We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but there are too many better places in the area to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK but there are too many better places in the area to stay here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel, the rooms and the pool are very nice. However, the beach is terrible (Nobody even bothers getting in), the food is cafeteria quality and ambiance and the service is hit and miss. In case that you are wondering if the Platinum rooms are worth the extra money....they are not. There are way too many better hotels in the Riviera Maya to pick this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your review and for your stay with us.
We regret that you were not completely satisfied with our resort, we take the best of each review to improve always.
Thank you also for your positive comments and we will work on the aspects that you kindly commented, friends:-)
We are at your service anytime and thank you again for your stay with us and for your comments.
Kind regards to all!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,957
    2,065
    680
    256
    171
See reviews for
3,468
1,613
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A very attractive resort in Puerto Morelos (halfway between Cancun and Playa del Carmen) with both family and adult only sides. A large pool with slide and cliff jumping, water sports etc.(could possibly use more pool entertainment, music seemed to finish by 4 or 5 pm) Very clean, well kept rooms (nicer than some in Playa) with comfortable beds. We ate mostly at the buffet but there are wonderful A la Carte restaurants there too. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly, I do recommend the Platinum suites or better (you have access to dvd's, specialty coffee's and premium alcohol) and check out the spa for sure!!!
A fair length beach with a bit of sea weed that is cleaned daily. I feel this resort takes more pride in their appearance than others I have stayed at. A special thanks to Sara the chief concierge for making everything so wonderful for us, I would recommend this resort to anyone with families or just couples looking for a quiet week together!

Room Tip: Buildings 14 and 15 face the adult only area overlooking the Ocean. They seemed to be the quite area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoimhin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your perfect review and for your preference.
We are so glad to know that all your friends spent a relaxed vacation in our resort.
Thank you also for sharing your review on tripadvisor and for recommending El Cid to others:-)
We hope to serve you all again in another holiday and thank you again for your lovely comments and for your preference.
Warm regards from Puerto Morelos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited El Cid from May 23 - May 28.
Great experience.
First time in Mexico and wasn't sure of how this place going to be.
Overall experience was good.
Do have a small complain about the Front Desk service... not that helpful when asking for help.

Also, if going on the Chichen Itza tour, the flier says there will be umbrellas provided ... not true.

Will recommend to friends and family.
Food service is great.
Rooms are clean enough for a 4 star.
Location isn't that great, beach isn't the best ... rocks and weed too much in the water.

I give it a 7 out of 10.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quiet for sure and plenty of sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your great review and for selecting El Cid Resorts.
It was so nice to read that you and your partner spent a nice and relaxed holiday with us and would like to return in another opportunity.
Thank you also for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor:-)
It will be a pleasure to serve you both again in a near future and thank you again for your kind comments and for selecting our resort.
Kind regards amigos and best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at Marina El Cid the week of April 5-12/14. Lovely small resort, however, they are building a new section which will open this summer so it will be much larger shortly! The building we were in was located next to the main building and close to the pool. The beach was only a 3 minute walk from there as well. This is a family friendly resort so there were lots of children and not many teens or young adults which is what we were looking for.
We had a junior suite which included 2 queen beds, a sofa as well as table and chairs. The bathroom had a toilet and huge lovely shower and the vanity was outside the washroom.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the layout of the resort made it easy to get around. The food at the buffet was excellent and we enjoyed the a la cartes as well. The lobby bar had live entertainment each evening and great bartenders who took the time to get to know our preferences.
My only caveat is to beware of the "concierges" who will meet you as you check in & push you to attend info sessions about the resort which are really timeshare sales pitches. They will offer exceptional discounts on outings and services at the resort as an incentive to attend the sessions. We opted not to attend a session & discovered that our travel company rep (WestJet Vacations) could get us better rates on outings. Also, the WestJet rep was available on site for most of the day & could be reached by phone when not there (even late at night).
We visited Puerto Moreales one evening by cab and felt very comfortable wandering around the town. It is small & sweet, located on the waterfront. The people were friendly and helpful. Our only other outing was to visit the Mayan ruins at Tulum, which we really enjoyed. It was a half day outing which worked well for us as it can get very hot outdoors for long hours. There is an amazing beach at the ruins site that is often considered one of the best beaches in the world. However, it does require going down & up a long staircase along the cliff so can be difficult for some, particularly those with small children or mobility issues.
I would recommend Marina El Cid as a great resort to relax and enjoy the Mexican Riviera.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mondapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
It was so nice to read that you and your companion spent a nice and relaxed holiday with us.
Thank you also for sharing your comments on this site:-)
It will be a pleasure to serve you again in a near future and thank you again for your preference and for selecting El Cid Resorts.
Kind regards amigos and best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family travels frequently within the US, Europe and Caribbean. Within the last 7 years, we have visited Cancun 10 times and have stayed at four different resorts (Dreams Cancun, Now Jade, Now Sapphire, and El Cid). We fell in love with El Cid so now it is officially our home away from home.... we bought the timeshare so that we can enjoy the Platinum level service, rooms and all else that El Cid has to offer for the next 20 years :)

We have twin 8 year old girls so it is very important to us to have a safe clean beach, a very nice pool and a great kid's club. Our girls played on the giant rock wall diving and sliding for hours everyday. This was a great venue for them to meet friends. Then they would go to kid's club activities with their friends throughout the day.

My husband and I really enjoyed the variety of restaurants, the fabulous ocean front room, but most of all.... we appreciated the wonderful staff. Sara from the VIP concierge made our stay perfect. If we had a question or a need.... she was on it!!! We can't wait to return this summer to see her again.

One final note on the resort.... we have stayed on the Riviera Maya as well as the Hotel Zone. El Cid is on the Riviera Maya, but unlike many of the other properties in that location it is within walking distance to the adorable town of Puerto Morelos. We liked the little town so much that we rented bikes for the week that we were there so that we could bike in and out of town. I went to yoga class in town at Casa Om (which I LOVE). My husband and I biked in on a couple of occasions to have drinks and lunch. Puerto Morelos is not fancy at all, but it has some great little spots and very friendly people.

Room Tip: If possible, book an ocean front room. The balconies are huge and have nice outdoor furniture so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tykymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for being already part of El Cid Family.
We are so glad to know that your family enjoyed our facilities and the service from our hotel staff and you are right, our resort will be now " your home away from home"
Thank you also for sharing your review on this site and for selecting our resort among the others:-)
It will be a pleasure to serve all your family again in your next visit to our resort.
Thank you again for your lovely comments and for trusting on El Cid Resorts.
Warm regards from Puerto Morelos and see you soon familia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner and I had a child free break at this resort and it was just what the doctor ordered. The room was spotless with a huge with a sitting room and two large bathrooms and a lovely ocean facing balcony. The pool is great, with a really fun (but not OTT) atmosphere but did get a little crowded with people reserving sunbeds with towels from about 6am onwards so we opted for the beach. Again, you had to be down pretty early to get a sunbed and there aren't many shady areas but it is a lovely beach with white sand and clear blue seas. If you walk out of the resort along the beach with the sea on your left you will come to another beach with a row on smaller hotels on it which was also pristine. The food was excellent, with the buffet restaurants being our favourite. All of the staff were brilliant, especially in the poolside restaurant. All inclusive is genuinely all inclusive here, with all alcoholic drinks covered and lots of international brands. Do take lots of sun lotion with you and eat well at meal times - snacks and cosmetics are extortionately priced in the onsite shops. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: we asked for an ocean view room before we arrived and got one. There is a new block being built and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillHNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments and for choosing our resort.
It was so nice to read that you and your partner spent a nice vacation in our resort.
Thank you also for taking the time to post your experience on tripadvisor and for your lovely comments:-)
We will share your nice comments with our team and would love to have you back in a near future.
Thank you again for your kind comments and for your stay with us.
Esta es su casa amigos, warmest regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calimesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to the El Cid resort to celebtrate my wife's birthday and were treated to one of the best vacations, thanks to Braulio who was assigned as our butler. I made him aware of the special occasion and took care of EVERYTHING. All of the resturants at this resort were excellent 24/7. I would like to commend the resort for having a staff who attended to our every need. My wife and I are looking forward to our next vacation at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Resort.

Room Tip: Indulge in one of their massages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buck403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear couple:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your kind review and for your preference.
It was so nice to read that you and your wife spent a nice holiday in our resort.
Thank you so much for your nice comments and for your compliments to Braulio and the rest of our staff:-)
We hope to serve you again in another occasion and thank you again for selecting El Cid Resorts, amigos.
Warm regards amigos, esta es su casa!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,249 reviews
11.4 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,674 reviews
14.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
7.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
8.3 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing