We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, loved it loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas Puerto Morelos
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it loved it!”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here for our second week in Yucatan after spending our first week in a huge AI hotel further down the coast. It was a massive relief to drive into Puerto Morelos and see that it really is a an authentic little fishing port town. The cabanas themselves were exactly what we needed after the sterility of a big All Inclusive. The cabanas don't look like much from the outside wall but the wall adds a bit of security and privacy to the property (not that security or safety were EVER an issue during our stay!). Inside the grounds there is a lovely little pool and numerous different rooms of various size. We took cabana 6 on the top floor which was a lovely big open plan room with enough room for a hammock in the sitting/kitchen room. The bedroom was also lovely, big and airy with a fully working air con fitted directly above the bed. The shower and toilet area were perfect (shower itself a little dated but very well designed), shower needs to run a bit before the warm water kicks in. There's plenty of storage for clothes and we had a satellite tv mounted to the wall above the bed. The channels included lots of English speaking movie channels which was brill after a full morning scuba/snorkelling and coming back for a snooze mid afternoon!
Kris the local rep was great. We arrived in the morning having giving Kris a vague arrival time but she was there when we arrived, no waiting around and no messing around! She came up to our room for 10 minutes and by the time she left we had sorted out the cash, tv, safe, keys, internet (free wi-fi in the kitchen area), drinking water, cleaning schedule etc and she had also managed to give us a quick run down on Puerto Morelos. In other words, she managed to do her job perfectly without being in the slightest bit intrusive. The rooms were only supposed to be cleaned once (twice?) in the week but we came home every day to a cleaned room (the cleaners name is Nelly and she did a great job). Juan the gardener is also a lovely man, he kept an eye on our water dispenser and insisted on carrying the fresh bottle for me up the stairs, he also organised the cab back to the airport for us on our last which was v helpful.
As regards location, the cabanas are a 5 min walk to the town square along what is basically the main road, so there are plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants along this road and you may not even want to bother walking all the way to the square. Just another note, the cabanas aren't directly on the beach but may as well be. As mentioned, the cabanas are on the main road and you have to cross the road to get to the beach side, but bear in mind that the road is a 'rural' main road so its small and not busy and there are no buildings on the opposite side of the road so in reality you do have direct access to the beach once you cross the road. Plus its a lovely quite part of the beach that you get access to and one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen.
I loved the cabanas, it has everything you need (except maybe a hairdrier, no big deal) and I loved Puerto Morelos.

Room Tip: Cabana 6 is on the top floor and is the biggest. I loved the extra size as it made the room airier b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bellaEIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    14
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

we really enjoyed staying here. the rooms were very comfortable and well stocked with kitchen equipment etc, the grounds and pool were lovely and the view of and access to the beach brilliant. we liked Puerto Morelos very much - it was very relaxed, low key and very Mexican. The hammocks were a welcome addition and the gardener, Juan, a delight.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

First I want to say that this place is just as it is advertised to be. It is a clean and economical choice in this small fishing town. The beach across the street is public access and about a 3-4 minute walk (seemed longer in the extreme heat last week) and then a short hike to the right or left if you want a bit of privacy on the weekend. It is about a 6-10 minute walk to the town square-the area is mostly well lit, so walking it even late at night is not uncomfortable-though there is one block with a vacant unkempt lot and no sidewalk, so we always crossed over to the beach side there. We had reserved three nights and stayed two.

The room- queen bed, not overly hard by Mexican standards. View out the back doors of neighboring building with a very interesting and Mexican design. Would have loved to be able to use the balcony, but the bugs were bad-management may want to consider adding citronella candles to their inventory for various locations around the hotel. It was also very hot/muggy and too far from the ocean to benefit from the breeze. Sleeping was difficult for us because we are used to a bigger bed and cooler AC.

I had read the last review and was a bit worried about bugs (scorpions?!!) but we only saw ants and they were mostly outdoors-we were very careful about food etc. though.

The bathroom was fine and the shower worked well and was roomy. We did not like the towels not being exchanged daily as the humidity did not allow for drying overnight, and we hated (esp. hubby) the placement of the toilet paper in the trash not the toilet. We had to do this in Peru (Machu Picchu area) as well and he is put off by it generally.

The kitchen had an apt. size fridge, micowave and enough dishware and utensils to get by-though we did not have a corkscrew which Kris went the second day to get for us. Plenty of purified water available, but I had trouble getting enough hot water to do dishes-which I really wanted to keep up with so the ants didn't invade.

The roof top terrace would be absolutely wonderful IF the access was better(steep and very close spiral w/metal rail) and there was some shade and (yea) bug candles provided. A small table would be nice too- add a potted plant as there is no ambience on the roof itself.

The pool area was lovely to look at, but there were a lot of insects (citronella or tiki torches or both?) One table with 4 chairs shade, 4 lounges and a small pool with a deep and shallow end. The water was not clear or cool in July- the hotel dog used it to try to cool off one day-not sure how the filter deals with doggy fur/hair.

The steps leading up to the second floor rooms are a bit scary at night-slightly uneven and spiral, just be careful and use the handrail- a tumble would land you on stone.

Some suggestions that might not be too costly for the owner to consider:
1. Bug candles
2. Large beach umbrellas
3. Bikes for use by renters (or to add on to rental cost like AC)
4. Daily towel exchange
5. Ceiling fan over bed to compliment the AC unit
6. Plants/small table w/citronella and shaded area on rooftop

So, in a nutshell, the place is rustic. It is wonderful for travellers who are on a tight budget or who are wanting to spend a lot of time just getting the feel of life in a small Mexican town. It was not the place for us however; we aren't as young or as adventurous as we used to be and we like the comforts of good AC, easier access to a place's amenities, and fewer worries about insects and dry towels/clothing. We REQUIRE shade on the beach. Kris got us a small chair umbrella and was willing to get us another, but carrying all that stuff (chairs, umbrellas, coolers, beach bags with books, sunscreen etc.) was more hassle than we wanted to deal with.

Will we go back? Unlikely. Would we recommend the hotel to others? It would depend on what they were looking for-we might-because Cabanas does not bill itself as a 4 star hotel with 4 star services and some people are looking for just this style of travel opportunity. BTW, Kris who manages the place and Juan who works around all day provided excellent service and were very quick to respond to any request.

Room Tip: First floor for families with children or people with mobility concerns
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank muscledfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We just stayed one night here on our way back from Isla Holbox. We love Puerto Morelos and usually stay in a condo. We had limited options for a one night stay, so Cabanas Puerto Morelos seemed like a sure thing. I think at one time this place was great, but I was not impressed. The bed my son slept in was covered with small ants and we found a scorpion hiding under one of our bags (yikes).. The shower head was so clogged it only had a few holes left that water could still come out of. In order to rinse you had to find the one of two streams of water and wait it out. The floor to the shower was awful. I think the place just needs a little maintanance and a little updating. It was off season, so maybe they'll spruce things up for the high season. Another issue was the amount of construction going on around the hotel. It started at 6:45 AM, made for a way too early morning.
The location is great, the grounds seemed OK, pool was clean. Just think the owners might like to sink a little money in the place and "shine" it up a bit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stlgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Thanks Kris, Juan and Nelly for the great service you provided.
The Cabañas are more like a nice apartment/condo, with everything you need, fridge, comfortable bed, and lots of space with a nice view to the gentle waves breaking the white sand. The night breeze kind of lulls you to sleep after a day of play. No need for air-conditioning at this time of the year. Close to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the Plaza.
You want to be able to walk to the Plaza since it has everything you may need for your stay.
Maybe one of the best places to stay, hope it stays secret.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rcastrojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at Cabanas! Everything was perfect - room was clean and comfortable, the staff was nice and friendly and we absolutely loved the view from our rooftop. The front yeard of the cabanas has a swimming pool and is surrounded by palm trees and beautiful (pink and purple) flowers. I felt like in a small private paradise. Kris, the property manager, was extremely helpful and she also gave us a couple tips on how to survive driving in the Mexico. Thank you, Cabanas Puerto Morelos, for a wonderful spring break vacation!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgreen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Blue Mountains, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We spent a wonderful week here in February, 2011. The service was excellent. Juan was there every morning and Kris came by every day to ensure everything was just fine. The cabanas are a wonderful layout, with two sitting areas and a nice view, even on the lower floor. Bright and airy and no need for air condition at this time of year. They were very clean and well looked after. Would go back again as the location is great - close to the beach and close enough to town for an easy walk.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.8 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Puerto Morelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Puerto Morelos

Property: Cabanas Puerto Morelos
Address: Avenida Javier Rojo Gomez | SMZ-02, MZ-12, Lote 7A, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas Puerto Morelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Puerto Morelos Hotel Puerto Morelos
Cabanas Hotel Puerto Morelos
Cabanas Puerto Morelos Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing