We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to End our Honeymoon”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to End our Honeymoon”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived around check-in time and were greeted by a lovely lady (I think her name was Eileen). She was very smiley and chatty. She explained everything to us and made us feel welcome at the hotel. Then she drove us to our room on the golf buggy.
Our room was the "Tanzania" suite and it was amazing. At the very end of the resort, it looked out over the Caribbean ocean and back towards the hotel. The seating area was beautiful with two sofas, a coffee table and a big TV. There was a free bottle of tequila with salt and lime ready and waiting, as well as a bottle of sparkling wine. The bed was large (very high up!) with beautiful blue accessories. There was also a TV in the bedroom. The bathroom was stunning with marble and glass sinks (x2), a shower with a 'garden' next to it and a deep, square bath. The toiletries were nice and there was even a TV in the bathroom! (She said this room was the only one with a TV in). Mini bar was good but the fridge didn't get very cold unless you took a lot of the contents out.
Our terrace had a brilliant seating area with comfy cushioned loungers and we had a private plunge pool (cold water). First job was to sit in that and drink our sparkling wine!
We slept really well and the only problem was that one night it was very windy and the wind was making something outside bang, but it didn't bother us so much. Also, we ran a bath one night and the bath started making an awful noise. My husband figured out that it was the plug, which has an odd design, and had to adjust it just so to make it stop. Once that was done, it was fine, but you had to be very careful not to touch the plug or it started again! And the water leaked out.
The grounds of the hotel are well maintained and very nice. It was a short walk down the beach, or a slightly longer walk along the path, to the hotel from our room, which we enjoyed. The main pool is nice, clean and tidy. The only problem was that the water isn't very deep, and the pool not very wide, so my husband couldn't do any proper swimming in it.
The beach was nice but there was a lot of seaweed on it and so we didn't spend any time on there, really.
The bars at the pool and in the Library were very good. A good selection of beverages. The snacking plate with tortilla chips, guacamole, salsa and hummus was great. We played Jenga and chess in the Library bar on two nights. My husband also had a tinkle on the piano in the Library bar, but it was out of tune.
We used the Kaax restaurant for breakfast and it was very good. Breakfast was leisurely and unrushed, which is fine by us. Really good croissants and pain au chocolats. Excellent poached eggs with bacon and sausage. The harpist at breakfast was amazing and really talented! We also had breakfast in bed the one morning and that was also excellent.
The grill by the beach was good if you wanted something less fancy. But the main restaurant was excellent. We ate there every night and nearly all the food was fantastic (there was one dish my husband didn't like but that was down to his own taste). The chocolate sabayon with salty caramel sauce was incredbile! We really enjoyed dinner every night and only had to wait for a table once for about 10 minutes.
Afternoon tea by the Kaax restaurant, with the parrots, is brilliant. All the cakes and biscuits are bite sized and tasted wonderful. We had afternoon tea every day.
The spa was lovely. The jacuzzi, sauna, steam rooms and plunge pool area are very nice but a little small, so all the loungers were often taken. The salt water thalasso pool was lovely and a great help with my mosquito bites! We had a 25 min neck, shoulder and back massage, which was nice but they seemed to do a lot of work on our arms (sure, I can appreciate it's all connected, but the knots are in my shoulders!). We also had an 80 min couples' massage. They asked how much pressure I wanted beforehand and I said I could take a good amount of pressure but it wasn't that deep, really. More relaxing than therapeutic.
We took part in the Temazcal ceremony and that was really nice. They did a little talk beforehand and then took us in to the Temazcal. It wasn't at hot as I thought it would be and I didn't sweat as much as I normally do in a steam room, but it was nice and an experience.
We paid to do a short snorkelling trip for 1.5 hrs. They guy who took us out didn't speak particularly good English. There was me and my husband and then another couple. We'd never snorkelled before but the other two had. The man didn't do very much explaining on the use of the equipment or any hand signals/signs. We just put our stuff on and got in the water. It was a very windy day and the water was quite choppy. We saw a good amount of colourful fish and all in all it was an ok experience. My husband's mask kept getting steamed up and the man wasn't particularly helpful in sorting it out. We just swam around following the man and trying to look for things. He didn't point out very much to us. I didn't enjoy it all that much and it didn't encourage me to go snorkelling again.
We had a special turndown service included in our honeymoon package. We arranged this for one evening at a specific time but when we returned to our room 30 mins after said time, nothing had been done. We were just relaxing when the door opened and housekeeping had come to do the turndown, but we sent them away. We rearranged it for the 2nd night and went back to our room about 30 mins after the time we arranged it for (hoping it would be done after the delay the day before). We walked in on them just about starting to get things ready and so had to go away again and come back, which was a bit of a pain.
It was a lovely service though. They put rose petals on our bed, and then made a trail of rose petals to the bath, and had a run a bath with bubbles and rose petals in with candles around it. Very romantic and very relaxing. Ideal for our honeymoon.
There are a lot of iguanas around the hotel, the hotel has parrots, and we saw a coati in the grounds as well, so it's pretty good for wildlife!
The staff here were all lovely, helpful and friendly. We never had any small cash on us during our stay here and so never tipped anyone (which we felt bad about) but it didn't seem to matter to most of the staff. They were still friendly and helpful.
We really enjoyed staying at Zoetry. It was the perfect place to end our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Tanzania is an amazing room but I think quite expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    350
    128
    65
    55
See reviews for
194
1,615
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have been to Zoetry a few times now. It is a quick easy trip from the Houston area. Once the chauffeur picks you up in your private vehicle, there is nothing else to think about! The service is absolutely outstanding. The rooms are very clean, the grounds are spotless,and any request tries to be honored.
We took our two college aged girls with us on the last trip. The two bedroom suites are very spacious. They include a sitting area and each room has a sumptuous bathroom.
The restaurants are good and no reservations are needed. We ate lunch in Hippo's bar each day and asked for things that were not on the menu. There was never a problem.
If you are looking for quiet and relaxation, this resort is a gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Zoetry is an amazing place. Highly recommended. Great food, great service, and excellent spa. The beach is private and very beautiful. The resort is perfectly suited for couples who want to avoid crowds and who crave privacy.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a good AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Two years ago we stayed at the Zoetry Agua Punta Cana for our honeymoon and fell in love with Zoetry properties. We visited the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita this year for our anniversary, and it somehow surpassed all of our expectations again. The staff is superb, very friendly and accommodating. The food was wonderful, especially at the La Canoa restaurant that is a 4 Diamond restaurant - gourmet dining at its best. The pool was wonderful, and the beach area, seating and palapas were amazing. We can't say enough good things about the Zoetry brand, and especially about the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita. We had a wonderful, relaxing, quiet vacation which was just what we went for. If you want activities to do all day, and loud entertainment at night - this is not your place. Zoetry has a serene atmosphere that allows you to totally "get-away" and relax and enjoy each other. It is the perfect vacation for us, as we do not like the casinos, clubs, or crowds. The ocean front suites are beautiful and spacious, and top notch. Take advantage of the catamaran sail - it was a lot of fun. We will certainly be returning to another Zoetry property again, if not this same one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Myself and my husband normally head for the Caribbean in spring, but because we were a little later this year and the Easter holidays were still around on the week we wanted to go all the adults only all inclusives were booked.

Our travel agent recommended Mexico so as neither of us had been we decided to give it a try, and were told that the only place to go was Zoetry - how right they were. From the pick up at the airport (bottle of champagne on ice, plus iced water and two very cold towels) to our travel back to the airport the hotel was wonderful.
Mexican people are incredibly friendly and do their best to make sure you have the perfect holiday the food was excellent as were the wines.
The grounds are beautiful and the rooms (all suites) are very spacious with every comfort - our bathroom was the size of most hotel rooms.
Having read a few of the negative reviews I cannot believe we were staying at the same resort, and if I do have a gripe it is only the coffee in the restaurant which I found not to my taste, however the coffee from the Nespresso in the bedroom made up for it.
We are already planning our trip next year and the year after as we both found that rarely have we enjoyed such a luxurious all inclusive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Felt very welcome at all times. Excellent accommodations, food , and service. Water sports were a little lacking but a trip to another facility was arranged on our behalf so we could have that experience. We would not hesitate to come back for another vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Zoetry is all that it is cracked up to be! I don't think anyone there on the staff knows the word "no". From the moment you are picked up in a private vehicle at the airport to the sad ending of the vacation when you are taken back to the airport via private vehicle, the stay at Zoetry is amazing in every way! When you arrive, you are greeted at the resort entrance with refreshing drinks and a private tour of the property and then promptly escorted to your suite. (no standing in lines at a reception area). The suite we stayed in - Oaxaca - was a 2 master bedroom suite and each room had it's own huge bathroom. Also, we had a giant patio and plunge pool that looked out onto the ocean. It is a great idea if you are traveling with a party of 4 because you are all in the same quarters but also have the privacy of your own room and bathroom when desired. The food all over the property is amazing and all labeled with nutritional value. The wait staff at the pool and beach (Victor especially) is amazing and very prompt and there was never any waiting very long for drinks. Everyone there is EXTREMELY accommodating all of the time. Amazing trip and will be back next year for sure! :)

Room Tip: Oaxaca suite was a 2 Master bedroom/bath suite and great for parties of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
5.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
21,487 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,660 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,136 reviews
22.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,122 reviews
14.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita

Property: Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Address: Carretera Chetumal _Cancun Km 328 | Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, an ultra-luxury boutique resort, offers a completely new kind of vacation experience focused on wellness, serenity and romance, as well as social and environmental responsibility. Set on 500 yards of beautiful beach, this exceptionally unique property features 90 beachfront suites; La Canoa, a AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant; the first certified Thalassotherapy Center in North America;in-house scuba diving center, a private 48 ft. Catamaran. Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, one of the Leading Hotels of the World, has also earned the AAA Five Diamond Award for 13 consecutive years. Each of the 90 lavish oceanfront suites is uniquely decorated with hand-picked treasures from around the world and feature private ocean front view terraces, Bvlgari® bath amenities, fine luxury linens, sparkling wine and fresh fruit daily, 24-hour private, in-room dining, maid service three times each day and a welcome bottle of Tequila. For an added measure of intimacy and romance, a selection of suites also offer access to private terrace plunge pools and outdoor honeymoon showers. Endless Privileges® provide guests limitless access to personalized, private chauffeured airport transfers; unlimited worldwide calls and concierge service; daily breakfast, lunch and dinner gourmet dining options with an assortment of organic, local and gluten-free food and beverage selections plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at Restaurant Kaax or stay in and order room service. The Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience provides 60 more dining and entertainment venues at nearby sister resorts; complimentary cocktails and specialty beverages from a variety of domestic and international top-shelf brands and top-shelf spirits; sunset catamaran sail; shopping excursions by boat; complimentary 24-hour laundry service; relaxing 20 minute Thalasso Experience per guest; as well as complimentary greens fees at nearby Grand Coral Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paraiso De La Bonita
Paraiso Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing