We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desire has "up'd" its game !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Desire has "up'd" its game !!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We've been to Desire twice before and we've been to Desire Pearl also so there were no surprises for us. Except one! The resort maintenance, food and service are always excellent but Desire has stepped it up a notch beyond excellent. The resort and its staff were above excellent on this trip. So many courteous hard working people give it their best, day in and day out, to make your trip enjoyable. It would be difficult for me to single out any of the staff for their excellent work and their desire to serve the guests because each and every one was excellent or better than excellent. The food was also much better than previous stays. And, the grounds, the pool, the jacuzzi lounge, the disco, the play room and the beach beds and beach service were also better than ever. Okay, so you'll know if you don't already. This is a clothing optional resort that permits open displays of "affection" in two limited areas of the resort. If nudity and/or sex bother you, don't stay here. But, if you are looking for an exotic and erotic experience, this resort is probably the best in North America. There is no pressure to engage in any activity and you aren't even obligated to remove any of your clothing or your bathing suit but, if this is your destination, you should definitely do as the Romans do. We enjoyed every aspect of the resort on this trip and extend our compliments to the entire staff of the resort. One final caveat. If you have not been to Desire, it IS NOT the Four Seasons so don't raise your expectations to that level. But, it is in my opinion, the best clothing optional resort in North America and we would heartily endorse it. Definitely, "two thumbs up."

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms have very nice views of the ocean but I recommend that you save your money and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VicandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    264
    72
    40
    19
See reviews for
4
887
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived at desire July 13th and it was our first trip anywhere outside of Canada. Right away the service with the staff was so warming we new we were in the right place. Our room was beautiful. The people are beautiful. The staff and entertainment blew our minds, to see such free spirited people come together with the same reasons for indulging our fantasies. It was saddened us to leave, cuz it truly felt like home, met great friends.. To schedule excursions aldofo was amazing and honest to make sure our needs were met to our satisfaction.. To the rest of the entertainment staff,, Cesar , Regina , black magic, foxy, Vanessa and deseray, thank you truly for making us feel so at home with all the above.. See you's all next summer.. Xox crystal and Ryan from Montreal ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryan-crystal-7981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We went for 4th of July weekend. Even though it was overcast and raining for the first two days of our stay, the energy was good. We loved the beach access, and opted to stay by the beach which is quiet and away from the hot tubs. It was our first visit and we enjoyed our couples time. We are not swingers but are very open to lifestyles and love that they are open to use. We are a biracial couple with a significant age difference, and lifestylers are the least judgementmental and fun group of people.

The negatives for us were the food. I ate the raw fish at the sushi restaurant and was sick as a dog for 2 full days. That sucked. The restaurants had long wait times and the food wasn't good to us. Very disappointing.

It was expensive to leave the resort. $40 each way to cancun or the other beach town (I forget the name.).

We went through resort to schedule a dolphin tour: total disaster! We paid by cc. They never put on the receipt that we paid and when we got to the dolphin tour they wanted us to pay again! It was something that should and could have been totally avoided.

Disco gets old after like second night in a row. They play the same music every night. Please mix it up!

But even with the negatives, we love being naked on the beach, in the pool/hottub and it creates such an erotic experience with your partner (and others if you choose) that we will be back! We will know what to expect and may spend a few days in town before we arrive to do any excursions we would like first.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noe4rmAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We enjoyed another wonderful trip to Desire RM June 18-23. The service was excellent. The foam party was an off-the-hook type of experience. Overall, we have nothing but positive things to say about Desire. The staff is excellent and they seem to have very little turnover. Every time we go we meet the nicest and friendliest people.

The only minor issues are that the rooms are not consistent (the sizes vary greatly as well as the included items). Personally we feel the ocean-view rooms should be larger than the garden rooms but in our case this was not true. It would also be wonderful if they could build a full-service authentic mexican restaurant. Two restaurants and a buffet gets old after a few nights.

The theme nights were pretty good. Our favorite was the foam party night. We have never laughed so hard in our lives. It was an absolute blast! Lingerie night was the only night where the majority of the women got dressed up and participated in the designated theme night.

We had a great time and will definitely be back. We checked out Desire Pearl and may split the vacation next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingcouple28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was our first experience at a clothing optional, adult oriented resort and we were a little unsure as to what we would find. We arrived early around 1:30pm and check in was seamless, we got our room only 10 minutes after arriving. We were 20 feet from the pool and restaurants, which at first we thought would not be good but it turned out being great because we met so many people who walked by our door everyday. The noise level at the pool never bothered us in our room because it didn't get started till about 9am and by 6pm all the party people were in the rooftop jacuzzi (highly recommended but not for the faint of heart or prudes).
The staff was amazing, Sammy, Hector, Vanessa, Desire and of course Black Magic the MC. The wait and service staff were beyond attentive and my wife and I never had an empty glass or dirty plate in front of us. After our pool and jacuzzi filled days, we went back to prep for dinner and disco and found a different romantic shaped towel on our bed in our freshly cleaned room.
The guest were all so friendly and not once did my wife and I ever feel pressured to participate in anything. We felt comfortable and made many friends. We enjoyed our time so much that we will return every year.....(oh and definitely hit the spa and if you are confident in your relationship, you have to try the sensual massage.....Stephanie and Carlos were amazing)

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angelo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our first time at this or any resort like it. It took us a couple of days to really feel comfortable and relaxed, but once we did, it was a total blast. We are not lifestylers, but that wasn't a problem. We met so many cool and fun people from all walks, we can't wait to catch up with them again. Some things we'd wished we'd done differently, bring more cash for tips (you'll want to tip with the level of service you're getting here) and AVOIDING THE FOAM PARTY. It was a ton of fun and we had a blast, but unfortunately, both of us and a good number of our friends came down with a viral infection in our lungs and sinuses that killed the rest of our vacation. We loved how supportive and laid back everyone was and how much fun everyone (staff and guests) made participating in the activities, whether its the lingerie contest, beach volleyball, or naked surfing in the pool. The music in the club is a bit dated, but the atmosphere was great fun. The playroom was nice, romantic and not intimidating. We enjoyed the playroom :-D You have to get up early to get a good spot by the pool, so get there early and visit your chair often so they don't give it away. We were highly impressed with the service, including the restaurants, (Julian and Angel were fantastic!), Silvia by the pool is just a bright addition to your day, Carlos at the bars made you feel so welcome and fantastic, not to mention he remembers how you like your mojitos. The services at the spa was VERY satisfying ;-). We would have rather had a room on the garden side of the resort. We were close to the main courtyard/lobby/disco, so it was loud until about 2 AM daily. We heard a number of guests near the pool/under the jacuzzi who complained about the noise in their rooms. We spoke to guests who got ocean view rooms who were impressed and happy with their rooms. We saw a number of couples and small parties enjoying private dinners on the gazebo or the beach, which we plan to do on our next trip. There were a number of groups there who were sooooo great, but if it hadn't been for some other solo couples, we may have been a bit left-out. The food was good, but really light on the vegetarian options. Selection of drinks was good, but you may have to pay more for bottles of wine if you want something other than house wine. The entertainment staff were incredibly positive, encouraging, and fun. We took a walk down the beach to the new Desire Pearl, which was really nice and they had just as many fun activities going on there, as well. The pool was enormous and so was the jacuzzi. It's a bigger resort and less intimate, but it was a nice change of scenery. For any other first-timers wondering if this type of resort may be something they could enjoy together, we can only say that we've come away from this experience feeling closer, more intimate and positive in our relationship and we met some amazing people along the way. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north end of the resort to enjoy a quieter in-room experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Fun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

When we first stepped into the reception area, we were greeted with a "Welcome Home". You know what, Desire IS our home! There is something to be said that we have returned to this resort 5 times. There is something to be said that we see a lot of the same people every year & have made some very great, lasting friendships. If this is your type of resort, there is no better place to be.
As usual, check-in was a breeze due to our advance check-in on their website. All our requests for our room were granted & service was exceptional.
They have made some nice updates to the rooms & the renovated disco looks fantastic!
Food was excellent (Suki is our favorite) & drinks were made perfectly.
From the porters, front desk, bartenders, wait staff, pool service, maid service, groundskeepers, maintenance, security, entertainment staff & anyone else we came across, we were treated like we were VIP's.

We really have to search hard & nit pick to find a negative. If anything, our negative would be that we miss some of the staff we have come to know & love who are no longer there (Diana, Charlie Moo, Vanessa, Edgar etc...)

It's just a shame that we have to wait an entire year to return back to paradise. CC & Silvia.... see you in 2014!

Room Tip: There is no bad room if you are at Desire RM! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desire07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 34 in Puerto Morelos
868 reviews
17.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,864 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Resort

Property: Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Resort & Spa is a unique couples only resort, the first and only of its kind in Mexico, that located on Cancun’s Riviera Maya will surround you with amazing landscaping and a deliciously erotic atmosphere to unleash your imagination and stimulate your senses. A place of freedom where fantasies become real, a place to abandon inhibitions and truly be you. Imagine sharing this paradise with like-minded couples who also seek a sensuous, clothing optional upscale venue or an adventurous lifestyle experience.Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is a unique, adults only resort (+21) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Hotel Riviera Maya
Desire Resort Mexico
Desire Resort & Spa
Cancun Desire Resort
Desire Resort Cancun
Desire Resort And Spa
Desire Riviera Maya Resort Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing