We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Marina El cid from november the 11th to the 18th and had a great time...We where there for a Wedding a group of 34 and we all enjoyed it...Only thing missing is a Disco for the late nights but the Lobby bar is open until 1 am so we where ok with that...For the food it was Very good you can always find something to eat with a good variety...Our room was located in block 17 and we had a water view which was awesome room 1734(which we up grated on site)What we where worried about is the timeshare reps but they never even talked to us so it was great.....The Beach is nice but not the nicest we saw a lot of rocks in the water so water shoes is a good idea but you can walk on your right on the beach past the Marina and the beach was great there(about 20 minutes)...The Pool is one of the nicest we seen with the jumping cliffs and water slide great for the kids....Alberto the waiter on the beach is awesome we never needed to walk at the bar he was always there when we needed him,don't forget to give him a few pesos he deserves it.....I would recommend this place to Family's

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_lurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your fantastic review and for your preference.
It was so nice to read that all your family and friends had an amazing holiday with us and enjoyed our facilities and the friendly service of Alberto and some others.
I will gladly share your amazing review with all our staff:)
It will be a privilege to serve you again in another opportunity with all your family and friends and thank you again for your preference but mainly for recognizing our staff, amigos.
Esta es su casa, warm regards and we hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,956
    2,065
    679
    256
    171
See reviews for
3,467
1,612
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I went to the Marina El Cid f rom Nov. 23 -30th with much hesitation. After reading numerous reviews, I was ready to change our reservation. I'm so glad that I didn't! We had a fantastic time (despite being worried that the way to the resort is less than grand). I was really very worried about all the comments online about the time share issue. We did NOT have any trouble. They do approach you when you check in, but we politely declined and were never bothered again. They are in the front lobby, so don't worry about being approached elsewhere. We did not upgrade to the privileged section and feel this did not hinder our experience whatsoever.

We've travelled to numerous 4 and 5 star resorts in the Mayan Riviera and found this resort to be one of our favorites (for the following reasons).....

Service: Fantastic! We flew in from Winnipeg, Canada and arrived later in the morning. We were sure that we wouldn't get a room right away, but after a smooth check-in, we were given a room well before the normal 3:00 check-in time. We got a ride to our room (even though the resort is small enough that you could have managed on your own). We were in the 16 block on the 4th floor. The room was excellent with a fantastic view. Above average service in the numerous bars (I've been to numerous 5* all inclusive resorts that don't have as many bars as this one!!!!). Vicente was excellent and super fun. He remembered what we wanted and had it ready whenever we approached (we did tip, but those who didn't got the same level of service). No watered down liquor here! Loads of 'top shelf' bottles. There was beach service as well! Service in restaurants/buffets was fantastic. Always clearing your table of dirty dishes. Maid service was great also. Once we needed some extra towels and within minutes, they were at our door. The concierges staff was absolutely top notch. I've never found this service helpful at other resorts, but the staff were fantastic here! Always willing to answer questions and help out with whatever was needed (including reserving space at restaurants on resort).

Pools: Heated!!! Large and reasonably clean. Lots of fun for adults and kids alike. There is an adults only 'jacuzzi' style pool in the adults only section a bit further down in the resort (a great feature that we didn't discover until almost the last day of our trip!)

Food: Fantastic! Lots of selection despite the size of the buffet. There are 2 breakfast and lunch buffets but only the one dinner buffet (along with the a-la-carte restaurants). Great fresh crepes and lots of fruit. All restaurants were air conditioned!!

Beach: The sand was like powder and very clean. The clarity of the water depended on which way the wind was blowing. Water shoes would have been helpful if you want to go in more than chest deep.

Overall impressions: Fantastic. Nice sized resort (we like the smaller places) and well maintained (other than needing a bit more light on the pathways in the evenings). We are trying to come back with our children in a few months.

Other "bonus" items: This resort is only about 20 minutes from the airport, so no extra time spent on the bus. Emailing the resort ahead of time resulted in a quick response. There is a great book exchange in the 'Privileged' section.

My final words would be to remember to tip (although not expected by staff ). The staff work very hard and tipping them a few dollars will mean a lot to them. They were always appreciative of the tips and I really appreciated what they did to make my vacation that much more enjoyable.

Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: block 16 was great. The bed are very hard, so be warned (ask for extra mattress pad)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizsmith789223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for selecting our resort.
We are so glad that you and your husband had a nice holiday with us and that you enjoyed the attention from our hotel staff.
Thank you also for sharing your review on tripadvisor and for recommending El Cid, amigos.
It will be a pleasure to serve you and your husband again in another occasion and thank you again for your awesome review and for the selection of our resort.
Best regards and best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

While there are some negative points about El Cid, the best is the staff! They are all very friendly and happy to help. I think the staff is what makes the hotel such a great place. Yes, they try to push you into attending a time share presentation, just tell them that you don't do it. Food is not the greatest, but who would eat beef if you are on the ocean? Stay with seafood, it's very good and fresh. The rooms are very clean, they even pull out the fridge to clean behind it! The shows are ok, at least something to break up the evening. The fire show is actually very good. If have been there 3 times and will go again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your kind review and for your preference.
It was a pleasure to read that you spent a nice and relaxed holiday with us.
Thank you also for sharing your experience on this site and for recommending our resort:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you and your wife again in a near future and thank you again for your kind review and for your preference
Muchas gracias and see you soon amigos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Recently returned from our 5th trip to El Cid in Puerto Morelos. What can I say, we love the place. We are time share owners and this does not mean that we get a completely flawless trip each time we go - we've had our hiccups. This time, however, was a really great experience. When we booked in August we could only secure a one bedroom suite for the first 4 nights (three of us traveling) and then we would have to move to a studio for the next 6 nights, but when we checked in we were given a one bedroom suite for our entire stay. Bonus as moving rooms mid stay is not pleasant!
I've read the good review as well as the bad and here is the bottom line on El Cid. It's a great family friendly resort. Is the food the quality of a 5 star, not always, but it is plentiful and for the most part good. If you can't find something to eat there, it's your problem. It's not a 5 star luxury resort, but it is very comfortable and well appointed. We travel with our daughter, who is now eleven, and she feels at home as soon as we step into the lobby. They have a great kids club that she has enjoyed over the past 5 years. Very little turnover of staff so a lot of them know us and make us feel welcome. Our butler, Gabriel, is exceptional!! One of the things we love most about El Cid is the location as we really enjoy going into the little town of Puerto Morelos. We've discovered some great places to eat and we love that there is no Starbucks (or any other American chain restaurants/stores). If that's what you are looking for, consider staying in Play Del Carmen or Cancun instead.
As I've already mentioned we are time share owners and we do not regret our decision to buy in at all.
We hope you enjoy El Cid as much as we do!

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is perfect for a family of 3 or 4. Separate bedroom with bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort wish to thank you for your amazing review and for your fifth stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your family had a perfect vacation in our resort again.
Thank you also for your kudos to Gabriel and some others for their nice work, I will gladly share your review with them:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you for sixth occasion real soon and thank you so much for your review and for being already part of El Cid Family.
Best wishes familia, esta es su casa!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable 9 nights at El Cid in early November. We were sorry we hadn't booked the 14-day package. Our friends came too, but they were lucky enough to stay 14 nights. This was our second time at this resort, as we had enjoyed our first visit in 2009 and wished to return another year. Notwithstanding the frequent rain showers - we had a super holiday.

Everyone has their reasons why a certain resort is good or is bad - but the reasons listed below are what are important to us and had us go back.

We would like to say we were treated very well by the staff - they were always very polite, respectful and helpful. We especially wish to thank Manuel at the front desk (ah he has patience!) and other staff Marco (small buffet) and Roberth (beach bar). These people just make our holiday a bit more special.

We were assigned a Luxury Room on the 2nd floor in Building 17 (though we switched rooms once from Building 19). I loved our view ... looking down on the pool area from our balcony ... with ocean views to the right.

The reasons this resort is very suited to us: grounds and buildings are well kept and clean - being a smaller resort means closer walking distances to the beach and restaurants - the rooms are a good size and have user-friendly amenities (i.e. like a shower that has a removable showerhead) - the rooms have balconies which are larger than others we have had at other resorts - has a very nice gym - has plentiful palapas on the beach - has nice soft white sand. It is a very pretty resort - their buildings, pools and gardens. Also, the hotel is fairly close to the airport, which means shorter rides to the resort.

We don't swim in the ocean - so the seaweed was not an issue for us. As other reviews stated, there are workers raking up what they can daily.

We found the food very good. There was always a great choice, especially in the buffets. The freshly cooked fish and chicken section ... and pasta section were our favorites. We enjoyed our visits to the a la cartes ... but found the buffets with their variety well suited to the four of us.

Not one word was ever said to us by the 'vacation' people. So maybe we have been lucky in that regard.

Only con I can mention: their wifi rates are high at 15 US$ a day and no free zones as in other resorts.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable holiday and I would say that we will visit them another year!

Room Tip: Buildings 15 and 17 are the closest to the beach. I believe you have to be a Platinum Member or pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farley1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your husband spent a nice holiday with us and that your expectations were achieved.
Thank you also for sharing your review on this site and for commenting that you will visit us again in another opportunity:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you and your husband again in another occasion and thank you again for your excellent review and for your preference.
Esta es su casa amigos, see you soon and thank you again for choosing El Cid Resorts!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at El Cid for two weeks in November 2013. There are good and bad things about the Hotel. It is a time share Hotel so your are asked to join a promotion tour and learn about there time share program (about 2-3 hours) they constantly asked you to join the tour which is a little annoying. There are different categories of hotel guest marked by colored wrist bands (Platinum, normal guest, gold, Millionaire etc.) The Millionaire members can reserve palapas for there whole stay and normal guests only a day in advance so we didn't get a palapa every day because they were all booked by Millionaire members already. You do feel second class guest if you only booked a regular vacation. The landscape is done very nicely and the buildings are spread out so it doesn't feel crowded. The Rooms are average and the mattresses are a little worn out. The 24 hrs room service at no charge is nice but the menu is very small. The pool is nice and in good shape, the beach is also nice but you need water shoes to go swimming because of coral reef stones going into the water. At he pool are big speakers (bad sound quality) that play music all day long but very loud, even in the rooms you can hear the music from the pool! There is a show every night at the pool from 9:00 - 11:00 p.m. also with extremely loud music so if you do have kids you can forget about putting them to sleep before 11:00 p.m. The food (always important for an all inclusive Hotel) was bad, the buffet breakfast opens at seven a.m. and even at that time the food was not hot anymore but warm or cold (sausages, scrambled eggs etc.) The Quality of Meet, chees and even Mexican specialties like Burritos, Empanadas and Enchiladas was bad (really disappointing in Mexico). The food in the special restaurants (three available) at night was good but it was hard to get a reservation.(They only have limited seating and don't serve you without reservation.) Over all it is only an average Hotel (even though they think they are an outstanding hotel) and I would not recommend this Hotel to any of my friends.

Room Tip: The best Building is Number 14 (ocean view and quit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your review and for your preference.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your past stay with us and we are already using your feedback to correct those issues.
Thank you also for your positive comments also:)
If you ever reconsider to vist us again feel free to contact us anytime amigos to assure you a perfect stay.
We thank you again for your preference and for your feedback and be sure that it will be taken seriously to improve and we hope to see you soon.
Kind regards, hasta pronto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the El Cid during Thanksgiving week and the hotel was not overly crowded. Check in was a breeze in the Platinum Lounge (thank you Sol). Although we could have reserved a palapa or lounges each day, we were too busy to worry about making reservations but had no problems finding palapas and/or lounges when we went to the beach/pool. We did make a couple of reservations for dinner: Alcazar was absolutely wonderful - both the food and the wait staff - and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone staying at El Cid. Marina was not so good and the wait staff not very friendly. We ate at the buffets most of the week and generally found a good variety of food each time, especially breakfast. The activities staff is very friendly and they work very hard at keeping people involved both on the beach and at the pool. Our teenagers were busy each day - beach volleyball being their favorite. Our room was a three-bedroom platinum suite and it was beautiful with a very large balcony facing the ocean (Room 378 in Building 17 - top floor). This was a very enjoyable trip with our children and I would recommend El Cid to families with younger children as well as teenagers. Thank you to all of the staff at El Cid for making our vacation a memorable one!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for selecting our resort.
It was so nice to read that you and your family had a perfect stay with us and that you would like to come back in a future to our resort.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again in another occasion and to share also your great comments with our hotel staff:)
Thank you again for your review and for sharing your comments on this site.
Best regards familia, esta es su casa!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,249 reviews
11.4 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,670 reviews
14.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
7.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
8.3 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing