We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Stonehouse, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing holiday”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

just arrived back from this hotel, it was very very good. we had a swim up room, which was lovely inside and out jacuzzi, with direct access to the lazy river which wandered around the hotel,nice to grab a float for a morning stroll. The grounds were always immaculate, in fact everywhere was spotless. It was lovely to have waiter service in all the restaurants in the evening, didnt have to pre book them which was lovely, and a wide variety of choice always. The staff really couldnt do enough for you and made everyone feel special. The many bars were well manned and the staff were lovely,constantly making cocktails!! The staff waited on you on the beach and pool areas all day and were always smiling and lovely. The entertainment provided was good too, something always going on in the day and night , many groups ,singers, dancing shows , there was always something to suit all tastes. Have been to mexico 4 times, this hotel was by far the best we have been to, and will definately pay them another visit.

Room Tip: swim up room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,011
    1,842
    532
    183
    115
See reviews for
588
8,726
66
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,639)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

went with the excellence club , it actually was worth it . the only problem was the room said ocean front but they are actually ocean view . I was upgraded to the two story room with the rooftop view . beautiful place , the food was excellent and resort was super clean . transportation was affordable and easily set up . took a car back to airport which took us directly to front of line. I would recommend using car service from and to airport

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed once before, we happily booked a second time. Pleased to see that even though it was great before, improvements were being made. Spa is expensive but heard good reports from those who had used it. Staff friendly but not overbearing. Clean. Good food. Great staff. Dio in French restaurant gets top marks. Attentive & brilliant at his job. Beach clean. Boats in good working order. Nothing to complain about

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

That trip was the best trip we have ever taken!! The resort was FABULOUS. Everything from the amazing restaurants, to the out-of-this-world service, hotel rooms, activities, was just perfect. It couldn't have been more perfect.

Our favorite parts were the food, shows and all of the luxury at the resort. The spa at the resort is a MUST. We also left the island one day only to snorkel Akumal (would highly recommend this little adventure) and peruse shops at Playa Del Carmen. This was a fun little getaway. We also went deep sea fishing (which was also a once in a lifetime experience... However I would recommend Dramamine to everyone that chooses to do this- no matter how "not seasick" one claims to be:) What we really liked about the guests (and vibe) at the hotel, is that everyone was there for different reasons- couples trips, work reward trips, anniversaries and honeymoons. It was a fun lively mix of people! We loved the parties at night that the resort hosted and the beach was just amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence for a second year in a row because of the amazing visit the first time. This was our 8th year to Mexico and this hotel has met all of our expectations. Good food, excellent service, clean, etc. The staff are excellent, friendly, and always go above and beyond. Kudos to Benjamin (French Resturant), and Ramone and Gabriella (Buffett). Overall, the best all inclusive we have stayed at and would stay there again. Well worth the extra money for a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is excellent , great food, great service, lovely people. Unfortunately it was spoilt by not having the correct facilities for a wheelchair bound person. Yes it has a disable pool which you have to go down a ramp to get into, but no pool wheelchair is provided so unless you can get out of your chair and walk down the ramp it's great. Also the walk in shower, no chair is provided, there is a ledge which you can sit on, but transferring onto this is like taking your life in your own hands, no hand rails to hold onto . This problem occurs in the toilet no hand rails. My husband is a paraplegic T6 so has no sensation from the chest down, this means no balance at all , so hand rails are a must plus a shower chair with arms. The hotel tried their best to accommodate us. But having a holiday without being able to get into the pool spoilt it for him. We tried to make the best of it, I did say to Juan that the hotel must tell travel agent that unless the disabled person can walk with sticks or crutches the hotel is not suitable. Such a shame as I would definitely recommend to friends but not my less able friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LRandall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this discontent to our attention.

At Excellence we are committed to provide services and facilities in consistency with the hotel high standards, a continuous supervision is held in all hotels areas to ensure our installations comply with this goal.

The rooms that are suitable for wheelchair use, are strategically located to facilitate access to the hotel services and main areas. Moreover, we are certainly proud to be part of those few resorts in the area providing a pool with ramp access even though it is not mandatory according to our local regulations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I could save a lot of time and give you my complaints. NONE! Great property and wonderful staff and facilities. Super food and a variety of activities on the place. All of the employees....and I mean all of them, look you in the eye, smile and say "Hola!". You feel wanted there and it shows in the extra efforts the staff makes to serve you.

We stayed in bldg. 2 behind the Spa. Very quiet. Lazy river out the door. Perfect for mid day and you don't get the noise from the pool bar crowd. All the restaurants were great. And I'm an athlete and watch what I eat.....found great choices everywhere.

Hats off to Fernando at the Café Kafe bar. He's a hard worker. Kudos to Juan at the Grillhouse/Lobster House restaurant. Super server and attentive but not obtrusive. The activity director Isabella was all over the property and checking things to make sure the guests were engaged and happy.

The only smidge would be the water off the beach. Lots of seaweed and the sand keeps the snorkeling to a minimum. You really can't see much in terms of fish and sealife off shore. But the groundskeeper is sweeping the beach and keeping everything nice.

It's very close to the airport (20 min ride) and we will come back again. This is our 4th time in Cancun and the best property hands down!

Room Tip: ask for bldg. 1 or 2 with a higher level floor. It's behind the spa and quiet. Higher level floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arlog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Savannahville Tours N.V., Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing