas Puerto Morelos
Cabanas Puerto Morelos
#19 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Juliette
Hotel Juliette
#8 of 20 in Chetumal
15 reviews
186.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
396 reviews
12.4 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#8 of 10 in Bacalar
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Km 327.5 | Quintana Roo, Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Paraiso Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Hotel Paraiso Maya
Club Paraiso Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing