We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,459)
Filter reviews
2,459 results
Traveller rating
1,790
388
145
73
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,790
388
145
73
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolhippo barlibrary barkaax restaurantendless privilegessunset sailmercedes vancigar rollingsunken tubwellness resortmayan ceremonytequila tastinglaundry servicesushi barsparkling wineharp playerour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,622 - 1,627 of 2,459 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at Zoetry Resort for only 1 night as we were offered by their sister resort Secrets Silversands. We decided to check it out and figured it would be exciting to spend our last day at a different place and experience another Secrets Resort. We were not disappointed. Zoetry was the ultimate in relaxation and luxury. From our first impression to our last we were more than thrilled with how the Resort was run. We were greeted graciously by the front reception and the service continued throughout our stay.

Our villa overlooked the ocean and had three fabulous balconies with unbelievable views. The room was incredibly spacious and private. We were given a bottle of tequila, a bottle of champagne and a beach bag as a welcome gift. The internet and international calls were included free of charge. We ordered room service for lunch and were very pleased with the quality of the food, it was delicious, as well as the speed of delivery.

The beach is very private and beautiful, the pool area was incredibly relaxing and the drink service was phenomenal. The Resort grounds are immaculate, the birds, lizards and natural gardens are very serene. Although we didn’t get much of a chance to explore the salt water pool and spa, we heard from other guests that it is unlike any other resort in Mexico. The Resort focuses on extreme Zen, romance and a stress free environment.

We ate dinner at one of the 3 gourmet restaurants, La Canoa and wow was it a culinary delight. We were served excellent house wine along with 6 courses that were just as good as the first. The seafood was very fresh and well prepared, as was the fillet. The desserts were beautifully presented and our wine glasses were never left empty.

To top off our last day, we were driven in a private car to the airport. Although our stay at Zoetry was incredibly short, we were more than impressed with all the amenities, and service and we plan to revisit soon. We would highly recommend this resort to any couples looking for a peaceful, relaxing and incredibly romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scraggles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were treated like royalty most of the time. We had a fabulous suite called Tanzania, it was at the furthest point from the main area but as a result had fantastic views; it was a long walk but that was never a problem. We were always offered a lift in a golf cart. The wildlife concerned me in the beginning, but it was really cool. We loved the iguanas. Didn't like the birds stealing sugar packets from the tables at breakfast and lunch, but that was the worst element for us.
The staff were across the board amazingly attentive. Rafael on reception was very helpful and really lovely. Edgar and Cesar in the Kaax restaurant were great ( best option for breakfast and lunch). Charlie boy (Carlos), Eric and Frederico were great around the pool. In fairness for most of our 12 day stay the hotel was not full.
Douglas was friendly and chatty on the marine hut and we had a great included sunset cruise.

It is true that they have a seaweed problem and it's a shame as it ruins the beach walking. But they do try very hard to comb the beach of the debris.

The inclusive laundry was a fantastic addition to the privileges.
We did wish that could have ice put in the room everyday but that didn't seem to happen.
Our plunge pool was great but we did not use it often. The air con in our room was not really cold but it was sufficient. We used the 24 hour room service a few times and it was great.

We would definitely return to zoetry; maybe next time we would stay somewhere slightly livelier for a few days before going to zoetry to chill. All in all we had a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Probably a 3rd floor towards the edge of the property.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angela_butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Our week-long stay at the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita , was perfect, magical, the best time away we've ever had.
Each day was more beautiful than the one before (fyi Trip Advisees:most of the weather sites predicted cloudy weather or thunderstorms most of the time we were away--instead we had perfect weather every day.)
Start at the palapa known as the Hippo Bar, centered around the gorgeous, pristine, freeform pool.. The wonderful staff will rearrange umbrellas to give you as much sun or shade as you like as you recline on the comfy lounges. The pool has multiple levels--you can walk on water, have a drink, read a book or make a call lounging by the pool--or in it. Or you can actually swim!
The staff constantly check to see if you need anything at all to eat or drink: sushi, ceviche, salads, salsa, guacamole, homemade chips, health food, veggie choices, fresh grilled fish. Need a cool cloth? No problem. Cold water, ice buckets, the special organic ice tea of the day? Whatever you require you receive and always with a smile, a thank you, a kind word in English or Spanish or Mayan. The feeling of being cared for is very special --neither cloying or cold-- just right.
There's a gorgeous beach to walk or run on, a turquoise ocean to swim in, snorkel, sail, or fish. There is also an incredible spa (treatments are extra, though there are many packages with various spa credits available). Every kind of massage therapy and hydrotherapy in the huge warm saltwater pool with strong jets to work out knots or help with arthritis --fantastic!
In addition to Ka'ax and El Chiringuita (the grill), there's La Canoa, the high end restaurant (you can eat anywhere any night-- there are no restrictions other than hours.) Each restaurant has its own character and each has excellent service. On our last night our waiter, Raoul at La Canoa, had the wonderful pastry chef make Steve a special dessert--also, they have a fabulous sugar free dessert-- roasted peaches with a chocolate sauce that was incredible.
Our room was beautiful. Large living room with sliding doors to a terrace with plunge pool (it's true we didn't use it a lot but it was nice to look at and not cold as i've seen in some other posts) and a lovely view of the ocean. Big marble bathroom, square soaking tub, double sinks and best of all, a beautiful outdoor shower. The bed was perfectly comfortable. There were flower petals on the bed every evening and the last night they were done in the shape of a huge heart!
Did I mention the flora and fauna? Hibiscus, palms, orange trees, flowers all over. Parrots and iguanas-- completely peaceful and endlessly fascinating. A coati too. There were also plenty of activities daily though we kept ours to a minimum--the sunset sail and a trip to some of the Mayan ruins arranged through the hotel with truly knowledgable guides.
Although I've mentioned it briefly, I want to publicly thank the staff of Bonita for being so wonderful to us. First, FEDERICO--our much-more-than-a-waiter, who brought us everything we needed during the day, and even made arrangements for us on his day off. CARLOS, the amazing bartender who can make anything and then make it even better with a huge smile. RAOUL ( mentioned above), waiter extraordinaire at La Canoa. Pepe at the grill, Yuri, Jesus, Patrizia at the spa, Doug who made arrangements for us to see Tulum and Coba. Eddie, Ada, Lucy, Santiago, Alex, Francisco--I wish I could remember everyone but these will have to do to say 'thank you' to La Bonita for the best vacation ever. There is no question we will return to paradise as soon as we can!

Room Tip: we stayed in Niza with plunge pool, terrace and outdoor shower--fantastic!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carole0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

was recently asked by a friend how the Zoetry resort was. I will include my email response to her inquiry as my review…

As for the Zoetry resort, you might be surprised because in the end it left a lot to be desired. Since you and your husband were considering possibly going sometime, I will include the things that you might want to consider before doing so.
To be honest it seems that the place has gone downhill in the last few years or so, (according to people we spoke to that were there a few years back). If we were going to go back to Mexico we would not go back to this resort. The beach is more private which we really enjoyed (not many other people around). As for the quality of the beach itself however that is a different story. I don’t know if it was the time of year or the weather but most days the beach was not clear and filled with debris, the bottom was rocky which hurt your feet and there were days when it was too dirty to swim at all.
The service for a resort that only holds 90 couples was disappointing as well. The dining service was great and the staff is very friendly but to get an umbrella or food/drink on the beach was torturous, and sometimes we did not get service at all. (If you don’t tip daily, the arrogant guy with the hat won’t serve you). The only real issue with the dining service was while the food was always brought out, the servers would fail to refill your glass of water/juice/soda/alcohol etc so some people got up to fill their own glass. My husband and I are not big drinkers but if you enjoy cocktail it might interest you that other customers said that the quality of the liquor is very poor unless you specifically ask for top shelf.
While this resort is advertised as very relaxing one thing we found almost intolerable was the level of noise we heard from other rooms which made it very hard to relax. You could hear voices, music, TV, and unfortunately even etc. The noise was pretty much constant and I would expect more from a higher class hotel. Outside on the patio there were always - so some might say the spraying does not work that well.
The other thing is the size of the resort in comparison to how many people they hold. Basically it is not as private a feeling as you would expect because the resort is much smaller (than Excellence Playa Muheres for example) so even though it has 90 rooms, because the scale is so much smaller, it does not feel as private as you might like (smaller number of people yes, but in a much smaller area). There are only 2 restaurants open in a single evening and keep in mind as well there is no entertainment at night (no music, shows etc) the purpose is to relax so mostly after dinner the only thing open is the bar. If you are more of a pool person the pool is very nice, but crowded and they only have 1 (besides the spa pool).
There is also a huge bug and mosquito problem so they spray daily and this can make people sick, so you need to be careful about the pesticides, especially if you bring your little boy.
The manicure /pedicure is not worth the money at all. The spa however is amazing. The massages are outstanding! If you do go, ask for Marcos he is incredible. I would recommend the Algae massage its 90 minutes of pure heaven.
All in all I am glad we got a chance to go away but it is not someplace that I would choose again. This again is just my experience and opinion (all in all the reviews for the resort are good), but considering it is more expensive then Playa Muheres it did not seem worth the added expense for what you got in return. Playa Muheres while more crowded had more restaurants, more pools, and a beautiful beach- they also had that rooftop suite room which in my opinion cannot be beat. This to me in my experience was not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear M L,

Thank you for your time to post a review from your stay experience, this is very important for us to detect our opportunity areas based on our guests experiences and suggestions, this way we will improve our service and facilities to the highest levels.

We regret to know that we didn´t met your expectations in every aspects, be sure we will follow up every one of your comments and make the neccesary improvements.

Our beach is very close to the second largest coral reef in the world, this is why you might find it different from other beach areas in the Riviera Maya, but most of our guests really have enjoyed their time there, for a walk, a swim, snorkel or diving activities. We regret to know that this was not the case for you.

We apologize if by any actions we caused a wrong impresion of our staff service, they enjoy their work to make feel the guests very welcome with their friendly service and a smile, they love their work and they do it for the great hospitality service they have, that´s the reason why they have been hired for their great service talent, this is why the tips from guests are not an influence or a motivation to serve in a different way one guest from another. We regret to know that this was not your perception.

It is important to mention that we try to fight mosquito and insect population strongly. We are doing our best to keep them controlled, especially during rainy-season, when they are at their peak. We invest not only economical resources but work closely with a specialist that is helping us to reduce their impact by spraying our resort daily, but we cannot use stronger chemical solutions toward the resort surroundings due to the fact that we are a Green Hotel, and very well known for our efforts to preserve nature and environment. Please remember that our resort is located in a national protected area surrounded by nature. Our guests comfort is our priority. However these efforts sometimes seem to be insufficient due to our location. But please be certain that this situation is controlled in great manner

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again near in the future and reverese this first impresion.

Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stunning oceanfront suites, amazing service and unlimited luxury thanks to Zoetry’s “endless privileges.” We’ve visited half a dozen luxury boutique hotels in the area, and nothing compares.

Caveat: if you are looking for tons of activities and nightlife, this is not your hotel. A large number of the guests were honeymooners and other couples enjoying the quiet, laidback luxury and fabulously attentive service. We travelled with our two teen-age daughters who were perfectly happy to relax and enjoy being pampered.

The best:
Service. A huge staff of smiling employees who are happy to see to your every need. Not perfect, but by far the best we’ve seen in Mexico.
Setting. Total privacy with every suite and restaurant overlooking the Caribbean. Parrots, peacocks and other exotic birds have been incorporated into the outdoor décor.
No lines. No waking up at 6 am to reserve a beach chair– they’ve got enough for every guest. No buffet lines (because there are no buffets), and no reservations needed for any of the three restaurants.
Health. While you can choose to consume 10,000 calories a day in food and alcohol, there is constant attention to health. All of the menus include low calorie options and complete nutritional information. Exercise and spa facilities are comprehensive. Warning: there are NO fat guests at the Zoetry.
Endless Privileges. Zoetry’s all-inclusive surpasses anything we’ve experienced. Round-trip airport transfers in their fleet of new Lincoln Navigators, 24-hour room service, free laundry services, sunset catamaran cruise and more. Activities include wine and tequila tasting, cigar rolling, and Mayan Temezcal (definitely worth a try!).

Good, but could be better:
Cuisine. Zoetry’s breakfast is perfect. We would have loved to see more Mexican choices on the lunch and dinner menus. Dinner at the Canoe is a little bit overly formal, and hit or miss on quality. The sushi and ceviche bar is a nice touch, but what’s really missing is a spot to pick up a quick lunch or afternoon snack. Ordering off menu is not easy, especially if you don't speak Spanish.
Beach. All of the beaches in Puerto Morleos suffer from seaweed and debris washing up. The Zoetry staff tries hard to comb the beach clean, but the seaweed is still winning.
The distance. Our suite was one of the farthest from the main area of the hotel, so if we forgot any items in the room, it necessitated a long walk back and forth. Next time, we’ll request a suite closer in.
Athletic activities. Daily yoga starts too early in the morning for anyone on vacation. Aqua gym is touted for its use of the unique salt water thelasso pool with specially equipped jets and bars, but in 5 days, we never got to use the equipment.
Spa Services. If you’re going to charge New York prices in Mexico, the spa services should be superb and the facilities pristine. Zoetry’s are merely good.
The little things. Most of these are common to all Riviera Maya resorts. Water pressure and temperature. Trying to have something in your room that is broken repaired. Sporadic internet access. Lights on motion detector in the bathroom leave you in the dark after 20 seconds.

The Worst:
I have nothing to add here.

Summary: we are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite close to the main area to avoid long walks.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wisewoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear wisewoman15,

We would like to thank you for your preference and for your feedback with this review, this is very important for us in order to detect our opportunity areas and work on them immediately.

We have our Endless Privileges Program available for all our guests in order to offer a complete and excelent stay, it´s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed its benefits.

We are overjoyed to know that you enjoyed our staff friendly service, restaurants and their wellness menus. We will forward your kind suggestions of food to our chef and he will be glad to receive them.

Thank you again for your preference, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews