We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a week at Royal Resort's new venture in Puerto Morelos. Although the resort complex is not yet complete, it is already wonderful property. We stayed in a luxurious 2 bedroom suite that boasted a full kitchen with high end appliances and a utility room with a washer/dryer. The living space is open in concept and large enough to allow a family plenty of room to enjoy this beautiful area of Mexico in complete comfort. The master bedroom suite is large and inviting with dual walk-in closets and a finely crafted bathroom. There is also a spacious deck facing the ocean with a spa tub.
There are amenities in place which include a spa, market, restaurant, indoor, pool and beach bars, tennis courts, lap pool, children's pool, infinity edge pool, and daily activities for children and adults.
The food in the restaurant was very good and beautifully presented.
But by far, the best asset to date are the outstanding employees who serve the guests with great care and enthusiasm. They go out of their way to ensure that your experience at Grand Residences is a good as it can be. My special thanks to Antonio at the beach, Roger in restaurant, Rosy at the spa, Alejandro and Diego at the the pool and all the concierge staff. You helped to make our visit an outstanding one.
Our main concern with our visit was a motor, or fan, that created a unpleasant situation while trying to relax on the balcony. The noise was such that it made conversation challenging. I do believe this is limited to the location of only a few rooms and management is exploring ways to eliminate the problem. I would also suggest that a few cabanas be added to the beach area. The technology in the suites is so new and advanced that we were unsure how to operate certain items and the staff was also challenged. Instructions need to be provided.
Although there are a few growing pains that are natural with a resort that is not yet complete, I think you will find this a wonderful choice for the discerning traveler who values service and beautiful room decor and surroundings. I look forward to seeing the finished product.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orchidsunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at Grand Residences Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

This resort has roughly 103 units and is boutique at its best. The units are top notch with Subzero and Wolf appliances, granite countertops and in suite washer/dryer. Our unit was two rooms with a king bed and three murphy beds for the kids. The resort opened in early 12/2013 and despite some of the other reviews the service was outstanding. There is a private beach (a little bit rocky) with friendly staff and an impressive security presence. They will even pick up and drop off from the airport in a private SUV (this is huge because the airport has high pressure cab drivers!).
They are not all inclusive but our package included a $250/night resort credit. The only con I can see is the limited on site restaurant option (there is only one). The food is good but even over our short four night trip the choices for lunch and dinner seemed a bit limited.
I have no doubt this will be one of the nicest five star resorts in the entire cancun area by the time it has reached full occupancy.

Room Tip: look for an end first floor suite as they have their own infinity pools that overlook the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cincygumdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at Grand Residences Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We just spent a week at the most beautiful resort I have ever seen.
We were in a 3 bedroom suite which had balconies in each room.
The unit # 229 we were in was particularly nice. The balcony
in the master faces the ocean, it is so large that there is a table
for six , two lounges and a hot tub for two ! The suites
are very nice and all have king size beds. The grounds are well
manicured and there are three very large pools, one with the bar that's
very comfy.The food is very good and there is always someone around to be of
service if you need anything.. If you like gourmet the main dining room
is where you want to be!
Have to mention the staff, all of them are so friendly and
accommodating. I spent a lot of my time at the "HEAVEN" bar at the
beach and got to know the friendly staff. Everything you could want
whether just sunning or fishing or diving is available. They have a nice Gym
and there is also a Grocery store.
Most enjoyable week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MobileRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at Grand Residences Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay and we were extremely pleased. It is situated in a quiet area, about 30 minutes from Cancun and while we at first thought we would be disappointed to be away from the action, once we arrived we were relieved that we were in a more secluded location as Cancun is overrun and feels like a tourist trap. We were also closer to sites such as Chichen Iza, Coba, Tullum etc. which were really nice.
As far as the resort: The place is brand new and that is a definite plus.Our room was ocean view- so we had a side view of the ocean from our balcony. We were hoping they would upgrade us to an ocean front room as the place was empty when we arrived, but they were only willing to do so for an extra 150 a night. I didnt find the bed to be that comfortable but it was very clean and nice turndown service.Two nice pools, the lap pool was always empty but the main pool was more active but even the main pool was not overcrowded. We were very impressed with the service, everyone seemed very eager to help, especially the concierge. Both my husband and I took advantage of the spa services- the massages were wonderful. Overall a great vacation at Grand residences. Would Highly recommend!

Room Tip: get an ocean front room if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystalj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at Grand Residences Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

So much in life (and leisure) is about timing, and ours was perfect. The resort experienced some start-up hiccups and addressed them very attentively. We arrived in mid-February, about two months after the resort opened and about a month before the spring break crowds arrive. So the ratio of employees to guests was very high. If you're going to the Riviera Maya anytime soon and you don't mind spending a little extra for high-quality everything, then you should stay here.

Pros...
- Service - the best we've experienced
- Extremely large and well-appointed rooms
- Uncrowded pool and beach
- High-end everything
- Pretty good location, close to stuff but away from the Cancun din
- Excellent restaurant
- Handy market
- Kids club, teen hangout room
- Separate lap pool

Cons...
- Spendy, but the resort credit helps
- Nothing off-site within walking distance (Puerto Morelos is a 5-minute drive away)
- Beach is well-maintained but still has rocks, sticks, etc.
- Rooms are luxurious but not too "Mexican"

Bottom line: You will feel pampered by a very attentive staff and highest-end stuff, from the appliances to the golf club rentals to the expansive iMac for printing out boarding passes. It is not all-inclusive, but it's close, thanks to the amenities and the generous resort credit.

Location: Puerto Morelos is a 5-minute drive away. There, you will find snorkeling guides, good little restaurants and a vibe that gave Jimmy Buffett his inspiration for "Margaritaville." Many cenotes are nearby, as are some entertaining family excursions such as Croco Cun and Xcaret.

- 30-minute drive to Cancun Airport
- 5-minute drive to Puerto Morelos
- 1-hour drive to Tulum

Bottom line: An extremely comfortable place that will lure you into staying at the resort instead of exploring the ruins and cenotes, etc., around you. Flat screen TVs everywhere, including the kitchen. All calphalon cookware. One of those awesome washing machines that doubles as a dryer. Masks, snorkels, boogie boards, backgammon, golf clubs, etc., to borrow - all brand-new. Massive rooms with large patios, some with private pools.
If you want to explore, enjoy an authentic Mexican experience and be within walking distance of town, don't stay here. If you want to bask in sunshine, service and luxury, then do.

Room Tip: Two-bedroom suites are perfect for small groups - a master suite with bed(s), full kitchen and three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhunt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at Grand Residences Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you are looking for white glove service in Puerto Morelos, the Grand Residences is where you want to stay. Gorgeously decorated rooms, equipped with everything you might need.
Best part of our stay was being on the beach and with the wonderful wait staff. Pool waiter Diego Maradona was exceptional. I surely miss his beautiful smile everyday. He anticipates your every need. Always goes above and beyond! Antonio and Angel who get your towels and lounge chairs were exceptional as well.
I hope next year to see them again and enjoy a wonderful stay at the Grand Residences!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mariak0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at Grand Residences Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My fiance and I were fortunate to spend a week at this idyllic new resort near the quaint village of Puerto Morelos. We were impressed daily by the stunning property, the tranquil setting, and the remarkable service.

The property is very new and will see changes in the next couple years (a larger spa and fitness center, more restaurants, etc.) but the existing facilities were comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the restaurant, El Faro and I especially loved the ‘green juice’ a delicious spinach/orange juice with some other healthy ingredients mixed in; it made me feel a little less guilty about the poolside cocktails that were destined to follow. Lunch was usually pool or beach side and we couldn’t get enough of the cheesy chicken quesadillas and fresh fish tacos (with guacamole and pico de gallo, of course) from the Heaven Bar. Seriously, if I had a bar right next to the beach I’m pretty sure I would name it ‘Heaven’ too! We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was kept immaculately clean. The bathroom had two sinks (YES!) and the beds were firm but oh, so comfortable. We loved opening our patio door every morning to a view of the pool and the ocean. And while we tried our best to avoid it, the resort-wide WiFi (even at the beach!) was soooo convenient to stay in touch with our family.

The vibe at this place is a great combination of calm and private yet easily accessible. The spring break crowds can be found with a drive to Cancun or Playa del Carmen but this is the place to experience the warm, blue-green waters of the Caribbean as a private beach. A few other resorts speckle the area so you can rent kayaks and jet-skis but this beach seriously feels like a private paradise It’s a quick taxi ride into Puerto Morelos where locals still gather at the town square and children chase each other up and down the main dock surrounded by local shopping and great restaurants. Though a piece of advice, don’t naively attempt a long, romantic walk from the resort to Puerto Morelos via the beach as you’ll be unpleasantly halted by a giant and very unpassable commercial pier. I’m sure any one of the knowledgeable staff would have told me that if I had simply asked (still working on the ego ego…) Regardless, there is plenty of room for quiet walks on the beach.

Finally- the service. Wow. This is the epitome of a 5-star resort when it comes to service. Each and every staff person at this resort wears a smile all day long and pleasantly greets you in a very genuine, I’m-not-doing-this-just-because-I’m-told-to type of way. Whoever is in charge of hiring at this place deserves a raise! This staff really made our stay relaxed and enjoyable. Thanks to all of you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at Grand Residences Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
12.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,271 reviews
13 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,171 reviews
4 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
12,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,242 reviews
12.4 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,771 reviews
6.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences Riviera Cancun

Address: Boulevard El Cid | Unidad 28 Lote 1, Manzana 20 Supermanzana 3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £186 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Residences Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new standard in luxury and beachfront living. Grand Residences is a family-oriented resort on a spectacular beach in the quaint village of Puerto Morelos in the Mexican Caribbean. It has a lovely natural setting, 103 beautifully appointed Junior Suites and Master Suites offering every creature comfort and five-star resort amenities. Some of the two and three-bedroom suites also have access to a private pool, garden or roof terrace with a larger pool. The four-bedroom penthouse suite has a private roof garden and terrace with a pool, whirlpool tub, grill and bar. •Grand Residences is affiliated with The Leading Hotels of the World(R) •Spacious and luxurious Suites and Residences with every creature comfort •World-class activities and amenities •Beautiful beachfront setting •Elegant design inspired by Mexico's great historic haciendas •Gateway to the Riviera Maya, nearby Puerto Morelos is a tranquil fishing village famous for its beaches, coral reef and jungle cenotes (sinkholes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Residences Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing