We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We just got back from a great trip with our 5-year-old son.
Pros: The kids club was fantastic, we couldn't get our son out of that place! All of the girls were very sweet and the activities were well-planned and they really took into account the various ages of the kids. We were wary of leaving him alone at first, but he was fine and had a great time. The pool was great, we never had any problems finding chairs or a table. The main buffet restaurant was fine, we always found something to eat and the staff were very nice.
Cons: The check-in. Our room wasn't ready, and we really just wanted to get something to eat, but we were whisked away by Claudia, who, under the guise of getting us oriented, tried to convince us to come to some time-share presentation. The restaurant reservation system is silly, we were barely able to get three reservations over a 7-day stay. They kept telling us there were no early reservations, but when we go there the restaurants were always half empty. My final con is that it's a national tragedy that a bar in Mexico makes a margarita with bar mix.
Overall, it was a great choice for our family, I can't say enough good things about the kids club. Once we accepted that it was not like the 5-star adults-only resorts or boutique hotels we've been to before in Mexico, we relaxed and enjoyed our stay. Bring water shoes for the ocean, it does get rocky as you go deeper in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m0m2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your family had a great holiday in our resort.
Thank you also for recognizing the kids club staff for their nice job, We will gladly share your comments with all of them.
We are always improving our resort with the help of all the reviews posted here:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you and your family again in another opportunity and thank you again for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com and for your visit.
Warm regards from the Mexican Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,406 - 4,412 of 6,942 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

I traveled here with a group of 7 other people from Feb 6 - 12 and it was amazing! Although this was my first time at a resort I couldn't have asked for a better first experience. I feel like a lot of the reviews are made by people who travel to all inclusive's often and have unreasonable expectations. It was nice because we weren't looking to party every night, however the only real negative (and it was a small one) was that there wasn't a whole lot to do past 10 p.m. If you are looking to party this is not the resort you should go to. They do have a seafood restaurant that turns into a disco, however the only night we attempted to go (Sunday) we found out it was closed.

Some positive and a few negatives:

The lobby is clean and nice. The tuck shop has everything you need in terms of things you forgot, snacks, clothing, souvenirs, postcards, stamps, etc. The only negative is that the restaurants only open at 6:00 p.m. so if you want to grab something before that you have to go to a buffet earlier in the afternoon.

The grounds are beautiful and the hot tub is a nice place to get away from the sun and sand.

We were able to get a chair everyday at the beach regardless of the time (and we were a group of 8 people). Some people talk about the truck that drives down the beach to pick up the seaweed. I think iI saw this truck two or three times in 6 days and it doesn't smell and is in sight for a minute.

The beach is a little rocky if you go in far enough so water shoes might be a good idea, but by the time you hit the rocks you are far enough in to swim around and not need to touch the ground.

I would recommend going snorkeling. It is fairly inexpensive and a lot of fun. The reef is pretty shallow so even if you're not the most confident swimmer you are able to float in a life jacket and are really close to all of the coral and fish. We also went on a day excursion to Chichen Itza, the Mayan ruins. It's about a 2.5 hour bus ride one way but on the way back there is an option to take the deluxe tour which stops at the city of Valladolid and you can venture into the sink hole. Friends of mine jumped from one of the highest points and they had a blast. It was definitely worth the ride and the money.

We also took a $10 cab ride into the city of Puerto Morelos, which was fantastic! Such a cute an charming city with a leaning light house and many great shops. Check out the book store in the square and grab a bottle of Tabasco sauce. We felt very safe as there were tons of tourists and the locals were very friendly.

The resort also had a lot of things to do during the day such as aqua aerobics, beach volleyball, soccer, etc, which we participated in a lot. The beach is beautiful and most of our time was spent laying out in the sun or jumping off the cliff in the pool.

I would recommend this resort to couples and families or a group of singles who are not looking to get wasted every night. My overall experience was good, however I wish they would have had more of a night life.

Room Tip: We had a view of the garden on the ground which was alright. It was quiet but the view wasn't th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so happy that you and your friends had a nice vacation with us.
Thank you also for your beautiful pictures, you are a great photographer:)
Our Disco nights are from tuesday to saturday in our Marina restaurant, we are sorry that you missed.
We hope to serve you and your friends in a near future and thank you again for selecting our resort and for your nice review.
Muchos saludos amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Fantastic service! Everybody was so nice, the Resort is Beautiful,the landscaping is out of this world.The staff is great-always saying,Hola! The food was very good! Always had plenty to eat,if you left there hungry,that's your fault.Had 4 restaurants, Tried each one, they were all good. They also had a lot of activities,also for children and teens. My Fiance and I just came back 2/12/13-We were there for a week-rooms also very clean,Housekeeping around all the time-cleaning. We did a few incursions-massage for 2-this a must! GREAT!!!-Fish Trip,of course I caught the big one,My Fiance caught a small fish-they fillet it for us-and We ate at the marina that night,Good!! I caught a Grouper-38in and 35lbs. I'm getting this on a mount.Our last trip was the Pirate Ship-Partied Hard and danced,they also had a show-nice! So, I would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Oceanview-Beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leola h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your perfect review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your husband had a relaxed holiday in our resort.
It was so nice to read that your husband went fishing on a fishing trip of our Marina and that he caught a nice and big grouper!!.
Thank you also for recommending us and for sharing your review in this site.
We hope to serve you and your husband in another getaway and thank you again for choosing El Cid and for your lovely comments.
Best wishes amigos and good luck:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Mexico, Mayan coast for the last 5 years. I have never heard of this resort till this year. I didn't know what to expect when we booked. No one we know has ever heard or been to this place. I am a very picky and specific person, had absolutely nothing to pick on at this place. We stayed in building 19 on the 5th floor. The view was fantastic, room was spotless and good size. The cleaning of the room was done everyday around noon. The handle on the balcony door was broken, I called and the technician was at the door in less than 10 mins.
We have 2 kids, 7 and 5, they absolutely loved kids club. The staff takes such great care of the kids, and the activities they have scheduled are great. Kids loved it. They do both indoor and outdoor activities with the kids.
Entertainment team for adults during the day is great also, full of energy and get you going.
The grounds are beautiful. Service at the restaurants are great, willing todo anything to make you happy. The food is great, selection, quality, lots of healthy options. Always grill options, such as fish, steak, chicken. Made fresh in front of you. The ala cart restaurants are also great. We were there for a week and had no problem making reservations 4 times.
Such a pleasant surprise of a place. Would go back again in a flash. Definitely a 5 star.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alla_pech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing our resort.
We are so glad that you and your family spent a terrific vacation with us.
It is so nice that you gave us an opportunity to serve you and that our resort did not disappoint you:)
We are so proud of our staff and we love to share all the reviews with them.
We hope to serve all your family again real soon and thank you again for your stay with us, for your review but mainly for recognizing our hotel staff, amigos.
Hasta la vista, esta es su casa!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

After checking in the front desk clerk advised me to speak to the woman behind me to get a layout of the resort and information. The said woman proceeded to try and convince us to come to a 90-min presentation the next day that was very important. Turns out its just a time share presentation that takes hours and they WILL NOT take no for an answer.

You tell one person no and another comes…tell them no and their boss comes.

The on-site tour guides Pronatours are also crooked. They tell you they're applying a voucher to only charge full price. Mario did this to us telling us the charge was in pesos.

The beach is painfully rocky once in the water.

The seafood restaurant sells lackluster food and is in a dated building you can only dine at once during your stay. Also, you cannot have more then two reservations at any given time. Most of the restaurants were pretty blah if you're use to good food. The food isn't bad, just franchise-ish.

The resort is dead after sundown. They usually have a show or something by the pool but it ends around 10 then there may be music in the lobby.

The walls are paper thin, lots of kids.

Room Tip: Most buildings have 5 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kam406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your kind review and for your stay with us.
We would like to apologize for the lack of service that you encountered during your stay.
We know that there are a lot of opportunity areas and we know that in the hotel business you will always have to improve your service.
As I commented always the reviews of tripadvisor are really important and help us to improve our resort.
Regarding to the beach area we do our best to keep it in perfect conditions, about the rocks there is nothing much that we can do.
Regarding to the incident with Pronatours feel free to contact us anytime, there is not anyone named Mario on that area.
We hope that you can give us another opportunity to serve you again amigos.
Thank you again for your comments and for your stay.
Muchas gracias!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My family arrived at 1:30pm and asked if we could check-in, were told immediately not until 3pm without the front desk agent even looking at his computer. We returned at 3pm and were given keys. We made our way to our room, 347. Upon entering the room a little after 3pm, the beds were stripped and dirty linens all over the place. The maids were not even close to having the room cleaned. We were not able to get into the room until 5pm.....no apologies or compensation given by the hotel.

We went down to eat later that night and were told we had to eat at the buffet because every restaurant was full and you have to make reservations by 5pm. This process was never explained by anyone at check-in, completely ridiculous. When we went to make reservations for the next 2 nights, everything was booked except for the Mexican restaurant the next night and were able to get into the Italian restaurant the last night in an early time. The hotel does an extremely poor job of informing guests at check-in how this process works. Suggestion-send an email a week prior informing guests of this policy and how to make reservations.

The food.....was of very poor quality in general. Order a cheese burger or grilled chicken from the grill at lunch, and the cook will pull out a already cooked piece of meat from under the grill that's been sitting there for who knows how long, you have to ask 2xs to have one prepared fresh. As for the restaurants that require reservations at night, It's basically buffet food, that they plate up. Go walk through the restaurants at night and you will see the buffet stations setup with the food that the cook will take out of a chaffing dish and put on a plate, the quality is still poor, but dressed up a bit. For example, the "Grilled Fish" in the Italian/Asian restaurant off the main lobby, isn't grilled, its steamed. Had no grill marks on either side and was bland and tasteless. The teppanyaki beef was dry and bland. Who serves steamed seafood on a bed of mash potatoes??? Order a cheese burger from room service, we tried 3x, every time it arrived cold, with the cheese never melted on the burger. It also takes about an hour to get a cheeseburger....

Maid service- Turn down service happened 1 of the 3 nights we were there, every night we were gone around the same time. We paid for a 3 bedroom suite and had horrible maid service, I expected the hotel to at least get this right, but it was impossible for them. The other great thing is on Saturday morning they walked in at 7:30am to come clean the rooms...when we walked into the living area and told them we were sleeping they came back at 7:45, and then again at 8:10, I had to call down to the front desk to ask them to stop coming.

Wifi is spotty in the rooms at best, the one place it should work it doesn't, you have to go out to the balcony or the hallway outside the front door.

I feel bad for the staff here, its obvious they receive alot of complaints. Management here is extremely poor.

Look here is the bottom line. The management and staff at this hotel, except for a few individuals couldn't care less about the experience that 95% of the people have while here. If they did, they would be proactive and even reactive to issues that arise, however that is not the case here. What they do care about is selling timeshares however. We had someone call our room 2x in the early morning, asking us to come by for an orientation of the property, this is the time share setup. Sit by the pool and watch every 10 minutes someone dressed up will be dragging a family through the resort and then walking them up the room next to 347 that we were in and showing them a suite. The dog and pony show only works for a few minutes, but then the resort has to sell itself with its service and amenities, which it fails at doing miserably.

I've read the reviews here, and at least the guy who responds is reading the reviews, but given that the same things are being said over and over I don't think they have any intention of changing anything.

I'd like to conclude by saying thanks for your response comments below and your copy and paste intro/apology but until you reach out to someone and do something about the problems, why would anyone come back here?

Room Tip: 347 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCPTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your review and for your prefernce.
We sincerely regret that your experience with us was not a pleasant one.
When it is possible we give the rooms before 3:00 PM but in high season sometimes we can not give the rooms before.
All the reviews good and bad are shared with our team and help us a lot to improve our resort if they are constructive and with solid basis.
I respond all the reviews always and we are commited to improve day by day and we respect all the opinions posted on tripadvisor.com
We are at your service anytime amigos and thank you again for your comments and for your preference.
Kind regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Excellent service! Resort is well run, and everyone is very friendly. Excellent for families with children. Lots of things for the kids to do! Will be returning 7/19/2013- 7/23/2013. Julio, and Carlos, Allen, we will see you soon. Had a great time!!!!!!!! My room was ocean front, 24 hr room service. I am very particular about where we stay, and I have NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL? EVERTHING WAS GREAT!!!! THAT'S WHY I AM RETURNING!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. I save that secret for myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sloan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your awesome review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family had a great vacation with us and that you are coming back next summer.
Thank you also for complimenting our Platinum staff for their nice service and attention and for sharing your review on tripadvisor.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help with your future reservations.
Thank you again for your preference familia:)
See you soon amigos, muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
961 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#15 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
11,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Be...
#18 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
13,017 reviews
3.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £141 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing