We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Came -- We Saw -- We're Going Back!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desire Riviera Maya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Certificate of Excellence
seattlelover317
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“We Came -- We Saw -- We're Going Back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This was our first time to Desire but for almost every couple we met, it was one of many trips there. The term they call themselves is "repeaters". The staff are friendly, courteous and hospitale. They always had a "hola!" and could not do enough to pamper each guest. From the moment we arrived from the airport, we were greeted with smiles! We weren't shocked by the clothing optional thing at Desire. We have been to other resorts that are similar and we're well-versed in the lifestyle. We knew what we could possibly see during our stay.

Like a lot of reviews say, the rooms are a bit small. They are VERY clean. The food was delicious! Definitely try Suki! The hibatchi chef is very talented and entertaining. The waiter staff in all the restaurants are very attentive and very eager to please -- especially our waiter Ivan. He knew the time we came in every evening and even had our drinks waiting for us. Where can you get service like that!!!! Like other reviews note, the action around the pool is fun. Vanessa, Diana and Hector make it a lot of fun for everyone whether you are participating or just watching. My husband won a contest and received a spa treatment. Very nice. We also need to mention that the wait staff around the pool -- especially Sylvia -- do a tremendous job. We never had an empty glass! And she always remembered our drinks.

The theme nights are a lot of fun. And there is entertainment planned for each evening related to the theme. The club is small -- but a lot of fun. Lots of dancing and people to see/watch. The playroom is on the small side -- and it's very hot in there. Temperature I mean -- there were a few couples playing but I'm sure they were sweating from the heat in the room.

The legendary jacuzzi is awesome. We went up there every night after dancing in the club. It was a nice way to hang out and meet friends. The swim up bar is nice too. The bartender at the jacuzzi is very attentive and even made the ladies a special drink called "Bare Naked". Let's just say we had a few too many cocktails in the tub.

Lots of fun in the wee hours of the morning at the lobby bar (which is open 24 hours). They not only serve drinks but also sandwiches and pizza. Everything is very good. We saw the lemur (a monkey that resembles a raccoon). He was begging for pizza lol. And we also saw the alligators in the pond at the front of the resort.

The people that vacation at Desire are all very unique and diverse. We loved that. Most people were very friendly. Some were a bit stuck up and cliquish. And some were just into their significant other. Whatever your situation -- you will fit in.

It was our first time at Desire AND it will not be our last. We want to become repeaters. We are already planning a trip back with some of our friends.

If you have any questions, please email me.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank seattlelover317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    252
    67
    39
    17
See reviews for
4
841
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We just returned from our second trip to Desire and were pleasantly surprised by all the small improvements - the fitness centre changes were much appreciated. In a nutshell this resort is upscale fun - they provide the great service, romantic setting, sun and sand and you bring an open mind and great attitute and you are sure to have fun.

The staff here are wonderful! We will be counting down the days till we return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NorthernDandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

My husband and I just got back from Desire and had the time of our lives. We were both nervous at first, since this is our first experience to an all nude resort but after being there the first 10 minutes all changed. The staff is the best I have ever seen (friendly and prompt). The beach beds are great for relaxing during the day, especially if your trying to recover from the previous nights events. The pool is always action packed with games to play and all activities will have you laughing whether you decide to join in are not. The hot tub, well this is where I couldn't believe my eyes. Our first venture up there was amazing. There were nude people everywhere, doing EVERYTHING. It didn't bother us, since after a couple of days of being there it really spiced up our love life and joined in ourselves. We went on one of the sailboats that is new to desire (more like a yacht) and we saw 8 different couples going at it on the boat. This was more then my eyes could take in but they never bother my husband or I so to each it's own. The room was small, but who goes to on vacation to stay in the room. Room service and cleaning crew are awesome, they even both your shoes together for you if you have them scattered about, it was great. All the bartender's were very prompt and never had to ask how to make a drink that you requested and had your glass refilled before you were finished. Nightime activities were very entertaining and the variety from night to night was nice. The playroom you hear about was not all that. Your suppose to be able to go into this room (located in the nightclub) and do whatever your heart desires but it was always empty, and the temperture was hot. This dosen't matter though because the hot tub after the club makes up for it. If you don't want to see the swinger lifestyle don't go here because you will diffently see it but if you can deal with it and not get tramitized this is the place to be. It spiced up my marriage 100%.
Thanks for the great experience and vacation Desire. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: The cheapest room works fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank MariaD243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

This was our 4th trip to Desire and we must say it got better. We are off for our 5th next week. 1st I believe that this a nude resort/Lifestyle Resort and not a Name brand family vacation resort. So anyone going should expect just that nude people and a little fun. The idea of people going there to be fully clothed bothers me, want to see nude people go to a strip club. Going there and not taking some clothes off defeats the purpose, might as well go to a normal hotel. If one is not comfortable going completely nude than there is Temptation in Cancun.

Like Hedo puts restrictions on parts of the hotel so should Desire. We love the place and would never go to another LS Resort as it is just right for us.Rooms are clean, and serves the purpose. We score this 5 out of 5. every trip is different and so is every night. The only complaint I have is that when eating at the lunch restaurant please put clothes on at least a bottom, nothing worse than standing in line at the buffet and seeing that sight in front. Friendly staff, guests well it depends. If it is a takeover u may feel left out. Love this place up to Now.....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bda1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We just got back from Desire Resorts & Spa on April 29, 2011. This was the best vacation ever. First the staff was wonder; they couldn't do enough for you and we super friendly. Second the property is beyond beautiful. Third, the food was excellent and bountiful. Forth the entertainment was really good. Fifth the guest were friendly. All in all we would, without a doubt, go back again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marksluckywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The only good area of this resort is the action, attentive room and food service....otherwise it is a 2 star resort, for example: the rooms are super small, the bed is only a double bed ...I am 6 ft. tall...my wife and I did not fit at all..therefore I had to sleep on the floor...the bathroom is only for one person...a tiny person....impossible to get into the shower...the food is horrendous....cheap cafeteria class..not even the refried beans...they are watery and lok like soup...well just imagine...Mexicans that do not refry the beans accordingly...The management at the reception area is not welcoming at all...they are not ready to help or answer any question...unless you tip them...the drinks are the worst quality that I have had in all my life...unless you do not have any taste for the good things in life please avoid wasting your money at this resort....it is BAD, BAD

Room Tip: not comfortable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank canela2734438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We just returned from Desire last week. I think the management must feel they have a lock on the market with so few clothing optional resorts. Considering the price I had a problem with our last stay. This was our third time at Desire.

The room was disappointing. The bathroom particularly with no space to put thing. The cotton ball container was located in the bedroom area because there no space in the bathroom. Not all roooms are alike and the times before when we stayed at the same level of room they were nicer.



The meals were fine nothing special but fine. I really like the pool side facilites.
They now charge for room service. Again other all inclusives don't

The chaises near the pool were confusing. At other resorts a towel meant the place was taken but here the staff placed towel on them so you never knew what was available.

The drinks were awful. I know all inclusives do not have a reputation for good drinks but we had just come from El Dorado Seaside Suites where real fruit juice was used. I feel when you pay a large amount for your stay real fruit juice is mandatory.

The staff was real attentive.

All in all I think if you are looking for a clothing opitional resort in the PDC area you would be much better off with Hidden Beach.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Lizlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 32 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
17.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort.
0.8 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Resort

Property: Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Resort & Spa is a unique couples only resort, the first and only of its kind in Mexico, that located on Cancun’s Riviera Maya will surround you with amazing landscaping and a deliciously erotic atmosphere to unleash your imagination and stimulate your senses. A place of freedom where fantasies become real, a place to abandon inhibitions and truly be you. Imagine sharing this paradise with like-minded couples who also seek a sensuous, clothing optional upscale venue or an adventurous lifestyle experience.Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is a unique, adults only resort (+21) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Hotel Riviera Maya
Desire Resort Mexico
Desire Resort & Spa
Cancun Desire Resort
Desire Resort Cancun
Desire Resort And Spa
Desire Riviera Maya Resort Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing