We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I have stayed at ERC about eight times throughout the years. This time it was a big disappointment. After we checked into the "Excellence" Club, we were told that Building 8 was having some renovations done. The disturbance would be between 10AM-2PM daily. We thought that wouldn't be a problem because we are out of the room at 7AM and wouldn't be back until 4PM every day. The concierge also told us that there would be sweeping from 4PM-6PM and we thought "sweeping" wouldn't be a problem either. The concierge also said that if we wanted to move to another resort (Playa Mujeres), just let him know and they would transfer us. Sounds good,right? Well, the second day the noise was going on longer than 4PM and we asked to move to the other resort. The concierge (different person, of course) told us that we could not be transferred because the other resort was full. It would have been nice if she checked, but she didn't. She just said that the resort was full! Then we asked if they could move us to another building and she said she would have to check with the manager and would get back to us, but she never did. We even told her that we didn't care if we weren't in the stupid Excellence Club anymore, but still no phone call back. W were there for ten days and since the elevator didn't always work, we felt that we spent all this extra money for nothing. Guess we will not be back here anymore.

Room Tip: Not worth the money staying at Excellence Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joebee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this discontent to our attention.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies. Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the issues you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

On the other hand, Excellence Resorts is recognized for achieving superior quality in appearance and maintenance of our properties and facilities, just as many other attributes that enable us to provide the ultimate Luxury All-Inclusive experience. We deeply regret the discommode caused by the maintenance since our main priority will remain as always on fulfilling the upgrading, while pursuing little or none inconveniences to our guests. Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,242 - 6,248 of 12,501 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Let me start off by saying we ended up at ERC based on a recommendation from someone who attended two years ago. My husband and I have stayed in Mexico multiple times at all-inclusives such as Secrets Maroma, Silversands, and the Iberostar Grand. We came to ERC with an open mind.

Rooms:
We stayed at ERC for 3nights. Previous to our stay and at check-in, as many reviewers mentioned, no room upgrades were available or offered. After speaking with people who stayed in the Excellence Club, we were glad we did not upgrade as they said this diminished over the years. Our pool room was average and very musty smelling. We woke up with a headache every day. The bed was very hard and the bedding needs replacing. Wifi was free but spotty.

Food & Drinks: The buffet was above average with many choices. The breakfast buffet was better than most. The resort offers many snacks including pizza at the bar and a soft serve ice cream station. The a la carte diners were a disaster. There is a "no reservation" policy. This seems like a good idea. However, when the resort is full you end up waiting over an hour for a meal that is of average quality. Many resorts (Secrets and Iberostar have better a la carte quality food). We heard many many people complaining about this. The drinks at the resort were above average. Although, they do not have super premium alcohol they do have many higher end brands including black label, captain, three generations tequila and a variety of beer (Modelo, Bud, Corona light) but the highest vodka is absolute.

Service: All of the staff at the resort were very pleasant in our opinion. Although, we heard others say in the past it was better.

Beach: Poor. The hotel is only 15mins (plus 15mins down the most terrible bumpy dirt road) from the airport on a bad part of the beach. If it rains, good luck. The road to the resort floods and many cars break down along the way. The ocean is barely teal. There is a lot of seaweed, but the sand is soft enough to walk on with out shoes. They do their best to keep the seaweed off, but it is a daily battle. The beach is not private so you will have people selling things to you and random folks walking in front of the resort.

Facility: Overall, the resort offers a lot of outdoor areas to hang out, sit, and drink. They have many activities during the day and night, which makes the place more fun than relaxing. The hotel is older and does show signs of aging, but they are doing a great job keeping it clean all around. We did not run into any problems with animals or bugs. The place looks great in pictures. Generally, we saw groups and couples in their 50-60s attending the resort.

Conclusion: Depending on what your looking for this is a good (not great) all-inclusive resort. We overheard people and even staff members saying the playa mujeres resort is the nicer of the two. We had a nice enough time we would consider trying their other facility.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to the Club. Building 6 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexia703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a wonderful week early Dec 2013 at the Excellence Riviera Cancun resort.
From the moment we arrived: the grand entrance, the huge wooden doors that open as you approach them, the friendly greeting by a staff member who offered us a glass of sparkling wine, the courteous and efficient check in, quick delivery of our luggage to the room, the good orientation of the amenities of the room and resort in general, we were Very pleased. This proved to be the standard for the resort. Everyone we met were friendly and polite.
Our junior suite was well appointed and included about five full size premium sprits bottles in addition to the regular bar fridge. (We did open one but did not even half finish it in a week )
Breakfast was a choice between the menu restaurant that overlooks the ocean or the inside buffet. Lunch was offered at the buffet, three a la carte restaurants or BBQ at the beach. For example, they had a paella cooking demonstration, delicious, plus a good selection of other Tex Mex dishes. Dinner is all a la carte and you don’t need reservations. Depending on what time you arrive and the restaurant, you may be given on of the disks that let you know when your table is ready. Not too hard to take, waiting in the comfortable lounge area or at one of the bars. All meals were very good, we especially enjoyed the Indian and Asian restaurants.
We liked the Excellence newsletter that is left in your room every evening as part of the turn-down service. It is a great overview of the activities for the next day, spa promotions, restaurant hours, the live show for the next evening (the magic show was fantastic!). We really enjoyed the live music at some of the restaurants during the day or bar in the evening. The evening musical performances were very professional.
The resort has a very good vibe. Our stay was very relaxing and there really is something for everyone. The clientele ranges from mid-twenties to people who have enjoyed their retirement for some time. We had the pleasure of chatting with many nice people. This is a great resort. We look forward to returning many times.
NOTE: Low lying roads in the area have been affected by heavy rains in November. It was a quite rough drive the last kilometer or so, but crews were working on repairing the road when we left.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have just returned to the UK on Dec11th from our 3rd visit. It was magic to be greeted by so many familiar faces. Gustavo was now a bell boy and Mariana was at the door with our champagne.We were again so impressed with everything and would like to thank Mariana, who personally saw to our every need and Miguel Perez and Regelio Soberanis for providing us with some memorable meals. The choice and quality of food was out of this world. We had some wonderful waiters but Juan and Atziri stick in my mind. The room was always spotless and the maids doing the turn down service at night were impeccably turned out in black dresses,white pinnies and white bows in the back of their hair. Also there are many more fantastically comfortable beds to lie on round the pools. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidaylover952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 12/2-12/9. We had great weather the whole week. We stayed in the excellence club room with the rooftop terrace. The room was unbelievable.

The hotel is situated right on the beach. There are plenty of beach chairs and beds to use, along with volleyball courts etc. The ocean has a nice blue color.

The staff at the resort will do their best to meet your every demand. We didn't have any, but we knew whatever we wanted, we could get.

The food is better at this resort than we have seen at other all inclusive resorts. The breakfast at Barcelona had a huge selection of food and juices. If you couldn't find something you liked, you have serious issues. Barcelona also had an impressive lunch. We only went there 2x for lunch because we took advantage of Las Olas most other days. For dinner we ate at all the restaurants besides Spice and Toscana. We enjoyed all of our meals - especially Basmati. The selection of liquor is very impressive.

All in all, if you are looking for a classy place to relax and have fun, this place is for you. I also recommend taking the Tulum/Cenote expedition.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GeneLynott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

this was our second visit to the Excellence and we upgraded to the Excellence Club which we enjoyed as it was quieter and the service was better. The club lounge was very quiet but lovely for a nightcap before bed. The food in all the restaurants was up to its usual excellent standard and we both put weight on!! We had a slight problem with a noisy pump or something above our room but as soon as we complained it was switched off.
we must say thanks to the staff around the pool, Moises in the bar and Andrea, Kepler, Eldin and Sergio who tended to our every need. Not forgetting Marianna who couldn't do enough for us.
Our only grip, and it is a small one, is we feel the hotel could possibly do something a little better for returning guests other than a passport cover!!

Room Tip: ask for what you would like at check in as they are very accommodating. the excellence club is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 2 year wedding anniversary may 2012, We upgraded to the excellence club room with sea view. This was defiantly worth it as we had access to the beach area which was just for those in the excellence club suites. Our room was amazing and view from our balcony was breathtaking. We had a jacuzzi in our room and out on the balcony. Room service was 24 hours and was always lovely, although it did take about 45 mins for the food to arrive. We had dinner in each of the 7 restaurants while we were there. The food was great. The French and Thai were the best. The spa had amazing treatments. We had a couples massage on the beach in an open hut and were given strawberries and champagne at the end. Each day at lunchtime there would be food served on the beach area. Different cuisine each day I.e carribean food, BBQ, Chinese, Mexican etc. The evening entertainment there was great too. The Michael Jackson show was fantastic. Also every single staff member was friendly and helpful and they always said hello. Overall this was an amazing resort and I would defiantly go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Choccolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.7 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
9,053 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £246 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing