We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Desire”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I did our first and certainly not our last trip to Desire Riviera Maya and we had an amazing time. We got service when we wanted or needed it. The drinks ordered we not weak at all EVER. We rented a bed by the ocean and even though you don't have to it was nice knowing that no matter what time we went down to the ocean we had a place to relax when we ready. The activities committee were so much fun and really encouraged you to be a part of entertainment. Our only negative thing though is about the entertainment that happens around the pool. When you check in you are given a list of activities for each day and the times of the activities. The only activities that you could count on to happen where the trivia, and volleyball in the pool. In defense of the resort they did try to do beach volleyball and water polo but usually couldn't get enough people to sign up. The massage class for her & him was amazing along with the other couples activities,

The crowd at the pool begins to migrate to the 3rd floor hot tub around 3 and its afternoon & its hot tub fun until people start to slip away and get ready for the evening activities. The Disco was good and there is a nice room attached foe whatever you want to do if the mood so strikes you. We also made the trip over to the sister resort Desire Pearl, nice big pool food was average we toured the rooms which looked amazing fun time in the huge hot tub with jets built into the seating area make the best tub between the two resorts. The crowed here disappeared and the party died out, we didn’t stick around to see the night activities but one of the couple we met that moved from Desire to Pearl moved back the next day saying it was dead at night. It was an amazing week there and we learned so much and made many great friends. We can't wait until we get to go again.

N

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baldwarrior46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    258
    69
    39
    17
See reviews for
4
868
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I did our first and certainly not our last trip to Desire Riviera Maya and we had an amazing time. We got service when we wanted or needed it. The drinks ordered we not weak at all EVER. We rented a bed by the ocean and even though you don't have to it was nice knowing that no matter what time we went down to the ocean we had a place to relax when we ready. The activities committee were so much fun and really encouraged you to be a part of entertainment. Our only negative thing though is about the entertainment that happens around the pool. When you check in you are given a list of activities for each day and the times of the activities. The only activities that you could count on to happen where the trivia, and volleyball in the pool. In defense of the resort they did try to do beach volleyball and water polo but usually couldn't get enough people to sign up. The massage class for her & him was amazing along with the other couples activities,

The crowd at the pool begins to migrate to the 3rd floor hot tub around 3 and its afternoon & its hot tub fun until people start to slip away and get ready for the evening activities. The Disco was good and there is a nice room attached foe whatever you want to do if the mood so strikes you. We also made the trip over to the sister resort Desire Pearl, nice big pool food was average we toured the rooms which looked amazing fun time in the huge hot tub with jets built into the seating area make the best tub between the two resorts. The crowed here disappeared and the party died out, we didn’t stick around to see the night activities but one of the couple we met that moved from Desire to Pearl moved back the next day saying it was dead at night. It was an amazing week there and we learned so much and made many great friends. We can't wait until we get to go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MarkLindenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I just got back from our first trip to Desire Riviera Maya and we had a fabulous time. We do not drink a lot nor need much attention but we got service when we wanted or needed it. The drinks that we did order we not weak at all. We rented a bed by the ocean and even though you don't have to it was nice knowing that no matter what time we went down to the ocean we had a place to relax when we ready. The activities committee were so much fun and really encouraged you to be a part of entertainment. Our only negative thing though is about the entertainment that happens around the pool. When you check in you are given a list of activities for each day and the times of the activities. The only activities that you could count on to happen where the trivia, and volleyball in the pool. In defense of the resort they did try to do beach volleyball and water polo but usually couldn't get enough people to sign up. The massage class, the dancing classes and other such classes never happened. The time frame would come and go with no mention of the class. There was even a white board by the activities hut listing the events and after I missed the first class I checked this with the printed paper every day and not one of the classes like that the was listed ever took place. As I mentioned above this is our one and only complaint. We can't wait until we get to go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1012 which is in the building with the Jacuzzi and we loved it. We did not find t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for the time taken to leave your comments regarding your last stay at Desire Riviera Maya.

We are glad you have decided to come and live a great experience with us and rest assure our Entertainment staff are already working very hard to make all our guest to participate in all our activities and we are adding more staff for all our guests to enjoy!

We are looking forward to see you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Desire Resorts is our all-time favorite vacation spot. We look forward to our trip every year (sometimes twice year) and we are never disappointed. We love the sensually erotic atmosphere throughout the resort and we cherish all the wonderful friends we meet every time we visit.
The entertainment staff work hard to keep the energy going at the pool, on the volleyball court and in the evening for the nightly theme parties. We always enjoy the fashion show at the pool and the exotic dancers who perform nightly.
This year we had an exceptionally fun time in the water balloon party and the foam party. What a blast! We felt like we were kids again.
The temperature in July is hot-hot-hot... our favorite! The sea water and the pool water are the same temperature as the air... just the way we love it. The evenings are warm with no need for cover-ups, so the ladies can wear the tiniest, sexiest outfits.
The hot-tub is our favorite place to hang as the sun goes down. The long day-light hours of July extend the hot-tub time and allow for lots of frisky play before dinner. Don't forget to bring your silicone lube for sensual intimacy...
The very best part of the Desire experience is the wonderful high class guests who enjoy the resort too. This year we stayed for 11 days and met so many new friends who are genuine, worldly and highly social, loving couples, just like us.
We love our life!
Carol and David

Room Tip: We love the second floor rooms with balcony so we can check our email in the morning overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank CarolDavid1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

if you are still thinking wether you should book or not, stop thinking and book. this was our first time and we had tons of fun. what makes this place great is the staff and the people who go there. i hope the hotel management know that Desire wont be the same without Coral, Tiara, Jay, Sylvia, Patty. hats off to these people. Since we walked in to check in Daniel made the experience a memorable one. the bartender at the jacuzzi at night was a sweetheart as soon as he saw me my cold ice water with a slice of lemon was read. then my tequila and sangrita.
For the price of the hotel i expect the rooms to be impeccable. there was rust and needs repainting. water leaking from shower.
the food at bith a la carte restos are 5 stars. pleaaaaaaasssseeeeee try the creme brule!!!!!! however, the buffet is more 3 stars and half. no variety especially the snack bar. no peanut butter, no nutella, no pasta bar, no seafood. for gods sakes how can they not have fresh fruits all the time?
however the pizza at 3 am is really good!
every theme night is great. we met lovely people. .
hope there will be some renovations and more food variety because we are planning to go back in december.

Room Tip: if renovated any room. no need ocean view resort very small any room is 1 min from ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jean n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at Desire Riviera Maya.

We are grateful you have enjoyed our concept!

About the buffet, we also have menu, so if any of our guest want something else, they only need to request for it and we always do our best effort in order to accomplish it.

I would like to inform you we already are making some renovations and for sure you will see it on your coming vacations!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

After our 5 previous visits, there was never a question on if we would return. After this year, for the first time since 2007, we actually questioned returning to Desire.
Check in was quick but then the timeshare people get a hold of you. In previous years a simple "we aren't interested at this time" was sufficient... not this year. We were told about "changes" & "new programs" which got us slightly interested. We were thinking maybe there would be a smaller package to meet our needs. Reluctantly, we agreed to the dreaded "breakfast". We only agreed so we could hear about the "new programs" and to do recon for other couples who were curious about the new programs. Let's just say the new programs are a joke. They now give you a set number of days (80 days for $20,000). If you use those 80 days, you have the privilege of buying more and giving them more money. Are they serious? The old programs gave you a set number of weeks, every year for 25 years (ex. 4 weeks every year to use)
Long story short, we declined. Then they brought in the "closer" who's new deal was 40 days for $10,000 which we would use up in the next 4-5 years. Again we declined. Finally realizing we weren't buying, they became rude and visibly upset with us.

Now the resort:
We love this place.There is no place we rather spend our vacation.

Staff:
Top notch. Every staff member is excellent in what they do. They are all friendly, courteous and do their very best to make sure your stay is nothing but perfect. We did notice there was less staff than previous years and service was a little slower at times. This is not a negative on the staff but the management who has put an extra workload on the staff.

Entertainment staff: They tried but with the departure of their All-Stars (Diana, Lazaro, Vanessa) there has been a noticeable decline. The EC staff is new so hopefully they will learn and improve. There wasn't much participation by the guests in many of the "games" and it seemed the problem was a disconnect between the EC staff & guests.In years past we couldn't wait for the games but in previous years the EC staff really got the guests going & involved. The new staff aren't bad, they just need to figure out what their style is and to learn the Desire crowd. I have hope that they will be great next year. Coral is showing signs of being great.

Food:
Excellent as always. The lunch buffet hasn't changes much over the years but the food they put out is always good. The buffet at dinner is mostly good (steak night & Brazilian night were excellent), Suki is always great. The new restaurant Sahlo (the old "white restaurant") was our least favorite. While the food was good, the atmosphere is anything but "sensual". The space is more open and it is LOUD in there. Every sound bounces off the walls and it's was hard to have a conversation. Desserts, no matter where you go, are hit & miss (mostly miss) so we usually skip the dessert. This is not new as the desserts haven't been very good any year we have been there.

Rooms:
Adequate & clean. Some have been renovated, some have not. They are working on two rooms every week for renovations. Our A/C had it's issues for the first 3 days and maintenance had to fix it every night for three nights straight. They arrived to make repairs very quickly after we called the front desk. Even the renovated rooms are only that of a 3 star hotel but that's not why we go to Desire. The bed was comfy and we enjoyed our second floor balcony. The room is dark & there is inadequate lighting especially in the bathroom. Maid service was fantastic and did those little extras which showed they took pride in their work. We left a tip every day for the maid service because 1) Most people don't tip them 2) they deserved it.

General grounds:
Beautiful. They are maintained on a daily basis and any issues are resolved quickly.
They were renovating the area in the lobby where the swinging beds were. They finished our last day and it is now a nice seating area. They retiled, painted, added a roof and some nice seating. I think this is their way of giving us back the covered area they took from us for the timeshare salespeople. It's not the nice covered hut we used to have but I think this new area will become a nice hangout. The swinging beds will not be coming back to the lobby. We were told new furniture in the lobby will be coming in the next months as the current furniture is getting worn.

Pool:
The same. Clean & warm but still refreshing on a 90 degree day. BIG renovations are in store coming in Sept or Oct. They will be extending the pool, adding a pool bar among other things. The pool chairs, which are currently in really bad shape, will be replaced as well. If you are traveling to Desire in Sept/Oct, you should check and see if the pool will be open.
Sylvia was her usual fantastic self and the pool area would not be the same without her.

Disco:
Not much has changed. The beds are gone and there is a little more seating. The A/C was upgraded & it stays cool in there now. They play the same music as any other club so it becomes repetitive if you go to any club in the world 7 nights in a row.

Nighttime entertainment:
Not as good as previous years. Some good, some average.

Jacuzzi:
Nothing has changed up there. It's still the place to see & be seen :)

With all that said, the reason why we are considering other resorts is they way the prices dramatically increase every year. Paying $500/night for a 3 star resort is starting to bother us. We realize what Desire is and accept it but at their price point, they need to give us a little more for "all inclusive". We shouldn't have to pay $20 to use a beach bed, be harassed by timeshare people, have rooms with broken a/c & inadequate lighting, be charged more for a "deluxe gardenview room" over a "standard room" (There haven't been "deluxe" rooms since 2007. We have stayed in both and they are the same). There seems to be a lot of "extras" for an all-inclusive, $500/night resort. The resort is under new management so we shall see what the future holds.

Desire, we love you but you are starting to turn off your loyal, long time customers who know what the resort used to be & what it has become. We weren't the only people to feel this way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank Desire07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We do really appreciate your feedback since it is very important for us.

I would like to comment the reason you notice less personal than usual at the Resort it is because they are taking vacations, however we always work hard in order to keep our service quality.

About entertainment, we will have 2 new girls and for the Sahlo Restaurant I have great news: we put carpet on the floor and it reduces a lot the noise.

We really do care every comment left by our guests and we take actions in order to improve our service, so rest assure we will keep working to make every vacation a great and sensual experience!

Looking forward to see you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattlelover317
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our third trip to Desire. Every vacation there has been a blast!! We highly recommend it. It’s Disney for adults. We never want to leave to go home. It is the MOST peaceful, restful, fun vacation we have ever been on.

The staff at Desire work very hard. The resort is amazing because the staff make it the incredible place it is. They make sure everyone is relaxing and having a good time. The grounds are kept immaculately and although the rooms are all different (so we’ve heard from a lot of other guests), everything in our room was very clean.

We want to mention a few people that went out of their way to make our stay incredible:

Sylvia – She’s terrific – working the entire pool bringing cocktails. Sylvia will bring you another drink before you have an empty glass.

Afrika – Afrika works the beach area getting drinks for everyone. She’s awesome and quick.

Ace – Ace works the lobby bar making the best coffee, cappuccinos, lattes and cocktails. He has such a great personality – telling us his drinks tasted so delicious because of the love he puts into them lol.

Argos – He got our bags to our rooms in that heat. For a naked resort, we seem to overpack. He also made getting a taxi quick and easy when we decided to go into Cancun for shopping.

Even though we mentioned the above resort employees, we don't mean to take away from the other employees that were wonderful during our stay there.

We had such a great time with our friends – and even met some new ones along the way. The nice part of Desire is that most people are very friendly and not clickish. People are there to have fun and most are very outgoing.

There were some differences at Desire this time that we want to mention. They are still pushing the timeshare. No means no. If we weren’t interested during our last vacation, we probably still aren’t – so please don’t ask us to speak to one of your representatives. Also, another resort is being built next to Desire. We weren’t getting much information as to what kind of resort it was going to be – and it’s going to be right up along-side the beach bar side. Very disconcerting for us since it will mean not so long naked walks on the beach if the new resort is family-oriented. We suppose time will tell. Another thing we want to mention is that the last three nights of our vacation, the air conditioner in the Disco wasn’t working. It was cooler to go outside. And lastly, we want to mention that the amount of entertainment around the pool in the late morning/afternoon was drastically different. Not really much going on – which is so different than in years past. We hope that will change in the future.

We also have to mention that there was one group at Desire during our vacation that was very clickish and exclusive – which we have NEVER seen in our previous trips there. The group’s name is Gen-X and they consisted of couples in their early to late 30’s. They weren’t very friendly except to people in their own group – which was a shame because it’s not the usual environment at Desire. They at times behaved like college spring breakers – getting drunk and acting like teenagers. We will not be booking again when this group is vacationing there.

Room Tip: Just get the basic gardenview room since you're not in your room very often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank seattlelover317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for the time taken on give us your comments regarding your recent stay with us!

It is always a pleasure to know you like and enjoy our Resort!

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have doubts about the next door construction, my email: guestservice@desireresorts.com

We will be more than happy to host you in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 34 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
17.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Resort

Property: Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Resort & Spa is a unique couples only resort, the first and only of its kind in Mexico, that located on Cancun’s Riviera Maya will surround you with amazing landscaping and a deliciously erotic atmosphere to unleash your imagination and stimulate your senses. A place of freedom where fantasies become real, a place to abandon inhibitions and truly be you. Imagine sharing this paradise with like-minded couples who also seek a sensuous, clothing optional upscale venue or an adventurous lifestyle experience.Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is a unique, adults only resort (+21) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Hotel Riviera Maya
Desire Resort Mexico
Desire Resort & Spa
Cancun Desire Resort
Desire Resort Cancun
Desire Resort And Spa
Desire Riviera Maya Resort Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing