We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th visit and Five Stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“5th visit and Five Stars!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Yet another fantastic 14 day holiday at ERC.
This was our 7th visit to an Excellence resort and our 5th to ERC.
Excellent service with a few surprises. Thank you for a wonderful 10th anniversary memory!
A few key staff to mention for excellent service -
Aaron, Joel, Luiz, Betsy in the Martini bar and the wonderful friendly service from Santiago in various restaurants.
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atlantis1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,011
    1,842
    532
    183
    115
See reviews for
588
8,726
66
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,639)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watton, Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for couples or groups. It is adult only, which made for a peaceful trip.
The room service is excellent, drinks are premium brands, the restaurant options are really good and the food is great quality.
Not having to book the a la carte restaurants is so much easier than in resorts where you have to plan in advance and go and queue to book.
The maid service and turn down is excellent.
The beach is clean, white sand and turquoise sea. The main pool is noisy but if you like peace and quiet there are many places to sit, either by the many pools or on the beach. The waiter service by the beach and the pool is very good.
Other reviewers have said all there is to say about the rooms and I agree with all of the positive comments.
The service in this hotel was excellent and nothing felt like too much trouble for the staff.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned from 14 fantastic days, we have travelled Europe & Caribbean this is the only hotel we have ever returned to (4th visit). We did not think it could be improved on but the new G. Mngr. has taken it to a whole new level. Stayed in club last 2 visits well worth the extra, ocean view, private beach/pool a much quieter/relaxed area which suits us, rooms the same except for an extra tub on the balcony. Food & service amazing definitely 5 star. A few mentions, Jenny Excellence club manager, effortless check-in & granted the room I requested, the 2 hostesses at breakfast/lunch trying to teach me a few Spanish phrases daily, Juan excellent Manager of French restaurant who made my wife's birthday meal a really special event, club beach concierge team Sergio, Maricela (keep running) & Eldin, Club bar staff Moises great cocktails & ever smiling Amable to name just a few who will make your holiday stay memorable. We have recommended the Excellence to friends who came with us for their second visit, also recommended to a family member who has also been back twice. Having always liked to holiday in different places the only "down side" to this resort is it spoils you to go anywhere else. Already booking to see you all again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was our second trip to ERC, the first was three years ago. We have done AI resorts for 18 years,they include Sandals, Secrets,Couples,EPM,the Caves and the Valentin. The Caves can not be compared to any" big box" AI and is a catagory all it's own. We will never return to Sandals or the Valentin! Excellence can not be beat for the price,size,location,food,beach and CUSTOMER SERVICE!
We booked a roof top terrace room in the Excellence club, if you can do it you must. It was spectacular!
We emailed the resort ahead of time to request a room and our favorite liquor, both of our request were honored. On a side note, this is the only room category that only has king bed. So any other room with a king bed is only a request not guarantee. And really it's happened to us before two beds......just use your imagination.
The food at a 5 star AI can not be compared to your hometown best resturant. Taking that into concideration ERC food is really good. We didn't have a bad meal. Breakfast buffet had a ton of choices,made to order eggs, and look for the Mexican coffee, it;s delish! Lunch was a treat!! You could order from the EC pool and have it delivered, or go to the beach grill. It was so great not to have to go into a sit down resturant. The Valentin should take note. Dinners were all good, we ate at a different one each night. Our first night we ordered room service on our
RRT for 6 of us, they were very accommodating. The service in restaurants was slow and they wouldn't seat 8 of us together. They went so far as to seat each group of 4 across the room from each other. That was our major disapointment! It was unnecessary, we could have esaily sat close enough to be able to have conversation.
We spent our day mostly at the beach. We would arrive around 10am and never had a problem getting two beds next to each other ocean front, and at least one palapa in the shade. This is why the Excellence club is worth every penny! The beach never felt crowded,the beds are big and the concierge set up your area. What a great service! Amabel who does the beach service is a doll. She was always friendly and gave us great service. Moses and Ruben at the EC bar make great drinks, top shelf, never watered down,( Secrets should take note) and the drink of the day was always a treat. My favorite a 1800 margarita on the rocks, you can't go wrong. All the EC beach servers,bar tenders, and congierge do a great job!!
It's all about the little things as far as we are concerined, and Excellence takes care of them.
Housekeeping and turn down always did a nice job. Amauri from the entertainment staff went out of his way to help my husband out. Maintaince was too our room in about a half hour to fix a problem with our terrace pool. The service here is great, and that is why we are returning to ERC this fall! We booked our return trip 3 days after getting home.
We have used USA transfrers 3x for our private airport transfers. They are always on time and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: 7354 was our RTT, it was big enough to entertain our entire group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank practicingvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We did a three day mini-moon at the Excellence after our wedding in Tulum. It was only our second time at an all-inclusive in Cancun, and we much preferred our experience at the former. We wanted to love it and we didn't have a bad time, it was just average.

Pros:
- Lovely honeymoon perks - flower petals, special dinner options
- A few standout dishes - sea bass at the French Restaurant, Mahi Mahi at the Lobster Restaurant
- Close proximity to the airport
- House wine from Chile was good!
- Chairs on the beach seemed plentiful

Cons:
- Front desk always had a line - only one person was ever at the desk, so we had to wait to check in and check out. I was a little surprised for a hotel of this caliber.
- Our phone didn't work, so that nixed room service on the night we arrived. We went to the front desk the next day and it was swamped with people, so we told a bellman but it wasn't fixed. After the beach, we talked to a housekeeping manager and he had it fixed pretty quickly, but still almost 24 hours after our arrival.
- Restaurants were so-so, overall. Bread was pretty bad, service was quite slow at Toscana.

Overall, it reminded us of a cruise ship or Vegas, with shows and bands every evening. Maybe adult summer camp? I don't think all-inclusive resorts are really our thing, as we prefer smaller hotels and quality over quantity with regard to food - live and learn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hoyabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for having chosen Excellence Riviera Cancun as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I would have to say this resort was so beautiful! Absolutely loved the service from the employees! Arianna that works the activities was so sweet and greeted us everyday and got us involved in all the games and remembered our names! Carlos was our room service guy! He's the man! You gotta request him! Alejandro was our bar guy at the pool! He knows how to make the best drink and knows all kinds of amazing shots!!

The resort seriously has the best food possible for an all inclusive! It was like eating at a five star restaurant everyday! I loved how there was a different food everyday out on the beach! Oh and don't forget the 11:00 coco locos! You have to try one!

Well I would say our family was amazed and will be back! Thanks Excellence for making out trip perfect! See you soon!'

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cailey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed for 8 days and it was by far the best resort! I am really picky about resorts and this one has the perfect ratio of pools, restaurants, beach and space! The customer service was impeccable and the nightly performances were so on point like a real concert! The rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed in the bottom floor rooms that have a walk out to a pool. It was so nice to have a mini backyard of your own. I'll get to the pros & cons now to help!

Pros:
Great restaurants (lots of choices!), great bars, beach was nice & clean, room service was yummy, the mini bar was stocked with so much drinks & yummy snacks, no long lines for food, reservations were easy to make, pools and lazy river were spacious and never too crowded, great taxi service to get you to tour Playa del Carmen (taxi waited for you!) if you want to leave the property and lots of chairs around the pools & lazy river.

Cons:
My cons are not enough to not consider going to this resort, I would go back in a heartbeat because it was that nice! But if I had to mention cons, here they are: you would see people reserve chairs with towels but that wasn't an issue since there were lots of chairs around pools and lazy river, but there is not a lot of chairs on beach (in my opinion) and if you didn't get there early, you didn't have space under an umbrella. There was a note about reserving chairs, and one time we didn't see people use their chairs so we moved the towels ourselves. My other issue was that the Japanese restaurant had a dress code for men to wear slacks (other restaurants had same dress code too). We went to that place early in the week abiding by the dress code, but after visiting each place later in the week and observing men not wearing slacks, my husband wore golf shorts when we revisited the Japanese steakhouse on our last night. The manager refused to seat us! Our friend that was traveling with us went to other restaurants while we waited for the manager to decide to seat us and took pics on his cell phone of other men in the more formal restaurants wearing shorts or capris. He showed the pics the manager and some other higher ups at the resort and they still wouldn't seat us. My husband changed into pants and the managers met us at the cocktail bar to tell us they spoke to other restaurants to make sure others follow the strict dress code. In all fairness, the managers were right, my husband just got caught by the one restaurant following the rules. I was just surprised they wouldn't seat us after us showing them proof of other guests not following the rules. My last con, is at the lobster grill house. We went twice that one week and our lobster was cooked inconsistently. I couldn't even eat the second time around, but again, it's a personal issue and I would still go back!

Room Tip: We liked our bottom floor with the walk out to a secluded pool that had a mini backyard with a whirl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandyBee1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing